Fillout review
by Restly, Inc.Online forms and surveys
A form builder with 1,000 free responses a month, unlimited seats on every plan, and paid plans from $15 a month billed yearly.
- Free plan
- Self-serve
- Tiered
- Public prices
What you're paying for
- Worth the price (main value)
- Saves engineering time
Forms with 1,000 free responses a month and unlimited seats, connected to Airtable, Notion, Google Sheets and your own API from the free plan.
Fillout’s free plan collects 1,000 responses a month with conditional logic, payments, file uploads, webhooks, the REST API and most integrations, and every plan lets a whole team edit forms with no per-seat charge. A team that sends form data to Airtable, Notion, Google Sheets or HubSpot can do it without a paid plan or a separate automation tool. Pro, at $480 a year, removes all branding; Business adds partial submissions, a custom domain and translations.
- 1,000 responses a month on the free planThe pricing page lists unlimited seats, unlimited forms and 1,000 responses a month on Free, with logic, file uploads and payments; Fillout adds no fee to Stripe payments on any plan.Evidence: Pricing page and payment page help article (2026-10-16)
- Integrations and API on every planAirtable, Google Sheets, Notion, HubSpot, Mailchimp, webhooks and 50+ more integrations, and REST API access, are listed as included on all plans.Evidence: Pricing plan comparison and REST API help article (2026-10-16)
- No per-seat chargeThe pricing page says there are no per-seat charges, and the help center says inviting team members is free on all plans.Evidence: Pricing page and invite collaborators help article (2026-10-16)
- Best for
- Teams that keep their data in Airtable, Notion or Google Sheets and want a generous free plan with unlimited seats.
- Good to know
- Partial submissions and a custom domain start on Business; EU hosting on the Team plan; HIPAA is not mentioned.
How Fillout compares
Against 3 other products we reviewed in Online forms and surveys: what you pay for with each, the five access facts, the plan limits we recorded and each review's bottom line. The note under the table says how each one was checked.
| Metric | Fillout | Tally | Jotform | Typeform |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| What you're paying for | Worth the priceForms with 1,000 free responses a month and unlimited seats, connected to Airtable, Notion, Google Sheets and your own API from the free plan. | Worth the priceUnlimited forms and submissions for free, with payments, uploads, logic and the API, and one flat Pro price for a whole team. | Worth the priceEvery standard form feature on every plan, free included, with plans priced by usage limits and a self-serve HIPAA BAA on Gold. | Easy to adoptInteractive forms and surveys with logic on every plan, backed by Typeform’s own SOC 2 Type II report and ISO 27001 certificate. |
| Overall score | 7.0 | 7.1Best | 6.5 | 5.8 |
| Free option | Free plan | Free plan | Free plan | Free plan |
| Card to start | –Not measured | –Not measured | –Not measured | –Not measured |
| Getting access | Self-serve | Self-serve | Self-serve | Self-serve |
| Starter priceCheapest paid plan | $15/mo | $24/mo | $34/mo | $28/mo |
| Pricing model | Tiered | Flat rate | Tiered | Tiered |
| Pricing page | Public prices | Public prices | Public prices | Public prices |
| Billing unit | Flat per plan with a monthly response allowance; unlimited seats and forms | Flat per plan; unlimited forms, submissions and team members under fair use | Flat per plan with limits on forms, monthly submissions, views and storage | Flat per plan with a monthly response allowance; extra response tiers bought in the account |
| Free option | Free plan: 1,000 responses a month, unlimited forms and seats, Fillout badge | Free plan: unlimited forms and submissions under fair use, Tally branding | Free Starter plan: 5 forms, 100 submissions a month, all standard features, Jotform branding | Free plan: 10 responses a month, unlimited forms, logic, Typeform branding |
| Reference scenario (1,000 responses/mo, no branding, annual) | $40/mo on Pro ($480 a year), computed | $24.17/mo on Pro ($290 a year, shown as $24/mo), computed | $34/mo on Bronze ($408 a year), computed | $56/mo on Plus, billed yearly ($672 a year, computed) |
| Month-to-month price | $49 on Pro ($19 / $49 / $89 for Starter, Pro and Business) | $29 on Pro ($29 / $89 for Pro and Business) | $39 on Bronze ($39 / $49 / $129 for Bronze, Silver and Gold) | $79 on Plus ($39 / $79 / $129 for Basic, Plus and Business) |
| At the response limit | Forms keep collecting; upgrade or wait for the reset, and repeated overage can lead to limits | No plan cap; sustained use over 50,000 submissions a month leads to a custom plan | Forms are disabled ("Form over quota") until the monthly reset or an upgrade; no extra packs | Forms switch to private until the next month, unless you buy a higher response tier or turn on auto-upgrade |
| Branding removed | Pro ($40/mo billed yearly) and up; Starter keeps light branding | Pro ($24/mo billed yearly) and up | Bronze ($34/mo billed yearly) and up | Plus ($56/mo billed yearly) and up |
| Payments and file uploads | Every plan; no Fillout fee on payments; 20 MB per file below Business | Every plan; Stripe with no Tally fee; 10 MB per file on Free | Every plan; no Jotform transaction fee | Basic and up; payments through Stripe or PayPal |
| SOC 2 / ISO 27001 | SOC 2 Type 2 compliance stated; ISO 27001 not stated | Both listed as in progress on the roadmap | SOC 2 Type II for a dedicated Enterprise environment; ISO 27001 stated for its hosts only | SOC 2 Type II report and ISO/IEC 27001:2022 certificate in the Trust Center |
| HIPAA BAA | Not stated | Not offered | Gold ($99/mo billed yearly), signed in the account at no extra cost; Enterprise | Enterprise or Growth Custom, through sales |
| EU data hosting | Team plan ($250/mo billed yearly) and Enterprise, switched by support | All form data stored in Europe, every plan | EU Safe Forms (Frankfurt), switched on in account settings | New Enterprise accounts, through sales |
| SSO | SAML on Enterprise | Not listed | SAML on Enterprise | SAML or OIDC on Enterprise |
| Response export | CSV export and REST API on every plan | CSV download and the API on every plan | CSV, Excel or PDF; REST API on every plan | CSV or XLSX on every plan, Free included; Responses API |
| Bottom line | From its public pages, Fillout pairs a 1,000-response free plan and unlimited seats with integrations and the API on every plan. Removing branding takes Pro at $480 a year, and several pages disagree on refunds, cancellation and hosting regions. | From its public pages, Tally gives the most for free: unlimited forms and submissions with logic, payments, uploads and the API, and Pro adds a whole team for $290 a year. Its security certifications are still in progress, and HIPAA and SSO are not offered. | From its public pages, Jotform puts every standard feature on every plan and prices by limits, with branding removed from $408 a year and a self-serve HIPAA BAA on Gold. Plans below Enterprise are for one user, and forms stop at a monthly limit. | From its public pages, Typeform is an interactive form builder with logic, export and the API on every plan and an audited security record in its own name. Removing branding starts on Plus at $56 a month billed yearly, and HIPAA, EU hosting and SSO go through sales. |
Evidence: Fillout: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Tally: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Jotform: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Typeform: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.
Score
- Pricing clarity
- 6.0 / 10, Good
- scenario plan priced; can be bought online; month-to-month price published; what happens at the response cap is stated; Enterprise price not published (Book a Demo); refunds: "All payments are final and non-refundable" in the Terms, refunds within 14 days or the first month in the help center; cancellation: 30 days’ written notice in the Terms, cancel at any time in the pricing FAQ; regions: US, EU, UK, Australia or Canada on the Enterprise page, US and EU in the deployment region article
- Free plan
- 10.0 / 10, Excellent
- free plan: 1,000 responses a month, conditional logic, file uploads
- Price for 1,000 responses
- 5.7 / 10, Fair
- $40/mo: Pro, annual terms; $480 a year for 5,000 responses a month and unlimited seats, all Fillout branding removed (Starter keeps light branding)
- Form and collection features
- 8.4 / 10, Excellent
- conditional logic on the scenario plan; payments on the scenario plan; file uploads on the scenario plan; partial responses on a higher self-serve plan; custom domain on a higher self-serve plan
- Compliance and data residency
- 4.5 / 10, Fair
- SOC 2 Type II, HIPAA BAA not listed, EU data storage on a higher self-serve plan (Team plan ($3,000 a year) and Enterprise, switched by support; existing submissions do not carry over)
- Team, API and data export
- 7.2 / 10, Good
- SAML SSO enterprise or through sales only; audit log enterprise or through sales only; team members on the scenario plan; REST API on the scenario plan; webhooks on the scenario plan; response export
Review
Review from public pages
Written from Fillout's public pages (pricing, security or privacy, and docs) as read on Oct 16, 2026. We did not sign up, and no hands-on run is published yet.
What the public pages show
We read Fillout's pricing page and the plan settings in its script, the pricing FAQ, the Enterprise and brand pages, help center articles on billing, plans, the fair use policy, branding, payments, file uploads, partial submissions, custom domains, translations, permissions, two-factor authentication, SSO, audit logs, deployment region, security, GDPR, export, cancellation and refunds, the REST API docs and the Terms on Oct 16, 2026; we did not sign up or call the API for this review. The help center says all subscriptions are billed in US dollars.
The headline prices on the pricing page are annual ($15, $40 and $75 a month); the month-to-month prices ($19, $49 and $89) appear when the toggle is switched. The pricing FAQ says forms keep collecting after the monthly allowance, until you upgrade or the count resets on the 1st; the help center adds that regular overage may lead to limited or suspended access.
Several pages need a question to Fillout. The Terms say payments are final and non-refundable while the refund policy offers refunds; the Terms ask for 30 days' written notice to cancel while the FAQ says cancel any time. The Enterprise page lists the USA, EU, UK, Australia or Canada as hosting regions, while the deployment region article offers the US and Europe. No page mentions HIPAA, and the FAQ prohibits collecting other sensitive personal information.
Strengths
- Generous free plan
Free collects 1,000 responses a month with logic, payments, file uploads, the API, webhooks and CSV export.
vs Typeform: Jotform’s free plan collects 100 submissions a month and Typeform’s 10.
- Unlimited seats on every plan
There is no per-seat charge on any plan, so a whole team can build and review forms on Free.
vs Typeform: Typeform Plus has 3 seats; Jotform’s plans below Enterprise are for one user.
- Forms keep collecting over the allowance
The pricing FAQ says forms still collect responses after the monthly limit; you can upgrade or wait for the reset on the 1st.
vs Typeform: Typeform switches forms to private and Jotform disables them at the limit.
- SOC 2 Type 2 and a self-serve DPA
The security article says Fillout is SOC 2 Type 2 compliant, and the GDPR article offers the standard DPA with SCCs to any customer on any plan.
vs Tally: Tally lists SOC 2 as in progress.
Things to know
- Partial submissions and custom domain on Business
Viewing partial submissions, drop-off rates, a custom domain (one per account) and translations start on Business at $900 a year.
Workaround: Pro ($480 a year) already removes all branding and allows 5,000 responses a month.
- Compliance options sit on the larger plans
EU hosting starts on the Team plan ($3,000 a year) and is switched by support; SAML SSO and 30-day audit logs are on Enterprise. No page mentions HIPAA or ISO 27001.
Workaround: The standard DPA with SCCs is available on every plan.
- Some pages disagree
The Terms and the help center differ on refunds and on cancellation notice, and the Enterprise page lists more hosting regions than the deployment region article.
Workaround: The refund policy offers a full refund in the first month for minimal usage.
Pricing reality
Fillout bills a flat price per plan with a monthly response allowance; seats and forms are unlimited. For our scenario, 1,000 responses a month without branding, Pro costs $480 a year, or $40 a month, before tax; month to month it is $49. The free plan already allows 1,000 responses, and Starter ($180 a year) keeps light branding, so branding removal is what moves the scenario to Pro. Business ($900 a year) adds unlimited responses under fair use (about 30,000 a month), partial submissions and a custom domain; Team ($3,000 a year) adds EU hosting, and the Conversion Kit add-on is $100 a month. Paid plans below Enterprise are paid by card.
Exit path
Every plan can export all responses to CSV and read them through the REST API; exporting a form does not include its submissions. After cancelling, the account moves to the free plan at the end of the term and keeps forms and submissions, with 1,000 responses a month. EU-hosted accounts revert to the US on downgrade. Deleted data is removed from servers and backups within 45 days.
Compared with
- Pick Fillout when
- You want a SOC 2 Type 2 statement today, form translations on Business, or SAML SSO and audit logs on Enterprise.
- Pick Tally when
- You want no response cap and partial submissions and a custom domain on a $290-a-year plan.
- Pick Fillout when
- You want 1,000 free responses a month, unlimited seats and forms that keep collecting over the allowance.
- Pick Typeform when
- You need ISO 27001 or a HIPAA path, or buyable response tiers.
- Pick Fillout when
- Several people edit forms, or you need more than 100 free submissions a month.
- Pick Jotform when
- You need a HIPAA BAA, or EU storage as an account setting on a smaller plan.
Choose it if
- You want 1,000 free responses a month with logic, payments and uploads.
- Your whole team should edit forms without paying per seat.
- Your form data goes to Airtable, Notion, Google Sheets or your own API.
Look elsewhere if
- You need HIPAA support or ISO 27001.
- You need partial submissions or a custom domain below the Business plan.
Bottom line
From its public pages, Fillout pairs a 1,000-response free plan and unlimited seats with integrations and the API on every plan. Removing branding takes Pro at $480 a year, and several pages disagree on refunds, cancellation and hosting regions.
Plan limits at a glance
| Limit | As recorded |
|---|---|
| Billing unit | Flat per plan with a monthly response allowance; unlimited seats and forms |
| Free option | Free plan: 1,000 responses a month, unlimited forms and seats, Fillout badge |
| Reference scenario (1,000 responses/mo, no branding, annual) | $40/mo on Pro ($480 a year), computed |
| Month-to-month price | $49 on Pro ($19 / $49 / $89 for Starter, Pro and Business) |
| At the response limit | Forms keep collecting; upgrade or wait for the reset, and repeated overage can lead to limits |
| Branding removed | Pro ($40/mo billed yearly) and up; Starter keeps light branding |
| Payments and file uploads | Every plan; no Fillout fee on payments; 20 MB per file below Business |
| SOC 2 / ISO 27001 | SOC 2 Type 2 compliance stated; ISO 27001 not stated |
| HIPAA BAA | Not stated |
| EU data hosting | Team plan ($250/mo billed yearly) and Enterprise, switched by support |
| SSO | SAML on Enterprise |
| Response export | CSV export and REST API on every plan |
Read from the vendor's public pages on Oct 16, 2026. No hands-on run is published yet. How we check
We have not published a sign-up run for Fillout yet. The access facts above were read from its sign-up and pricing pages on Oct 16, 2026.
We have not published API calls for Fillout yet.
Fillout lists 6 plans. The cheapest paid plan, Starter (billed annually), costs $15/mo.
- FilloutFreeFree$0Unlimited seats and forms, 1,000 responses a month
- Conditional logic, payments and file uploads (20 MB per file)
- REST API, webhooks and most integrations
- CSV export
- Fillout badge on forms
- FilloutLowest priceStarter$15/mo$180 billed annually; $19 month to month. 2,000 responses a month
- Collect signatures
- Login forms, CAPTCHA and all question types
- Light Fillout branding
- FilloutPro$40/mo$480 billed annually; $49 month to month. 5,000 responses a month
- Remove all branding
- Custom share links, fonts and favicon
- Custom CSS
- FilloutBusiness$75/mo$900 billed annually; $89 month to month. Unlimited responses under fair use
- Partial submissions and drop-off rates
- One custom domain
- Form translations
- File uploads up to 1 GB
- FilloutTeam$250/mo$3,000 billed annually; $300 month to month. Forms, Zite apps and databases
- EU hosting on request
- Granular permissions
- Enforced two-factor authentication
- Salesforce integration
- FilloutEnterpriseContact sales
- SAML single sign-on
- Audit logs (30 days)
- Custom DPA and SLAs
- File uploads up to 5 GB on request
Prices as listed, USD, excluding tax; observed 2026-10-16.
Source: fillout.com pricing page. Prices change; the observed date above is when our agent read them.