Error monitoring · Comparison
New Relic vs Rollbar
2 products compared side by side: what you pay for with each one first, then the five access facts, entry prices, recorded plan limits and the bottom line of each review. The evidence note under the table says how each product was checked.
Side by side
| Metric | New Relic | Rollbar |
|---|---|---|
| What you're paying for | Worth the priceError tracking, APM, logs and infrastructure under one 100 GB free tier, with unlimited hosts and paid users from $10 a month. | Worth the priceUnlimited users on every plan, every price step published, and 100,000 errors with 90-day retention for $40.83 a month billed annually. |
| Overall score | 6.6 | 8.6Best |
| Free option | Free plan | Free plan |
| Card to start | No card needed | No card needed |
| Getting access | Self-serve | Self-serve |
| Starter priceCheapest paid plan | $10/mo | $7.50/mo |
| Pricing model | Seat + usage | Tiered |
| Pricing page | Public prices | Public prices |
| Billing units | Data ingest (GB) and users by type | Occurrences (errors), in steps from 10,000 to 50M |
| Free allowance | 100 GB/mo, 1 full platform user | 5,000 occurrences/mo, unlimited users |
| 5 users, 100,000 errors/mo | $206 on Standard, computed, if ingest stays within 100 GB | $40.83 (Essentials, billed annually) |
| Error retention on the entry paid plan | 8 days (98 with Data Plus) | 90 days (180 on Advanced) |
| SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 | Both | SOC 2 Type II; ISO 27001 compliance stated |
| HIPAA BAA | Enterprise with Data Plus | Advanced, from the 4M annual plan |
| EU data region | Yes, +$0.05/GB | Not stated; primary data center in Iowa |
| SAML SSO | Standard | Advanced ($10.83/mo billed annually at 10,000) |
| Self-hosted version | Not stated | Not stated |
| Bottom line | From its public pages, New Relic has the broadest free tier here, but error triage is priced through users and data rather than errors. It costs least when few people triage and data stays near 100 GB a month. | From its public pages, Rollbar is the most transparent here on price, with unlimited users on every plan and 90-day retention on Essentials. Check the missing EU region and the BAA entry point before you choose it. |
Evidence: New Relic: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Rollbar: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.
Entry price
Baseline: each product's cheapest paid plan, per month. Included usage differs, so read the line under each price.
- New RelicStandard$10/moFirst full platform user; $99 each additional (up to 5); core users $49
- $0.40/GB beyond 100 GB ($0.60 with Data Plus)
- SAML single sign-on
- Ticketed support
- EU data center +$0.05/GB
- RollbarLowest priceEssentials$7.50/moBilled annually at 10,000 occurrences/mo ($9 monthly); 100,000 for $40.83 ($49 monthly); up to 50M
- 90-day data retention
- Overage budgets and on-demand occurrences
- Customizable rate limits
- 4,000 AI credits/mo
Prices as listed on each pricing page, in USD per month, excluding tax. Observed: New Relic 2026-10-15, Rollbar 2026-10-15.
Which one fits
- If you need to start today without a sales call
- RollbarSelf-serve sign-up, no card needed; the highest score of the 2 self-serve products here (8.6/10).
- If you want to try it without entering a card
- RollbarFree plan, no card needed, and the highest score of the 2 that skip the card (8.6/10).
- Lowest starter price
- Rollbar$7.50/mo for the Essentials plan.
- Highest overall score
- Rollbar8.6/10 (Excellent). The review shows the score breakdown and the run behind it.
Picked by fixed rules from the table above, not by hand. How we score
Full reviews
More in Error monitoring
Add a product
Search by product name or by what it does, such as “email” or “feature flags”. 2 more fit in this comparison.