Jotform review

by Jotform Inc.Online forms and surveys

A form builder with every standard feature on its free plan, plans priced by form and submission limits from $34 a month billed yearly, and a self-serve HIPAA BAA on Gold.

Facts checked
  • Free plan
  • Self-serve
  • Tiered
  • Public prices
Visit site

What you're paying for

  • Worth the price (main value)
  • Compliance included

Every standard form feature on every plan, free included, with plans priced by usage limits and a self-serve HIPAA BAA on Gold.

Jotform’s plans differ by limits, not features: conditional logic, payment forms, file uploads, e-signatures and translations are on the free plan too, and Jotform adds no transaction fee to payments. Bronze, at $408 a year, removes the branding and allows 1,000 submissions a month. Gold, bought online at $1,188 a year, includes HIPAA features with a BAA signed in the account at no extra cost, and any account can move its data to Jotform’s Frankfurt servers.

  • Same features on every planThe free-versus-paid article says conditional logic, conversational forms, assigned forms and form translations work the same across plans; paid plans raise the limits and remove the branding.Evidence: Help center: free vs paid plans, and the pricing page (2026-10-16)
  • No Jotform fee on paymentsThe payment gateways page says Jotform never charges additional transaction fees; the free plan allows 10 payment submissions a month and Bronze 100.Evidence: Payment gateways page and pricing table (2026-10-16)
  • HIPAA BAA without a sales callHIPAA features are included on Gold at no extra fee, and the help center describes signing the BAA from the account’s Data settings.Evidence: HIPAA FAQ and "How to receive the BAA" help article (2026-10-16)
  • EU storage as an account settingThe EU Safe Forms setting moves an account’s data to servers in Frankfurt, and it is on by default for accounts created in the EU.Evidence: Help center: store your data on EU servers; security page (2026-10-16)
Best for
Individuals and small organisations that need many standard form features at a low price, including health providers that need a BAA without an enterprise contract.
Good to know
Bronze, Silver and Gold are one-user plans; team collaboration, SAML SSO and custom domains are on Enterprise.

How Jotform compares

Against 3 other products we reviewed in Online forms and surveys: what you pay for with each, the five access facts, the plan limits we recorded and each review's bottom line. The note under the table says how each one was checked.

Jotform compared with Tally, Fillout, Typeform
MetricJotformTallyFilloutTypeform
What you're paying forWorth the priceEvery standard form feature on every plan, free included, with plans priced by usage limits and a self-serve HIPAA BAA on Gold.Worth the priceUnlimited forms and submissions for free, with payments, uploads, logic and the API, and one flat Pro price for a whole team.Worth the priceForms with 1,000 free responses a month and unlimited seats, connected to Airtable, Notion, Google Sheets and your own API from the free plan.Easy to adoptInteractive forms and surveys with logic on every plan, backed by Typeform’s own SOC 2 Type II report and ISO 27001 certificate.
Overall score6.57.1Best7.05.8
Free optionFree planFree planFree planFree plan
Card to start–Not measured–Not measured–Not measured–Not measured
Getting accessSelf-serveSelf-serveSelf-serveSelf-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan$34/mo$24/mo$15/mo$28/mo
Pricing modelTieredFlat rateTieredTiered
Pricing pagePublic pricesPublic pricesPublic pricesPublic prices
Billing unitFlat per plan with limits on forms, monthly submissions, views and storageFlat per plan; unlimited forms, submissions and team members under fair useFlat per plan with a monthly response allowance; unlimited seats and formsFlat per plan with a monthly response allowance; extra response tiers bought in the account
Free optionFree Starter plan: 5 forms, 100 submissions a month, all standard features, Jotform brandingFree plan: unlimited forms and submissions under fair use, Tally brandingFree plan: 1,000 responses a month, unlimited forms and seats, Fillout badgeFree plan: 10 responses a month, unlimited forms, logic, Typeform branding
Reference scenario (1,000 responses/mo, no branding, annual)$34/mo on Bronze ($408 a year), computed$24.17/mo on Pro ($290 a year, shown as $24/mo), computed$40/mo on Pro ($480 a year), computed$56/mo on Plus, billed yearly ($672 a year, computed)
Month-to-month price$39 on Bronze ($39 / $49 / $129 for Bronze, Silver and Gold)$29 on Pro ($29 / $89 for Pro and Business)$49 on Pro ($19 / $49 / $89 for Starter, Pro and Business)$79 on Plus ($39 / $79 / $129 for Basic, Plus and Business)
At the response limitForms are disabled ("Form over quota") until the monthly reset or an upgrade; no extra packsNo plan cap; sustained use over 50,000 submissions a month leads to a custom planForms keep collecting; upgrade or wait for the reset, and repeated overage can lead to limitsForms switch to private until the next month, unless you buy a higher response tier or turn on auto-upgrade
Branding removedBronze ($34/mo billed yearly) and upPro ($24/mo billed yearly) and upPro ($40/mo billed yearly) and up; Starter keeps light brandingPlus ($56/mo billed yearly) and up
Payments and file uploadsEvery plan; no Jotform transaction feeEvery plan; Stripe with no Tally fee; 10 MB per file on FreeEvery plan; no Fillout fee on payments; 20 MB per file below BusinessBasic and up; payments through Stripe or PayPal
SOC 2 / ISO 27001SOC 2 Type II for a dedicated Enterprise environment; ISO 27001 stated for its hosts onlyBoth listed as in progress on the roadmapSOC 2 Type 2 compliance stated; ISO 27001 not statedSOC 2 Type II report and ISO/IEC 27001:2022 certificate in the Trust Center
HIPAA BAAGold ($99/mo billed yearly), signed in the account at no extra cost; EnterpriseNot offeredNot statedEnterprise or Growth Custom, through sales
EU data hostingEU Safe Forms (Frankfurt), switched on in account settingsAll form data stored in Europe, every planTeam plan ($250/mo billed yearly) and Enterprise, switched by supportNew Enterprise accounts, through sales
SSOSAML on EnterpriseNot listedSAML on EnterpriseSAML or OIDC on Enterprise
Response exportCSV, Excel or PDF; REST API on every planCSV download and the API on every planCSV export and REST API on every planCSV or XLSX on every plan, Free included; Responses API
Bottom lineFrom its public pages, Jotform puts every standard feature on every plan and prices by limits, with branding removed from $408 a year and a self-serve HIPAA BAA on Gold. Plans below Enterprise are for one user, and forms stop at a monthly limit.From its public pages, Tally gives the most for free: unlimited forms and submissions with logic, payments, uploads and the API, and Pro adds a whole team for $290 a year. Its security certifications are still in progress, and HIPAA and SSO are not offered.From its public pages, Fillout pairs a 1,000-response free plan and unlimited seats with integrations and the API on every plan. Removing branding takes Pro at $480 a year, and several pages disagree on refunds, cancellation and hosting regions.From its public pages, Typeform is an interactive form builder with logic, export and the API on every plan and an audited security record in its own name. Removing branding starts on Plus at $56 a month billed yearly, and HIPAA, EU hosting and SSO go through sales.

Evidence: Jotform: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Tally: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Fillout: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Typeform: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.

Score

Score breakdown
Pricing clarity
7.0 / 10, Good
scenario plan priced; can be bought online; month-to-month price published; what happens at the response cap is stated; downgrades: effective immediately in the pricing FAQ, from the next billing date in the Terms; BAA: "available upon request" on the security page, a self-serve Sign BAA button in the help center; Enterprise price not published (Get a Quote)
Free plan
7.3 / 10, Good
free plan: 5 forms, 100 submissions a month, conditional logic, file uploads
Price for 1,000 responses
6.2 / 10, Good
$34/mo: Bronze, annual terms; $408 a year for 25 forms and 1,000 submissions a month, one user, Jotform branding removable
Form and collection features
6.6 / 10, Good
conditional logic on the scenario plan; payments on the scenario plan; file uploads on the scenario plan; partial responses not listed; custom domain enterprise or through sales only
Compliance and data residency
5.5 / 10, Fair
SOC 2 Type II for a dedicated enterprise environment only, HIPAA BAA on a higher self-serve plan, EU data storage on the scenario plan (EU Safe Forms setting in the account moves data to Frankfurt; no plan restriction stated)
Team, API and data export
6.2 / 10, Good
SAML SSO enterprise or through sales only; audit log enterprise or through sales only; team members enterprise or through sales only; REST API on the scenario plan; webhooks on the scenario plan; response export

Review

Review from public pages

Written from Jotform's public pages (pricing, security or privacy, and docs) as read on Oct 16, 2026. We did not sign up, and no hands-on run is published yet.

What the public pages show

We read Jotform's pricing page with its plan table, FAQ and the USD price list it loads, the free-versus-paid, usage limits, branding, payments, webhooks, EU data, HIPAA, BAA, export, two-factor and Enterprise admin console articles, the security, SOC 2, HIPAA FAQ, DPA and Enterprise pricing pages, the API docs and the Terms on Oct 16, 2026; we did not sign up or call the API for this review.

The pricing table is detailed: for each plan it lists forms, monthly submissions, monthly form views, upload space, stored submissions, fields per form, payment submissions and signed documents. The usage article explains the limits: when a monthly limit is reached, forms are disabled with a "Form over quota" message until the reset or an upgrade, and when stored submissions are full, the oldest entry is deleted to make room for a new one.

A few points need a question to Jotform. The pricing FAQ says a downgrade takes effect immediately, while the Terms say from the next billing date. The security page says the BAA is available upon request, while the help center describes a Sign BAA button. Jotform's support forum says there is no automatic capture of unfinished submissions, only Save and Continue Later.

Strengths

  • The broadest free plan feature set

    The free plan includes logic, payments, file uploads, e-signatures, translations, integrations and the API, limited to 5 forms and 100 submissions a month.

    vs Typeform: Typeform’s free plan has no payments or file uploads and collects 10 responses a month.

  • Self-serve HIPAA BAA

    Gold ($99 a month billed yearly) includes HIPAA features at no extra fee, and the BAA is signed from the account.

    vs Typeform: Typeform offers a BAA on Enterprise or Growth Custom only; Tally does not offer HIPAA, and Fillout’s pages do not mention it.

  • EU storage on any account

    The EU Safe Forms setting moves data to Frankfurt from the account settings; the help article states no plan restriction.

    vs Typeform: Typeform offers EU hosting to new Enterprise accounts; Fillout from its Team plan.

  • Low price for the scenario

    Bronze removes the branding and allows 1,000 submissions a month for $408 a year ($34 a month).

    vs Typeform: Typeform Plus is $56 a month billed yearly for the same 1,000 responses.

Things to know

  • One user per plan below Enterprise

    The pricing table lists Starter, Bronze, Silver and Gold as individual plans with 1 user, and the help center says full team collaboration is on Enterprise only.

    Workaround: Forms can be assigned to others to fill in on every plan.

  • Forms stop at the monthly limit

    Reaching a monthly limit disables forms until the reset or an upgrade, with no response packs to buy; when stored submissions are full, the oldest entry is deleted.

    Workaround: The usage article says an email gives the date forms will be disabled; Silver ($468 a year) raises the limit to 2,500 a month.

  • SOC 2 report for Enterprise only

    The SOC 2 page describes a dedicated SOC 2 Type II environment that Enterprise customers buy access to, with the audit report from September 2022; the security page cites ISO 27001 for its hosts.

    Workaround: The security page lists PCI DSS Level 1 and HIPAA features for all Gold accounts.

  • No automatic partial responses

    A support reply on Jotform’s forum says unfinished submissions are not saved unless the respondent uses Save and Continue Later.

Pricing reality

Jotform bills a flat price per plan, and plans differ by limits: forms, monthly submissions, views, upload space, stored submissions, payments and signed documents. For our scenario, 1,000 submissions a month without branding, Bronze costs $408 a year, or $34 a month, before tax; month to month it is $39. Bronze allows 25 forms, 100 payment submissions and 100 signed documents a month, so a team with more forms or payment volume needs Silver ($468 a year) or Gold ($1,188). HIPAA needs Gold. Nonprofits and schools get 50% off Bronze, Silver and Gold. The Terms allow a refund if you cancel within 30 days of a payment.

Exit path

Submissions download as CSV, Excel or PDF, and a full backup zip holds forms, a CSV of submissions and uploaded files; the REST API returns submissions on every plan. The Terms warn that a downgrade may lose forms and submissions over the new limits, and do not state how long data is kept after termination. Plans renew automatically until cancelled.

Compared with

  • Pick Jotform when
    You want branding removed at $408 a year, payments and uploads on the free plan, or a self-serve HIPAA BAA.
    Pick Typeform when
    You want SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 for every customer, three seats on Plus, or buyable response tiers.
  • Pick Jotform when
    You need a HIPAA BAA on a plan bought online, or forms translated into several languages.
    Pick Tally when
    You want unlimited free submissions and forms, and unlimited team members on a $290-a-year plan.
  • Pick Jotform when
    You need a HIPAA BAA, or EU storage as an account setting below an enterprise-sized plan.
    Pick Fillout when
    You want 1,000 free responses a month, unlimited forms and unlimited seats on every plan.

Choose it if

  • You want logic, payments, uploads, e-signatures and translations even on the free plan.
  • You need a HIPAA BAA without an enterprise contract.
  • One person runs your forms and you want the lowest published price for 1,000 submissions.

Look elsewhere if

  • Several people need to edit forms together below an Enterprise contract.
  • You need forms to keep collecting after a monthly limit is reached.
  • Your security review asks for SOC 2 Type II or ISO 27001 for the standard service.

Bottom line

From its public pages, Jotform puts every standard feature on every plan and prices by limits, with branding removed from $408 a year and a self-serve HIPAA BAA on Gold. Plans below Enterprise are for one user, and forms stop at a monthly limit.

Plan limits at a glance

LimitAs recorded
Billing unitFlat per plan with limits on forms, monthly submissions, views and storage
Free optionFree Starter plan: 5 forms, 100 submissions a month, all standard features, Jotform branding
Reference scenario (1,000 responses/mo, no branding, annual)$34/mo on Bronze ($408 a year), computed
Month-to-month price$39 on Bronze ($39 / $49 / $129 for Bronze, Silver and Gold)
At the response limitForms are disabled ("Form over quota") until the monthly reset or an upgrade; no extra packs
Branding removedBronze ($34/mo billed yearly) and up
Payments and file uploadsEvery plan; no Jotform transaction fee
SOC 2 / ISO 27001SOC 2 Type II for a dedicated Enterprise environment; ISO 27001 stated for its hosts only
HIPAA BAAGold ($99/mo billed yearly), signed in the account at no extra cost; Enterprise
EU data hostingEU Safe Forms (Frankfurt), switched on in account settings
SSOSAML on Enterprise
Response exportCSV, Excel or PDF; REST API on every plan

Read from the vendor's public pages on Oct 16, 2026. No hands-on run is published yet. How we check

Jotform lists 5 plans. The cheapest paid plan, Bronze (billed yearly), costs $34/mo.

  • JotformFree
    Starter
    $0
    1 user, 5 forms, 100 submissions a month, 100 MB of uploads
    • All standard features, HIPAA excluded
    • Conditional logic, payments (10 a month) and file uploads
    • E-signatures (10 a month) and form translations
    • Jotform branding on forms
  • JotformLowest price
    Bronze
    $34/mo
    $408 billed yearly; $39 month to month. 1 user, 25 forms, 1,000 submissions a month
    • Remove Jotform branding
    • 1 GB of uploads, 10,000 stored submissions
    • 100 payment submissions and 100 signed documents a month
    • 10,000 API calls a day
  • Jotform
    Silver
    $39/mo
    $468 billed yearly; $49 month to month. 1 user, 50 forms, 2,500 submissions a month
    • 10 GB of uploads, 25,000 stored submissions
    • 250 payment submissions and 250 signed documents a month
    • 50,000 API calls a day
  • Jotform
    Gold
    $99/mo
    $1,188 billed yearly; $129 month to month. 1 user, 100 forms, 10,000 submissions a month
    • HIPAA features and a BAA at no extra cost
    • 100 GB of uploads, 100,000 stored submissions
    • 1,000 payment submissions and 1,000 signed documents a month
  • Jotform
    Enterprise
    Contact sales
    • Multiuser platform and admin console with activity logs
    • SAML single sign-on
    • Custom domain and data residency
    • Dedicated SOC 2 Type II environment

Prices as listed, USD, excluding tax; observed 2026-10-16.

Source: jotform.com pricing page. Prices change; the observed date above is when our agent read them.

Visit site