Confluence review

by AtlassianDocs and wikis

Team wiki with a free plan for 10 users, every page version kept, and audit logs, data residency and a HIPAA BAA from Standard.

Facts checked
  • Free plan
  • Self-serve
  • Per seat
  • Public prices
Visit site

What you're paying for

  • Compliance included (main value)
  • Worth the price

A team wiki that keeps every page version, with audit logs, data residency and a self-serve HIPAA BAA from the Standard plan.

Confluence puts the controls a security review asks about on its first paid plan: Standard includes audit logs, a choice of data location (EU, US and other regions) and a HIPAA BAA you request from Atlassian Administration, alongside Atlassian’s SOC 2 and ISO 27001 reports. Pages keep their whole version history on every plan, and the Free plan covers 10 users with unlimited spaces and pages. Standard also includes Rovo AI credits for every user.

  • Residency, audit logs and a BAA on StandardThe plan table marks audit logs and data residency from Standard; the HIPAA docs say Standard and Premium admins sign a BAA from Atlassian Administration.Evidence: Pricing page and HIPAA and data residency docs (2026-10-15)
  • A free plan a small team can run onFree covers up to 10 users with unlimited spaces and pages, page versioning and 2 GB of storage.Evidence: Pricing page (2026-10-15)
  • Every page version keptThe docs say all page history is retained: restoring an old version adds a copy as the latest version and keeps the ones after it.Evidence: Confluence Cloud help (2026-10-15)
Best for
Teams that need audit logs, data residency or a HIPAA BAA without an enterprise contract, and teams of up to 10 starting for free.
Good to know
SAML SSO and SCIM need Atlassian Guard Standard ($4.35 per user a month billed monthly) unless you are on Enterprise.

How Confluence compares

Against 3 other products we reviewed in Docs and wikis: what you pay for with each, the five access facts, the plan limits we recorded and each review's bottom line. The note under the table says how each one was checked.

Confluence compared with Notion, Coda, GitBook
MetricConfluenceNotionCodaGitBook
What you're paying forCompliance includedA team wiki that keeps every page version, with audit logs, data residency and a self-serve HIPAA BAA from the Standard plan.Worth the priceDocs, wikis, databases, forms and published sites in one workspace for $10 per member a month, with SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001.Worth the priceDocs with tables, formulas and automations where only the people who create docs are billed: $12 a Doc Maker, with Editors and Viewers free.Saves engineering timePublished docs with two-way GitHub and GitLab sync, auto-generated API references and an MCP server, where people who only read the site are not billed.
Overall score8.8Best7.06.46.1
Free optionFree planFree planFree planFree plan
Card to start–Not measured–Not measured–Not measuredNo card needed
Getting accessSelf-serveSelf-serveSelf-serveSelf-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan$7.15/user/mo$10/member/mo$12/Doc Maker/mo$65/site/mo + $12/member
Pricing modelPer seatPer seatPer seatSeat + usage
Pricing pagePublic pricesPublic pricesPublic pricesPublic prices
Billed perUser (annual prices by user tier)Member (guests free)Doc Maker (Editors and Viewers free)Published site plus each member; site readers free
Free planUp to 10 users, 2 GB storageYes; blocks limited for 2+ members, 7-day historyYes; shared docs limited, 7-day history1 member, unlimited basic sites
30 people, 10 who write$214.50/mo (Standard, monthly); $300/mo billed annually$300/mo (Plus, billed yearly)$120/mo (Pro, billed annually, 10 Doc Makers)$369/mo (Ultimate site + 10 members, readers via authenticated access); $425/mo with all 30 as members on Essential
Version history, entry paid planEvery page version kept30 days30 daysEvery change listed, with rollback
Page analytics, entry paid planView counts and a views chartViewers list and views chartEnterprise onlyPage views, visitors and site searches
AI on the entry paid planRovo, 25 credits per user a monthTrial; Notion Agent from BusinessDocs AI (beta), fair use2,000 AI credits per site a month; AI Assistant Ask for readers
SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001BothBothBoth (SOC 2 report for Enterprise customers)Both
HIPAA BAAStandard and up, signed in Atlassian AdministrationEnterpriseEnterprise (contact sales)Not stated
Data residencyStandard and up (EU, US and other locations)Enterprise (EU, US, Japan, Korea)Not statedNot offered; data stored and processed in the US
SAML SSO and SCIMAtlassian Guard Standard add-on; included on EnterpriseSAML on Business; SCIM on EnterpriseEnterpriseSAML on Enterprise; SCIM not listed
Audit logStandard and upEnterpriseEnterprise (audit events)Enterprise (audit events API)
Bulk exportSpace as PDF, CSV, HTML or XMLWorkspace as HTML, Markdown and CSVOwn docs as .txt and .csvSpace as Markdown through Git Sync (GitHub or GitLab)
Bottom lineFrom its public pages, Confluence puts the most security-review controls on its first paid plan and keeps every page version. Budget for Atlassian Guard if you need SAML SSO, and compare monthly and annual billing at your team size.From its public pages, Notion is the broadest workspace here, with open export formats on every plan and viewer analytics on Plus. Paying for every member and keeping audit logs and residency on Enterprise are what hold its score back.From its public pages, Coda (now Superhuman Docs) costs the least here when few people create docs, because Editors and Viewers are free. Admin, analytics and compliance controls sit on Enterprise, which is what lowers its score.From its public pages, GitBook is strongest for published and developer docs: Git Sync, full history and free readers on published sites. As an internal wiki, readers inside the app are paid seats and admin controls sit on Enterprise, which lowers its score.

Evidence: Confluence: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Notion: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Coda: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; GitBook: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.

Score

Score breakdown
Pricing clarity
8.0 / 10, Excellent
billed per user (annual prices by user tier); add-on: Atlassian Guard Standard for SAML SSO and SCIM
Free tier
10.0 / 10, Excellent
shared content not capped, up to 10 users, version history: all versions kept
Price for 30 people, 10 who write
6.7 / 10, Good
$214.50/mo: Standard at $7.15 per user × 30, billed monthly (the annual price for the 26–50 user tier is $3,600, or $300 a month)
History and analytics
9.0 / 10, Excellent
version history: all versions kept, page view counts
Compliance and data residency
10.0 / 10, Excellent
own SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, HIPAA BAA on a self-serve plan, data residency on the entry paid plan
Admin control and portability
9.0 / 10, Excellent
SAML SSO as a paid add-on; SCIM self-serve; audit log on the entry paid plan; workspace or space export (space as PDF, CSV, HTML or XML); PDF export

Review

Review from public pages

Written from Confluence's public pages (pricing, security or privacy, and docs) as read on Oct 15, 2026. We did not sign up, and no hands-on run is published yet.

What the public pages show

We read Atlassian's Confluence pricing page, the Atlassian Guard pricing page, the trust center and the Confluence and administration help docs on Oct 15, 2026; we did not sign up for this review. The pricing page has a team-size box and a monthly or annual switch. At 30 users, Standard shows $7.15 per user a month billed monthly; switched to annual it shows $3,600 a year for the 26–50 user tier, which is more than twelve monthly bills for 30 users. Annual prices are set per tier, so they suit teams near the top of a tier.

The plan table is generous on Standard: audit logs, data residency, page insights, archiving, public links and free guests. The HIPAA docs say Standard and Premium admins request a BAA in Atlassian Administration; free and trial plans cannot sign one. SAML SSO and SCIM are a separate product, Atlassian Guard Standard, on every plan except Enterprise.

The help docs add two things the pricing page does not: all page history is retained, and a space admin can export a whole space as PDF, CSV, HTML or XML.

Strengths

  • Controls on the first paid plan

    Audit logs, data residency and a self-serve HIPAA BAA all start on Standard.

    vs Notion: Notion lists the audit log, data residency and a BAA on Enterprise; Coda lists audit events and HIPAA on Enterprise.

  • Every page version kept

    The help docs say all page history is retained, on every plan including Free.

    vs Notion: Notion keeps 30 days on Plus; Coda 30 days on Pro.

  • The broadest free plan here

    Up to 10 users with unlimited spaces and pages and 2 GB of storage.

    vs Notion: Notion and Coda limit shared content on their free plans.

  • Portable spaces

    Space admins can export a space as PDF, CSV, HTML or XML; CSV imports into another Confluence Cloud site and XML into Data Center.

  • AI credits included

    Standard includes Rovo search, chat and agents with 25 credits per user a month.

Things to know

  • SSO and SCIM are a separate subscription

    The plan table says SSO and SCIM require Atlassian Guard Standard on Free, Standard and Premium; it is included on Enterprise.

    Workaround: Guard Standard lists $4.35 per user a month billed monthly, or $2,200 a year for 26–50 users.

  • Annual pricing is by user tier

    Annual billing charges for the whole tier: 30 users pay the 26–50 tier price of $3,600 a year, while monthly billing at 30 users comes to $2,574 a year.

  • Viewer-level analytics on Premium

    Standard shows view counts and a views chart; the viewers list, date ranges and space analytics need Premium or Enterprise.

Pricing reality

Confluence bills per user. At 30 users Standard is $7.15 a user a month billed monthly ($214.50), or $3,600 a year for the 26–50 user tier ($300 a month); Premium is $14.10 monthly or $7,100 a year. Readers count as users; guests are free. SAML SSO and SCIM need Atlassian Guard Standard: $4.35 a user a month at 30 users ($130.50), or $2,200 a year for the tier. Standard includes 25 Rovo credits per user a month. Atlassian also sells Confluence in the Teamwork Collection with Jira, Loom and Rovo.

Exit path

Space admins can export a space as PDF, CSV, HTML or XML; the help docs say CSV suits import into another Confluence Cloud site and XML suits import into Confluence Data Center, Atlassian’s self-managed edition. Single pages export to Word or PDF.

Compared with

  • Pick Confluence when
    You need audit logs, data residency or a HIPAA BAA without an Enterprise contract, or want every page version kept.
    Pick Notion when
    You want docs, databases, forms and sites in one workspace, and SAML SSO in a plan rather than an add-on.
  • Pick Confluence when
    Everyone needs a full account and you want compliance controls and full version history on the first paid plan.
    Pick Coda when
    Only a few people create docs: Coda bills Doc Makers and keeps Editors and Viewers free.

Choose it if

  • You need audit logs, data residency or a HIPAA BAA on a self-serve plan.
  • You want every page version kept.
  • Your team has 10 people or fewer and wants a free wiki.

Look elsewhere if

  • You want SAML SSO without a separate subscription below Enterprise.
  • Most of your readers would never sign in and you do not want to pay per reader.

Bottom line

From its public pages, Confluence puts the most security-review controls on its first paid plan and keeps every page version. Budget for Atlassian Guard if you need SAML SSO, and compare monthly and annual billing at your team size.

Plan limits at a glance

LimitAs recorded
Billed perUser (annual prices by user tier)
Free planUp to 10 users, 2 GB storage
30 people, 10 who write$214.50/mo (Standard, monthly); $300/mo billed annually
Version history, entry paid planEvery page version kept
Page analytics, entry paid planView counts and a views chart
AI on the entry paid planRovo, 25 credits per user a month
SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001Both
HIPAA BAAStandard and up, signed in Atlassian Administration
Data residencyStandard and up (EU, US and other locations)
SAML SSO and SCIMAtlassian Guard Standard add-on; included on Enterprise
Audit logStandard and up
Bulk exportSpace as PDF, CSV, HTML or XML

Read from the vendor's public pages on Oct 15, 2026. No hands-on run is published yet. How we check

Confluence lists 4 plans. The cheapest paid plan, Standard (monthly billing, 30 users), costs $7.15/user/mo.

  • ConfluenceFree
    Free
    $0/mo
    Up to 10 users
    • Unlimited spaces and pages
    • Page versioning
    • 2 GB file storage
    • 3 active whiteboards per user
    • Community support
  • Confluence
    Standard
    $7.15/user/mo
    Billed monthly at 30 users; annual: $3,600/year for the 26–50 user tier
    • Space and page permissions, free guests
    • Rovo: 25 credits per user a month
    • Audit logs, data residency, page insights
    • 250 GB storage, business-hours support
  • Confluence
    Premium
    $14.10/user/mo
    Billed monthly at 30 users; annual: $7,100/year for the 26–50 user tier
    • Analytics and inspect permissions
    • Rovo: 70 credits per user a month
    • IP allowlisting, admin key, sandbox
    • Unlimited storage, 24/7 support, 99.9% uptime SLA
  • Confluence
    Enterprise
    Contact sales
    • Atlassian Guard Standard included (SSO, SCIM)
    • Up to 150 sites
    • Audit logs for user activity
    • 99.95% uptime SLA

Prices as listed, USD, excluding tax; observed 2026-10-15.

Source: atlassian.com pricing page. Prices change; the observed date above is when our agent read them.

Visit site