Docs and wikis · Comparison
Coda vs GitBook
2 products compared side by side: what you pay for with each one first, then the five access facts, entry prices, recorded plan limits and the bottom line of each review. The evidence note under the table says how each product was checked.
Side by side
| Metric | Coda | GitBook |
|---|---|---|
| What you're paying for | Worth the priceDocs with tables, formulas and automations where only the people who create docs are billed: $12 a Doc Maker, with Editors and Viewers free. | Saves engineering timePublished docs with two-way GitHub and GitLab sync, auto-generated API references and an MCP server, where people who only read the site are not billed. |
| Overall score | 6.4Best | 6.1 |
| Free option | Free plan | Free plan |
| Card to start | –Not measured | No card needed |
| Getting access | Self-serve | Self-serve |
| Starter priceCheapest paid plan | $12/Doc Maker/mo | $65/site/mo + $12/member |
| Pricing model | Per seat | Seat + usage |
| Pricing page | Public prices | Public prices |
| Billed per | Doc Maker (Editors and Viewers free) | Published site plus each member; site readers free |
| Free plan | Yes; shared docs limited, 7-day history | 1 member, unlimited basic sites |
| 30 people, 10 who write | $120/mo (Pro, billed annually, 10 Doc Makers) | $369/mo (Ultimate site + 10 members, readers via authenticated access); $425/mo with all 30 as members on Essential |
| Version history, entry paid plan | 30 days | Every change listed, with rollback |
| Page analytics, entry paid plan | Enterprise only | Page views, visitors and site searches |
| AI on the entry paid plan | Docs AI (beta), fair use | 2,000 AI credits per site a month; AI Assistant Ask for readers |
| SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 | Both (SOC 2 report for Enterprise customers) | Both |
| HIPAA BAA | Enterprise (contact sales) | Not stated |
| Data residency | Not stated | Not offered; data stored and processed in the US |
| SAML SSO and SCIM | Enterprise | SAML on Enterprise; SCIM not listed |
| Audit log | Enterprise (audit events) | Enterprise (audit events API) |
| Bulk export | Own docs as .txt and .csv | Space as Markdown through Git Sync (GitHub or GitLab) |
| Bottom line | From its public pages, Coda (now Superhuman Docs) costs the least here when few people create docs, because Editors and Viewers are free. Admin, analytics and compliance controls sit on Enterprise, which is what lowers its score. | From its public pages, GitBook is strongest for published and developer docs: Git Sync, full history and free readers on published sites. As an internal wiki, readers inside the app are paid seats and admin controls sit on Enterprise, which lowers its score. |
Evidence: Coda: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; GitBook: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.
Entry price
Baseline: each product's cheapest paid plan, per month. Included usage differs, so read the line under each price.
- CodaPro$12/Doc Maker/moBilled annually ($15 billed monthly); Editors and Viewers free
- 30-day version history
- Unlimited doc size, 5 GB attachments per doc
- Docs AI (beta), MCP
- Grammarly (on annual billing) and Superhuman Go
- GitBookEssential$65/site/moBilled annually ($79 monthly); members $12 each ($15 monthly)
- Custom domain, private share links
- AI Assistant Ask, 2,000 AI credits a month
- Real-time collaboration, review and merge rules
- Advanced roles, teams, PDF export
Prices as listed on each pricing page, in USD per month, excluding tax. Observed: Coda 2026-10-15, GitBook 2026-10-15.
Which one fits
- If you need to start today without a sales call
- CodaSelf-serve sign-up; the highest score of the 2 self-serve products here (6.4/10).
- If you want to try it without entering a card
- GitBookFree plan, no card needed; scored 6.1/10.
- Lowest starter price
- Coda$12/Doc Maker/mo for the Pro (billed annually) plan.
- Highest overall score
- Coda6.4/10 (Good). The review shows the score breakdown and the run behind it.
Picked by fixed rules from the table above, not by hand. How we score
Full reviews
More in Docs and wikis
Add a product
Search by product name or by what it does, such as “email” or “feature flags”. 2 more fit in this comparison.