Docs and wikis · Comparison
Confluence vs Notion vs Coda: Confluence leads at 8.8; 30 people from $120 a month
We read the pricing, security and help pages of three docs and wiki tools on the same day and scored them on the same six indicators. Who each one bills, what 30 people cost, and who should pick which.
On this page8 sections
On six indicators read from each vendor's public pages, Confluence scores 8.8, Notion 7.0 and Coda 6.4 out of 10. For our reference scenario, a company of 30 people where 10 write and 20 mostly read, Coda comes to $120 a month (10 Doc Makers on Pro, billed annually), Confluence to $214.50 (Standard, billed monthly) and Notion to $300 (Plus, billed yearly). Confluence tops four of six items: the broadest free plan, every page version kept, and audit logs, data residency and a self-serve HIPAA BAA on its first paid plan. Coda lists the lowest price because readers are free.
The three bill different people, so the scenario figures rest on stated assumptions. The scores measure what the public pages commit to, not editing, search or how a product feels to use, and we did not sign up for any of the three. Coda is now sold as Superhuman Docs; we use the Coda name throughout.
At a glance
| Confluence | Notion | Coda | |
|---|---|---|---|
| What you pay for | A team wiki with controls on the first paid plan | Docs, wikis, databases, forms and sites in one workspace | Docs with tables and automations, billed by creators |
| Billed per | User (annual prices by user tier) | Member (guests free) | Doc Maker (Editors and Viewers free) |
| Free plan | Up to 10 users, 2 GB | Blocks limited for 2+ members, 7-day history | Shared docs limited, 7-day history |
| 30 people, 10 who write | $214.50/mo (Standard, monthly) | $300/mo (Plus, yearly) | $120/mo (Pro, annual, 10 Doc Makers) |
| Version history, entry paid plan | Every page version kept | 30 days | 30 days |
| Page analytics, entry paid plan | View counts and chart | Viewers list and views chart | Enterprise only |
| AI on the entry paid plan | Rovo, 25 credits per user a month | Trial; Notion Agent from Business | Docs AI (beta), fair use |
| HIPAA BAA | Standard and up | Enterprise | Enterprise |
| Data residency | Standard and up | Enterprise | Not stated |
| SAML SSO | Atlassian Guard add-on; included on Enterprise | Business | Enterprise |
| Score (public pages) | 8.8 Excellent | 7.0 Good | 6.4 Good |
What the public pages show
Confluence is priced per user, with a team-size box on the pricing page. Free covers up to 10 users with unlimited spaces and pages. At 30 users Standard is $7.15 a user a month billed monthly, or $3,600 a year for the 26–50 user tier, and adds permissions, Rovo AI credits, audit logs, data residency and a HIPAA BAA that admins request in Atlassian Administration. SAML SSO and SCIM come with the separate Atlassian Guard Standard subscription, or with Enterprise. The help docs say all page history is retained.
Notion bills every member: Plus is $10 a month billed yearly ($12 monthly) and Business $20 ($24). Plus brings 30 days of page history, unlimited guests and page analytics with a list of viewers; Business adds SAML SSO, Notion Agent and 90 days of history. SCIM, the audit log, data residency and a HIPAA BAA are on Enterprise. Every plan can export the whole workspace as HTML, Markdown and CSV.
Coda became Superhuman Docs on July 8, 2026, and coda.io/pricing now redirects to Superhuman's pricing page. It bills only Doc Makers: Pro is $12 a month billed annually ($15 monthly) and Business $33 ($40), and Editors and Viewers are free. New customers buy it in the Superhuman bundle, so Pro includes Grammarly (on annual billing) and Superhuman Go. SAML SSO, SCIM, audit events, page analytics and HIPAA are on Enterprise.
Strengths and things to know
Confluence. Strengths: audit logs, data residency and a self-serve BAA on Standard, every page version kept, a free plan for 10 users, space export as PDF, CSV, HTML or XML, Rovo credits included. Things to know: SAML SSO and SCIM need Atlassian Guard below Enterprise, annual prices are set by user tier, and viewer-level analytics need Premium.
Notion. Strengths: databases, forms and sites in the same per-member price, whole-workspace export in open formats on every plan, page viewers on Plus, SAML SSO included on Business. Things to know: every member is billed, the full AI features start on Business, and SCIM, the audit log, data residency and a BAA are on Enterprise.
Coda. Strengths: only Doc Makers are billed, the lowest figure in our scenario, tables and automations in every doc, Docs AI and Grammarly in Pro. Things to know: SAML SSO, SCIM, audit events, page analytics and HIPAA are on Enterprise, the pages state no data residency option, and bulk export covers only your own docs.
Pricing reality
The three bill different people: Confluence every user, Notion every member, Coda only the Doc Makers who create docs. So we state one scenario and show the arithmetic. Reference scenario: a company of 30 people, 10 who write and 20 who mostly read, on the cheapest plan that lets everyone sign in, at the lower of annual and monthly billing, without paid AI add-ons.
| Service | Plan | Monthly cost | Where the number comes from |
|---|---|---|---|
| Coda | Pro | $120 | Computed: 10 Doc Makers × $12, billed annually |
| Confluence | Standard | $214.50 | Computed: 30 users × $7.15, billed monthly |
| Notion | Plus | $300 | Computed: 30 members × $10, billed yearly |
Confluence's annual price for 30 users is the 26–50 user tier, $3,600 a year or $300 a month, so monthly billing costs less at this size. Billed monthly, Notion comes to $360 and Coda to $150.
Two figures rest on assumptions the pricing pages cannot settle. Coda's assumes all 10 writers create docs and so are Doc Makers; if some only edit existing docs, they are free and the bill falls. Notion's assumes all 30 people are members; guests are free but see only pages shared with them.
AI and single sign-on change the picture. Notion Agent and SAML SSO come with Notion Business: $600 a month for 30 members billed yearly. Confluence Standard already includes Rovo credits; SAML SSO adds Atlassian Guard Standard at $4.35 a user a month billed monthly, $345 in all. Coda Pro includes Docs AI while it is in beta; SAML SSO needs Enterprise, priced by sales.
How we scored them
Every product in this category is scored on the same six indicators, read from the vendor's own pricing, security or help pages, with fixed formulas. The overall score is the plain mean. Our methodology page explains how these scores work.
| Indicator | Confluence | Notion | Coda |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pricing clarity | 8 | 9 | 8 |
| Free tier | 10 | 6 | 6 |
| Price for 30 people, 10 who write | 6.7 | 5.2 | 9.2 |
| History and analytics | 9 | 7.5 | 3.5 |
| Compliance and data residency | 10 | 8 | 7 |
| Admin control and portability | 9 | 6.5 | 4.5 |
| Overall | 8.8 | 7.0 | 6.4 |
Confluence loses its clarity points to Atlassian Guard, a separate price list for SAML SSO and SCIM. Notion's lowest item is the scenario price, because all 30 people are billed. Coda loses most on history and analytics (30 days of history, page analytics on Enterprise) and on admin control, where SAML SSO, SCIM and the audit log are Enterprise features; its clarity score reflects AI pricing after beta not being set and a billing FAQ that says it bills all users while Editors and Viewers are free.
The rubric rewards what a buyer can confirm before signing up. It has no item for databases, forms, sites or the depth of AI features, where Notion and Coda offer more on their entry plans, and it cannot see editing, search quality or how a product feels to use. Hands-on runs will add that later.
Who should choose which
- Choose Confluence if you need audit logs, data residency or a HIPAA BAA without an enterprise contract, or want every page version kept. Look elsewhere if you want SAML SSO without a separate subscription below Enterprise.
- Choose Notion if you want docs, a wiki, databases, forms and published pages in one tool, with SAML SSO on Business. Look elsewhere if you need an audit log or data residency below Enterprise.
- Choose Coda if a few people create docs and many others edit or read them, and you want tables and automations inside your docs. Look elsewhere if you need SSO, an audit log or page analytics without Enterprise.
Bottom line
From public pages alone, Confluence puts the most security-review controls on its first paid plan and has the broadest free plan, and Coda costs the least when few people create docs. Notion sits between them: the broadest workspace, open exports on every plan, and admin controls that mostly wait for Enterprise.
How we checked
We read the vendors' pricing, security or trust, and help pages on Oct 15, 2026, and used the team-size box and billing switch on Confluence's and Atlassian Guard's pricing pages for the 30-user prices; Notion's pricing page first showed Korean won, and we switched it to US dollars. We did not sign up, create a workspace or write a page. Facts the pages did not state, such as whether any of the three asks for a card, are left out rather than guessed. Every figure is on the vendors' pages as of that date or, where marked, computed from them.