Error monitoring · Comparison

BugSnag vs Rollbar

2 products compared side by side: what you pay for with each one first, then the five access facts, entry prices, recorded plan limits and the bottom line of each review. The evidence note under the table says how each product was checked.

Side by side

BugSnag vs Rollbar: value, access facts, plan limits and bottom lines
MetricBugSnagRollbar
What you're paying forWorth the priceUnlimited users and 100,000 errors for $32 a month billed yearly, with performance spans included and an on-premise version for regulated teams.Worth the priceUnlimited users on every plan, every price step published, and 100,000 errors with 90-day retention for $40.83 a month billed annually.
Overall score7.98.6Best
Free optionFree planFree plan
Card to startNo card neededNo card needed
Getting accessSelf-serveSelf-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan$20/mo$7.50/mo
Pricing modelTieredTiered
Pricing pagePublic pricesPublic prices
Billing unitsEvents (errors), in steps from 50,000 to 3MOccurrences (errors), in steps from 10,000 to 50M
Free allowance7,500 events/mo, 1 user5,000 occurrences/mo, unlimited users
5 users, 100,000 errors/mo$32 (Select, 150,000 events, billed yearly)$40.83 (Essentials, billed annually)
Error retention on the entry paid plan60 days90 days (180 on Advanced)
SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001ISO 27001; SmartBear’s SOC 2 Type 2 scope does not list BugSnagSOC 2 Type II; ISO 27001 compliance stated
HIPAA BAANot stated; On-premise for HIPAA environmentsAdvanced, from the 4M annual plan
EU data regionNot stated; US data centersNot stated; primary data center in Iowa
SAML SSOPreferred ($33/mo billed yearly)Advanced ($10.83/mo billed annually at 10,000)
Self-hosted versionYes, On-premise (Enterprise)Not stated
Bottom lineFrom its public pages, BugSnag lists the lowest price here for 100,000 errors, with unlimited users and an on-premise option. Its compliance pages are thinner for the SaaS: US hosting, no BAA and no SOC 2 Type 2 scope that names it.From its public pages, Rollbar is the most transparent here on price, with unlimited users on every plan and 90-day retention on Essentials. Check the missing EU region and the BAA entry point before you choose it.

Evidence: BugSnag: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Rollbar: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.

When to pick each

In the words of each review, with the date its facts were checked.

  • From our BugSnag review

    Checked Oct 15, 2026
    Pick BugSnag when
    You want the lower listed price at 100,000 errors, performance spans included, or on-premise hosting.
    Pick Rollbar when
    You need SOC 2 Type II, a self-serve BAA, 90-day retention or unlimited users on the free plan.
  • From our Rollbar review

    Checked Oct 15, 2026
    Pick Rollbar when
    You want SOC 2 Type II, a BAA on a self-serve plan, or unlimited users on the free plan.
    Pick BugSnag when
    You want the lowest listed price at 100,000 errors ($32) or an on-premise version.

Entry price

Baseline: each product's cheapest paid plan, per month. Included usage differs, so read the line under each price.

  • BugSnag
    Select
    $20/mo
    Billed yearly at 50,000 events/mo ($23 monthly); 150,000 for $32 ($39 monthly); up to 3M
    • Unlimited users
    • 1M spans/mo included
    • 60-day data retention
    • Basic notifications
  • RollbarLowest price
    Essentials
    $7.50/mo
    Billed annually at 10,000 occurrences/mo ($9 monthly); 100,000 for $40.83 ($49 monthly); up to 50M
    • 90-day data retention
    • Overage budgets and on-demand occurrences
    • Customizable rate limits
    • 4,000 AI credits/mo

Prices as listed on each pricing page, in USD per month, excluding tax. Observed: BugSnag 2026-10-15, Rollbar 2026-10-15.

Which one fits

If you need to start today without a sales call
RollbarSelf-serve sign-up, no card needed; the highest score of the 2 self-serve products here (8.6/10).
If you want to try it without entering a card
RollbarFree plan, no card needed, and the highest score of the 2 that skip the card (8.6/10).
Lowest starter price
Rollbar$7.50/mo for the Essentials plan.
Highest overall score
Rollbar8.6/10 (Excellent). The review shows the score breakdown and the run behind it.

Picked by fixed rules from the table above, not by hand. How we score

Full reviews

More in Error monitoring

Add a product

Search by product name or by what it does, such as “email” or “feature flags”. 2 more fit in this comparison.