New Relic review

by New RelicError monitoring

Observability platform with 100 GB of free data a month; error tracking is priced through data ingest and users.

Facts checked
  • Free plan
  • No card needed
  • Self-serve
  • Seat + usage
  • Public prices
Visit site

What you're paying for

  • Worth the price (main value)
  • Saves engineering time

Error tracking, APM, logs and infrastructure under one 100 GB free tier, with unlimited hosts and paid users from $10 a month.

New Relic does not sell error monitoring on its own: errors inbox is one capability in a platform priced by data ingest and users. The free tier includes 100 GB a month, one full platform user and unlimited basic users, with no card. On Standard, the first full platform user is $10 and core users, who get error tracking, are $49. Hosts and agents are not counted.

  • 100 GB a month freeThe free tier includes 100 GB of data ingest, one full platform user, unlimited basic users and default retention of at least 8 days, with no credit card.Evidence: Pricing page (2026-10-15)
  • One bill for the whole stackErrors, APM, logs, infrastructure and browser monitoring share one data allowance, and the pricing page says unlimited hosts, agents and containers are included.Evidence: Pricing page (2026-10-15)
  • SAML SSO on the entry paid editionStandard, the entry paid edition, lists SAML single sign-on.Evidence: Pricing page (2026-10-15)
Best for
Small teams that want errors, APM, logs and infrastructure in one tool and expect their data to stay near 100 GB a month.
Good to know
People who triage errors are billed ($49 core, $99 per additional full platform user on Standard), and Standard allows up to five full platform users.

How New Relic compares

Against 3 other products we reviewed in Error monitoring: what you pay for with each, the five access facts, the plan limits we recorded and each review's bottom line. The note under the table says how each one was checked.

New Relic compared with Sentry, Rollbar, BugSnag
MetricNew RelicSentryRollbarBugSnag
What you're paying forWorth the priceError tracking, APM, logs and infrastructure under one 100 GB free tier, with unlimited hosts and paid users from $10 a month.Worth the priceUnlimited users and 50,000 errors a month for $26, with SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001 and EU data storage on every plan.Worth the priceUnlimited users on every plan, every price step published, and 100,000 errors with 90-day retention for $40.83 a month billed annually.Worth the priceUnlimited users and 100,000 errors for $32 a month billed yearly, with performance spans included and an on-premise version for regulated teams.
Overall score6.69.2Best8.67.9
Free optionFree planFree planFree planFree plan
Card to startNo card needed–Not measuredNo card neededNo card needed
Getting accessSelf-serveSelf-serveSelf-serveSelf-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan$10/mo$26/mo$7.50/mo$20/mo
Pricing modelSeat + usageTieredTieredTiered
Pricing pagePublic pricesPublic pricesPublic pricesPublic prices
Billing unitsData ingest (GB) and users by typeErrors (50,000 in the plan, then per error)Occurrences (errors), in steps from 10,000 to 50MEvents (errors), in steps from 50,000 to 3M
Free allowance100 GB/mo, 1 full platform user5,000 errors/mo, 1 user5,000 occurrences/mo, unlimited users7,500 events/mo, 1 user
5 users, 100,000 errors/mo$206 on Standard, computed, if ingest stays within 100 GB$44.13 (Team, billed annually)$40.83 (Essentials, billed annually)$32 (Select, 150,000 events, billed yearly)
Error retention on the entry paid plan8 days (98 with Data Plus)Up to 90 days90 days (180 on Advanced)60 days
SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001BothBothSOC 2 Type II; ISO 27001 compliance statedISO 27001; SmartBear’s SOC 2 Type 2 scope does not list BugSnag
HIPAA BAAEnterprise with Data PlusBusiness plan and upAdvanced, from the 4M annual planNot stated; On-premise for HIPAA environments
EU data regionYes, +$0.05/GBYes, FrankfurtNot stated; primary data center in IowaNot stated; US data centers
SAML SSOStandardBusiness ($80/mo billed annually)Advanced ($10.83/mo billed annually at 10,000)Preferred ($33/mo billed yearly)
Self-hosted versionNot statedYes, under the FSLNot statedYes, On-premise (Enterprise)
Bottom lineFrom its public pages, New Relic has the broadest free tier here, but error triage is priced through users and data rather than errors. It costs least when few people triage and data stays near 100 GB a month.From its public pages, Sentry is the most complete package here for a team that mainly needs error monitoring: unlimited users, 90-day history and compliance on every plan. SAML SSO and a BAA start on Business.From its public pages, Rollbar is the most transparent here on price, with unlimited users on every plan and 90-day retention on Essentials. Check the missing EU region and the BAA entry point before you choose it.From its public pages, BugSnag lists the lowest price here for 100,000 errors, with unlimited users and an on-premise option. Its compliance pages are thinner for the SaaS: US hosting, no BAA and no SOC 2 Type 2 scope that names it.

Evidence: New Relic: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Sentry: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Rollbar: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; BugSnag: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.

Score

Score breakdown
Pricing clarity
8.0 / 10, Excellent
billed by data ingest (GB) and users by type; every self-serve volume priced
Free tier
8.0 / 10, Excellent
100 GB of data a month, 1 user who can work on errors
Price for 5 users and 100,000 errors
3.0 / 10, Fair
$206/mo: Standard: first full platform user $10 plus 4 core users at $49 (computed); assumes total ingest stays within the free 100 GB
Error retention
5.9 / 10, Fair
8 days on the entry paid plan, 90+ days as a self-serve option
Compliance and data residency
8.5 / 10, Excellent
own SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, HIPAA BAA on enterprise terms or by agreement, EU data region for a fee
Team and control
6.0 / 10, Good
SAML SSO on the entry paid plan; priced per user

Review

Review from public pages

Written from New Relic's public pages (pricing, security or privacy, and docs) as read on Oct 15, 2026. We did not sign up, and no hands-on run is published yet.

What the public pages show

We read New Relic's pricing page and its documentation on user types, data retention, data regions, compliance and HIPAA on Oct 15, 2026; we did not sign up for this review. The pricing page has no error-monitoring plan as such. You pay for data ingested (100 GB free each month, then $0.40 per GB) and for users: basic users are free, core users are $49 a month, and on Standard full platform users cost $10 for the first and $99 for each additional, up to five.

User type decides who can work on errors. The docs say core users get errors inbox and full platform users get everything, including the APM UI; basic users cannot use those curated views. On the free tier, that means one person can triage errors.

Retention depends on the data option. The docs list 8 days for APM errors and browser JavaScript errors on the original data option and 98 days with Data Plus ($0.60 per GB). The compliance docs list SOC 2 Type 2 and ISO 27001; HIPAA needs Enterprise with Data Plus, a signed BAA and the US data region. Data can be stored in the EU for an extra $0.05 per GB.

Strengths

  • Largest free allowance

    100 GB of data a month, one full platform user and unlimited basic users, with no card.

    vs Datadog: Sentry’s free plan covers 5,000 errors for one user; Datadog offers a 14-day trial.

  • Covers far more than errors

    The same data and users cover APM, infrastructure, logs and browser and mobile monitoring, with unlimited hosts.

  • SAML SSO on the entry paid edition

    Standard lists SAML single sign-on.

    vs Datadog: Sentry lists SAML from Business; Datadog lists it on Infrastructure Pro and Enterprise.

  • No egress charge

    The pricing FAQ says New Relic does not charge for data egress or hydration.

Things to know

  • People are the main cost of error triage

    Errors inbox needs a core ($49) or full platform user; for five people on Standard the lowest mix is $206 a month.

    Workaround: Basic users are free for dashboards, queries and alerts.

  • Error data kept 8 days by default

    APM and browser errors are kept 8 days on the original data option; Data Plus extends that to 98 days at $0.60 per GB.

  • Errors are not a billing unit

    Pricing is per GB, so estimating the cost of error monitoring means estimating total ingest, not error counts.

  • HIPAA only on Enterprise

    A BAA requires Enterprise with Data Plus and the US data region.

Pricing reality

New Relic bills two things: data ingested beyond 100 GB a month ($0.40 per GB, $0.60 with Data Plus, plus $0.05 per GB for the EU data center) and users. Basic users are free; core users, who get errors inbox, are $49 a month; full platform users are $10 for the first and $99 for each additional on Standard (up to five), or $349 each on Pro with an annual commitment ($418.80 pay as you go).

For 5 people triaging errors on Standard, the lowest mix is one full platform user and four core users: $10 + 4 × $49 = $206 a month, if total ingest stays within 100 GB. On the free tier, ingest stops at 100 GB until the next month or an upgrade.

Exit path

The pricing FAQ says New Relic does not charge for data egress or hydration, and Data Plus adds streaming and historical-data export to external destinations.

Compared with

  • Pick New Relic when
    You want errors, APM, logs and infrastructure in one tool, with data near 100 GB a month.
    Pick Sentry when
    Five or more people triage errors and you mainly need error monitoring; Sentry charges no seats.
  • Pick New Relic when
    You want a permanent free tier and SAML SSO on the entry paid edition.
    Pick Datadog when
    You want error tracking billed only by error volume, or already run Datadog APM or RUM.

Choose it if

  • You want one tool for errors, APM, logs and infrastructure.
  • One or two people triage errors and the rest only need dashboards and alerts.
  • Your total data stays near 100 GB a month.

Look elsewhere if

  • Many people need to triage errors and you only need error monitoring.
  • You need more than 8 days of error history without Data Plus.

Bottom line

From its public pages, New Relic has the broadest free tier here, but error triage is priced through users and data rather than errors. It costs least when few people triage and data stays near 100 GB a month.

Plan limits at a glance

LimitAs recorded
Billing unitsData ingest (GB) and users by type
Free allowance100 GB/mo, 1 full platform user
5 users, 100,000 errors/mo$206 on Standard, computed, if ingest stays within 100 GB
Error retention on the entry paid plan8 days (98 with Data Plus)
SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001Both
HIPAA BAAEnterprise with Data Plus
EU data regionYes, +$0.05/GB
SAML SSOStandard
Self-hosted versionNot stated

Read from the vendor's public pages on Oct 15, 2026. No hands-on run is published yet. How we check

New Relic lists 4 plans. The cheapest paid plan, Standard (first full platform user), costs $10/mo.

  • New RelicFree
    Free
    $0/mo
    100 GB data/mo, 1 full platform user
    • Unlimited basic users
    • Data retention of at least 8 days
    • No credit card required
  • New RelicLowest price
    Standard
    $10/mo
    First full platform user; $99 each additional (up to 5); core users $49
    • $0.40/GB beyond 100 GB ($0.60 with Data Plus)
    • SAML single sign-on
    • Ticketed support
    • EU data center +$0.05/GB
  • New Relic
    Pro
    $349/user/mo
    Per full platform user, annual commitment ($418.80 pay as you go)
    • Unlimited full platform users
    • Data Plus eligibility
    • Commitment options
  • New Relic
    Enterprise
    Contact sales
    • FedRAMP Moderate and HIPAA eligibility with Data Plus
    • Priority ticket routing

Prices as listed, USD, excluding tax; observed 2026-10-15.

Source: newrelic.com pricing page. Prices change; the observed date above is when our agent read them.

Visit site