SurveyMonkey review

by SurveyMonkey Inc.Online forms and surveys

Online surveys with analysis built in, in individual plans from $46 a month billed annually and team plans from 3 users, with extra responses at $0.15 each.

Facts checked
  • Free plan
  • Self-serve
  • Seat + usage
  • Public prices
Visit site

What you're paying for

  • Easy to adopt (main value)
  • Compliance included

Surveys with analysis built in, from a vendor with SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001, and paid plans that keep collecting past their allowance.

SurveyMonkey is built around surveys and the analysis that follows: plans add crosstabs, statistical significance, multi-survey analysis and AI analysis, and exports to CSV, XLS, PPT, PDF or SPSS. Paid plans do not stop collecting at the response allowance; each extra response is billed at $0.15. The Trust Center lists SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001, and the DPA with SCCs forms part of the agreement for self-serve customers.

  • Analysis tools in the plansThe plan cards list statistical significance, multi-survey analysis and AI analysis from Advantage, and crosstabs on Premier; exports cover CSV, XLS, PPT and PDF from Standard and SPSS from Advantage.Evidence: Pricing plan cards and exports help article (2026-10-16; US prices from the Internet Archive copy of Jul 13, 2026)
  • Collection continues past the allowanceThe response limits article says responses over a paid plan’s limit are billed at $0.15 each to the card on file, rather than hidden or stopped.Evidence: Help center: response limits (2026-10-16)
  • SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001The Trust Center lists SOC 2 Type II with annual audits and ISO 27001 since 2019, and the DPA, with EU, UK and Swiss SCCs, forms part of the agreement for self-serve customers.Evidence: Trust Center and DPA help article (2026-10-16)
Best for
Researchers, HR and customer-experience teams that run surveys and want analysis and exports in the same tool.
Good to know
Removing the SurveyMonkey footer starts on Premier ($1,668 a year), and Advantage and Premier are sold on annual terms only.

How SurveyMonkey compares

Against 3 other products we reviewed in Online forms and surveys: what you pay for with each, the five access facts, the plan limits we recorded and each review's bottom line. The note under the table says how each one was checked.

SurveyMonkey compared with Tally, Fillout, Jotform
MetricSurveyMonkeyTallyFilloutJotform
What you're paying forEasy to adoptSurveys with analysis built in, from a vendor with SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001, and paid plans that keep collecting past their allowance.Worth the priceUnlimited forms and submissions for free, with payments, uploads, logic and the API, and one flat Pro price for a whole team.Worth the priceForms with 1,000 free responses a month and unlimited seats, connected to Airtable, Notion, Google Sheets and your own API from the free plan.Worth the priceEvery standard form feature on every plan, free included, with plans priced by usage limits and a self-serve HIPAA BAA on Gold.
Overall score4.97.1Best7.06.5
Free optionFree planFree planFree planFree plan
Card to start–Not measured–Not measured–Not measured–Not measured
Getting accessSelf-serveSelf-serveSelf-serveSelf-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan$46/mo$24/mo$15/mo$34/mo
Pricing modelSeat + usageFlat rateTieredTiered
Pricing pagePublic pricesPublic pricesPublic pricesPublic prices
Billing unitPer plan (individual) or per user (team, from 3 users) with a response allowance; $0.15 per extra responseFlat per plan; unlimited forms, submissions and team members under fair useFlat per plan with a monthly response allowance; unlimited seats and formsFlat per plan with limits on forms, monthly submissions, views and storage
Free optionFree Basic plan: 10 questions and 25 viewable responses per survey, SurveyMonkey footerFree plan: unlimited forms and submissions under fair use, Tally brandingFree plan: 1,000 responses a month, unlimited forms and seats, Fillout badgeFree Starter plan: 5 forms, 100 submissions a month, all standard features, Jotform branding
Reference scenario (1,000 responses/mo, no branding, annual)$139/mo on Premier Annual ($1,668 a year), computed$24.17/mo on Pro ($290 a year, shown as $24/mo), computed$40/mo on Pro ($480 a year), computed$34/mo on Bronze ($408 a year), computed
Month-to-month priceStandard Monthly $99 only; Advantage and Premier are sold annually$29 on Pro ($29 / $89 for Pro and Business)$49 on Pro ($19 / $49 / $89 for Starter, Pro and Business)$39 on Bronze ($39 / $49 / $129 for Bronze, Silver and Gold)
At the response limitPaid plans keep collecting; each extra response is billed at $0.15No plan cap; sustained use over 50,000 submissions a month leads to a custom planForms keep collecting; upgrade or wait for the reset, and repeated overage can lead to limitsForms are disabled ("Form over quota") until the monthly reset or an upgrade; no extra packs
Branding removedPremier ($139/mo billed annually), Team Premier and Enterprise; Standard and Advantage show a subtle footerPro ($24/mo billed yearly) and upPro ($40/mo billed yearly) and up; Starter keeps light brandingBronze ($34/mo billed yearly) and up
Payments and file uploadsAdvantage and up; payments through Stripe or PayPalEvery plan; Stripe with no Tally fee; 10 MB per file on FreeEvery plan; no Fillout fee on payments; 20 MB per file below BusinessEvery plan; no Jotform transaction fee
SOC 2 / ISO 27001SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 listed in the Trust CenterBoth listed as in progress on the roadmapSOC 2 Type 2 compliance stated; ISO 27001 not statedSOC 2 Type II for a dedicated Enterprise environment; ISO 27001 stated for its hosts only
HIPAA BAAEnterprise add-on, through salesNot offeredNot statedGold ($99/mo billed yearly), signed in the account at no extra cost; Enterprise
EU data hostingEnterprise onlyAll form data stored in Europe, every planTeam plan ($250/mo billed yearly) and Enterprise, switched by supportEU Safe Forms (Frankfurt), switched on in account settings
SSOSAML on EnterpriseNot listedSAML on EnterpriseSAML on Enterprise
Response exportCSV, XLS, PPT or PDF from Standard; SPSS from Advantage; none on BasicCSV download and the API on every planCSV export and REST API on every planCSV, Excel or PDF; REST API on every plan
Bottom lineFrom its public pages, SurveyMonkey is a survey tool with analysis built in, SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001, and published overage. Removing its branding costs $1,668 a year on Premier, and SSO, HIPAA, EU hosting and API apps sit on Enterprise.From its public pages, Tally gives the most for free: unlimited forms and submissions with logic, payments, uploads and the API, and Pro adds a whole team for $290 a year. Its security certifications are still in progress, and HIPAA and SSO are not offered.From its public pages, Fillout pairs a 1,000-response free plan and unlimited seats with integrations and the API on every plan. Removing branding takes Pro at $480 a year, and several pages disagree on refunds, cancellation and hosting regions.From its public pages, Jotform puts every standard feature on every plan and prices by limits, with branding removed from $408 a year and a self-serve HIPAA BAA on Gold. Plans below Enterprise are for one user, and forms stop at a monthly limit.

Evidence: SurveyMonkey: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Tally: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Fillout: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Jotform: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.

Score

Score breakdown
Pricing clarity
4.0 / 10, Fair
scenario plan priced; can be bought online; no month-to-month price for the scenario plan; what happens at the response cap is stated; Basic response limit not shown on the pricing page ("Sign up or log in to see"); the API docs say 25 per survey; Starter Annual and Forms plans named in the help center without a published price; multilingual surveys: Advantage in the plan table, Premier on the plan cards; white-label research.net links: Premier on the pricing page, Enterprise in the Enterprise feature list; Enterprise price not published (Get a demo)
Free plan
3.7 / 10, Fair
free plan: 25 viewable responses per survey, 10 questions per survey (counted as 25 a month), no conditional logic, no file uploads
Price for 1,000 responses
1.8 / 10, Fair
$139/mo: Premier Annual, annual terms; $1,668 a year for 40,000 responses a year and one user; the SurveyMonkey footer can be removed from Premier (Standard and Advantage show a subtle footer)
Form and collection features
8.6 / 10, Excellent
conditional logic on the scenario plan; payments on the scenario plan; file uploads on the scenario plan; partial responses on the scenario plan; custom domain enterprise or through sales only
Compliance and data residency
6.5 / 10, Good
SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, HIPAA BAA enterprise or through sales only, EU data storage enterprise or through sales only (EU data center for Enterprise customers; Stripe payments need US or Canada storage)
Team, API and data export
4.5 / 10, Fair
SAML SSO enterprise or through sales only; audit log enterprise or through sales only; team members on a higher self-serve plan; REST API enterprise or through sales only; webhooks enterprise or through sales only; response export

Review

Review from public pages

Written from SurveyMonkey's public pages (pricing, security or privacy, and docs) as read on Oct 16, 2026. We did not sign up, and no hands-on run is published yet.

What the public pages show

We read SurveyMonkey's individual and team pricing pages and plan comparison tables, the pricing FAQ, help center articles on plans, response limits, downgrades, auto-renew, refunds, trying paid features, payments, response statuses, custom survey links, exports, SSO, two-factor authentication, HIPAA, the DPA and data centers, the Trust Center, the Enterprise feature list, the brand assets page, the API docs and the Terms of Use on Oct 16, 2026; we did not sign up or call the API for this review. From our location the pricing pages show another currency, so the US dollar prices come from Internet Archive copies served to US visitors: the individual plans from Jul 13, 2026 and the team plans from Oct 8, 2026.

The plan cards are clear on the main lines: Standard Monthly $99, Advantage Annual $552 and Premier Annual $1,668, Team Advantage $30 and Team Premier $92 per user a month billed annually from 3 users, and $0.15 for each response over a paid plan's allowance. Advantage was $468 a year in the US copy of Jun 13, 2026.

A few points need a question to SurveyMonkey. The live pricing page no longer shows the Basic response limit; the API docs say 25 per survey. The plan table and plan cards put multilingual surveys on different plans, and the pricing page and Enterprise feature list differ on which plan gets research.net white-label links. The help center names Starter Annual and Forms plans that the pricing pages do not price.

Strengths

  • Analysis and exports in the product

    Paid plans add statistical significance, multi-survey analysis, crosstabs and AI analysis, with exports to CSV, XLS, PPT, PDF and SPSS.

    vs Typeform: Typeform and Jotform export responses as CSV or Excel; SPSS export is not listed on their pages.

  • Paid plans keep collecting

    Over the allowance, each response is billed at $0.15 instead of forms stopping.

    vs Typeform: Typeform switches forms to private at the limit and Jotform disables them.

  • SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001

    The Trust Center lists SOC 2 Type II, audited every year, and ISO 27001 since 2019, along with PCI DSS and CCPA.

    vs Tally: Tally lists both certifications as in progress.

  • Payments and uploads from Advantage

    Advantage ($552 a year) adds payment questions through Stripe or PayPal and file uploads, with 15,000 responses a year.

Things to know

  • Branding removal on Premier

    Standard and Advantage show a subtle SurveyMonkey footer; removing it needs Premier at $1,668 a year, or Team Premier.

    Workaround: Premier also brings advanced logic, multilingual surveys and 40,000 responses a year.

  • Small free plan without export

    Basic allows 10 questions per survey and shows 25 responses per survey (API docs; the live page asks you to log in to see the number), and lists skip logic, payments and uploads as limited. Exports start on Standard.

    Workaround: Free users can try paid features while building a survey before choosing a plan.

  • Enterprise holds SSO, HIPAA, EU hosting and the API

    SAML SSO, the HIPAA BAA (an add-on bought separately), the EU data center, custom subdomains and deploying a private API app need Enterprise.

    Workaround: A draft API app can be used on any plan for 90 days.

  • Annual plans and refunds

    Advantage and Premier are sold on annual terms, and the Terms say payments are non-refundable once you have used the service or collected responses.

    Workaround: Standard is sold month to month; consumers in the EU, EEA, UK and Switzerland have a 14-day cancellation right.

Pricing reality

SurveyMonkey bills individual plans per account and team plans per user, each with a response allowance, plus $0.15 per extra response, deleted responses included. For our scenario, 1,000 responses a month without SurveyMonkey branding, Premier Annual costs $1,668 a year, or $139 a month, before tax: it is the cheapest plan that removes the footer, and its 40,000 responses a year cover 12,000. Advantage ($552 a year) covers the volume but keeps a subtle footer. Team Premier costs at least $276 a month for 3 users on annual terms (computed). Prices are from US copies of the pricing pages; Advantage rose from $468 to $552 a year between June and July 2026.

Exit path

Paid plans export responses as CSV, XLS, PPT or PDF (only CSV above 100,000 responses), and SPSS from Advantage; Basic has no export, and the API returns 25 responses per survey on Basic. After a downgrade, responses over the free limit are hidden and may be deleted after a 30-day grace period. Plans auto-renew by default.

Compared with

  • Pick SurveyMonkey when
    You want built-in survey analysis, SPSS export and collection that continues past the allowance at $0.15 a response.
    Pick Typeform when
    You want branding removed for less ($56 a month on Plus, billed yearly) with 3 seats, and logic and export on the free plan.
  • Pick SurveyMonkey when
    You run research surveys and want crosstabs, significance testing and SPSS export.
    Pick Jotform when
    You want branding removed at $408 a year, payments and uploads on the free plan, or a self-serve HIPAA BAA.
  • Pick SurveyMonkey when
    Your security review asks for SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 today.
    Pick Tally when
    You want unlimited free responses and no branding for $290 a year, with data stored in Europe.

Choose it if

  • You run surveys and want analysis, crosstabs and SPSS export in the same tool.
  • You want paid plans to keep collecting past the allowance at a published price.
  • Your security review asks for SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001.

Look elsewhere if

  • You want to remove the vendor’s branding on a low-cost plan.
  • You need SSO, HIPAA, EU hosting or a deployed API app without an enterprise contract.

Bottom line

From its public pages, SurveyMonkey is a survey tool with analysis built in, SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001, and published overage. Removing its branding costs $1,668 a year on Premier, and SSO, HIPAA, EU hosting and API apps sit on Enterprise.

Plan limits at a glance

LimitAs recorded
Billing unitPer plan (individual) or per user (team, from 3 users) with a response allowance; $0.15 per extra response
Free optionFree Basic plan: 10 questions and 25 viewable responses per survey, SurveyMonkey footer
Reference scenario (1,000 responses/mo, no branding, annual)$139/mo on Premier Annual ($1,668 a year), computed
Month-to-month priceStandard Monthly $99 only; Advantage and Premier are sold annually
At the response limitPaid plans keep collecting; each extra response is billed at $0.15
Branding removedPremier ($139/mo billed annually), Team Premier and Enterprise; Standard and Advantage show a subtle footer
Payments and file uploadsAdvantage and up; payments through Stripe or PayPal
SOC 2 / ISO 27001SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 listed in the Trust Center
HIPAA BAAEnterprise add-on, through sales
EU data hostingEnterprise only
SSOSAML on Enterprise
Response exportCSV, XLS, PPT or PDF from Standard; SPSS from Advantage; none on Basic

Read from the vendor's public pages on Oct 16, 2026. No hands-on run is published yet. How we check

SurveyMonkey lists 7 plans. The cheapest paid plan, Advantage Annual (billed annually), costs $46/mo.

  • SurveyMonkeyFree
    Basic
    $0
    1 user, 10 questions per survey, 25 viewable responses per survey
    • Unlimited surveys
    • 3 collectors per survey
    • Zapier integration
    • No response export
  • SurveyMonkey
    Standard Monthly
    $99/mo
    Billed monthly. 1 user, 1,000 responses a month
    • Unlimited questions
    • Skip logic
    • Data exports (CSV, XLS, PPT, PDF)
    • Subtle SurveyMonkey footer
  • SurveyMonkeyLowest price
    Advantage Annual
    $46/mo
    $552 billed annually. 1 user, 15,000 responses a year
    • Accept payments (Stripe or PayPal)
    • File upload questions
    • Piping, randomization and quotas
    • SPSS export
  • SurveyMonkey
    Premier Annual
    $139/mo
    $1,668 billed annually. 1 user, 40,000 responses a year
    • Remove the SurveyMonkey footer, white-label surveys
    • Advanced branching and piping
    • Multilingual surveys
    • Survey completion redirect
  • SurveyMonkey
    Team Advantage
    $30/user/mo
    Billed annually, from 3 users. 50,000 responses a year
    • Shared templates, logos and themes
    • Roles and permissions
    • Consolidated billing
  • SurveyMonkey
    Team Premier
    $92/user/mo
    Billed annually, from 3 users. 100,000 responses a year
    • White label branding
    • Advanced logic and block randomization
    • Multilingual surveys
  • SurveyMonkey
    Enterprise
    Contact sales
    • SAML single sign-on
    • HIPAA BAA as an add-on
    • US, Canada or EU data center
    • Custom subdomain and private API apps

Prices as listed, USD, excluding tax; observed 2026-10-16.

Source: surveymonkey.com pricing page. Prices change; the observed date above is when our agent read them.

Visit site