Error monitoring · Comparison

Datadog vs New Relic

2 products compared side by side: what you pay for with each one first, then the five access facts, entry prices, recorded plan limits and the bottom line of each review. The evidence note under the table says how each product was checked.

Side by side

Datadog vs New Relic: value, access facts, plan limits and bottom lines
MetricDatadogNew Relic
What you're paying forSaves engineering timeError tracking inside the Datadog platform you may already run: free for errors from APM and RUM, $37.50 a month for 100,000 standalone errors.Worth the priceError tracking, APM, logs and infrastructure under one 100 GB free tier, with unlimited hosts and paid users from $10 a month.
Overall score7.2Best6.6
Free option14-day free trialFree plan
Card to startNo card neededNo card needed
Getting accessSelf-serveSelf-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan$25/mo$10/mo
Pricing modelUsage-basedSeat + usage
Pricing pagePublic pricesPublic prices
Billing unitsErrors (flat fee to 50,000, then per 1,000)Data ingest (GB) and users by type
Free allowanceNone; 14-day trial, no card100 GB/mo, 1 full platform user
5 users, 100,000 errors/mo$37.50 (billed annually)$206 on Standard, computed, if ingest stays within 100 GB
Error retention on the entry paid plan30 days for error samples; issues 1 year after last activity8 days (98 with Data Plus)
SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001BothBoth
HIPAA BAASigned for eligible services, incl. Error TrackingEnterprise with Data Plus
EU data regionYes, EU1 site (Germany)Yes, +$0.05/GB
SAML SSOListed on Infrastructure Pro and EnterpriseStandard
Self-hosted versionNot statedNot stated
Bottom lineFrom its public pages, Datadog lists the lowest price here for 100,000 standalone errors and charges nothing extra for errors from its APM and RUM. Plan around the trial-only start and 30-day error samples.From its public pages, New Relic has the broadest free tier here, but error triage is priced through users and data rather than errors. It costs least when few people triage and data stays near 100 GB a month.

Evidence: Datadog: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; New Relic: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.

When to pick each

In the words of each review, with the date its facts were checked.

  • From our Datadog review

    Checked Oct 15, 2026
    Pick Datadog when
    You want error tracking billed by error volume with no seat charges.
    Pick New Relic when
    You want a permanent free tier with 100 GB of data a month across APM, logs and infrastructure.
  • From our New Relic review

    Checked Oct 15, 2026
    Pick New Relic when
    You want a permanent free tier and SAML SSO on the entry paid edition.
    Pick Datadog when
    You want error tracking billed only by error volume, or already run Datadog APM or RUM.

Entry price

Baseline: each product's cheapest paid plan, per month. Included usage differs, so read the line under each price.

  • Datadog
    Error Tracking
    $25/mo
    Up to 50,000 errors/mo, billed annually ($36 on-demand)
    • $0.25 per 1,000 errors from 50,000 to 100,000 (annual)
    • Error samples kept 30 days
    • Issues kept 1 year after last activity
    • Chat and email support
  • New RelicLowest price
    Standard
    $10/mo
    First full platform user; $99 each additional (up to 5); core users $49
    • $0.40/GB beyond 100 GB ($0.60 with Data Plus)
    • SAML single sign-on
    • Ticketed support
    • EU data center +$0.05/GB

Prices as listed on each pricing page, in USD per month, excluding tax. Observed: Datadog 2026-10-15, New Relic 2026-10-15.

Which one fits

If you need to start today without a sales call
DatadogSelf-serve sign-up, no card needed; the highest score of the 2 self-serve products here (7.2/10).
If you want to try it without entering a card
New RelicFree plan, no card needed; scored 6.6/10.
Lowest starter price
New Relic$10/mo for the Standard (first full platform user) plan.
Highest overall score
Datadog7.2/10 (Good). The review shows the score breakdown and the run behind it.

Picked by fixed rules from the table above, not by hand. How we score

Full reviews

More in Error monitoring

Add a product

Search by product name or by what it does, such as “email” or “feature flags”. 2 more fit in this comparison.