Product analytics · Comparison

Amplitude vs Heap

2 products compared side by side: what you pay for with each one first, then the five access facts, entry prices, recorded plan limits and the bottom line of each review. The evidence note under the table says how each product was checked.

Side by side

Amplitude vs Heap: value, access facts, plan limits and bottom lines
MetricAmplitudeHeap
What you're paying forWorth the priceThe largest free tier here at 2 million events a month, and the lowest listed price at 10 million: $720 a month, or $576 billed annually.Saves engineering timeEvents captured automatically from one snippet, with SAML SSO on every plan, including Free, and four ISO certifications.
Overall score6.3Best3.7
Free optionFree planFree plan
Card to startNo card needed–Not measured
Getting accessSelf-serveSelf-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan$0–Not measured
Pricing modelTieredUsage-based
Pricing pagePublic pricesPrices hidden
Free plan2M events/mo, unlimited seats10,000 sessions/mo; free events not stated
Price for 10M events/mo$720 monthly, $576 billed annually (Plus)Not published; billed by sessions
Self-serve prices up to70M events/moNo price published
Data retention1 year (Free), 2 years (Plus)6 months (Free), 12 months (Growth)
SOC 2 / ISO 27001SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001SOC 2 Type 1 and 2; ISO 27001, 27701, 27017, 27018
EU data storageFrankfurt data center, every planEU data center; region-specific storage on Premier
HIPAA BAAOffered; plan not statedOffered (2023 blog post); plan not stated
SAML SSOGrowth plan (custom price)Every plan, including Free
Warehouse exportS3, Snowflake and others documented; plan not statedHeap Connect: Pro add-on, included in Premier
Self-hostingNot listedNot listed
Bottom lineFrom its public pages, Amplitude has the largest free tier and the lowest listed price at 10 million events. SSO, longer history and scheduled syncs sit on the custom-priced Growth plan, so check those against your needs first.From its public pages, Heap pairs autocapture with SSO on every plan and four ISO certifications. It publishes no prices and bills by sessions, so expect to install the snippet or talk to sales before you know the cost.

Evidence: Amplitude: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Heap: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.

When to pick each

In the words of each review, with the date its facts were checked.

  • From our Heap review

    Checked Oct 15, 2026
    Pick Heap when
    You want SAML SSO without a sales-priced plan, or events captured without tagging.
    Pick Amplitude when
    You want published prices: Amplitude lists 10 million events for $720 a month and 2 million free events.

Entry price

Baseline: each product's cheapest paid plan, per month. Included usage differs, so read the line under each price.

  • Amplitude
    Plus
    From $0/mo
    First 2M events free; 10M events $720/mo, or $576/mo billed annually; up to 70M events
    • Card required
    • 2-year data retention
    • 20 behavioral cohorts
    • Heatmaps
  • Heap
    Growth
    Not published
    Priced by sessions; estimate shown after you sign up and install the snippet
    • Unlimited users and reports
    • CSV exports
    • 12 months of data history
    • Email support

Prices as listed on each pricing page, in USD per month, excluding tax. Observed: Amplitude 2026-10-15, Heap 2026-10-15.

Which one fits

If you need to start today without a sales call
AmplitudeSelf-serve sign-up, no card needed; the highest score of the 2 self-serve products here (6.3/10).
If you want to try it without entering a card
AmplitudeFree plan, no card needed; scored 6.3/10.
Highest overall score
Amplitude6.3/10 (Good). The review shows the score breakdown and the run behind it.

Picked by fixed rules from the table above, not by hand. How we score

Full reviews

More in Product analytics

Add a product

Search by product name or by what it does, such as “email” or “feature flags”. 2 more fit in this comparison.