GitBook review

by GitBookDocs and wikis

A docs platform with two-way Git Sync, priced per published site plus $12 per member billed annually; readers of a published site are free.

Facts checked
  • Free plan
  • No card needed
  • Self-serve
  • Seat + usage
  • Public prices
Visit site

What you're paying for

  • Saves engineering time (main value)
  • Worth the price

Published docs with two-way GitHub and GitLab sync, auto-generated API references and an MCP server, where people who only read the site are not billed.

GitBook is built for documentation that gets published: product guides, API references and help centers, edited in a block editor or synced both ways with a GitHub or GitLab repository as Markdown. Every published site gets llms.txt files and its own MCP server, and API references update from an OpenAPI spec. You pay per published site plus $12 per member billed annually; readers of a published site do not count, and page views are unlimited. The trust center lists SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001.

  • Two-way Git Sync on every planChanges made in GitBook sync to GitHub or GitLab, and commits there update GitBook, on Free as well as paid plans.Evidence: Pricing page and Git Sync docs (2026-10-15)
  • API docs and AI-ready publishingAuto-updating API references from an OpenAPI spec, an interactive API playground, llms.txt files and an MCP server per site are listed on every plan.Evidence: Pricing page (2026-10-15)
  • Readers are not billedThe FAQ says visitors reading a published site do not count as paid collaborators, and page views are unlimited.Evidence: Pricing page FAQ (2026-10-15)
Best for
Engineering and product teams publishing product, API or help docs, especially teams that keep docs in a Git repository.
Good to know
Every member inside the app is billed, readers included; private reader sign-in needs Ultimate, and SAML SSO needs Enterprise.

How GitBook compares

Against 3 other products we reviewed in Docs and wikis: what you pay for with each, the five access facts, the plan limits we recorded and each review's bottom line. The note under the table says how each one was checked.

GitBook compared with Confluence, Notion, Coda
MetricGitBookConfluenceNotionCoda
What you're paying forSaves engineering timePublished docs with two-way GitHub and GitLab sync, auto-generated API references and an MCP server, where people who only read the site are not billed.Compliance includedA team wiki that keeps every page version, with audit logs, data residency and a self-serve HIPAA BAA from the Standard plan.Worth the priceDocs, wikis, databases, forms and published sites in one workspace for $10 per member a month, with SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001.Worth the priceDocs with tables, formulas and automations where only the people who create docs are billed: $12 a Doc Maker, with Editors and Viewers free.
Overall score6.18.8Best7.06.4
Free optionFree planFree planFree planFree plan
Card to startNo card needed–Not measured–Not measured–Not measured
Getting accessSelf-serveSelf-serveSelf-serveSelf-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan$65/site/mo + $12/member$7.15/user/mo$10/member/mo$12/Doc Maker/mo
Pricing modelSeat + usagePer seatPer seatPer seat
Pricing pagePublic pricesPublic pricesPublic pricesPublic prices
Billed perPublished site plus each member; site readers freeUser (annual prices by user tier)Member (guests free)Doc Maker (Editors and Viewers free)
Free plan1 member, unlimited basic sitesUp to 10 users, 2 GB storageYes; blocks limited for 2+ members, 7-day historyYes; shared docs limited, 7-day history
30 people, 10 who write$369/mo (Ultimate site + 10 members, readers via authenticated access); $425/mo with all 30 as members on Essential$214.50/mo (Standard, monthly); $300/mo billed annually$300/mo (Plus, billed yearly)$120/mo (Pro, billed annually, 10 Doc Makers)
Version history, entry paid planEvery change listed, with rollbackEvery page version kept30 days30 days
Page analytics, entry paid planPage views, visitors and site searchesView counts and a views chartViewers list and views chartEnterprise only
AI on the entry paid plan2,000 AI credits per site a month; AI Assistant Ask for readersRovo, 25 credits per user a monthTrial; Notion Agent from BusinessDocs AI (beta), fair use
SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001BothBothBothBoth (SOC 2 report for Enterprise customers)
HIPAA BAANot statedStandard and up, signed in Atlassian AdministrationEnterpriseEnterprise (contact sales)
Data residencyNot offered; data stored and processed in the USStandard and up (EU, US and other locations)Enterprise (EU, US, Japan, Korea)Not stated
SAML SSO and SCIMSAML on Enterprise; SCIM not listedAtlassian Guard Standard add-on; included on EnterpriseSAML on Business; SCIM on EnterpriseEnterprise
Audit logEnterprise (audit events API)Standard and upEnterpriseEnterprise (audit events)
Bulk exportSpace as Markdown through Git Sync (GitHub or GitLab)Space as PDF, CSV, HTML or XMLWorkspace as HTML, Markdown and CSVOwn docs as .txt and .csv
Bottom lineFrom its public pages, GitBook is strongest for published and developer docs: Git Sync, full history and free readers on published sites. As an internal wiki, readers inside the app are paid seats and admin controls sit on Enterprise, which lowers its score.From its public pages, Confluence puts the most security-review controls on its first paid plan and keeps every page version. Budget for Atlassian Guard if you need SAML SSO, and compare monthly and annual billing at your team size.From its public pages, Notion is the broadest workspace here, with open export formats on every plan and viewer analytics on Plus. Paying for every member and keeping audit logs and residency on Enterprise are what hold its score back.From its public pages, Coda (now Superhuman Docs) costs the least here when few people create docs, because Editors and Viewers are free. Admin, analytics and compliance controls sit on Enterprise, which is what lowers its score.

Evidence: GitBook: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Confluence: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Notion: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Coda: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.

Score

Score breakdown
Pricing clarity
8.0 / 10, Excellent
billed per published site plus each member (site readers free); the plan table says AI usage auto-pauses when credits run out, while the FAQ bills extra credits at $0.01 each unless auto-pause is turned on; the PDF export docs still name a legacy Pro plan for exporting internal content
Free tier
5.0 / 10, Fair
shared content capped, up to 1 users, version history: all versions kept
Price for 30 people, 10 who write
4.3 / 10, Fair
$369/mo: one Ultimate site at $249 + 10 members × $12, billed annually; the 20 readers sign in to the published site through authenticated access; assumes the 20 readers use authenticated access on an Ultimate site, which needs your identity provider or your own server code, and are not GitBook members; as Reader-role members they would be paid seats ($425 a month with all 30 on Essential)
History and analytics
9.0 / 10, Excellent
version history: all versions kept, page view counts
Compliance and data residency
6.0 / 10, Good
own SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, data residency not stated
Admin control and portability
4.5 / 10, Fair
SAML SSO on enterprise only; SCIM not listed; audit log on enterprise only; workspace or space export (a space as Markdown in GitHub or GitLab through Git Sync); PDF export

Review

Review from public pages

Written from GitBook's public pages (pricing, security or privacy, and docs) as read on Oct 15, 2026. We did not sign up, and no hands-on run is published yet.

What the public pages show

We read GitBook's pricing page, its trust center and its documentation on plans, billing, roles, SSO, version history, PDF export and Git Sync on Oct 15, 2026; we did not sign up for this review. The pricing model differs from the other tools here: you pay for each published site (Essential $65 a month, Ultimate $249, billed annually; $79 and $299 monthly) and for each member of the organization ($12 a month billed annually, $15 monthly). The Free plan includes one member and unlimited basic sites.

Who counts is the main question for an internal wiki. The pricing FAQ says people who read a published site do not pay. The billing docs add that guests and readers inside the GitBook app cost the same as other members, and the roles page says a Reader is a paid seat. To keep a site private without making readers members, Essential offers private share links and Ultimate offers authenticated access through your own identity provider or server code.

The plan table lists version history, Git Sync, page view analytics and the API on every plan; PDF export, advanced roles and real-time collaboration from Essential; SAML SSO and Git Sync IP allowlisting on Enterprise. The trust center lists SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001:2022; the privacy statement says GitBook stores and processes data in the United States. We found no HIPAA or data residency option, and the audit events API requires an Enterprise plan.

Strengths

  • Readers of a published site are free

    Members are billed; visitors to a published site are not, and page views are unlimited.

    vs Confluence: Notion bills every member and Confluence every user, readers included.

  • Docs as code

    Two-way Git Sync with GitHub or GitLab on every plan, including Free.

  • Version history with rollback

    The docs describe a version history of every change, with diffs and rollback, on every plan.

    vs Notion: Notion keeps 30 days of page history on Plus.

  • Built for AI readers

    Each published site gets llms.txt files, Markdown page versions and its own MCP server on every plan.

Things to know

  • Readers inside the app are paid seats

    Guests and readers in the organization cost the same as other members; private reader access without seats needs authenticated access on Ultimate ($249 a site a month).

    Workaround: Essential offers private share links that can be revoked.

  • SAML SSO and the audit log on Enterprise

    SAML SSO is Enterprise only, and the audit events API needs an Enterprise plan; SCIM is not listed.

  • No HIPAA or data residency stated

    The privacy statement says data is stored and processed in the United States; we found no BAA or region choice.

  • No refunds

    The FAQ says GitBook does not offer refunds, and annual plans are paid 12 months up front.

Pricing reality

GitBook charges per published site plus per member. Essential is $65 a site a month and Ultimate $249 billed annually ($79 and $299 monthly); each member is $12 ($15 monthly), whatever their role. For 30 people where 10 write: one Ultimate site with 10 members is $249 + $120 = $369 a month, with the 20 readers signing in through authenticated access; with all 30 as members on Essential it is $65 + $360 = $425. AI features use credits: 2,000 a month per Essential site and 10,000 per Ultimate site, with extra usage at $0.01 a credit or packs from $47.50 a month. On annual plans, members added during the term are billed in a true-up.

Exit path

Git Sync keeps a space as Markdown files in a GitHub or GitLab repository on every plan, which doubles as an export. Pages and sections export to PDF from Essential, and the API can read and export space content.

Compared with

  • Pick GitBook when
    You publish docs to readers who should not need a paid account, or you keep docs in a Git repository.
    Pick Confluence when
    You need audit logs, data residency or a HIPAA BAA on a self-serve plan, or a free plan for up to 10 users.
  • Pick GitBook when
    Your docs live in GitHub or GitLab, or you publish API references and want readers of the published site to be free.
    Pick Notion when
    You want docs, databases and forms in one workspace for $10 a member, with a viewer list on Plus.
  • Pick GitBook when
    You publish docs outside the company and want readers of the published site to be free.
    Pick Slite when
    You want an internal knowledge base with doc verification and a viewer list on the entry plan, hosted in the EU.

Choose it if

  • You publish product, API or help docs to readers outside your team.
  • Your developers want docs synced with a GitHub or GitLab repository.
  • You want API references generated from an OpenAPI spec.

Look elsewhere if

  • Most of your readers are colleagues who would need paid seats.
  • You need a HIPAA BAA or a choice of data region.

Bottom line

From its public pages, GitBook is strongest for published and developer docs: Git Sync, full history and free readers on published sites. As an internal wiki, readers inside the app are paid seats and admin controls sit on Enterprise, which lowers its score.

Plan limits at a glance

LimitAs recorded
Billed perPublished site plus each member; site readers free
Free plan1 member, unlimited basic sites
30 people, 10 who write$369/mo (Ultimate site + 10 members, readers via authenticated access); $425/mo with all 30 as members on Essential
Version history, entry paid planEvery change listed, with rollback
Page analytics, entry paid planPage views, visitors and site searches
AI on the entry paid plan2,000 AI credits per site a month; AI Assistant Ask for readers
SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001Both
HIPAA BAANot stated
Data residencyNot offered; data stored and processed in the US
SAML SSO and SCIMSAML on Enterprise; SCIM not listed
Audit logEnterprise (audit events API)
Bulk exportSpace as Markdown through Git Sync (GitHub or GitLab)

Read from the vendor's public pages on Oct 15, 2026. No hands-on run is published yet. How we check

GitBook lists 4 plans. The cheapest paid plan, Essential (billed annually), costs $65/site/mo + $12/member.

  • GitBookFree
    Free
    $0/mo
    1 member
    • Unlimited basic published sites
    • Block editor, Git Sync, change requests
    • Auto-generated API docs, MCP server
    • Version history, page view analytics
  • GitBook
    Essential
    $65/site/mo
    Billed annually ($79 monthly); members $12 each ($15 monthly)
    • Custom domain, private share links
    • AI Assistant Ask, 2,000 AI credits a month
    • Real-time collaboration, review and merge rules
    • Advanced roles, teams, PDF export
  • GitBook
    Ultimate
    $249/site/mo
    Billed annually ($299 monthly); members $12 each ($15 monthly)
    • Authenticated access and adaptive content
    • AI Assistant Chat, AI insights, 10,000 AI credits a month
    • Site sections, custom subdirectory
    • Priority support
  • GitBook
    Enterprise
    Contact sales
    • SAML SSO
    • Git Sync IP allowlisting, team owners
    • Payment by invoice, custom contract
    • Account manager, migration support

Prices as listed, USD, excluding tax; observed 2026-10-15.

Source: gitbook.com pricing page. Prices change; the observed date above is when our agent read them.

Visit site