PostHog review

by PostHogProduct analytics

Open-source product analytics with per-event rates published for every volume, 7 years of data on paid usage and a self-serve HIPAA BAA.

Facts checked
  • Free plan
  • No card needed
  • Self-serve
  • Usage-based
  • Public prices
Visit site

What you're paying for

  • Saves engineering time (main value)
  • Compliance included

Per-event rates published for every volume, 7 years of data on paid usage, priced warehouse exports and a HIPAA BAA without a sales contract.

PostHog prices each product separately by usage and publishes the rate for every volume tier, with no sales-only ceiling. Paid usage keeps event data for 7 years, batch exports to S3, Snowflake, BigQuery and other warehouses are priced per row, and a HIPAA BAA comes with the $250-a-month Boost package, which you enable in billing. The code is open source under the MIT license for teams that want to host it themselves.

  • Warehouse exports with listed pricesBatch exports to S3, Snowflake, BigQuery, Redshift, Databricks, Postgres and Azure include 1 million rows a month free, then from $0.000015 per row.Evidence: Pricing page and batch export docs (2026-10-15)
  • HIPAA BAA without a sales contractBAAs come with the Boost ($250/mo), Scale or Enterprise package; Boost and Scale are enabled in billing. PostHog has its own SOC 2 Type II report and an EU cloud in Frankfurt.Evidence: HIPAA docs, pricing page and security handbook (2026-10-15)
  • 7 years of data on pay-as-you-goEvents are retained for 7 years on any paid plan and 1 year on Free, with no separate storage fee.Evidence: Pricing page FAQ (2026-10-15)
  • Open source to self-hostA free Docker Compose deployment is MIT-licensed. PostHog states it is unsupported and suited to smaller volumes.Evidence: Self-host and HIPAA docs (2026-10-15)
Best for
Engineering-led teams that want usage pricing they can compute at any volume, warehouse exports and a self-serve HIPAA BAA.
Good to know
Identified events add a person-profile rate: 10 million identified events come to $1,080 a month by the published rates.

How PostHog compares

Against 3 other products we reviewed in Product analytics: what you pay for with each, the five access facts, the plan limits we recorded and each review's bottom line. The note under the table says how each one was checked.

PostHog compared with Mixpanel, Amplitude, Pendo
MetricPostHogMixpanelAmplitudePendo
What you're paying forSaves engineering timePer-event rates published for every volume, 7 years of data on paid usage, priced warehouse exports and a HIPAA BAA without a sales contract.Compliance includedSAML SSO and SCIM on the self-serve Growth plan, two years of data on every plan, and its own SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001.Worth the priceThe largest free tier here at 2 million events a month, and the lowest listed price at 10 million: $720 a month, or $576 billed annually.Compliance includedAnalytics and in-app guides in one product, with 7 years of event data on paid plans, an EU environment, SOC 2 Type 2 and a BAA.
Overall score7.8Best7.16.33.9
Free optionFree planFree planFree planFree plan
Card to startNo card neededNo card neededNo card needed–Not measured
Getting accessSelf-serveSelf-serveSelf-serveSelf-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan$0$0$0–Not measured
Pricing modelUsage-basedTieredTieredCustom quote
Pricing pagePublic pricesPublic pricesPublic pricesPrices hidden
Free plan1M events/mo, unlimited team members1M events/mo, unlimited seats2M events/mo, unlimited seats500 monthly active users; free events not stated
Price for 10M events/mo$1,080 identified, $324.40 anonymous (computed)$1,176 monthly, $840 billed annually (Growth)$720 monthly, $576 billed annually (Plus)Not published; billed by monthly active users
Self-serve prices up toNo ceiling; rates listed past 250M events20M events/mo70M events/moNo price published
Data retention1 year (Free), 7 years (paid)2 years on every plan1 year (Free), 2 years (Plus)7 years kept; 1 year visible on Free
SOC 2 / ISO 27001SOC 2 Type II; ISO 27001 not listedSOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001 and ISO 27701SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001SOC 2 Type 2; ISO 27001 not listed
EU data storageEU cloud in FrankfurtEvery plan, chosen at project creationFrankfurt data center, every planEU environment, chosen by the customer
HIPAA BAABoost package, $250/moEnterprise planOffered; plan not statedSigned with customers; plan not stated
SAML SSOScale package, $750/moGrowth plan (self-serve)Growth plan (custom price)Included by contract (sales-priced plans)
Warehouse exportBatch exports; 1M rows/mo free, then per rowData Pipelines add-on, fee not listedS3, Snowflake and others documented; plan not statedData Sync paid add-on, price not listed
Self-hostingOpen source (MIT), unsupportedNot listedNot listedNot listed
Bottom lineFrom its public pages, PostHog is the most transparent on price and the most open with your data, with a self-serve HIPAA BAA. Identified events carry a second rate, so estimate your mix of identified and anonymous events before comparing bills.From its public pages, Mixpanel has the most complete self-serve access controls of the three and the clearest written price table. It has the highest listed price at 10 million events, so compare annual billing before you decide.From its public pages, Amplitude has the largest free tier and the lowest listed price at 10 million events. SSO, longer history and scheduled syncs sit on the custom-priced Growth plan, so check those against your needs first.From its public pages, Pendo is the option here that adds in-app guides to analytics, with 7 years of data and four hosting regions. Every paid plan is quoted by sales, so its price cannot be compared from the page.

Evidence: PostHog: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Mixpanel: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Amplitude: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Pendo: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.

Score

Score breakdown
Pricing clarity
10.0 / 10, Excellent
per-event rates published for every volume; volume prices as text; every plan below enterprise priced
Free tier
8.5 / 10, Excellent
1M events a month
Price at 10M events
3.6 / 10, Fair
$1,080/mo (computed from published rates); $324.40/mo if every event is anonymous
Data retention
7.5 / 10, Good
1 year on the free plan, 7 years on the entry paid plan
Compliance and data residency
8.0 / 10, Excellent
own SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001 not listed, EU data storage, HIPAA BAA on a self-serve package
Data control
9.0 / 10, Excellent
warehouse export self-serve, priced; raw export on the free plan; open source, self-hostable; SAML SSO as a paid package

Review

Review from public pages

Written from PostHog's public pages (pricing, security or privacy, and docs) as read on Oct 15, 2026. We did not sign up, and no hands-on run is published yet.

What the public pages show

We read PostHog's pricing page, its HIPAA, SOC 2, SSO, batch export and self-hosting docs, its trust center and its security handbook on Oct 15, 2026; we did not sign up for this review. The pricing page is built around a free allowance per product that resets monthly: 1 million analytics events, 5,000 session recordings, 1 million feature flag requests and more. The Free plan stops usage at those limits; adding a card moves you to pay-as-you-go, which keeps the same allowance and bills only what goes over it.

Every volume tier has a published rate, and the calculator shows the breakdown. Analytics is billed in two parts: a base rate on every event, plus a person-profile rate on events tied to identified users. The headline rate for identified events ($0.000198 after the first million) is that second part; the base rate is added on top.

Security features come in platform packages: Boost at $250 a month (HIPAA BAA, SSO enforcement, unlimited projects), Scale at $750 (SAML, priority support) and Enterprise at custom pricing. PostHog lists its own SOC 2 Type II report; its trust center does not list ISO 27001.

Strengths

  • Rates published for every volume

    Per-event prices run from the first free million to above 250 million events, with no sales-only ceiling.

    vs Amplitude: Mixpanel’s self-serve prices stop at 20 million events a month; Amplitude Plus at 70 million.

  • Self-serve HIPAA BAA

    A BAA comes with the Boost package at $250 a month, enabled in billing.

    vs Mixpanel: Mixpanel lists BAAs on Enterprise only.

  • 7-year retention on paid usage

    Pay-as-you-go keeps events for 7 years with no storage fee.

    vs Amplitude: Amplitude Plus and Mixpanel Growth keep 2 years.

  • Warehouse exports and self-hosting

    Batch exports to seven destinations have published per-row prices, and the code is MIT-licensed for self-hosting.

  • Billing limits per product

    Each product can have its own billing limit; on the Free plan, usage stops at the free allowance.

Things to know

  • Identified events cost more

    Events tied to identified users add a person-profile rate: by the published rates, 10 million identified events come to $1,080 a month, against $324.40 if all are anonymous.

  • SAML comes with the $750 package

    SAML SSO is in the Scale package; Google, GitHub and GitLab sign-in work on PostHog Cloud without a package.

  • No ISO 27001 listed

    The trust center lists SOC 2 Type II, GDPR, CCPA and HIPAA, but not ISO 27001.

  • Self-hosting is unsupported

    The MIT-licensed hobby deployment comes without guarantees or paid support, and PostHog recommends its Cloud under a BAA for HIPAA.

Pricing reality

Each product is billed on its own usage after a monthly free allowance. Analytics events cost $0.00005 each from 1 to 2 million, $0.0000343 up to 15 million and $0.0000295 up to 50 million, falling to $0.000009 above 250 million. Events from identified users add $0.000198 each from 1 to 2 million, $0.0000697 up to 15 million, falling to $0.000001. By these rates, 10 million events cost $324.40 a month if anonymous or $1,080 if identified (our arithmetic).

Platform packages are monthly add-ons: Boost $250, Scale $750, Enterprise custom. Annual credit purchases from $25,000 get 20% off, rising with size; startups under 2 years old with under $5M raised can get $50,000 in credits.

Exit path

Batch exports send events and persons to S3, Snowflake, BigQuery, Redshift, Databricks, Postgres or Azure Blob Storage on a schedule, and file download exports return Parquet or JSON Lines through the API. The open-source code can also be self-hosted.

Compared with

  • Pick PostHog when
    You want published rates past 70 million events, a self-serve HIPAA BAA, 7-year retention or self-hosting.
    Pick Amplitude when
    You want 2 million free events and the lowest listed price at 10 million identified events ($720 a month).
  • Pick PostHog when
    You want published rates past 20 million events, a self-serve BAA, or warehouse exports with listed prices.
    Pick Mixpanel when
    You want SAML SSO in the plan price, ISO 27001, or two years of data on the free plan.

Choose it if

  • You want to compute your bill at any volume from published rates.
  • You need a HIPAA BAA without an enterprise contract.
  • You want to export events to your own warehouse, or self-host.

Look elsewhere if

  • Most of your events come from identified users and the price at 10 million events decides it.
  • Your security review requires ISO 27001.

Bottom line

From its public pages, PostHog is the most transparent on price and the most open with your data, with a self-serve HIPAA BAA. Identified events carry a second rate, so estimate your mix of identified and anonymous events before comparing bills.

Plan limits at a glance

LimitAs recorded
Free plan1M events/mo, unlimited team members
Price for 10M events/mo$1,080 identified, $324.40 anonymous (computed)
Self-serve prices up toNo ceiling; rates listed past 250M events
Data retention1 year (Free), 7 years (paid)
SOC 2 / ISO 27001SOC 2 Type II; ISO 27001 not listed
EU data storageEU cloud in Frankfurt
HIPAA BAABoost package, $250/mo
SAML SSOScale package, $750/mo
Warehouse exportBatch exports; 1M rows/mo free, then per row
Self-hostingOpen source (MIT), unsupported

Read from the vendor's public pages on Oct 15, 2026. No hands-on run is published yet. How we check

PostHog lists 3 plans.

  • PostHogFree
    Free
    $0/mo
    1M events/mo, no card; usage stops at the limits
    • Unlimited team members
    • 1 project
    • 1-year data retention
    • 5,000 session recordings/mo
  • PostHog
    Pay-as-you-go
    From $0/mo
    First 1M events free, then $0.00005 per event, falling to $0.000009 above 250M; identified events add a person-profile rate
    • 6 projects
    • 7-year data retention
    • Billing limit per product
    • Boost package $250/mo (HIPAA BAA)
    • Scale package $750/mo (SAML SSO)
  • PostHog
    Enterprise package
    Custom
    • Role-based access control
    • SCIM
    • Dedicated account manager
    • Custom MSA

Prices as listed, USD, excluding tax; observed 2026-10-15.

Source: posthog.com pricing page. Prices change; the observed date above is when our agent read them.

Visit site