AI meeting notetakers · Comparison

Granola vs Otter.ai

2 products compared side by side: what you pay for with each one first, then the five access facts, entry prices, recorded plan limits and the bottom line of each review. The evidence note under the table says how each product was checked.

Side by side

Granola vs Otter.ai: value, access facts, plan limits and bottom lines
MetricGranolaOtter.ai
What you're paying forEasy to adoptMeeting notes without a bot in the call: Granola transcribes your computer’s audio in any meeting app and keeps no recording.Easy to adoptA notetaker that joins Zoom, Google Meet and Teams on every plan, with AI chat across meetings and a desktop app that records without a bot.
Overall score7.2Best6.6
Free optionFree planFree plan
Card to startNo card needed–Not measured
Getting accessSelf-serveSelf-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan$14/user/mo$8.33/user/mo
Pricing modelPer seatPer seat
Pricing pagePublic pricesPublic prices
Billing unitPer active member per monthPer user per month
Free optionBasic: no transcription limit, notes visible for 30 days; trials of paid plans (length not stated)Basic: 300 minutes a month, 30 minutes per conversation; 7-day Business trial, card required
Reference scenario (5 users, annual)$70/mo on Business ($14 × 5, billed monthly), computed$99.95/mo on Business ($19.99 × 5), computed
Month-to-month price$14 per user on Business; Enterprise $35, monthly or annual$30 per user on Business ($24 for 3 months for first-time subscribers); $16.99 on Pro
Meeting length capNot stated; transcription stops after 15 minutes of silence30 minutes on Basic, 90 on Pro, 4 hours on Business
Meeting platformsAny app through device audio (Zoom, Meet, Teams, Slack huddles)Zoom, Teams and Google Meet on every plan
Bot-free captureAlways: no bot; desktop, iOS and Android appsDesktop app (macOS, Windows) and Chrome extension for Google Meet
Video recordingNot offered; audio is not storedEnterprise only; audio playback on every plan
Training on your dataAnonymized data unless each user opts out; Enterprise off by defaultDe-identified data used for training; Enterprise opted out by default
SOC 2 / HIPAASOC 2 Type II; HIPAA BAA on Enterprise through salesSOC 2 Type II; HIPAA add-on on Enterprise
EU data storageNot offered; AWS US regionNot offered; AWS US West
SSOEnterprise, 50+ seatsEnterprise, 100-user minimum
Transcript exportCSV of all notes per user; API from BusinessTXT, PDF, DOCX, SRT from Pro; bulk export from Business
Bottom lineFrom its public pages, Granola is the one notetaker here built without a bot or stored audio, with the lowest 5-user price ($70 a month on Business) and self-serve retention settings. It trains on anonymized data unless each user opts out, and SSO needs 50 seats.From its public pages, Otter covers the three big platforms and AI chat from the free plan, and Business adds unlimited meetings and bulk export at $19.99 a seat. The API, video, retention and HIPAA sit on Enterprise, and data is stored in the US.

Evidence: Granola: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Otter.ai: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.

When to pick each

In the words of each review, with the date its facts were checked.

  • From our Granola review

    Checked Oct 16, 2026
    Pick Granola when
    You want no stored audio, retention settings on a self-serve plan and a lower 5-user cost ($70 a month, computed).
    Pick Otter.ai when
    You want audio playback, bulk export for the team and built-in 2FA.
  • From our Otter.ai review

    Checked Oct 16, 2026
    Pick Otter.ai when
    You want a bot that joins scheduled meetings and audio you can play back.
    Pick Granola when
    You want no stored audio, retention settings on a self-serve plan and a lower 5-user cost ($70 a month on Business, computed).

Entry price

Baseline: each product's cheapest paid plan, per month. Included usage differs, so read the line under each price.

  • Granola
    Business
    $14/user/mo
    Billed monthly; no annual option
    • Unlimited notes and history
    • Notion, Zapier, HubSpot, Attio and Affinity
    • API and webhooks
    • Centralized billing and user management
  • Otter.ai
    Pro
    $8.33/user/mo
    Billed annually; $16.99 month to month; up to 5 billed users
    • 1,200 minutes a month, shared with imports
    • 90 minutes per conversation
    • Unlimited history and storage
    • Salesforce or HubSpot sync for 1 user; Zapier

Prices as listed on each pricing page, in USD per month, excluding tax. Observed: Granola 2026-10-16, Otter.ai 2026-10-16.

Which one fits

If you need to start today without a sales call
GranolaSelf-serve sign-up, no card needed; the highest score of the 2 self-serve products here (7.2/10).
If you want to try it without entering a card
GranolaFree plan, no card needed; scored 7.2/10.
Lowest starter price
Otter.ai$8.33/user/mo for the Pro (billed annually) plan.
Highest overall score
Granola7.2/10 (Good). The review shows the score breakdown and the run behind it.

Picked by fixed rules from the table above, not by hand. How we score

Full reviews

More in AI meeting notetakers

Add a product

Search by product name or by what it does, such as “email” or “feature flags”. 2 more fit in this comparison.