Product analytics · Comparison
Amplitude vs Mixpanel vs PostHog: PostHog leads at 7.8, Amplitude lists 10M events for $720
We read the pricing, security and docs pages of three product analytics tools on the same day and scored them on the same six indicators. What each one sells, what 10 million events cost, and who should pick which.
On this page8 sections
On six indicators read from each vendor's public pages, PostHog scores 7.8, Mixpanel 7.1 and Amplitude 6.3 out of 10. Amplitude has the largest free tier (2 million events a month) and the lowest listed price at 10 million events: $720 a month, or $576 billed annually. PostHog publishes a rate for every volume, keeps paid data for 7 years and offers a HIPAA BAA without a sales contract. Mixpanel puts SAML SSO on its self-serve Growth plan and keeps two years of data on every plan, including Free. The gap in the overall scores comes mostly from pricing clarity and data control, not from price.
The scores measure what the public pages commit to. They do not measure analysis features, data quality or how a product feels to use, and we did not sign up for any of the three.
At a glance
| Amplitude | Mixpanel | PostHog | |
|---|---|---|---|
| What you pay for | A large free tier and the lowest listed price at 10M | SSO and long history on self-serve plans | Published rates, data control, a self-serve BAA |
| Free tier | 2M events/mo | 1M events/mo | 1M events/mo |
| 10M events/mo, monthly billing | $720 (Plus) | $1,176 (Growth) | $1,080 identified, $324.40 anonymous (computed) |
| Self-serve prices up to | 70M events/mo | 20M events/mo | No ceiling |
| Data retention | 1 year Free, 2 years Plus | 2 years on every plan | 1 year Free, 7 years paid |
| SOC 2 / ISO 27001 | Both | Both, plus ISO 27701 | SOC 2 Type II; ISO 27001 not listed |
| HIPAA BAA | Offered; plan not stated | Enterprise | Boost package, $250/mo |
| SAML SSO | Growth (custom price) | Growth (self-serve) | Scale package, $750/mo |
| Score (public pages) | 6.3 Good | 7.1 Good | 7.8 Good |
What the public pages show
Amplitude lists four plans. Free and Plus are self-serve; Growth and Enterprise are custom-priced. Plus prices are not printed as text: they sit in an "Estimate bill" calculator that runs from 2 to 70 million events. The trust center lists SOC 2 Type II and a current ISO/IEC 27001 certificate, every plan can use the Frankfurt data center, and Amplitude says it can sign a HIPAA BAA without naming the plan.
Mixpanel has the most complete pricing page of the three: a plan-by-plan table and a written price for every Growth tier from 1 to 20 million events, monthly and annual. The security overview states its own SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001 and ISO 27701. EU residency is on every plan, chosen when a project is created.
PostHog bills each product on usage after a monthly free allowance and publishes every tier, past 250 million events. Analytics has two rates: a base rate on every event, and a person-profile rate on events from identified users. Security features come in packages: Boost ($250/mo) with the HIPAA BAA, Scale ($750/mo) with SAML. The code is MIT-licensed for self-hosting, which PostHog describes as unsupported.
Strengths and things to know
Amplitude. Strengths: 2 million free events, the lowest listed price at 10 million, session replay and feature flags on every plan, its own SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001. Things to know: SSO starts on the custom-priced Growth plan, Plus prices sit in a calculator, Free and Plus keep 1 and 2 years of data, and a Free account that exceeds its limit three times is blocked until it upgrades.
Mixpanel. Strengths: SAML SSO and SCIM on Growth, two years of data on every plan, every Growth price in writing, three certifications of its own. Things to know: the highest listed price at 10 million events, self-serve prices stop at 20 million, HIPAA BAAs are on Enterprise only, and the Data Pipelines export add-on has no listed price.
PostHog. Strengths: rates published for every volume, a HIPAA BAA at $250 a month, 7 years of data on paid usage, priced warehouse exports, billing limits per product. Things to know: identified events cost more, SAML comes with the $750 package, ISO 27001 is not listed, and self-hosting is unsupported.
Pricing reality
All three price product analytics by events. At 10 million events a month on monthly billing:
| Service | Plan | Monthly cost | Where the number comes from |
|---|---|---|---|
| Amplitude | Plus | $720 | Listed in the Plus estimator; $576 billed annually |
| PostHog | Pay-as-you-go | $1,080 | Computed from published rates, identified events |
| Mixpanel | Growth | $1,176 | Listed; $840 billed annually |
PostHog does not list a 10-million-event price, so its figure is our arithmetic. The base rate is free for the first million, $0.00005 per event for the next million and $0.0000343 for the 8 million after that: $50 + $274.40 = $324.40. Identified events add the person-profile rate: $0.000198 for the second million and $0.0000697 for the next 8 million, so $198 + $557.60 = $755.60. Together: $1,080. If every event is anonymous, the bill is $324.40, the lowest of the three; mixed traffic falls in between.
We compare on monthly billing because PostHog lists no annual price (it discounts annual credit purchases from $25,000). Mixpanel's annual plan saves $4,032 a year at this volume. Above the self-serve ceilings (20 million on Mixpanel, 70 million on Amplitude), pricing goes through sales; we did not ask.
How we scored them
Every product in this category is scored on the same six indicators, read from the vendor's own pricing, security or docs pages, with fixed formulas. The overall score is the plain mean. Our methodology page explains how these scores work.
| Indicator | Amplitude | Mixpanel | PostHog |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pricing clarity | 5 | 8 | 10 |
| Free tier | 10 | 8.5 | 8.5 |
| Price at 10M events | 5.4 | 3.3 | 3.6 |
| Data retention | 4.5 | 7 | 7.5 |
| Compliance and data residency | 9 | 9 | 8 |
| Data control | 4 | 7 | 9 |
| Overall | 6.3 | 7.1 | 7.8 |
Amplitude loses points on pricing clarity because Plus prices sit in a calculator and Growth is priced by sales, and on data control because SSO is on that plan and the docs do not say which plans include warehouse exports. Mixpanel's lowest item is price at 10 million events. PostHog loses points on price because we count every event as identified, and on compliance because ISO 27001 is not listed.
The rubric rewards what a buyer can confirm before signing up. It has no item for analysis depth, session replay or experiment features, and it cannot see data accuracy, support quality or how each tool feels in daily use. Hands-on runs will add that evidence later.
Who should choose which
- Choose Amplitude if you want 2 million free events and the lowest listed price at around 10 million identified events. Look elsewhere if you need SSO without a sales conversation.
- Choose Mixpanel if you need SAML SSO and SCIM on a self-serve plan, two years of data on Free, or ISO 27701. Look elsewhere if you send more than 20 million events and want published prices.
- Choose PostHog if you want to compute your bill at any volume, need a HIPAA BAA without an enterprise contract, or want warehouse exports or self-hosting. Estimate your share of identified events first.
Bottom line
From public pages alone, PostHog is the most transparent on price and the most open with your data, Mixpanel has the strongest self-serve access controls, and Amplitude gives the most for free and lists the lowest price at 10 million events. Amplitude's lower overall score reflects what its pages leave to a sales conversation, not what it costs.
How we checked
We read the vendors' pricing, security or trust, and documentation pages on Oct 15, 2026. We did not sign up, send events or call an API. Amplitude's Plus prices come from the estimator on its pricing page; PostHog's 10-million-event figure is computed from its published rates as shown. Facts the pages did not state, such as which Amplitude plan includes a BAA or whether Mixpanel's Growth plan needs a card, are left out rather than guessed.