Error tracking inside the Datadog platform you may already run: free for errors from APM and RUM, $37.50 a month for 100,000 standalone errors.
Datadog folds error tracking into the same platform as its APM, real user monitoring and logs. Errors collected through APM traces and RUM sessions are grouped into issues at no additional cost, and standalone errors are billed by volume from $25 a month for up to 50,000, with $37.50 for 100,000 on the pricing page. The pricing page lists no per-user charge for it, and the trust center lists SOC 2 Type 2 and ISO 27001.
Included with APM and RUMThe pricing FAQ says Error Tracking is included for errors collected through APM traces and RUM sessions at no additional cost.Evidence: Pricing page (2026-10-15)
Lowest listed price at 100,000 errorsThe pricing page shows $37.50 a month for 100,000 errors billed annually: $25 for the first 50,000 plus $0.25 per 1,000.Evidence: Pricing page (2026-10-15)
Filters and a budget before billingError Tracking Rules include or exclude errors before they are billed, and rate limits let you set a budget.Evidence: Pricing page FAQ (2026-10-15)
Best for
Teams already on Datadog APM or RUM, and teams that want error tracking billed by volume with no seat charges.
Good to know
There is no free Error Tracking plan, only a 14-day trial, and error samples are kept 30 days.
How Datadog compares
Against 3 other products we reviewed in Error monitoring: what you pay for with each, the five access facts, the plan limits we recorded and each review's bottom line. The note under the table says how each one was checked.
Saves engineering timeError tracking inside the Datadog platform you may already run: free for errors from APM and RUM, $37.50 a month for 100,000 standalone errors.
Worth the priceUnlimited users and 50,000 errors a month for $26, with SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001 and EU data storage on every plan.
Worth the priceUnlimited users on every plan, every price step published, and 100,000 errors with 90-day retention for $40.83 a month billed annually.
Worth the priceUnlimited users and 100,000 errors for $32 a month billed yearly, with performance spans included and an on-premise version for regulated teams.
Overall score
7.2
9.2Best
8.6
7.9
Free option
14-day free trial
Free plan
Free plan
Free plan
Card to start
No card needed
–Not measured
No card needed
No card needed
Getting access
Self-serve
Self-serve
Self-serve
Self-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan
$25/mo
$26/mo
$7.50/mo
$20/mo
Pricing model
Usage-based
Tiered
Tiered
Tiered
Pricing page
Public prices
Public prices
Public prices
Public prices
Billing units
Errors (flat fee to 50,000, then per 1,000)
Errors (50,000 in the plan, then per error)
Occurrences (errors), in steps from 10,000 to 50M
Events (errors), in steps from 50,000 to 3M
Free allowance
None; 14-day trial, no card
5,000 errors/mo, 1 user
5,000 occurrences/mo, unlimited users
7,500 events/mo, 1 user
5 users, 100,000 errors/mo
$37.50 (billed annually)
$44.13 (Team, billed annually)
$40.83 (Essentials, billed annually)
$32 (Select, 150,000 events, billed yearly)
Error retention on the entry paid plan
30 days for error samples; issues 1 year after last activity
Up to 90 days
90 days (180 on Advanced)
60 days
SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001
Both
Both
SOC 2 Type II; ISO 27001 compliance stated
ISO 27001; SmartBear’s SOC 2 Type 2 scope does not list BugSnag
HIPAA BAA
Signed for eligible services, incl. Error Tracking
Business plan and up
Advanced, from the 4M annual plan
Not stated; On-premise for HIPAA environments
EU data region
Yes, EU1 site (Germany)
Yes, Frankfurt
Not stated; primary data center in Iowa
Not stated; US data centers
SAML SSO
Listed on Infrastructure Pro and Enterprise
Business ($80/mo billed annually)
Advanced ($10.83/mo billed annually at 10,000)
Preferred ($33/mo billed yearly)
Self-hosted version
Not stated
Yes, under the FSL
Not stated
Yes, On-premise (Enterprise)
Bottom line
From its public pages, Datadog lists the lowest price here for 100,000 standalone errors and charges nothing extra for errors from its APM and RUM. Plan around the trial-only start and 30-day error samples.
From its public pages, Sentry is the most complete package here for a team that mainly needs error monitoring: unlimited users, 90-day history and compliance on every plan. SAML SSO and a BAA start on Business.
From its public pages, Rollbar is the most transparent here on price, with unlimited users on every plan and 90-day retention on Essentials. Check the missing EU region and the BAA entry point before you choose it.
From its public pages, BugSnag lists the lowest price here for 100,000 errors, with unlimited users and an on-premise option. Its compliance pages are thinner for the SaaS: US hosting, no BAA and no SOC 2 Type 2 scope that names it.
Evidence: Datadog: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Sentry: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Rollbar: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; BugSnag: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.
billed by errors; every self-serve volume priced; flat fee not listed for monthly billing
Free tier
2.0 / 10, Fair
no free plan; 14-day trial, no card needed
Price for 5 users and 100,000 errors
8.6 / 10, Excellent
$37.50/mo: $25 flat for 50,000 errors plus 50 × $0.25 per 1,000, billed annually (pricing page)
Error retention
7.6 / 10, Good
30 days on the entry paid plan
Compliance and data residency
9.0 / 10, Excellent
own SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, HIPAA BAA on enterprise terms or by agreement, EU data region
Team and control
7.0 / 10, Good
SAML SSO on a higher or other self-serve plan; no per-user charge
Review
Review from public pages
Written from Datadog's public pages (pricing, security or privacy, and docs) as read on Oct 15, 2026. We did not sign up, and no hands-on run is published yet.
What the public pages show
We read Datadog's pricing, trial, trust center and documentation pages on Oct 15, 2026; we did not sign up for this review. Error Tracking has its own tab on the pricing page: a volume selector from 50,000 to 50 million errors a month, a flat $25 for up to 50,000 errors billed annually ($36 on-demand), and a table of per-1,000 rates for annual, monthly and on-demand billing. Choosing 100,000 errors shows $37.50 a month.
The FAQ makes the main point plain: errors that arrive through APM traces or RUM sessions are tracked at no additional cost; standalone frontend and backend errors and errors from logs are billed. Error Tracking Rules can include or exclude errors before billing, and rate limits let you set a budget.
The docs list default retention of 30 days for error samples and one year after last activity for issues. The trust center lists SOC 2 Type 2, ISO/IEC 27001 and HIPAA among many others; the HIPAA docs say Datadog signs a BAA with customers sending ePHI through eligible services, and Error Tracking is on that list. The trial page offers 14 days with no credit card.
Strengths
No extra charge for APM and RUM errors
Errors from APM traces and RUM sessions are grouped into issues at no additional cost.
vs New Relic: Sentry bills errors against a plan quota; New Relic bills the data and the users who read it.
Lowest listed price at 100,000 errors
$37.50 a month billed annually, shown on the pricing page.
vs New Relic: Sentry’s calculator shows $44.13 on Team; New Relic’s computed figure for five users is $206.
Every volume priced on the page
The selector runs to 50 million errors, and the rate falls to $0.10 per 1,000 above 20 million on annual billing.
EU site and HIPAA-eligible
Accounts can live on the EU1 site in Germany, and Error Tracking is on Datadog’s list of HIPAA-eligible services.
Things to know
No free Error Tracking plan
There is a 14-day trial with no card, but no free Error Tracking plan; the free tier on the pricing page is for Infrastructure (up to 5 hosts).
Workaround: Sentry and New Relic both have permanent free plans.
Error samples kept 30 days
Default retention is 30 days for error samples and one year after last activity for issues.
SAML is listed with Infrastructure plans
The pricing page lists SAML single sign-on on Infrastructure Pro and Enterprise; the Error Tracking tab does not mention it, and the docs say to contact support if SAML is not enabled.
No monthly flat fee listed
The per-1,000 rates have annual, monthly and on-demand columns, but the flat fee is given only for annual ($25) and on-demand ($36) billing.
Pricing reality
Error Tracking is billed by monthly error volume. Up to 50,000 errors costs a flat $25 billed annually or $36 on-demand. Above that, each 1,000 errors costs $0.25 to 100,000 ($0.30 monthly, $0.38 on-demand), then $0.21 to 500,000, $0.17 to 10 million, $0.12 to 20 million and $0.10 above, on annual billing.
For 100,000 errors the page shows $37.50 a month billed annually; at on-demand rates it comes to $36 plus 50 × $0.38, or $55 (our arithmetic). Users are not priced. Errors from APM traces and RUM sessions are included in those products; APM starts at $31 per host a month billed annually with Infrastructure. Error Tracking for logs needs Log Management with indexing.
You want error tracking billed by error volume with no seat charges.
Pick New Relic when
You want a permanent free tier with 100 GB of data a month across APM, logs and infrastructure.
Choose it if
You already send APM traces or RUM sessions to Datadog.
You want error monitoring billed by volume, with no seat charges.
You need an EU site and a HIPAA-eligible error tracker.
Look elsewhere if
You want a permanent free plan for error monitoring.
You need more than 30 days of error samples by default.
Bottom line
From its public pages, Datadog lists the lowest price here for 100,000 standalone errors and charges nothing extra for errors from its APM and RUM. Plan around the trial-only start and 30-day error samples.
Plan limits at a glance
Limit
As recorded
Billing units
Errors (flat fee to 50,000, then per 1,000)
Free allowance
None; 14-day trial, no card
5 users, 100,000 errors/mo
$37.50 (billed annually)
Error retention on the entry paid plan
30 days for error samples; issues 1 year after last activity
SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001
Both
HIPAA BAA
Signed for eligible services, incl. Error Tracking
EU data region
Yes, EU1 site (Germany)
SAML SSO
Listed on Infrastructure Pro and Enterprise
Self-hosted version
Not stated
Read from the vendor's public pages on Oct 15, 2026. No hands-on run is published yet. How we check
We have not published a sign-up run for Datadog yet. The access facts above were read from its sign-up and pricing pages on Oct 15, 2026.
We read the pricing, security and docs pages of three error monitoring tools on the same day and scored them on the same six indicators. How each one bills, what 5 users and 100,000 errors cost, and who should pick which.