Online forms and surveys · Comparison
Fillout vs SurveyMonkey
2 products compared side by side: what you pay for with each one first, then the five access facts, entry prices, recorded plan limits and the bottom line of each review. The evidence note under the table says how each product was checked.
Side by side
| Metric | Fillout | SurveyMonkey |
|---|---|---|
| What you're paying for | Worth the priceForms with 1,000 free responses a month and unlimited seats, connected to Airtable, Notion, Google Sheets and your own API from the free plan. | Easy to adoptSurveys with analysis built in, from a vendor with SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001, and paid plans that keep collecting past their allowance. |
| Overall score | 7.0Best | 4.9 |
| Free option | Free plan | Free plan |
| Card to start | –Not measured | –Not measured |
| Getting access | Self-serve | Self-serve |
| Starter priceCheapest paid plan | $15/mo | $46/mo |
| Pricing model | Tiered | Seat + usage |
| Pricing page | Public prices | Public prices |
| Billing unit | Flat per plan with a monthly response allowance; unlimited seats and forms | Per plan (individual) or per user (team, from 3 users) with a response allowance; $0.15 per extra response |
| Free option | Free plan: 1,000 responses a month, unlimited forms and seats, Fillout badge | Free Basic plan: 10 questions and 25 viewable responses per survey, SurveyMonkey footer |
| Reference scenario (1,000 responses/mo, no branding, annual) | $40/mo on Pro ($480 a year), computed | $139/mo on Premier Annual ($1,668 a year), computed |
| Month-to-month price | $49 on Pro ($19 / $49 / $89 for Starter, Pro and Business) | Standard Monthly $99 only; Advantage and Premier are sold annually |
| At the response limit | Forms keep collecting; upgrade or wait for the reset, and repeated overage can lead to limits | Paid plans keep collecting; each extra response is billed at $0.15 |
| Branding removed | Pro ($40/mo billed yearly) and up; Starter keeps light branding | Premier ($139/mo billed annually), Team Premier and Enterprise; Standard and Advantage show a subtle footer |
| Payments and file uploads | Every plan; no Fillout fee on payments; 20 MB per file below Business | Advantage and up; payments through Stripe or PayPal |
| SOC 2 / ISO 27001 | SOC 2 Type 2 compliance stated; ISO 27001 not stated | SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 listed in the Trust Center |
| HIPAA BAA | Not stated | Enterprise add-on, through sales |
| EU data hosting | Team plan ($250/mo billed yearly) and Enterprise, switched by support | Enterprise only |
| SSO | SAML on Enterprise | SAML on Enterprise |
| Response export | CSV export and REST API on every plan | CSV, XLS, PPT or PDF from Standard; SPSS from Advantage; none on Basic |
| Bottom line | From its public pages, Fillout pairs a 1,000-response free plan and unlimited seats with integrations and the API on every plan. Removing branding takes Pro at $480 a year, and several pages disagree on refunds, cancellation and hosting regions. | From its public pages, SurveyMonkey is a survey tool with analysis built in, SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001, and published overage. Removing its branding costs $1,668 a year on Premier, and SSO, HIPAA, EU hosting and API apps sit on Enterprise. |
Evidence: Fillout: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; SurveyMonkey: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.
Entry price
Baseline: each product's cheapest paid plan, per month. Included usage differs, so read the line under each price.
- FilloutLowest priceStarter$15/mo$180 billed annually; $19 month to month. 2,000 responses a month
- Collect signatures
- Login forms, CAPTCHA and all question types
- Light Fillout branding
- SurveyMonkeyAdvantage Annual$46/mo$552 billed annually. 1 user, 15,000 responses a year
- Accept payments (Stripe or PayPal)
- File upload questions
- Piping, randomization and quotas
- SPSS export
Prices as listed on each pricing page, in USD per month, excluding tax. Observed: Fillout 2026-10-16, SurveyMonkey 2026-10-16.
Which one fits
- If you need to start today without a sales call
- FilloutSelf-serve sign-up; the highest score of the 2 self-serve products here (7.0/10).
- Lowest starter price
- Fillout$15/mo for the Starter (billed annually) plan.
- Highest overall score
- Fillout7.0/10 (Good). The review shows the score breakdown and the run behind it.
Picked by fixed rules from the table above, not by hand. How we score
Full reviews
More in Online forms and surveys
Add a product
Search by product name or by what it does, such as “email” or “feature flags”. 2 more fit in this comparison.