Product analytics · Comparison

Pendo vs PostHog

2 products compared side by side: what you pay for with each one first, then the five access facts, entry prices, recorded plan limits and the bottom line of each review. The evidence note under the table says how each product was checked.

Side by side

Pendo vs PostHog: value, access facts, plan limits and bottom lines
MetricPendoPostHog
What you're paying forCompliance includedAnalytics and in-app guides in one product, with 7 years of event data on paid plans, an EU environment, SOC 2 Type 2 and a BAA.Saves engineering timePer-event rates published for every volume, 7 years of data on paid usage, priced warehouse exports and a HIPAA BAA without a sales contract.
Overall score3.97.8Best
Free optionFree planFree plan
Card to start–Not measuredNo card needed
Getting accessSelf-serveSelf-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan–Not measured$0
Pricing modelCustom quoteUsage-based
Pricing pagePrices hiddenPublic prices
Free plan500 monthly active users; free events not stated1M events/mo, unlimited team members
Price for 10M events/moNot published; billed by monthly active users$1,080 identified, $324.40 anonymous (computed)
Self-serve prices up toNo price publishedNo ceiling; rates listed past 250M events
Data retention7 years kept; 1 year visible on Free1 year (Free), 7 years (paid)
SOC 2 / ISO 27001SOC 2 Type 2; ISO 27001 not listedSOC 2 Type II; ISO 27001 not listed
EU data storageEU environment, chosen by the customerEU cloud in Frankfurt
HIPAA BAASigned with customers; plan not statedBoost package, $250/mo
SAML SSOIncluded by contract (sales-priced plans)Scale package, $750/mo
Warehouse exportData Sync paid add-on, price not listedBatch exports; 1M rows/mo free, then per row
Self-hostingNot listedOpen source (MIT), unsupported
Bottom lineFrom its public pages, Pendo is the option here that adds in-app guides to analytics, with 7 years of data and four hosting regions. Every paid plan is quoted by sales, so its price cannot be compared from the page.From its public pages, PostHog is the most transparent on price and the most open with your data, with a self-serve HIPAA BAA. Identified events carry a second rate, so estimate your mix of identified and anonymous events before comparing bills.

Evidence: Pendo: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; PostHog: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.

When to pick each

In the words of each review, with the date its facts were checked.

  • From our Pendo review

    Checked Oct 15, 2026
    Pick Pendo when
    You want in-app guides, or Japan or Australia hosting.
    Pick PostHog when
    You want to compute your bill from published rates, or a HIPAA BAA on a priced self-serve package.

Entry price

Baseline: each product's cheapest paid plan, per month. Included usage differs, so read the line under each price.

  • Pendo
    Base
    Request pricing
    Custom MAU volume
    • Product analytics
    • In-app guides
    • Session replay as an add-on
  • PostHog
    Pay-as-you-go
    From $0/mo
    First 1M events free, then $0.00005 per event, falling to $0.000009 above 250M; identified events add a person-profile rate
    • 6 projects
    • 7-year data retention
    • Billing limit per product
    • Boost package $250/mo (HIPAA BAA)
    • Scale package $750/mo (SAML SSO)

Prices as listed on each pricing page, in USD per month, excluding tax. Observed: Pendo 2026-10-15, PostHog 2026-10-15.

Which one fits

If you need to start today without a sales call
PostHogSelf-serve sign-up, no card needed; the highest score of the 2 self-serve products here (7.8/10).
If you want to try it without entering a card
PostHogFree plan, no card needed; scored 7.8/10.
Highest overall score
PostHog7.8/10 (Good). The review shows the score breakdown and the run behind it.

Picked by fixed rules from the table above, not by hand. How we score

Full reviews

More in Product analytics

Add a product

Search by product name or by what it does, such as “email” or “feature flags”. 2 more fit in this comparison.