Rollbar review

by RollbarError monitoring

Error monitoring priced by occurrences, with unlimited users on every plan, 100,000 errors for $40.83 a month and 90-day retention on Essentials.

Facts checked
  • Free plan
  • No card needed
  • Self-serve
  • Tiered
  • Public prices
Visit site

What you're paying for

  • Worth the price (main value)
  • Compliance included

Unlimited users on every plan, every price step published, and 100,000 errors with 90-day retention for $40.83 a month billed annually.

Rollbar bills by the errors you send, never by seat: every plan, including Free, has unlimited users. The pricing page and its text version list every step from 10,000 to 50 million occurrences; 100,000 occurrences on Essentials cost $40.83 a month billed annually ($49 monthly) and keep data for 90 days. Overage is off by default, and its security policy lists SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001 compliance and a BAA from the Advanced 4M annual plan.

  • Unlimited users, free plan includedEvery plan lists unlimited users and projects, and the pricing text says Rollbar never charges per seat. Free covers 5,000 occurrences and 1,000 replays a month without a card.Evidence: Pricing page and pricing text page (2026-10-15)
  • Every price step in writingEssentials and Advanced are priced in 23 steps from 10,000 to 50 million occurrences, monthly and annual; annual billing gives two months free.Evidence: Pricing text page (2026-10-15)
  • SOC 2 Type II and a BAA at no extra costThe security policy lists SOC 2 Type I and Type II and ISO 27001 compliance, and says the BAA has no added cost, from the Advanced 4M plan paid annually.Evidence: Security & Compliance Policy (2026-10-15)
Best for
Teams that want every developer in the error tool and a bill they can read off the pricing page at any volume up to 50 million.
Good to know
There is no EU data region on the pages we read, and SAML SSO starts on Advanced.

How Rollbar compares

Against 3 other products we reviewed in Error monitoring: what you pay for with each, the five access facts, the plan limits we recorded and each review's bottom line. The note under the table says how each one was checked.

Rollbar compared with Sentry, BugSnag, Datadog
MetricRollbarSentryBugSnagDatadog
What you're paying forWorth the priceUnlimited users on every plan, every price step published, and 100,000 errors with 90-day retention for $40.83 a month billed annually.Worth the priceUnlimited users and 50,000 errors a month for $26, with SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001 and EU data storage on every plan.Worth the priceUnlimited users and 100,000 errors for $32 a month billed yearly, with performance spans included and an on-premise version for regulated teams.Saves engineering timeError tracking inside the Datadog platform you may already run: free for errors from APM and RUM, $37.50 a month for 100,000 standalone errors.
Overall score8.69.2Best7.97.2
Free optionFree planFree planFree plan14-day free trial
Card to startNo card needed–Not measuredNo card neededNo card needed
Getting accessSelf-serveSelf-serveSelf-serveSelf-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan$7.50/mo$26/mo$20/mo$25/mo
Pricing modelTieredTieredTieredUsage-based
Pricing pagePublic pricesPublic pricesPublic pricesPublic prices
Billing unitsOccurrences (errors), in steps from 10,000 to 50MErrors (50,000 in the plan, then per error)Events (errors), in steps from 50,000 to 3MErrors (flat fee to 50,000, then per 1,000)
Free allowance5,000 occurrences/mo, unlimited users5,000 errors/mo, 1 user7,500 events/mo, 1 userNone; 14-day trial, no card
5 users, 100,000 errors/mo$40.83 (Essentials, billed annually)$44.13 (Team, billed annually)$32 (Select, 150,000 events, billed yearly)$37.50 (billed annually)
Error retention on the entry paid plan90 days (180 on Advanced)Up to 90 days60 days30 days for error samples; issues 1 year after last activity
SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001SOC 2 Type II; ISO 27001 compliance statedBothISO 27001; SmartBear’s SOC 2 Type 2 scope does not list BugSnagBoth
HIPAA BAAAdvanced, from the 4M annual planBusiness plan and upNot stated; On-premise for HIPAA environmentsSigned for eligible services, incl. Error Tracking
EU data regionNot stated; primary data center in IowaYes, FrankfurtNot stated; US data centersYes, EU1 site (Germany)
SAML SSOAdvanced ($10.83/mo billed annually at 10,000)Business ($80/mo billed annually)Preferred ($33/mo billed yearly)Listed on Infrastructure Pro and Enterprise
Self-hosted versionNot statedYes, under the FSLYes, On-premise (Enterprise)Not stated
Bottom lineFrom its public pages, Rollbar is the most transparent here on price, with unlimited users on every plan and 90-day retention on Essentials. Check the missing EU region and the BAA entry point before you choose it.From its public pages, Sentry is the most complete package here for a team that mainly needs error monitoring: unlimited users, 90-day history and compliance on every plan. SAML SSO and a BAA start on Business.From its public pages, BugSnag lists the lowest price here for 100,000 errors, with unlimited users and an on-premise option. Its compliance pages are thinner for the SaaS: US hosting, no BAA and no SOC 2 Type 2 scope that names it.From its public pages, Datadog lists the lowest price here for 100,000 standalone errors and charges nothing extra for errors from its APM and RUM. Plan around the trial-only start and 30-day error samples.

Evidence: Rollbar: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Sentry: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; BugSnag: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Datadog: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.

Score

Score breakdown
Pricing clarity
8.0 / 10, Excellent
billed by errors; every self-serve volume priced; no price between 50M (last self-serve step) and 80M occurrences (where Enterprise starts); security policy gives 180-day standard retention; pricing page lists 30 and 90 days on Free and Essentials
Free tier
10.0 / 10, Excellent
5,000 occurrences a month, unlimited users
Price for 5 users and 100,000 errors
8.4 / 10, Excellent
$40.83/mo: Essentials at the 100,000-occurrence step, billed annually ($49 monthly); listed on the pricing page
Error retention
10.0 / 10, Excellent
90 days on the entry paid plan
Compliance and data residency
8.0 / 10, Excellent
own SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, HIPAA BAA on a self-serve plan
Team and control
7.0 / 10, Good
SAML SSO on a higher or other self-serve plan; no per-user charge

Review

Review from public pages

Written from Rollbar's public pages (pricing, security or privacy, and docs) as read on Oct 15, 2026. We did not sign up, and no hands-on run is published yet.

What the public pages show

We read Rollbar's pricing page, its machine-readable pricing page and its security, GDPR and data transfer documents on Oct 15, 2026; we did not sign up for this review. The pricing page has sliders for occurrences, replays and AI credits; a separate text page, published for AI agents and generated from the billing catalog on Jul 8, 2026, lists every step. At 100,000 occurrences Essentials is $49 a month, or $40.83 billed annually.

Overage is a choice: by default Rollbar stops processing at the plan limit until the cycle renews; you can turn on on-demand occurrences at the plan's rate, or set a dollar-capped overage budget. The 14-day trial starts with your first occurrence and covers Advanced features with 200,000 occurrences.

The security policy states SOC 2 Type I and Type II, ISO 27001 compliance for the production environment and HIPAA, and gives the Advanced 4M annual plan as the entry point for a BAA. It names Iowa as the primary data center, and the data transfer assessment lists the United States as the destination for EEA data. Two statements do not line up: the policy calls 180 days the standard retention, while the pricing page lists 30 days on Free and 90 on Essentials; and self-serve steps end at 50 million occurrences while Enterprise is described as for more than 80 million.

Strengths

  • Unlimited users on every plan

    Free, Essentials, Advanced and Enterprise all list unlimited users.

    vs BugSnag: Sentry’s free plan is one user; BugSnag’s free plan is one user.

  • Every step priced as text

    A text pricing page lists all 23 steps for Essentials and Advanced, monthly and annual, plus replay and AI credit prices.

  • 90-day retention on the entry plan

    Essentials keeps data 90 days and Advanced 180.

    vs Datadog: Datadog keeps error samples 30 days; BugSnag’s paid plans keep 60.

  • Overage off by default

    Processing stops at the plan limit unless you choose on-demand occurrences or a dollar-capped budget.

Things to know

  • No EU data region stated

    The security policy names Iowa as the primary data center, and the transfer assessment lists the US for EEA data.

    Workaround: Sentry and Datadog offer EU storage.

  • SAML and the BAA on Advanced

    SAML SSO and SCIM start on Advanced; the standard BAA needs the Advanced 4M plan paid annually ($1,207.50 a month).

  • ISO 27001 stated as compliance

    The policy says Rollbar adheres to ISO 27001 for its production environment; it does not link a certificate.

  • Pages disagree on two points

    Standard retention is 180 days in the policy and 30 or 90 on the pricing page, and no price covers 50 to 80 million occurrences.

Pricing reality

Rollbar prices Essentials and Advanced by monthly occurrences in steps; users are never charged. Essentials runs from $9 a month at 10,000 occurrences to $6,499 at 50 million, with $49 at 100,000 and $199 at 1 million; annual billing takes two months off ($40.83 at 100,000). Advanced costs more per step ($129 at 100,000 monthly) and adds SAML, SCIM and 180-day retention.

Session replay above the included amount and AI credits for the Resolve agent are priced separately on the same page. A BAA has no extra fee but starts on the Advanced 4M annual plan, $14,490 a year. Educational institutions get 50% off self-serve plans.

Exit path

Rollbar offers a REST API and a Terraform provider on every plan, and can forward data to Datadog. Cancelling a paid plan moves the account to Free. We found no self-hosted version on the current pages.

Compared with

  • Pick Rollbar when
    You want unlimited users on the free plan, or a slightly lower price at 100,000 errors ($40.83 against $44.13).
    Pick Sentry when
    You need EU data storage, a BAA on an $80 plan, or a self-hosted version.
  • Pick Rollbar when
    You want a permanent free plan and 90-day retention on the entry plan.
    Pick Datadog when
    You already run Datadog APM or RUM, or need an EU site.
  • Pick Rollbar when
    You want SOC 2 Type II, a BAA on a self-serve plan, or unlimited users on the free plan.
    Pick BugSnag when
    You want the lowest listed price at 100,000 errors ($32) or an on-premise version.

Choose it if

  • You want everyone on the team in the error tool at no seat cost, starting free.
  • You want to read your price off the page at any volume up to 50 million.
  • You need SOC 2 Type II and a HIPAA BAA without an enterprise contract.

Look elsewhere if

  • You need error data stored in the EU.
  • You need SAML SSO on the cheapest paid plan.

Bottom line

From its public pages, Rollbar is the most transparent here on price, with unlimited users on every plan and 90-day retention on Essentials. Check the missing EU region and the BAA entry point before you choose it.

Plan limits at a glance

LimitAs recorded
Billing unitsOccurrences (errors), in steps from 10,000 to 50M
Free allowance5,000 occurrences/mo, unlimited users
5 users, 100,000 errors/mo$40.83 (Essentials, billed annually)
Error retention on the entry paid plan90 days (180 on Advanced)
SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001SOC 2 Type II; ISO 27001 compliance stated
HIPAA BAAAdvanced, from the 4M annual plan
EU data regionNot stated; primary data center in Iowa
SAML SSOAdvanced ($10.83/mo billed annually at 10,000)
Self-hosted versionNot stated

Read from the vendor's public pages on Oct 15, 2026. No hands-on run is published yet. How we check

Rollbar lists 4 plans. The cheapest paid plan, Essentials, costs $7.50/mo.

  • RollbarFree
    Free
    $0/mo
    5,000 occurrences and 1,000 replays/mo, no card
    • Unlimited users and projects
    • 30-day data retention
    • Error grouping, stack traces and telemetry
    • Google and GitHub sign-in
  • RollbarLowest price
    Essentials
    $7.50/mo
    Billed annually at 10,000 occurrences/mo ($9 monthly); 100,000 for $40.83 ($49 monthly); up to 50M
    • 90-day data retention
    • Overage budgets and on-demand occurrences
    • Customizable rate limits
    • 4,000 AI credits/mo
  • Rollbar
    Advanced
    $10.83/mo
    Billed annually at 10,000 occurrences/mo ($13 monthly); 100,000 for $107.50 ($129 monthly)
    • SAML SSO and SCIM
    • 180-day data retention
    • Standard HIPAA BAA from the 4M annual plan
    • Adaptive alerts and RQL
  • Rollbar
    Enterprise
    Custom
    More than 80M events/mo
    • Custom data retention
    • Custom BAA and audit controls
    • Dedicated customer success manager
    • Custom SLAs

Prices as listed, USD, excluding tax; observed 2026-10-15.

Source: rollbar.com pricing page. Prices change; the observed date above is when our agent read them.

Visit site