An AI notetaker that joins Zoom, Meet and Teams on every plan, with 1,200 minutes a user on Pro and unlimited meetings on Business at $19.99 a seat, billed annually.
A notetaker that joins Zoom, Google Meet and Teams on every plan, with AI chat across meetings and a desktop app that records without a bot.
Otter joins Zoom, Microsoft Teams and Google Meet calls on every plan, Basic included, and writes summaries with action items. AI Chat works within and across meetings from the free plan, and the desktop app records with no bot in the meeting on macOS and Windows. Business, at $19.99 a seat billed annually, removes the monthly minute cap for meetings, allows 4-hour conversations and adds bulk export, activity logs and CRM sync for 5 users.
Three platforms on every planThe pricing table ticks joining Zoom, Microsoft Teams and Google Meet on Basic, Pro, Business and Enterprise.Evidence: Otter pricing page (2026-10-16)
Bot-free desktop recordingThe desktop page says you can record with headphones on and no bot in the meeting, on macOS 12.3 or later and Windows 10 or later; the Chrome extension captures Google Meet calls without a bot.Evidence: Otter desktop and integrations pages (2026-10-16)
Unlimited meetings on BusinessBusiness lists unlimited meetings and in-app recordings, 4 hours per conversation, bulk export and activity logs at $19.99 a user a month billed annually.Evidence: Otter pricing page (2026-10-16)
Best for
Teams that meet on a mix of Zoom, Teams and Google Meet and want AI chat across their meetings on a self-serve plan.
Good to know
Video replay, the API, SSO, custom retention and the HIPAA add-on are Enterprise features set up through sales.
How Otter.ai compares
Against 3 other products we reviewed in AI meeting notetakers: what you pay for with each, the five access facts, the plan limits we recorded and each review's bottom line. The note under the table says how each one was checked.
Easy to adoptA notetaker that joins Zoom, Google Meet and Teams on every plan, with AI chat across meetings and a desktop app that records without a bot.
Easy to adoptMeeting notes without a bot in the call: Granola transcribes your computer’s audio in any meeting app and keeps no recording.
Compliance includedVideo recordings of Zoom, Meet and Teams calls hosted and stored in the EU on every plan, with no training on your meetings.
Worth the priceUnlimited recording, transcription, video and history on a free plan, and a shared team workspace from $15 a seat.
Overall score
6.6
7.2Best
7.0
6.6
Free option
Free plan
Free plan
Free plan
Free plan
Card to start
–Not measured
No card needed
No card needed
–Not measured
Getting access
Self-serve
Self-serve
Self-serve
Self-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan
$8.33/user/mo
$14/user/mo
$18/seat/mo
$15/user/mo
Pricing model
Per seat
Per seat
Per seat
Per seat
Pricing page
Public prices
Public prices
Public prices
Public prices
Billing unit
Per user per month
Per active member per month
Per seat per month
Per user per month
Free option
Basic: 300 minutes a month, 30 minutes per conversation; 7-day Business trial, card required
Basic: no transcription limit, notes visible for 30 days; trials of paid plans (length not stated)
Free: unlimited video recordings, 40 a week, kept 3 months; no card
Free: unlimited recordings and history, for individuals; 30-day Premium preview
Reference scenario (5 users, annual)
$99.95/mo on Business ($19.99 × 5), computed
$70/mo on Business ($14 × 5, billed monthly), computed
$90/mo on Pro ($18 × 5), computed
$75/mo on Team ($15 × 5), computed
Month-to-month price
$30 per user on Business ($24 for 3 months for first-time subscribers); $16.99 on Pro
$14 per user on Business; Enterprise $35, monthly or annual
$29 per seat on Pro; $39 on Business
$19 per user on Team; $20 on Premium; $34 on Business
Meeting length cap
30 minutes on Basic, 90 on Pro, 4 hours on Business
Not stated; transcription stops after 15 minutes of silence
3 hours on every plan
Not stated; the bot does not join Zoom meetings over 250 attendees
Meeting platforms
Zoom, Teams and Google Meet on every plan
Any app through device audio (Zoom, Meet, Teams, Slack huddles)
Zoom, Google Meet and Teams by bot on every plan
Zoom, Google Meet and Teams on every plan
Bot-free capture
Desktop app (macOS, Windows) and Chrome extension for Google Meet
Always: no bot; desktop, iOS and Android apps
Desktop app (audio only) and mobile app
Mac-only beta (not Teams yet); iOS app for in-person
Video recording
Enterprise only; audio playback on every plan
Not offered; audio is not stored
Every plan; downloads from Pro
Every plan, MP4 download
Training on your data
De-identified data used for training; Enterprise opted out by default
Anonymized data unless each user opts out; Enterprise off by default
Not used to train AI, every plan (privacy policy)
De-identified data for in-house models; opt-out per user, org-wide on Team
SOC 2 / HIPAA
SOC 2 Type II; HIPAA add-on on Enterprise
SOC 2 Type II; HIPAA BAA on Enterprise through sales
SOC 2 Type II on request; BAA mentioned only in blog posts
SOC 2 Type II; BAA in the terms, signed BAA on Enterprise
EU data storage
Not offered; AWS US West
Not offered; AWS US region
Every plan (Germany and Finland); AI processing in the EU or the US, as chosen in preferences
Not offered; stored in the US
SSO
Enterprise, 100-user minimum
Enterprise, 50+ seats
Enterprise (SAML, OIDC)
Enterprise
Transcript export
TXT, PDF, DOCX, SRT from Pro; bulk export from Business
CSV of all notes per user; API from Business
Copy per meeting; API on Pro and Business; no bulk export
Copy in the app; JSON through the API
Bottom line
From its public pages, Otter covers the three big platforms and AI chat from the free plan, and Business adds unlimited meetings and bulk export at $19.99 a seat. The API, video, retention and HIPAA sit on Enterprise, and data is stored in the US.
From its public pages, Granola is the one notetaker here built without a bot or stored audio, with the lowest 5-user price ($70 a month on Business) and self-serve retention settings. It trains on anonymized data unless each user opts out, and SSO needs 50 seats.
From its public pages, tl;dv is the EU-hosted option here, with video on its free plan, no training on your meetings, and CRM mapping and the API on Pro at $18 a seat. Recordings are capped per week (80 a user on Pro), and SSO, retention and the audit log are Enterprise.
From its public pages, Fathom has the strongest free plan of the bot notetakers here and the lowest 5-user price among them, $75 a month on Team. Transcripts leave only through copy or the API, and its pages disagree on several plan details.
Evidence: Otter.ai: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Granola: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; tl;dv: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Fathom: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.
scenario plan priced; can be bought online; month-to-month price published; no top-ups offered; Business is "Unlimited" on the pricing page and 6,000 monthly transcription minutes on the Enterprise and start-for-free pages; the Enterprise page lists unlimited meetings on Basic; the pricing page gives Basic 300 minutes a month; the pricing page lists 6 transcription languages; the supported-languages help article lists 4; the integrations page shows "Contact sales" for Salesforce, HubSpot and Zapier, which the pricing page puts on Pro and up
Free plan and trial
7.5 / 10, Good
free plan, 300 minutes a month (shared with imports), 25 most recent meetings visible, AI summaries, 30-minute cap per meeting, 7-day trial
Price for 5 users
5.4 / 10, Fair
$99.95/mo: Business at $19.99 × 5 users, annual terms; Pro gives 1,200 minutes but caps each conversation at 90 minutes; Business has unlimited meetings, 4 hours per conversation, centralized billing and unlimited history
Notetaking features
8.3 / 10, Excellent
bot-free capture on the scenario plan; AI search across meetings on the scenario plan; CRM sync on the scenario plan; custom templates on the scenario plan; video recording enterprise or through sales only; API or webhooks enterprise or through sales only
Privacy and compliance
5.7 / 10, Fair
SOC 2 Type II, training opt-out on paid or enterprise plans only, HIPAA BAA enterprise or through sales only, automatic notice to participants, organizer pause and delete not both stated, EU data storage not listed (AWS US West; no EU option stated), published DPA
Admin and data exit
6.9 / 10, Good
SAML SSO enterprise or through sales only; retention settings enterprise or through sales only; audit log on the scenario plan; bulk transcript export; data after cancel stated; built-in 2FA
Review
Review from public pages
Written from Otter.ai's public pages (pricing, security or privacy, and docs) as read on Oct 16, 2026. We did not sign up, and no hands-on run is published yet.
What the public pages show
We read Otter's pricing page and comparison table, the Enterprise, start-for-free, integrations, desktop and privacy-and-security pages, the Trust Center, the terms of service with its DPA, the privacy policy, the subprocessor list and help center articles on minutes, limits, exports, recording permissions, retention, SSO, the API and billing on Oct 16, 2026; we did not sign up, start a trial or connect a calendar. The pricing page served us US dollar prices. The help center refuses plain requests from our location, so its articles were read from Internet Archive copies, each checked for its update date.
The plan table is detailed: minutes per user, the per-conversation cap, history, AI Chat queries, template limits and seat caps (Pro up to 5 billed users, Business up to 25) for each plan. Business month to month shows $30 struck through and $24 for the first 3 months for first-time subscribers; the annual price of $19.99 is not a promotion.
A few points need a question to Otter. Business is "Unlimited" on the pricing page and 6,000 monthly transcription minutes on the Enterprise and start-for-free pages. The pricing page lists six transcription languages, while a help article lists four. The integrations page shows "Contact sales" for Salesforce, HubSpot and Zapier, which the pricing page puts on Pro and up.
Strengths
AI chat from the free plan
AI Chat works within and across meetings on every plan, with 20 queries a user a month on Basic, 50 on Pro and 200 on Business.
vs Fathom: tl;dv gives Free and Pro up to 5 multi-meeting AI queries; Fathom marks account-wide Ask Fathom as limited use on Free.
Every major platform on Basic
Zoom, Microsoft Teams and Google Meet are joined on every plan, and the desktop app and Chrome extension capture calls without a bot.
vs Fathom: Fathom’s bot-free capture is a Mac-only beta that does not yet cover Teams.
Unlimited meetings and bulk export on Business
Business removes the monthly cap for meetings, allows 4 hours per conversation and adds bulk export as a ZIP, activity logs and CRM sync for 5 users.
vs Fathom: Fathom has no bulk export in the app, and tl;dv says it does not support bulk transcript downloads.
Built-in two-factor sign-in
Two-factor sign-in with an authenticator app is on every plan, with SMS codes on Business and up (US and Canada only).
vs Fireflies.ai: Fireflies.ai, Fathom, tl;dv and Granola state no built-in two-factor sign-in.
Things to know
Pro caps conversations at 90 minutes
Pro gives 1,200 minutes a user a month, shared with imports, and 90 minutes per conversation; monthly minutes reset without rollover, and help suggests upgrading for more.
Workaround: Business has no monthly meeting cap and allows 4 hours per conversation.
Training on de-identified data
The privacy policy says Otter trains its AI on de-identified recordings and transcripts. No opt-out is stated for Basic, Pro or Business; help says Enterprise workspaces are opted out by default.
Several features through sales
Video replay, the API and webhooks, custom retention, the HIPAA add-on and a workspace-wide recording disclaimer email are Enterprise; SSO and SCIM need a 100-user license.
US data storage only
Help says data is stored in the AWS US West region, and the subprocessor list places AWS in the United States; no EU option is stated.
Pricing reality
Otter bills per user per month. For our scenario, Pro does not qualify because it caps conversations at 90 minutes, so 5 users go on Business: 5 × $19.99 = $99.95 a month on annual terms ($1,199.40 a year, computed), before tax. Month to month, Business is $30 a user ($150 for 5, computed), with $24 for the first 3 months for first-time subscribers. Pro, at $8.33 billed annually, fits teams whose meetings stay under 90 minutes and 1,200 minutes a month. No extra minutes are sold. Business seats are capped at 25 billed users, and the terms say fees are non-refundable.
Exit path
Pro exports single conversations as TXT, PDF, DOCX or SRT and audio as MP3; Business adds bulk export, sent as a ZIP link by email. Help says conversations stay in the account after a downgrade or cancellation, with older ones archived on Basic, not deleted. The API is Enterprise only.
You want a bot that joins scheduled meetings and audio you can play back.
Pick Granola when
You want no stored audio, retention settings on a self-serve plan and a lower 5-user cost ($70 a month on Business, computed).
Choose it if
Your team meets on Zoom, Teams and Google Meet and wants AI chat across meetings.
You want bulk export and activity logs on a self-serve plan.
Your meetings stay under 90 minutes and Pro’s 1,200 minutes are enough.
Look elsewhere if
You need the API, video replay or custom retention without an Enterprise contract.
You need EU data storage.
You want no training on your meeting data on a self-serve plan.
Bottom line
From its public pages, Otter covers the three big platforms and AI chat from the free plan, and Business adds unlimited meetings and bulk export at $19.99 a seat. The API, video, retention and HIPAA sit on Enterprise, and data is stored in the US.
Plan limits at a glance
Limit
As recorded
Billing unit
Per user per month
Free option
Basic: 300 minutes a month, 30 minutes per conversation; 7-day Business trial, card required
Reference scenario (5 users, annual)
$99.95/mo on Business ($19.99 × 5), computed
Month-to-month price
$30 per user on Business ($24 for 3 months for first-time subscribers); $16.99 on Pro
Meeting length cap
30 minutes on Basic, 90 on Pro, 4 hours on Business
Meeting platforms
Zoom, Teams and Google Meet on every plan
Bot-free capture
Desktop app (macOS, Windows) and Chrome extension for Google Meet
Video recording
Enterprise only; audio playback on every plan
Training on your data
De-identified data used for training; Enterprise opted out by default
SOC 2 / HIPAA
SOC 2 Type II; HIPAA add-on on Enterprise
EU data storage
Not offered; AWS US West
SSO
Enterprise, 100-user minimum
Transcript export
TXT, PDF, DOCX, SRT from Pro; bulk export from Business
Read from the vendor's public pages on Oct 16, 2026. No hands-on run is published yet. How we check
We have not published a sign-up run for Otter.ai yet. The access facts above were read from its sign-up and pricing pages on Oct 16, 2026.
We have not published API calls for Otter.ai yet.
Otter.ai lists 4 plans. The cheapest paid plan, Pro (billed annually), costs $8.33/user/mo.
OTOtter.aiFree
Basic
$0/user/mo
Up to 5 workspace members
300 minutes a month, 30 minutes per conversation
25 most recent conversations visible
AI summaries and 20 AI Chat queries a month
TXT and MP3 export
OTOtter.ai
Pro
$8.33/user/mo
Billed annually; $16.99 month to month; up to 5 billed users
1,200 minutes a month, shared with imports
90 minutes per conversation
Unlimited history and storage
Salesforce or HubSpot sync for 1 user; Zapier
OTOtter.ai
Business
$19.99/user/mo
Billed annually; $30 month to month ($24 for the first 3 months for first-time subscribers); up to 25 billed users
Unlimited meetings and in-app recordings
4 hours per conversation
Bulk export and activity logs
CRM sync for 5 users; 200 AI Chat queries a month
OTOtter.ai
Enterprise
Contact sales
Schedule a demo; invoiced annually; SSO and SCIM need a 100-user license
SAML SSO and SCIM
Custom data retention
HIPAA add-on with a BAA
API, webhooks and video replay
Prices as listed, USD, excluding tax; observed 2026-10-16.
Source: otter.ai pricing page. Prices change; the observed date above is when our agent read them.
We read the pricing, trust, legal, help center and developer pages of three AI meeting notetakers on the same day and scored them on the same six indicators. What 5 users with 20 hours of meetings a month cost, where video, SSO and retention sit, how each treats your data, and who should pick which.