Product analytics · Comparison

Heap vs PostHog

2 products compared side by side: what you pay for with each one first, then the five access facts, entry prices, recorded plan limits and the bottom line of each review. The evidence note under the table says how each product was checked.

Side by side

Heap vs PostHog: value, access facts, plan limits and bottom lines
MetricHeapPostHog
What you're paying forSaves engineering timeEvents captured automatically from one snippet, with SAML SSO on every plan, including Free, and four ISO certifications.Saves engineering timePer-event rates published for every volume, 7 years of data on paid usage, priced warehouse exports and a HIPAA BAA without a sales contract.
Overall score3.77.8Best
Free optionFree planFree plan
Card to start–Not measuredNo card needed
Getting accessSelf-serveSelf-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan–Not measured$0
Pricing modelUsage-basedUsage-based
Pricing pagePrices hiddenPublic prices
Free plan10,000 sessions/mo; free events not stated1M events/mo, unlimited team members
Price for 10M events/moNot published; billed by sessions$1,080 identified, $324.40 anonymous (computed)
Self-serve prices up toNo price publishedNo ceiling; rates listed past 250M events
Data retention6 months (Free), 12 months (Growth)1 year (Free), 7 years (paid)
SOC 2 / ISO 27001SOC 2 Type 1 and 2; ISO 27001, 27701, 27017, 27018SOC 2 Type II; ISO 27001 not listed
EU data storageEU data center; region-specific storage on PremierEU cloud in Frankfurt
HIPAA BAAOffered (2023 blog post); plan not statedBoost package, $250/mo
SAML SSOEvery plan, including FreeScale package, $750/mo
Warehouse exportHeap Connect: Pro add-on, included in PremierBatch exports; 1M rows/mo free, then per row
Self-hostingNot listedOpen source (MIT), unsupported
Bottom lineFrom its public pages, Heap pairs autocapture with SSO on every plan and four ISO certifications. It publishes no prices and bills by sessions, so expect to install the snippet or talk to sales before you know the cost.From its public pages, PostHog is the most transparent on price and the most open with your data, with a self-serve HIPAA BAA. Identified events carry a second rate, so estimate your mix of identified and anonymous events before comparing bills.

Evidence: Heap: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; PostHog: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.

Entry price

Baseline: each product's cheapest paid plan, per month. Included usage differs, so read the line under each price.

  • Heap
    Growth
    Not published
    Priced by sessions; estimate shown after you sign up and install the snippet
    • Unlimited users and reports
    • CSV exports
    • 12 months of data history
    • Email support
  • PostHog
    Pay-as-you-go
    From $0/mo
    First 1M events free, then $0.00005 per event, falling to $0.000009 above 250M; identified events add a person-profile rate
    • 6 projects
    • 7-year data retention
    • Billing limit per product
    • Boost package $250/mo (HIPAA BAA)
    • Scale package $750/mo (SAML SSO)

Prices as listed on each pricing page, in USD per month, excluding tax. Observed: Heap 2026-10-15, PostHog 2026-10-15.

Which one fits

If you need to start today without a sales call
PostHogSelf-serve sign-up, no card needed; the highest score of the 2 self-serve products here (7.8/10).
If you want to try it without entering a card
PostHogFree plan, no card needed; scored 7.8/10.
Highest overall score
PostHog7.8/10 (Good). The review shows the score breakdown and the run behind it.

Picked by fixed rules from the table above, not by hand. How we score

Full reviews

More in Product analytics

Add a product

Search by product name or by what it does, such as “email” or “feature flags”. 2 more fit in this comparison.