Product analytics · Comparison

Heap vs Mixpanel

2 products compared side by side: what you pay for with each one first, then the five access facts, entry prices, recorded plan limits and the bottom line of each review. The evidence note under the table says how each product was checked.

Side by side

Heap vs Mixpanel: value, access facts, plan limits and bottom lines
MetricHeapMixpanel
What you're paying forSaves engineering timeEvents captured automatically from one snippet, with SAML SSO on every plan, including Free, and four ISO certifications.Compliance includedSAML SSO and SCIM on the self-serve Growth plan, two years of data on every plan, and its own SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001.
Overall score3.77.1Best
Free optionFree planFree plan
Card to start–Not measuredNo card needed
Getting accessSelf-serveSelf-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan–Not measured$0
Pricing modelUsage-basedTiered
Pricing pagePrices hiddenPublic prices
Free plan10,000 sessions/mo; free events not stated1M events/mo, unlimited seats
Price for 10M events/moNot published; billed by sessions$1,176 monthly, $840 billed annually (Growth)
Self-serve prices up toNo price published20M events/mo
Data retention6 months (Free), 12 months (Growth)2 years on every plan
SOC 2 / ISO 27001SOC 2 Type 1 and 2; ISO 27001, 27701, 27017, 27018SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001 and ISO 27701
EU data storageEU data center; region-specific storage on PremierEvery plan, chosen at project creation
HIPAA BAAOffered (2023 blog post); plan not statedEnterprise plan
SAML SSOEvery plan, including FreeGrowth plan (self-serve)
Warehouse exportHeap Connect: Pro add-on, included in PremierData Pipelines add-on, fee not listed
Self-hostingNot listedNot listed
Bottom lineFrom its public pages, Heap pairs autocapture with SSO on every plan and four ISO certifications. It publishes no prices and bills by sessions, so expect to install the snippet or talk to sales before you know the cost.From its public pages, Mixpanel has the most complete self-serve access controls of the three and the clearest written price table. It has the highest listed price at 10 million events, so compare annual billing before you decide.

Evidence: Heap: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Mixpanel: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.

When to pick each

In the words of each review, with the date its facts were checked.

  • From our Heap review

    Checked Oct 15, 2026
    Pick Heap when
    You want SSO on the free plan and autocapture from one snippet.
    Pick Mixpanel when
    You want every self-serve price in writing and two years of data on every plan.

Entry price

Baseline: each product's cheapest paid plan, per month. Included usage differs, so read the line under each price.

  • Heap
    Growth
    Not published
    Priced by sessions; estimate shown after you sign up and install the snippet
    • Unlimited users and reports
    • CSV exports
    • 12 months of data history
    • Email support
  • Mixpanel
    Growth
    From $0/mo
    First 1M events free; 10M events $1,176/mo, or $840/mo billed annually; up to 20M events
    • SAML SSO and SCIM
    • Warehouse connectors and Query API
    • 20,000 session replays/mo
    • Data Pipelines add-on (extra fee)

Prices as listed on each pricing page, in USD per month, excluding tax. Observed: Heap 2026-10-15, Mixpanel 2026-10-15.

Which one fits

If you need to start today without a sales call
MixpanelSelf-serve sign-up, no card needed; the highest score of the 2 self-serve products here (7.1/10).
If you want to try it without entering a card
MixpanelFree plan, no card needed; scored 7.1/10.
Highest overall score
Mixpanel7.1/10 (Good). The review shows the score breakdown and the run behind it.

Picked by fixed rules from the table above, not by hand. How we score

Full reviews

More in Product analytics

Add a product

Search by product name or by what it does, such as “email” or “feature flags”. 2 more fit in this comparison.