Coda review

by SuperhumanDocs and wikis

Docs with tables and automations, now sold as Superhuman Docs; you pay only for Doc Makers, from $12 a month billed annually.

Facts checked
  • Free plan
  • Self-serve
  • Per seat
  • Public prices
Visit site

What you're paying for

  • Worth the price (main value)
  • Saves engineering time

Docs with tables, formulas and automations where only the people who create docs are billed: $12 a Doc Maker, with Editors and Viewers free.

Coda, now Superhuman Docs, charges for Doc Makers, the people who create docs and manage folders; Editors who work in existing docs and Viewers who read and comment are free. That makes it the lowest figure here for a company where a few people write and many read: $120 a month for 10 Doc Makers on Pro. Docs combine pages with connected tables, formulas, automations and Packs that integrate other tools, so teams can build trackers without a separate app. Pro also includes Docs AI while it is in beta, Grammarly on annual billing and Superhuman Go.

  • Readers and editors are freeThe pricing FAQ says the workspace is billed by the number of Doc Makers; Editors, Viewers and Guest Editors are free.Evidence: Pricing page FAQ (2026-10-15)
  • Tables and automations inside docsEvery plan includes connected tables, views, forms, formulas and automations; Pro raises the automation quota and refreshes connectors daily.Evidence: Pricing page (2026-10-15)
  • AI and writing help in the planPro includes Docs AI with high limits under fair use while in beta, Grammarly on annual billing and Superhuman Go.Evidence: Pricing page and help center (2026-10-15)
Best for
Companies where a few people build and own docs and many others edit or read them.
Good to know
SAML SSO, SCIM, audit events, page analytics and HIPAA are on Enterprise, and the pages state no data residency option.

How Coda compares

Against 3 other products we reviewed in Docs and wikis: what you pay for with each, the five access facts, the plan limits we recorded and each review's bottom line. The note under the table says how each one was checked.

Coda compared with Confluence, Notion, GitBook
MetricCodaConfluenceNotionGitBook
What you're paying forWorth the priceDocs with tables, formulas and automations where only the people who create docs are billed: $12 a Doc Maker, with Editors and Viewers free.Compliance includedA team wiki that keeps every page version, with audit logs, data residency and a self-serve HIPAA BAA from the Standard plan.Worth the priceDocs, wikis, databases, forms and published sites in one workspace for $10 per member a month, with SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001.Saves engineering timePublished docs with two-way GitHub and GitLab sync, auto-generated API references and an MCP server, where people who only read the site are not billed.
Overall score6.48.8Best7.06.1
Free optionFree planFree planFree planFree plan
Card to start–Not measured–Not measured–Not measuredNo card needed
Getting accessSelf-serveSelf-serveSelf-serveSelf-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan$12/Doc Maker/mo$7.15/user/mo$10/member/mo$65/site/mo + $12/member
Pricing modelPer seatPer seatPer seatSeat + usage
Pricing pagePublic pricesPublic pricesPublic pricesPublic prices
Billed perDoc Maker (Editors and Viewers free)User (annual prices by user tier)Member (guests free)Published site plus each member; site readers free
Free planYes; shared docs limited, 7-day historyUp to 10 users, 2 GB storageYes; blocks limited for 2+ members, 7-day history1 member, unlimited basic sites
30 people, 10 who write$120/mo (Pro, billed annually, 10 Doc Makers)$214.50/mo (Standard, monthly); $300/mo billed annually$300/mo (Plus, billed yearly)$369/mo (Ultimate site + 10 members, readers via authenticated access); $425/mo with all 30 as members on Essential
Version history, entry paid plan30 daysEvery page version kept30 daysEvery change listed, with rollback
Page analytics, entry paid planEnterprise onlyView counts and a views chartViewers list and views chartPage views, visitors and site searches
AI on the entry paid planDocs AI (beta), fair useRovo, 25 credits per user a monthTrial; Notion Agent from Business2,000 AI credits per site a month; AI Assistant Ask for readers
SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001Both (SOC 2 report for Enterprise customers)BothBothBoth
HIPAA BAAEnterprise (contact sales)Standard and up, signed in Atlassian AdministrationEnterpriseNot stated
Data residencyNot statedStandard and up (EU, US and other locations)Enterprise (EU, US, Japan, Korea)Not offered; data stored and processed in the US
SAML SSO and SCIMEnterpriseAtlassian Guard Standard add-on; included on EnterpriseSAML on Business; SCIM on EnterpriseSAML on Enterprise; SCIM not listed
Audit logEnterprise (audit events)Standard and upEnterpriseEnterprise (audit events API)
Bulk exportOwn docs as .txt and .csvSpace as PDF, CSV, HTML or XMLWorkspace as HTML, Markdown and CSVSpace as Markdown through Git Sync (GitHub or GitLab)
Bottom lineFrom its public pages, Coda (now Superhuman Docs) costs the least here when few people create docs, because Editors and Viewers are free. Admin, analytics and compliance controls sit on Enterprise, which is what lowers its score.From its public pages, Confluence puts the most security-review controls on its first paid plan and keeps every page version. Budget for Atlassian Guard if you need SAML SSO, and compare monthly and annual billing at your team size.From its public pages, Notion is the broadest workspace here, with open export formats on every plan and viewer analytics on Plus. Paying for every member and keeping audit logs and residency on Enterprise are what hold its score back.From its public pages, GitBook is strongest for published and developer docs: Git Sync, full history and free readers on published sites. As an internal wiki, readers inside the app are paid seats and admin controls sit on Enterprise, which lowers its score.

Evidence: Coda: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Confluence: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Notion: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; GitBook: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.

Score

Score breakdown
Pricing clarity
8.0 / 10, Excellent
billed per Doc Maker (Editors and Viewers free); Docs AI included only during beta, with its price after beta not set; billing FAQ says it bills "all the users in your workspace" while Editors and Viewers are free
Free tier
6.0 / 10, Good
shared content capped, no user cap stated, version history: 7 days
Price for 30 people, 10 who write
9.2 / 10, Excellent
$120/mo: Pro at $12 per Doc Maker × 10, billed annually ($150 billed monthly); assumes all 10 writers create docs and so are Doc Makers; the 20 readers are free Editors or Viewers
History and analytics
3.5 / 10, Fair
version history: 30 days, no page analytics on the entry paid plan
Compliance and data residency
7.0 / 10, Good
own SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, HIPAA BAA on enterprise only, data residency not stated
Admin control and portability
4.5 / 10, Fair
SAML SSO on enterprise only; SCIM on enterprise only; audit log on enterprise only; export of own docs (own docs as .txt and .csv); PDF export

Review

Review from public pages

Written from Coda's public pages (pricing, security or privacy, and docs) as read on Oct 15, 2026. We did not sign up, and no hands-on run is published yet.

What the public pages show

We read Coda's pricing page, trust and security pages and help center on Oct 15, 2026; we did not sign up for this review. The first thing we met was the rename: coda.io/pricing now redirects to superhuman.com/plans/docs, and the help center says Coda became Superhuman Docs on July 8, 2026, after Grammarly became Superhuman and Coda joined its suite. Existing customers keep their plan and price; new customers buy Docs as part of the Superhuman bundle, so Pro also includes Grammarly (on annual billing) and Superhuman Go, and Business adds Superhuman Mail.

The billing model is the main point: only Doc Makers are paid. Editors can edit content, tables and automations in existing docs, and Viewers can read and comment, both for free. Pro keeps 30 days of version history; Business keeps it all.

The security page lists ISO 27001, 27017 and 27018, a SOC 3 report and a SOC 2 Type 2 report available to Enterprise customers. SAML SSO, SCIM, audit events, doc and page analytics and HIPAA are Enterprise features. We found no data residency option on the pages we read.

Strengths

  • Only creators are billed

    Doc Makers are paid; Editors, Viewers and Guest Editors are free, on every paid plan including Enterprise.

    vs Confluence: Notion bills every member and Confluence every user.

  • Lowest figure in our scenario

    $120 a month for 10 Doc Makers on Pro, billed annually.

    vs Confluence: Confluence comes to $214.50 billed monthly; Notion to $300 billed yearly.

  • Docs that work like apps

    Connected tables, formulas, buttons, automations and Packs come with every plan.

  • AI and Grammarly in Pro

    Docs AI is included with high limits under fair use while in beta, and annual Pro includes Grammarly and Superhuman Go.

Things to know

  • Admin and compliance controls on Enterprise

    SAML SSO, SCIM, audit events and HIPAA are listed only on Enterprise, and the SOC 2 Type 2 report is available to Enterprise customers.

  • No page analytics below Enterprise

    Doc and page analytics are marked for Enterprise only.

  • Data location not stated

    The pricing and trust pages we read offer no choice of data region.

  • Bulk export covers your own docs

    Export My Data produces .txt and .csv files for docs you own; single docs export as PDF and tables as CSV.

    Workaround: Enterprise admins can export docs to PDF or HTML through the Admin API.

Pricing reality

Coda bills Doc Makers: Pro is $12 a month billed annually or $15 monthly, Business $33 or $40. Editors and Viewers are free, so 10 Doc Makers on Pro cost $120 a month billed annually. Who must be a Doc Maker is your call: the FAQ says Doc Makers create docs and folders, while Editors can edit existing docs. Docs AI is included while in beta and the help center says its pricing after beta is not set. Grammarly is included on annual Pro and costs $15 a Maker a month on monthly billing. Removing members earns a prorated credit, not a refund.

Exit path

Docs export as PDF and tables as CSV. Export My Data in account settings produces .txt and .csv files for the docs you own. The help center says Enterprise admins can export docs to PDF or HTML through the Admin API.

Compared with

  • Pick Coda when
    Only a few people create docs and you want tables, formulas and automations in them.
    Pick Confluence when
    You need audit logs, data residency or a HIPAA BAA on a self-serve plan, or every page version kept.
  • Pick Coda when
    Most of your people read or edit existing docs and should not be billed.
    Pick Notion when
    You want page viewer analytics on the entry paid plan and a whole-workspace export in HTML and Markdown.

Choose it if

  • A few people create docs and many others edit or read them.
  • You want docs that work like lightweight apps, with tables and automations.
  • You already use Grammarly or want it bundled.

Look elsewhere if

  • You need SAML SSO, an audit log or page analytics without an Enterprise contract.
  • You need to choose where your data is stored.

Bottom line

From its public pages, Coda (now Superhuman Docs) costs the least here when few people create docs, because Editors and Viewers are free. Admin, analytics and compliance controls sit on Enterprise, which is what lowers its score.

Plan limits at a glance

LimitAs recorded
Billed perDoc Maker (Editors and Viewers free)
Free planYes; shared docs limited, 7-day history
30 people, 10 who write$120/mo (Pro, billed annually, 10 Doc Makers)
Version history, entry paid plan30 days
Page analytics, entry paid planEnterprise only
AI on the entry paid planDocs AI (beta), fair use
SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001Both (SOC 2 report for Enterprise customers)
HIPAA BAAEnterprise (contact sales)
Data residencyNot stated
SAML SSO and SCIMEnterprise
Audit logEnterprise (audit events)
Bulk exportOwn docs as .txt and .csv

Read from the vendor's public pages on Oct 15, 2026. No hands-on run is published yet. How we check

Coda lists 4 plans. The cheapest paid plan, Pro (billed annually), costs $12/Doc Maker/mo.

  • CodaFree
    Free
    $0/mo
    Pages and objects limited for shared docs
    • 7-day version history
    • 1 GB attachments per doc
    • Connected tables, views and forms
    • Docs AI trial
  • Coda
    Pro
    $12/Doc Maker/mo
    Billed annually ($15 billed monthly); Editors and Viewers free
    • 30-day version history
    • Unlimited doc size, 5 GB attachments per doc
    • Docs AI (beta), MCP
    • Grammarly (on annual billing) and Superhuman Go
  • Coda
    Business
    $33/Doc Maker/mo
    Billed annually ($40 billed monthly)
    • Unlimited version history
    • Unlimited automations, cross-doc actions
    • Private folders, subfolders, doc and page locking
    • Superhuman Mail, priority support
  • Coda
    Enterprise
    Contact sales
    • SAML SSO, SCIM, audit events
    • SOC 2 Type 2 report, HIPAA (contact sales)
    • Doc and page analytics
    • Legal hold and e-discovery

Prices as listed, USD, excluding tax; observed 2026-10-15.

Source: superhuman.com pricing page. Prices change; the observed date above is when our agent read them.

Visit site