Docs and wikis · Comparison
GitBook vs Slite
2 products compared side by side: what you pay for with each one first, then the five access facts, entry prices, recorded plan limits and the bottom line of each review. The evidence note under the table says how each product was checked.
Side by side
| Metric | GitBook | Slite |
|---|---|---|
| What you're paying for | Saves engineering timePublished docs with two-way GitHub and GitLab sync, auto-generated API references and an MCP server, where people who only read the site are not billed. | Worth the priceAn internal knowledge base that keeps every doc version, shows who read a doc and asks owners to re-verify docs, from $10 per member billed yearly. |
| Overall score | 6.1Best | 5.5 |
| Free option | Free plan | 14-day free trial |
| Card to start | No card needed | No card needed |
| Getting access | Self-serve | Self-serve |
| Starter priceCheapest paid plan | $65/site/mo + $12/member | $10/member/mo |
| Pricing model | Seat + usage | Per seat |
| Pricing page | Public prices | Public prices |
| Billed per | Published site plus each member; site readers free | Member (guests free; reader-only seats on Enterprise) |
| Free plan | 1 member, unlimited basic sites | None; 14-day trial |
| 30 people, 10 who write | $369/mo (Ultimate site + 10 members, readers via authenticated access); $425/mo with all 30 as members on Essential | $300/mo (Basic, 30 members, billed yearly) |
| Version history, entry paid plan | Every change listed, with rollback | Every change since the doc was created |
| Page analytics, entry paid plan | Page views, visitors and site searches | Views, unique visitors and a viewer list |
| AI on the entry paid plan | 2,000 AI credits per site a month; AI Assistant Ask for readers | Ask: 30 questions per seat a month; 30 AI edits per user |
| SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 | Both | SOC 2 Type II; ISO 27001 not stated |
| HIPAA BAA | Not stated | Enterprise |
| Data residency | Not offered; data stored and processed in the US | EU only (Belgium); no choice of region |
| SAML SSO and SCIM | SAML on Enterprise; SCIM not listed | OpenID Connect SSO on Pro; SAML not listed; SCIM on Enterprise |
| Audit log | Enterprise (audit events API) | Enterprise |
| Bulk export | Space as Markdown through Git Sync (GitHub or GitLab) | Workspace as Markdown or HTML (owner) |
| Bottom line | From its public pages, GitBook is strongest for published and developer docs: Git Sync, full history and free readers on published sites. As an internal wiki, readers inside the app are paid seats and admin controls sit on Enterprise, which lowers its score. | From its public pages, Slite puts full history, viewer analytics and doc verification on its $10 Basic plan. No free plan, readers billed until Enterprise and admin controls on Enterprise are what lower its score. |
Evidence: GitBook: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Slite: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.
When to pick each
In the words of each review, with the date its facts were checked.
From our GitBook review
Checked Oct 15, 2026- Pick GitBook when
- You publish docs outside the company and want readers of the published site to be free.
- Pick Slite when
- You want an internal knowledge base with doc verification and a viewer list on the entry plan, hosted in the EU.
From our Slite review
Checked Oct 15, 2026- Pick Slite when
- Your docs are internal and you want to see who read them and keep them verified.
- Pick GitBook when
- You publish docs outside the company, sync them with Git, or want readers of a published site to be free.
Entry price
Baseline: each product's cheapest paid plan, per month. Included usage differs, so read the line under each price.
- GitBookEssential$65/site/moBilled annually ($79 monthly); members $12 each ($15 monthly)
- Custom domain, private share links
- AI Assistant Ask, 2,000 AI credits a month
- Real-time collaboration, review and merge rules
- Advanced roles, teams, PDF export
- SliteBasic$10/member/moBilled yearly
- Unlimited docs, doc history, doc insights
- Ask: AI answers from Slite docs, 30 questions per seat a month
- Doc verification, Knowledge Management Panel
- Public API, MCP, Slack integration, enforced Google SSO
Prices as listed on each pricing page, in USD per month, excluding tax. Observed: GitBook 2026-10-15, Slite 2026-10-15.
Which one fits
- If you need to start today without a sales call
- GitBookSelf-serve sign-up, no card needed; the highest score of the 2 self-serve products here (6.1/10).
- If you want to try it without entering a card
- GitBookFree plan, no card needed; scored 6.1/10.
- Lowest starter price
- Slite$10/member/mo for the Basic (billed yearly) plan.
- Highest overall score
- GitBook6.1/10 (Good). The review shows the score breakdown and the run behind it.
Picked by fixed rules from the table above, not by hand. How we score
Full reviews
More in Docs and wikis
Add a product
Search by product name or by what it does, such as “email” or “feature flags”. 2 more fit in this comparison.