Notion review

by Notion LabsDocs and wikis

Docs, wikis, databases, forms and sites in one workspace, priced per member from $10 a month billed yearly.

Facts checked
  • Free plan
  • Self-serve
  • Per seat
  • Public prices
Visit site

What you're paying for

  • Worth the price (main value)
  • Compliance included

Docs, wikis, databases, forms and published sites in one workspace for $10 per member a month, with SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001.

Notion replaces several tools with one workspace: pages and wikis, databases with subtasks and dependencies, custom forms, published sites and automations, priced per member. Plus costs $10 a member billed yearly and adds unlimited guests, 30 days of page history and basic page analytics with a list of viewers; Business at $20 adds SAML SSO and Notion’s AI agent. Notion’s trust center lists SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001, and any plan can export the whole workspace as HTML, Markdown and CSV.

  • One workspace for docs, data and sitesPlus includes custom forms, custom sites, unlimited charts, database automations and unlimited guests at $10 per member billed yearly.Evidence: Pricing page (2026-10-15)
  • Audited by third partiesThe trust center lists annual SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001/17/18/701, HIPAA and BSI C5 audits.Evidence: Notion Trust Center (2026-10-15)
  • Your content can leave in open formatsEvery plan can export the whole workspace as HTML, Markdown and CSV, and any page as PDF.Evidence: Pricing page and export help (2026-10-15)
Best for
Teams that want docs, a wiki and lightweight databases in one tool, and can wait for Enterprise for audit logs and data residency.
Good to know
Every member is billed, SAML SSO starts on Business, and SCIM, the audit log and data residency need Enterprise.

How Notion compares

Against 3 other products we reviewed in Docs and wikis: what you pay for with each, the five access facts, the plan limits we recorded and each review's bottom line. The note under the table says how each one was checked.

Notion compared with Confluence, Coda, GitBook
MetricNotionConfluenceCodaGitBook
What you're paying forWorth the priceDocs, wikis, databases, forms and published sites in one workspace for $10 per member a month, with SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001.Compliance includedA team wiki that keeps every page version, with audit logs, data residency and a self-serve HIPAA BAA from the Standard plan.Worth the priceDocs with tables, formulas and automations where only the people who create docs are billed: $12 a Doc Maker, with Editors and Viewers free.Saves engineering timePublished docs with two-way GitHub and GitLab sync, auto-generated API references and an MCP server, where people who only read the site are not billed.
Overall score7.08.8Best6.46.1
Free optionFree planFree planFree planFree plan
Card to start–Not measured–Not measured–Not measuredNo card needed
Getting accessSelf-serveSelf-serveSelf-serveSelf-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan$10/member/mo$7.15/user/mo$12/Doc Maker/mo$65/site/mo + $12/member
Pricing modelPer seatPer seatPer seatSeat + usage
Pricing pagePublic pricesPublic pricesPublic pricesPublic prices
Billed perMember (guests free)User (annual prices by user tier)Doc Maker (Editors and Viewers free)Published site plus each member; site readers free
Free planYes; blocks limited for 2+ members, 7-day historyUp to 10 users, 2 GB storageYes; shared docs limited, 7-day history1 member, unlimited basic sites
30 people, 10 who write$300/mo (Plus, billed yearly)$214.50/mo (Standard, monthly); $300/mo billed annually$120/mo (Pro, billed annually, 10 Doc Makers)$369/mo (Ultimate site + 10 members, readers via authenticated access); $425/mo with all 30 as members on Essential
Version history, entry paid plan30 daysEvery page version kept30 daysEvery change listed, with rollback
Page analytics, entry paid planViewers list and views chartView counts and a views chartEnterprise onlyPage views, visitors and site searches
AI on the entry paid planTrial; Notion Agent from BusinessRovo, 25 credits per user a monthDocs AI (beta), fair use2,000 AI credits per site a month; AI Assistant Ask for readers
SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001BothBothBoth (SOC 2 report for Enterprise customers)Both
HIPAA BAAEnterpriseStandard and up, signed in Atlassian AdministrationEnterprise (contact sales)Not stated
Data residencyEnterprise (EU, US, Japan, Korea)Standard and up (EU, US and other locations)Not statedNot offered; data stored and processed in the US
SAML SSO and SCIMSAML on Business; SCIM on EnterpriseAtlassian Guard Standard add-on; included on EnterpriseEnterpriseSAML on Enterprise; SCIM not listed
Audit logEnterpriseStandard and upEnterprise (audit events)Enterprise (audit events API)
Bulk exportWorkspace as HTML, Markdown and CSVSpace as PDF, CSV, HTML or XMLOwn docs as .txt and .csvSpace as Markdown through Git Sync (GitHub or GitLab)
Bottom lineFrom its public pages, Notion is the broadest workspace here, with open export formats on every plan and viewer analytics on Plus. Paying for every member and keeping audit logs and residency on Enterprise are what hold its score back.From its public pages, Confluence puts the most security-review controls on its first paid plan and keeps every page version. Budget for Atlassian Guard if you need SAML SSO, and compare monthly and annual billing at your team size.From its public pages, Coda (now Superhuman Docs) costs the least here when few people create docs, because Editors and Viewers are free. Admin, analytics and compliance controls sit on Enterprise, which is what lowers its score.From its public pages, GitBook is strongest for published and developer docs: Git Sync, full history and free readers on published sites. As an internal wiki, readers inside the app are paid seats and admin controls sit on Enterprise, which lowers its score.

Evidence: Notion: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Confluence: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Coda: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; GitBook: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.

Score

Score breakdown
Pricing clarity
9.0 / 10, Excellent
billed per member (guests free); Plus and Enterprise marked "may not be available for every workspace"
Free tier
6.0 / 10, Good
shared content capped, no user cap stated, version history: 7 days
Price for 30 people, 10 who write
5.2 / 10, Fair
$300/mo: Plus at $10 per member × 30, billed yearly ($360 billed monthly); assumes all 30 people are members; guests are free but see only the pages shared with them
History and analytics
7.5 / 10, Good
version history: 30 days, page analytics with viewers
Compliance and data residency
8.0 / 10, Excellent
own SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, HIPAA BAA on enterprise only, data residency on enterprise only
Admin control and portability
6.5 / 10, Good
SAML SSO on a higher self-serve plan; SCIM on enterprise only; audit log on enterprise only; workspace or space export (workspace as HTML, Markdown and CSV); PDF export

Review

Review from public pages

Written from Notion's public pages (pricing, security or privacy, and docs) as read on Oct 15, 2026. We did not sign up, and no hands-on run is published yet.

What the public pages show

We read Notion's pricing page, security page, trust center and help docs on data residency, HIPAA and exporting on Oct 15, 2026; we did not sign up for this review. Our first load of the pricing page showed prices in Korean won, set by our location; the page has a currency switch, and in US dollars Plus is $10 per member a month billed yearly ($12 monthly) and Business $20 ($24). Plus and Enterprise carry a footnote: plans may not be available for every workspace.

The plan table is detailed. Page history runs 7 days on Free, 30 on Plus, 90 on Business and unlimited on Enterprise. The FAQ explains the analytics tiers: Free and Plus show who viewed a page and a chart of views, Business adds editors, and Enterprise adds workspace-wide and search analytics. SAML SSO is on Business; SCIM, the audit log and workspace analytics are on Enterprise.

The help docs say data residency and a HIPAA BAA are for Enterprise customers. Exports are generous: any page as PDF, HTML or Markdown and CSV, and the whole workspace as HTML, Markdown and CSV on every plan.

Strengths

  • More than a wiki

    Databases, custom forms, published sites, charts and automations share one per-member price on Plus.

  • Open export formats on every plan

    The whole workspace exports as HTML, Markdown and CSV, including on Free.

    vs Coda: Coda’s bulk export covers only your own docs, as .txt and .csv files.

  • Page viewers on the entry paid plan

    Plus shows a list of page viewers and a chart of views over time.

    vs Confluence: Confluence Standard shows view counts; Coda lists doc and page analytics on Enterprise.

  • SAML SSO in a plan, not an add-on

    Business ($20 billed yearly) includes SAML SSO, private teamspaces and Notion Agent.

Things to know

  • Readers are billed as members

    Paid plans charge per member. Guests are free, but they see only individual pages shared with them, not teamspaces.

  • Compliance controls on Enterprise

    SCIM, the audit log, data residency and a HIPAA BAA are listed for Enterprise only.

    Workaround: Business adds SAML SSO and domain verification without an enterprise contract.

  • Full AI starts on Business

    Free and Plus get a limited trial of Notion Agent, AI Meeting Notes and research mode; Business includes them.

  • Free plan is for individuals

    Blocks are unlimited for one person but limited once a workspace has two or more members.

Pricing reality

Notion bills every member: Plus is $10 a member a month billed yearly or $12 monthly, Business $20 or $24. For 30 people on Plus that is $300 a month billed yearly; with Notion Agent and SAML SSO on Business it is $600. Guests are free but see only pages shared with them. New members take a free seat or add a prorated one; removed members free a seat but earn no credit. Custom Agents use Notion credits at $10 per 1,000 after a free trial. Custom domains for sites are paid per domain.

Exit path

Any plan can export the whole workspace as HTML, Markdown and CSV, with uploaded files. The help docs say the export leaves out pages the exporter cannot access, and that an export cannot be re-uploaded to rebuild a workspace. Business and Enterprise can also export the workspace as PDF.

Compared with

  • Pick Notion when
    You want docs, databases, forms and sites in one workspace, and SAML SSO included in a plan.
    Pick Confluence when
    You need audit logs, data residency or a HIPAA BAA below Enterprise, or every page version kept.
  • Pick Notion when
    You want viewer analytics on the entry paid plan and a full workspace export in HTML and Markdown.
    Pick Coda when
    Only a few people create docs and the rest can be free Editors or Viewers.

Choose it if

  • You want one tool for docs, wikis, databases, forms and published pages.
  • You want to see who viewed a page on the entry paid plan.
  • You want SAML SSO without a separate security subscription.

Look elsewhere if

  • You need an audit log, data residency or a HIPAA BAA without an Enterprise contract.
  • Most of your 30 people only read and you do not want to pay for them.

Bottom line

From its public pages, Notion is the broadest workspace here, with open export formats on every plan and viewer analytics on Plus. Paying for every member and keeping audit logs and residency on Enterprise are what hold its score back.

Plan limits at a glance

LimitAs recorded
Billed perMember (guests free)
Free planYes; blocks limited for 2+ members, 7-day history
30 people, 10 who write$300/mo (Plus, billed yearly)
Version history, entry paid plan30 days
Page analytics, entry paid planViewers list and views chart
AI on the entry paid planTrial; Notion Agent from Business
SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001Both
HIPAA BAAEnterprise
Data residencyEnterprise (EU, US, Japan, Korea)
SAML SSO and SCIMSAML on Business; SCIM on Enterprise
Audit logEnterprise
Bulk exportWorkspace as HTML, Markdown and CSV

Read from the vendor's public pages on Oct 15, 2026. No hands-on run is published yet. How we check

Notion lists 4 plans. The cheapest paid plan, Plus (billed yearly), costs $10/member/mo.

  • NotionFree
    Free
    $0/mo
    Blocks limited for 2+ members
    • 7-day page history
    • 10 guests
    • 5 MB file uploads
    • Basic page analytics
    • Export workspace as HTML, Markdown and CSV
  • Notion
    Plus
    $10/member/mo
    Billed yearly ($12 billed monthly)
    • 30-day page history
    • Unlimited guests and file uploads
    • Custom forms, sites and database automations
    • Notion AI trial
    • Priority support
  • Notion
    Business
    $20/member/mo
    Billed yearly ($24 billed monthly)
    • SAML SSO, private teamspaces
    • Notion Agent, AI Meeting Notes, Enterprise Search
    • 90-day page history, advanced page analytics
    • Export workspace as PDF
  • Notion
    Enterprise
    Contact sales
    • SCIM, audit log, workspace analytics
    • Unlimited page history
    • Data residency, HIPAA BAA
    • Zero data retention with LLM providers

Prices as listed, USD, excluding tax; observed 2026-10-15.

Source: notion.com pricing page. Prices change; the observed date above is when our agent read them.

Visit site