Product analytics · Comparison
Amplitude vs Mixpanel
2 products compared side by side: what you pay for with each one first, then the five access facts, entry prices, recorded plan limits and the bottom line of each review. The evidence note under the table says how each product was checked.
Side by side
| Metric | Amplitude | Mixpanel |
|---|---|---|
| What you're paying for | Worth the priceThe largest free tier here at 2 million events a month, and the lowest listed price at 10 million: $720 a month, or $576 billed annually. | Compliance includedSAML SSO and SCIM on the self-serve Growth plan, two years of data on every plan, and its own SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001. |
| Overall score | 6.3 | 7.1Best |
| Free option | Free plan | Free plan |
| Card to start | No card needed | No card needed |
| Getting access | Self-serve | Self-serve |
| Starter priceCheapest paid plan | $0 | $0 |
| Pricing model | Tiered | Tiered |
| Pricing page | Public prices | Public prices |
| Free plan | 2M events/mo, unlimited seats | 1M events/mo, unlimited seats |
| Price for 10M events/mo | $720 monthly, $576 billed annually (Plus) | $1,176 monthly, $840 billed annually (Growth) |
| Self-serve prices up to | 70M events/mo | 20M events/mo |
| Data retention | 1 year (Free), 2 years (Plus) | 2 years on every plan |
| SOC 2 / ISO 27001 | SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 | SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001 and ISO 27701 |
| EU data storage | Frankfurt data center, every plan | Every plan, chosen at project creation |
| HIPAA BAA | Offered; plan not stated | Enterprise plan |
| SAML SSO | Growth plan (custom price) | Growth plan (self-serve) |
| Warehouse export | S3, Snowflake and others documented; plan not stated | Data Pipelines add-on, fee not listed |
| Self-hosting | Not listed | Not listed |
| Bottom line | From its public pages, Amplitude has the largest free tier and the lowest listed price at 10 million events. SSO, longer history and scheduled syncs sit on the custom-priced Growth plan, so check those against your needs first. | From its public pages, Mixpanel has the most complete self-serve access controls of the three and the clearest written price table. It has the highest listed price at 10 million events, so compare annual billing before you decide. |
Evidence: Amplitude: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Mixpanel: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.
When to pick each
In the words of each review, with the date its facts were checked.
From our Amplitude review
Checked Oct 15, 2026- Pick Amplitude when
- You want the larger free tier and the lower listed price at 10 million events ($720 against $1,176 a month).
- Pick Mixpanel when
- You need SAML SSO on a self-serve plan, or two years of data on the free plan.
From our Mixpanel review
Checked Oct 15, 2026- Pick Mixpanel when
- You need SAML SSO without a sales-priced plan, or two years of data on the free plan.
- Pick Amplitude when
- You want 2 million free events and the lower listed price at 10 million events ($720 against $1,176 a month).
Entry price
Baseline: each product's cheapest paid plan, per month. Included usage differs, so read the line under each price.
- AmplitudePlusFrom $0/moFirst 2M events free; 10M events $720/mo, or $576/mo billed annually; up to 70M events
- Card required
- 2-year data retention
- 20 behavioral cohorts
- Heatmaps
- MixpanelGrowthFrom $0/moFirst 1M events free; 10M events $1,176/mo, or $840/mo billed annually; up to 20M events
- SAML SSO and SCIM
- Warehouse connectors and Query API
- 20,000 session replays/mo
- Data Pipelines add-on (extra fee)
Prices as listed on each pricing page, in USD per month, excluding tax. Observed: Amplitude 2026-10-15, Mixpanel 2026-10-15.
Which one fits
- If you need to start today without a sales call
- MixpanelSelf-serve sign-up, no card needed; the highest score of the 2 self-serve products here (7.1/10).
- If you want to try it without entering a card
- MixpanelFree plan, no card needed, and the highest score of the 2 that skip the card (7.1/10).
- Highest overall score
- Mixpanel7.1/10 (Good). The review shows the score breakdown and the run behind it.
Picked by fixed rules from the table above, not by hand. How we score
Full reviews
More in Product analytics
Add a product
Search by product name or by what it does, such as “email” or “feature flags”. 2 more fit in this comparison.