The largest free tier here at 2 million events a month, and the lowest listed price at 10 million: $720 a month, or $576 billed annually.
Amplitude's Free plan covers 2 million events a month with unlimited seats, session replay and feature flags, and no card. The self-serve Plus plan publishes a price for every volume up to 70 million events in an estimator on the pricing page; at 10 million it lists $720 a month, the lowest of the three products we compared. The trust center lists Amplitude's own SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001, and every plan can use the EU data center in Frankfurt.
Free plan with 2 million eventsFree includes 2 million events a month, unlimited seats, 10,000 session replays and unlimited feature flags, with no credit card and no time limit.Evidence: Pricing page (2026-10-15)
10 million events for $720 a monthThe Plus estimator lists $720 a month on monthly billing, or $576 a month billed annually, at 10 million events. Plus scales to 70 million events.Evidence: Pricing page, Plus estimator (2026-10-15)
Own SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001, EU data centerThe trust center lists SOC 2 Type II and an ISO/IEC 27001 certificate; the pricing page includes the EU data center option on every plan.Evidence: Trust center and pricing page (2026-10-15)
Best for
Teams that want a large free tier and the lowest listed self-serve price at around 10 million events a month.
Good to know
SSO, scheduled syncs and unlimited data access start on Growth, which is priced through sales.
How Amplitude compares
Against 3 other products we reviewed in Product analytics: what you pay for with each, the five access facts, the plan limits we recorded and each review's bottom line. The note under the table says how each one was checked.
Worth the priceThe largest free tier here at 2 million events a month, and the lowest listed price at 10 million: $720 a month, or $576 billed annually.
Saves engineering timePer-event rates published for every volume, 7 years of data on paid usage, priced warehouse exports and a HIPAA BAA without a sales contract.
Compliance includedSAML SSO and SCIM on the self-serve Growth plan, two years of data on every plan, and its own SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001.
Compliance includedAnalytics and in-app guides in one product, with 7 years of event data on paid plans, an EU environment, SOC 2 Type 2 and a BAA.
Overall score
6.3
7.8Best
7.1
3.9
Free option
Free plan
Free plan
Free plan
Free plan
Card to start
No card needed
No card needed
No card needed
–Not measured
Getting access
Self-serve
Self-serve
Self-serve
Self-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan
$0
$0
$0
–Not measured
Pricing model
Tiered
Usage-based
Tiered
Custom quote
Pricing page
Public prices
Public prices
Public prices
Prices hidden
Free plan
2M events/mo, unlimited seats
1M events/mo, unlimited team members
1M events/mo, unlimited seats
500 monthly active users; free events not stated
Price for 10M events/mo
$720 monthly, $576 billed annually (Plus)
$1,080 identified, $324.40 anonymous (computed)
$1,176 monthly, $840 billed annually (Growth)
Not published; billed by monthly active users
Self-serve prices up to
70M events/mo
No ceiling; rates listed past 250M events
20M events/mo
No price published
Data retention
1 year (Free), 2 years (Plus)
1 year (Free), 7 years (paid)
2 years on every plan
7 years kept; 1 year visible on Free
SOC 2 / ISO 27001
SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001
SOC 2 Type II; ISO 27001 not listed
SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001 and ISO 27701
SOC 2 Type 2; ISO 27001 not listed
EU data storage
Frankfurt data center, every plan
EU cloud in Frankfurt
Every plan, chosen at project creation
EU environment, chosen by the customer
HIPAA BAA
Offered; plan not stated
Boost package, $250/mo
Enterprise plan
Signed with customers; plan not stated
SAML SSO
Growth plan (custom price)
Scale package, $750/mo
Growth plan (self-serve)
Included by contract (sales-priced plans)
Warehouse export
S3, Snowflake and others documented; plan not stated
Batch exports; 1M rows/mo free, then per row
Data Pipelines add-on, fee not listed
Data Sync paid add-on, price not listed
Self-hosting
Not listed
Open source (MIT), unsupported
Not listed
Not listed
Bottom line
From its public pages, Amplitude has the largest free tier and the lowest listed price at 10 million events. SSO, longer history and scheduled syncs sit on the custom-priced Growth plan, so check those against your needs first.
From its public pages, PostHog is the most transparent on price and the most open with your data, with a self-serve HIPAA BAA. Identified events carry a second rate, so estimate your mix of identified and anonymous events before comparing bills.
From its public pages, Mixpanel has the most complete self-serve access controls of the three and the clearest written price table. It has the highest listed price at 10 million events, so compare annual billing before you decide.
From its public pages, Pendo is the option here that adds in-app guides to analytics, with 7 years of data and four hosting regions. Every paid plan is quoted by sales, so its price cannot be compared from the page.
Evidence: Amplitude: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; PostHog: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Mixpanel: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Pendo: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.
self-serve prices published up to 70M events/mo; volume prices only in a calculator; a mid-tier plan priced by sales
Free tier
10.0 / 10, Excellent
2M events a month
Price at 10M events
5.4 / 10, Fair
$720/mo; $576/mo billed annually
Data retention
4.5 / 10, Fair
1 year on the free plan, 2 years on the entry paid plan
Compliance and data residency
9.0 / 10, Excellent
own SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, EU data storage, HIPAA BAA offered, plan not stated
Data control
4.0 / 10, Fair
warehouse export documented, plan not stated; raw export on the free plan; SAML SSO on a sales-priced plan
Review
Review from public pages
Written from Amplitude's public pages (pricing, security or privacy, and docs) as read on Oct 15, 2026. We did not sign up, and no hands-on run is published yet.
What the public pages show
We read Amplitude's pricing, security and privacy, trust center and documentation pages on Oct 15, 2026; we did not sign up for this review. The pricing page puts four plans side by side. Free and Plus are self-serve; Growth and Enterprise say "Custom" and route to sales.
Plus prices are not printed as text. They sit in an "Estimate bill" calculator with a slider from 2 to 70 million events and a pay-annually toggle, and we read the figures from it. The page also has a chart comparing Plus with two named competitors; we used only Amplitude's own figures.
The security FAQ lists SOC 2 Type 2, GDPR, HIPAA and CCPA, with reports in a customer trust portal, and the trust center adds a current ISO/IEC 27001 certificate. Amplitude says it can sign a HIPAA Business Associate Agreement; none of the pages we read says which plan that needs. The billing FAQ explains what happens on Free above the limit: an account that exceeds it three times is blocked until it upgrades.
Strengths
Largest free tier of the three
Free covers 2 million events a month with unlimited seats and no card.
vs Mixpanel: Mixpanel and PostHog each include 1 million free events a month.
Lowest listed price at 10 million events
Plus lists $720 a month on monthly billing, $576 a month billed annually.
vs Mixpanel: Mixpanel lists $1,176 a month; PostHog’s published rates come to $1,080 for 10 million identified events.
Session replay and feature flags on every plan
Every plan includes unlimited feature flags and session replay, with 10,000 sessions a month on Free and Plus.
Own SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001
The trust center lists both, and every plan can store data in the Frankfurt data center.
vs PostHog: PostHog lists SOC 2 Type II but not ISO 27001.
Things to know
SSO starts on Growth, priced by sales
SSO and project-level permissions are on Growth and Enterprise, which the pricing page lists as Custom.
Workaround: Mixpanel lists SAML SSO on its self-serve Growth plan.
Plus prices live in a calculator
Volume prices appear in the Estimate bill tool rather than as text, and above 70 million events pricing goes through sales.
Shorter history on lower plans
Free gives 1 year of data access and Plus 2 years; unlimited data access starts on Growth.
Free plan has a firm limit
Per the billing FAQ, a Free account that exceeds its event limit three times is blocked until it upgrades, and deleted six months after the first block.
Pricing reality
Plus is priced by events per month, and the first 2 million are free. On monthly billing the Plus estimator lists $94 for 3 million, $281 for 5 million, $720 for 10 million, $1,575 for 20 million and $5,865 for 70 million. Paying annually lowers those to $75, $225, $576, $1,260 and $4,692 a month. Plus needs a card.
Growth and Enterprise are custom-priced and add SSO, more session replays, unlimited data access and add-ons priced as a percentage of the plan. The Startup Scholarship gives companies with fewer than 20 employees and under $10M in funding one free year of Growth.
Exit path
The Export API, available on all plans per the docs, returns raw event data. The docs also describe scheduled exports to Amazon S3, Google Cloud Storage, BigQuery, Snowflake and Redshift without stating which plans include them.
You want the lowest listed price at 10 million identified events and an ISO 27001 certificate.
Pick PostHog when
You want published rates at every volume, a self-serve HIPAA BAA, priced warehouse exports or self-hosting.
Choose it if
You want 2 million free events a month with unlimited seats.
You expect around 10 million events a month and want the lowest listed self-serve price.
Your security review asks for SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001.
Look elsewhere if
You need SSO without a sales-priced plan.
You want more than 2 years of history on a self-serve plan.
Bottom line
From its public pages, Amplitude has the largest free tier and the lowest listed price at 10 million events. SSO, longer history and scheduled syncs sit on the custom-priced Growth plan, so check those against your needs first.
Plan limits at a glance
Limit
As recorded
Free plan
2M events/mo, unlimited seats
Price for 10M events/mo
$720 monthly, $576 billed annually (Plus)
Self-serve prices up to
70M events/mo
Data retention
1 year (Free), 2 years (Plus)
SOC 2 / ISO 27001
SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001
EU data storage
Frankfurt data center, every plan
HIPAA BAA
Offered; plan not stated
SAML SSO
Growth plan (custom price)
Warehouse export
S3, Snowflake and others documented; plan not stated
Self-hosting
Not listed
Read from the vendor's public pages on Oct 15, 2026. No hands-on run is published yet. How we check
We have not published a sign-up run for Amplitude yet. The access facts above were read from its sign-up and pricing pages on Oct 15, 2026.
We have not published API calls for Amplitude yet.
Amplitude lists 4 plans.
AMAmplitudeFree
Free
$0/mo
2M events/mo, no card
Unlimited seats
10,000 session replays/mo
Unlimited feature flags
1 year of data access
AMAmplitude
Plus
From $0/mo
First 2M events free; 10M events $720/mo, or $576/mo billed annually; up to 70M events
Card required
2-year data retention
20 behavioral cohorts
Heatmaps
AMAmplitude
Growth
Custom
SSO and project permissions
20,000 session replays/mo
Unlimited data access
Scheduled syncs
AMAmplitude
Enterprise
Custom
Advanced permissions and SCIM
Role-based access control
50,000 session replays/mo
Assigned account manager
Prices as listed, USD, excluding tax; observed 2026-10-15.
We read the pricing, security and docs pages of three product analytics tools on the same day and scored them on the same six indicators. What each one sells, what 10 million events cost, and who should pick which.