Fireflies.ai review

by Fireflies.ai Corp.AI meeting notetakers

A meeting bot with unlimited transcription from Pro at $10 a seat, unlimited storage on Business at $19, the API on every plan and no training on your meetings.

Facts checked
  • Free plan
  • Self-serve
  • Per seat
  • Public prices
Visit site

What you're paying for

  • Worth the price (main value)
  • Saves engineering time
  • Compliance included

A notetaker bot with unlimited transcription from $10 a seat, CRM sync and an API on every plan, and a written promise not to train on your meetings.

Fireflies joins Zoom, Google Meet, Microsoft Teams and Webex and transcribes without a monthly cap from Pro, with video, CRM sync to Salesforce or HubSpot and downloads in PDF, DOCX, SRT, CSV, JSON or Markdown. The API is on every plan, Free included. Its terms say it will not use your content to train generative AI models, on any plan. Business, at $19 a seat billed annually, removes the storage cap so a team keeps its full history.

  • Unlimited transcription from ProPro lists unlimited transcription for bot meetings, the Chrome extension and the mobile app at $10 a seat billed annually; Business adds unlimited storage.Evidence: Fireflies pricing page (2026-10-16)
  • API on every planHelp says the API is available to all users regardless of plan: 60 requests a minute on Pro and pooled per paid seat on Business; webhooks are documented.Evidence: Fireflies API overview and rate-limit help (2026-10-16)
  • No training on your meetingsThe terms say Fireflies will not use your content to train, retrain or fine-tune generative AI models, and the privacy policy says vendors are contractually barred from training on it.Evidence: Fireflies terms of service and privacy policy (2026-10-16)
Best for
Sales and customer teams that want a notetaker bot with CRM sync, video and an API without an enterprise contract.
Good to know
Pro stores 8,000 minutes per seat, after which older meetings must be deleted to open new ones; Business removes the cap.

How Fireflies.ai compares

Against 3 other products we reviewed in AI meeting notetakers: what you pay for with each, the five access facts, the plan limits we recorded and each review's bottom line. The note under the table says how each one was checked.

Fireflies.ai compared with Granola, tl;dv, Fathom
MetricFireflies.aiGranolatl;dvFathom
What you're paying forWorth the priceA notetaker bot with unlimited transcription from $10 a seat, CRM sync and an API on every plan, and a written promise not to train on your meetings.Easy to adoptMeeting notes without a bot in the call: Granola transcribes your computer’s audio in any meeting app and keeps no recording.Compliance includedVideo recordings of Zoom, Meet and Teams calls hosted and stored in the EU on every plan, with no training on your meetings.Worth the priceUnlimited recording, transcription, video and history on a free plan, and a shared team workspace from $15 a seat.
Overall score6.57.2Best7.06.6
Free optionFree planFree planFree planFree plan
Card to start–Not measuredNo card neededNo card needed–Not measured
Getting accessSelf-serveSelf-serveSelf-serveSelf-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan$10/seat/mo$14/user/mo$18/seat/mo$15/user/mo
Pricing modelPer seatPer seatPer seatPer seat
Pricing pagePublic pricesPublic pricesPublic pricesPublic prices
Billing unitPer seat per month; AI credits in monthly packsPer active member per monthPer seat per monthPer user per month
Free optionFree: 3 meetings, unlimited with Auto-join; 400 minutes of storage; 7-day Business trial, card requiredBasic: no transcription limit, notes visible for 30 days; trials of paid plans (length not stated)Free: unlimited video recordings, 40 a week, kept 3 months; no cardFree: unlimited recordings and history, for individuals; 30-day Premium preview
Reference scenario (5 users, annual)$95/mo on Business ($19 × 5), computed$70/mo on Business ($14 × 5, billed monthly), computed$90/mo on Pro ($18 × 5), computed$75/mo on Team ($15 × 5), computed
Month-to-month price$29 per seat on Business; $18 on Pro; Enterprise annual only$14 per user on Business; Enterprise $35, monthly or annual$29 per seat on Pro; $39 on Business$19 per user on Team; $20 on Premium; $34 on Business
Meeting length cap2 hours on Free and Pro, 3 on Business, 4 on EnterpriseNot stated; transcription stops after 15 minutes of silence3 hours on every planNot stated; the bot does not join Zoom meetings over 250 attendees
Meeting platformsZoom, Google Meet, Teams and Webex on every planAny app through device audio (Zoom, Meet, Teams, Slack huddles)Zoom, Google Meet and Teams by bot on every planZoom, Google Meet and Teams on every plan
Bot-free captureChrome extension (Google Meet), desktop and mobile appsAlways: no bot; desktop, iOS and Android appsDesktop app (audio only) and mobile appMac-only beta (not Teams yet); iOS app for in-person
Video recordingFrom Pro (720p) on the pricing page; Business in one FAQNot offered; audio is not storedEvery plan; downloads from ProEvery plan, MP4 download
Training on your dataNot used to train generative AI, every plan (terms)Anonymized data unless each user opts out; Enterprise off by defaultNot used to train AI, every plan (privacy policy)De-identified data for in-house models; opt-out per user, org-wide on Team
SOC 2 / HIPAASOC 2 Type II under a mutual NDA; HIPAA BAA on Enterprise with private storageSOC 2 Type II; HIPAA BAA on Enterprise through salesSOC 2 Type II on request; BAA mentioned only in blog postsSOC 2 Type II; BAA in the terms, signed BAA on Enterprise
EU data storageEnterprise private storage or your own bucket; processed in the USNot offered; AWS US regionEvery plan (Germany and Finland); AI processing in the EU or the US, as chosen in preferencesNot offered; stored in the US
SSOEnterpriseEnterprise, 50+ seatsEnterprise (SAML, OIDC)Enterprise
Transcript exportPDF, DOCX, SRT, CSV, JSON, MD from Pro; full export on requestCSV of all notes per user; API from BusinessCopy per meeting; API on Pro and Business; no bulk exportCopy in the app; JSON through the API
Bottom lineFrom its public pages, Fireflies puts the most features on its scenario plan here: video, CRM sync, the API and no training on your meetings. Several pages disagree on limits, Pro has a storage cap, and SSO and retention controls are Enterprise.From its public pages, Granola is the one notetaker here built without a bot or stored audio, with the lowest 5-user price ($70 a month on Business) and self-serve retention settings. It trains on anonymized data unless each user opts out, and SSO needs 50 seats.From its public pages, tl;dv is the EU-hosted option here, with video on its free plan, no training on your meetings, and CRM mapping and the API on Pro at $18 a seat. Recordings are capped per week (80 a user on Pro), and SSO, retention and the audit log are Enterprise.From its public pages, Fathom has the strongest free plan of the bot notetakers here and the lowest 5-user price among them, $75 a month on Team. Transcripts leave only through copy or the API, and its pages disagree on several plan details.

Evidence: Fireflies.ai: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Granola: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; tl;dv: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Fathom: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.

Score

Score breakdown
Pricing clarity
2.0 / 10, Fair
scenario plan priced; can be bought online; month-to-month price published; some usage limits only in help articles; extra AI credits or minutes priced; Free transcription is "Unlimited" on the plan card and "Limited" in the comparison table; help says 3 meetings unless Auto-join is on; Free storage is 400 minutes per team on the pricing page and per seat in help; help pages describe AI credits as monthly and as one-time, and as per seat and as pooled; video recording starts on Pro on the pricing page and on Business in a help FAQ; the comparison table shows no integrations on Free; help says all integrations are on Free; one rate-limit article says there are no overage charges and that uploads over the cap cost $0.01 a minute; Enterprise shows "Contact Us" on the pricing page while help documents card checkout from the dashboard
Free plan and trial
8.5 / 10, Excellent
free plan, unlimited transcription (with Auto-join on; 3 meetings otherwise), 400 minutes of storage, AI summaries, 120-minute cap per meeting, 7-day trial
Price for 5 users
5.5 / 10, Fair
$95/mo: Business at $19 × 5 users, annual terms; Pro covers the minutes and 2-hour meetings but stores 8,000 minutes per seat, after which older meetings must be deleted; Business has unlimited storage and 3-hour meetings
Notetaking features
10.0 / 10, Excellent
bot-free capture on the scenario plan; AI search across meetings on the scenario plan; CRM sync on the scenario plan; custom templates on the scenario plan; video recording on the scenario plan; API or webhooks on the scenario plan
Privacy and compliance
7.9 / 10, Good
SOC 2 Type II, no training on customer meeting data, HIPAA BAA enterprise or through sales only, automatic notice to participants, organizer can pause and delete, EU data storage enterprise or through sales only (Enterprise private storage or your own bucket, set up with Fireflies; processing stays in the US), published DPA
Admin and data exit
4.8 / 10, Fair
SAML SSO enterprise or through sales only; retention settings enterprise or through sales only; audit log enterprise or through sales only; bulk transcript export; data after cancel stated; no built-in 2FA stated

Review

Review from public pages

Written from Fireflies.ai's public pages (pricing, security or privacy, and docs) as read on Oct 16, 2026. We did not sign up, and no hands-on run is published yet.

What the public pages show

We read Fireflies' pricing page with its comparison table and FAQ, the security, HIPAA, DPA, BAA and NDA pages, the terms of service, the privacy policy, the developer docs and help center articles on plans, storage, rate limits, AI credits, recording, consent, retention, SSO, exports, cancellation and refunds on Oct 16, 2026; we did not sign up, start a trial or call the API. The pricing page served us US dollar prices. The trust center renders only in a browser script and could not be read, so its subprocessor list is not covered here.

The plan cards are clear on price, meeting length (2, 3 and 4 hours by plan) and storage (400 minutes on Free, 8,000 per seat on Pro, unlimited on Business). Upload caps (3,000 minutes per source per user a month) and the automatic $5 credit plan when the free AI credits on a paid plan run out are stated only in help.

Several points need a question to Fireflies. Free transcription is "Unlimited" on the plan card and "Limited" in the table; help says 3 meetings unless Auto-join is on, for sign-ups since Sept. 1, 2026. Video recording starts on Pro on the pricing page and on Business in one FAQ. Help pages describe AI credits as monthly and as one-time, and as per seat and as pooled. Enterprise shows "Contact Us", while help documents card checkout from the dashboard.

Strengths

  • API on every plan

    The API is open on all plans: Free at 30 requests a minute and 500 a day, Pro at 60 a minute, Business pooled per paid seat up to 1,200 a minute.

    vs tl;dv: Otter keeps its API on Enterprise; tl;dv and Granola start theirs on paid plans.

  • No training on meeting content

    The terms rule out training generative AI on your content on every plan, with no opt-out needed, and the AI vendors work under zero-retention agreements.

    Compared: Otter trains on de-identified data below Enterprise; Granola trains on anonymized data unless each user opts out.

  • Many export formats

    Paid plans download transcripts as PDF, DOCX, SRT, CSV, JSON or Markdown, video as MP4 and audio as MP3, and any user can request a full account export.

    vs Fathom: Fathom’s transcripts are copied in the app or pulled through the API.

  • Consent controls in the meeting

    An optional email tells attendees an hour before with a link to decline, a pinned chat note announces the bot, and chat commands pause or remove it.

Things to know

  • Storage cap on Pro

    Pro stores 8,000 minutes per seat, pooled across the team; at the cap new meetings are still captured, but older ones must be deleted to open them.

    Workaround: Business, at $19 a seat billed annually, and Enterprise have unlimited storage.

  • Pages disagree on several limits

    The plan card, comparison table and help differ on Free transcription, Free storage (per team or per seat), whether AI credits are monthly or one-time, and whether video starts on Pro or Business.

    Workaround: Ask Fireflies to confirm the limits that matter to you before buying.

  • SSO, retention and audit on Enterprise

    SAML SSO, SCIM, auto-delete (1 week to 1 year), the audit-events API and HIPAA with private storage are Enterprise, at $39 a seat billed annually.

  • Google or Microsoft sign-in only

    The pricing FAQ says sign-in is only possible with Google or Outlook accounts, and no built-in two-factor sign-in is stated.

Pricing reality

Fireflies bills per seat per month. For our scenario, Pro would cover the minutes and the 2-hour meetings, but its 8,000 minutes of storage per seat fill up at 1,200 minutes a user a month (in about 7 months for 5 users, computed), so 5 users go on Business: 5 × $19 = $95 a month on annual terms ($1,140 a year), or 5 × $29 = $145 month to month (computed), before tax. AI credits for AskFred, extra summary templates and CRM autofill are extra: packs run from $5 for 50 to $600 for 10,000 a month. A custom bot name is $5 a month, and uploads over 3,000 minutes per source cost $0.01 a minute.

Exit path

Paid plans download each meeting’s transcript, summary, video and audio; there is no bulk download in the app, but any user can request a full export (audio, video, transcripts and metadata) through a form, and the API serves every plan. After cancelling, meetings stay within the Free plan limits; a deleted account is removed after 30 days.

Compared with

  • Pick Fireflies.ai when
    You want the API and video recording on a self-serve plan and a stated promise not to train on your meetings.
    Pick Otter.ai when
    You want bulk export in the app, built-in 2FA and AI chat across meetings on the free plan.
  • Pick Fireflies.ai when
    You want many download formats, Webex support and the API with pooled limits on Business.
    Pick Fathom when
    You want unlimited recordings and history free and a lower 5-user cost ($75 a month on Team, computed).
  • Pick Fireflies.ai when
    You want 4-hour meetings, SSO and HIPAA on an Enterprise plan with a published price.
    Pick tl;dv when
    You want EU data storage on every plan and video on the free plan.

Choose it if

  • You want CRM sync, video and many export formats from $10 a seat.
  • You need an API on every plan.
  • You want a written promise that your meetings are not used to train AI.

Look elsewhere if

  • You need SSO or retention controls without an Enterprise plan.
  • You want every limit on one page, without checking help articles.
  • You need EU storage without an Enterprise private storage setup.

Bottom line

From its public pages, Fireflies puts the most features on its scenario plan here: video, CRM sync, the API and no training on your meetings. Several pages disagree on limits, Pro has a storage cap, and SSO and retention controls are Enterprise.

Plan limits at a glance

LimitAs recorded
Billing unitPer seat per month; AI credits in monthly packs
Free optionFree: 3 meetings, unlimited with Auto-join; 400 minutes of storage; 7-day Business trial, card required
Reference scenario (5 users, annual)$95/mo on Business ($19 × 5), computed
Month-to-month price$29 per seat on Business; $18 on Pro; Enterprise annual only
Meeting length cap2 hours on Free and Pro, 3 on Business, 4 on Enterprise
Meeting platformsZoom, Google Meet, Teams and Webex on every plan
Bot-free captureChrome extension (Google Meet), desktop and mobile apps
Video recordingFrom Pro (720p) on the pricing page; Business in one FAQ
Training on your dataNot used to train generative AI, every plan (terms)
SOC 2 / HIPAASOC 2 Type II under a mutual NDA; HIPAA BAA on Enterprise with private storage
EU data storageEnterprise private storage or your own bucket; processed in the US
SSOEnterprise
Transcript exportPDF, DOCX, SRT, CSV, JSON, MD from Pro; full export on request

Read from the vendor's public pages on Oct 16, 2026. No hands-on run is published yet. How we check

Fireflies.ai lists 4 plans. The cheapest paid plan, Pro (billed annually), costs $10/seat/mo.

  • Fireflies.aiFree
    Free
    $0/seat/mo
    Free forever
    • 3 meeting transcriptions, unlimited with Auto-join on
    • 400 minutes of storage
    • 2-hour meeting limit
    • Limited AI summaries and AskFred
  • Fireflies.ai
    Pro
    $10/seat/mo
    Billed annually; $18 month to month
    • Unlimited transcription and AI summaries
    • 8,000 minutes of storage per seat
    • Video recording (720p) and downloads
    • Salesforce and HubSpot transcript sync
  • Fireflies.ai
    Business
    $19/seat/mo
    Billed annually; $29 month to month
    • Unlimited storage
    • 3-hour meeting limit
    • Conversation intelligence and team insights
    • Private channels and CRM autofill
  • Fireflies.ai
    Enterprise
    $39/seat/mo
    Billed annually only; "Contact Us" on the pricing page
    • SAML SSO and SCIM
    • Auto-delete from 1 week to 1 year
    • HIPAA BAA with private storage
    • 4-hour meeting limit, 1080p video

Prices as listed, USD, excluding tax; observed 2026-10-16.

Source: fireflies.ai pricing page. Prices change; the observed date above is when our agent read them.

Visit site