Product analytics · Comparison
Amplitude vs PostHog
2 products compared side by side: what you pay for with each one first, then the five access facts, entry prices, recorded plan limits and the bottom line of each review. The evidence note under the table says how each product was checked.
Side by side
| Metric | Amplitude | PostHog |
|---|---|---|
| What you're paying for | Worth the priceThe largest free tier here at 2 million events a month, and the lowest listed price at 10 million: $720 a month, or $576 billed annually. | Saves engineering timePer-event rates published for every volume, 7 years of data on paid usage, priced warehouse exports and a HIPAA BAA without a sales contract. |
| Overall score | 6.3 | 7.8Best |
| Free option | Free plan | Free plan |
| Card to start | No card needed | No card needed |
| Getting access | Self-serve | Self-serve |
| Starter priceCheapest paid plan | $0 | $0 |
| Pricing model | Tiered | Usage-based |
| Pricing page | Public prices | Public prices |
| Free plan | 2M events/mo, unlimited seats | 1M events/mo, unlimited team members |
| Price for 10M events/mo | $720 monthly, $576 billed annually (Plus) | $1,080 identified, $324.40 anonymous (computed) |
| Self-serve prices up to | 70M events/mo | No ceiling; rates listed past 250M events |
| Data retention | 1 year (Free), 2 years (Plus) | 1 year (Free), 7 years (paid) |
| SOC 2 / ISO 27001 | SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 | SOC 2 Type II; ISO 27001 not listed |
| EU data storage | Frankfurt data center, every plan | EU cloud in Frankfurt |
| HIPAA BAA | Offered; plan not stated | Boost package, $250/mo |
| SAML SSO | Growth plan (custom price) | Scale package, $750/mo |
| Warehouse export | S3, Snowflake and others documented; plan not stated | Batch exports; 1M rows/mo free, then per row |
| Self-hosting | Not listed | Open source (MIT), unsupported |
| Bottom line | From its public pages, Amplitude has the largest free tier and the lowest listed price at 10 million events. SSO, longer history and scheduled syncs sit on the custom-priced Growth plan, so check those against your needs first. | From its public pages, PostHog is the most transparent on price and the most open with your data, with a self-serve HIPAA BAA. Identified events carry a second rate, so estimate your mix of identified and anonymous events before comparing bills. |
Evidence: Amplitude: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; PostHog: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.
When to pick each
In the words of each review, with the date its facts were checked.
From our Amplitude review
Checked Oct 15, 2026- Pick Amplitude when
- You want the lowest listed price at 10 million identified events and an ISO 27001 certificate.
- Pick PostHog when
- You want published rates at every volume, a self-serve HIPAA BAA, priced warehouse exports or self-hosting.
From our PostHog review
Checked Oct 15, 2026- Pick PostHog when
- You want published rates past 70 million events, a self-serve HIPAA BAA, 7-year retention or self-hosting.
- Pick Amplitude when
- You want 2 million free events and the lowest listed price at 10 million identified events ($720 a month).
Entry price
Baseline: each product's cheapest paid plan, per month. Included usage differs, so read the line under each price.
- AmplitudePlusFrom $0/moFirst 2M events free; 10M events $720/mo, or $576/mo billed annually; up to 70M events
- Card required
- 2-year data retention
- 20 behavioral cohorts
- Heatmaps
- PostHogPay-as-you-goFrom $0/moFirst 1M events free, then $0.00005 per event, falling to $0.000009 above 250M; identified events add a person-profile rate
- 6 projects
- 7-year data retention
- Billing limit per product
- Boost package $250/mo (HIPAA BAA)
- Scale package $750/mo (SAML SSO)
Prices as listed on each pricing page, in USD per month, excluding tax. Observed: Amplitude 2026-10-15, PostHog 2026-10-15.
Which one fits
- If you need to start today without a sales call
- PostHogSelf-serve sign-up, no card needed; the highest score of the 2 self-serve products here (7.8/10).
- If you want to try it without entering a card
- PostHogFree plan, no card needed, and the highest score of the 2 that skip the card (7.8/10).
- Highest overall score
- PostHog7.8/10 (Good). The review shows the score breakdown and the run behind it.
Picked by fixed rules from the table above, not by hand. How we score
Full reviews
More in Product analytics
Add a product
Search by product name or by what it does, such as “email” or “feature flags”. 2 more fit in this comparison.