Buffer review

by Buffer, Inc.Social media management tools

A social media scheduler priced per connected channel, with unlimited team members and approval workflows on Team and a free plan for 3 channels.

Facts checked
  • Free plan
  • No card needed
  • Self-serve
  • Tiered
  • Public prices
Visit site

What you're paying for

  • Worth the price (main value)
  • Easy to adopt

Scheduling for every major network, priced per channel with unlimited team members on Team, and a free plan to start.

Buffer charges for the channels you connect, not the people who use them: on Team, 10 channels cost $100 a month billed yearly and any number of team members can draft, approve and publish. Publishing covers ten networks plus Mastodon, every plan has the AI Assistant and a community inbox for comments, and the Free plan runs 3 channels with 10 queued posts each. It suits teams that mainly need to plan, approve and publish, rather than listen or answer direct messages.

  • Unlimited team members on TeamThe Team plan lists unlimited team members, access levels and content approval workflows; the price depends only on the number of channels, from $10 a channel a month billed yearly.Evidence: Pricing page and pricing.md (2026-10-16)
  • A free plan that publishesFree connects up to 3 channels for 1 user with 10 scheduled posts per channel, refilled as posts go out, plus the AI Assistant, the community inbox and API access.Evidence: Pricing page (2026-10-16)
  • Bulk upload on every planA CSV can be uploaded per channel on every plan: 10 posts per upload on Free and 100 on paid plans, for text and single-image posts.Evidence: Help center: upload posts in bulk (2026-10-16)
Best for
Small teams and agencies that publish to many networks and want everyone to log in without paying per seat.
Good to know
The inbox handles comments only, there is no social listening or competitor benchmarking, and SSO is not listed.

How Buffer compares

Against 3 other products we reviewed in Social media management tools: what you pay for with each, the five access facts, the plan limits we recorded and each review's bottom line. The note under the table says how each one was checked.

Buffer compared with Later, Hootsuite, Sprout Social
MetricBufferLaterHootsuiteSprout Social
What you're paying forWorth the priceScheduling for every major network, priced per channel with unlimited team members on Team, and a free plan to start.Worth the priceA visual planner for Instagram, TikTok and six more networks, with approvals and an inbox on a flat plan that costs less than one seat elsewhere.Built-in reachPublishing, a shared inbox, listening and competitor benchmarks for every major network in one seat, backed by audited security.Compliance includedA full social team workspace (inbox, approvals, competitor reports and branded reporting) on one seat, with SOC 2 Type 2 and ISO 27001 behind it.
Overall score6.67.4Best6.66.5
Free optionFree planFree plan14-day free trial30-day free trial
Card to startNo card neededCard requiredNo card neededNo card needed
Getting accessSelf-serveSelf-serveSelf-serveSelf-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan$5/channel/mo$18.75/mo$99/user/mo$79/seat/mo
Pricing modelTieredFlat ratePer seatPer seat
Pricing pagePublic pricesPublic pricesPublic pricesPublic prices
Billing unitPer connected channel per month, lower per channel above 10Flat plan with Social Sets (one profile per network) and users; extra sets and users as add-onsPer user per month; each plan has a social account allowancePer seat per month; 5 profiles on Essentials and Standard, unlimited from Professional
Free optionFree plan: 3 channels, 1 user, 10 scheduled posts per channel; 14-day Team trial, no cardFree plan in the help center (1 Social Set, 1 user, 12 posts per profile a month); 14-day trial, card requiredNo free plan; 14-day trial, no card (plans page)No free plan; 30-day trial, no card
Reference scenario (3 users, 10 profiles, annual)$100/mo on Team (10 × $10), computed$41.25/mo on Growth ($37.50 + 1 extra user at $3.75), computed$297/mo on Standard (3 × $99), computed$897/mo on Professional (3 × $299), computed
Month-to-month price$12 per channel on Team for channels 1–10 ($6 on Essentials)$50 on Growth ($25 / $50 / $110 for the three listed plans)$149 per user on Standard ($149 / $299 / $499 for the three listed plans)$399 per seat on Professional ($99 / $249 / $399 / $499 for the four listed plans)
Networks for publishingFacebook, Instagram, LinkedIn, X, TikTok, YouTube (Shorts), Pinterest, Threads, Bluesky, Google Business Profile, MastodonInstagram, Facebook, LinkedIn, TikTok, YouTube (Shorts), Pinterest, Threads, Snapchat; not XFacebook, Instagram, LinkedIn, X, TikTok, YouTube, Pinterest, Threads, Bluesky; Google Business Profile through its appFacebook, Instagram, LinkedIn, X, TikTok, YouTube, Pinterest, Threads, Bluesky, Google Business Profile, Reddit, Snapchat
Approval workflowsTeamGrowth and ScaleAdvanced ($399 per user, annual) and EnterpriseProfessional and up; external approvers on Advanced
Unified inboxCommunity inbox for comments on every plan; no direct messagesSocial Inbox (beta) on Growth: Instagram and Facebook messages and comments, TikTok commentsComments and messages on every planSmart Inbox for comments and messages from Standard (not on Essentials)
Social listeningNot offeredScale: mentions, brand health and competitor benchmarkingQuick Search with 7 days of history on Standard; 30 days from ProfessionalKeyword and brand monitoring from Standard; the Listening add-on through sales
SOC 2 / ISO 27001Blog post says "SOC 2 compliant", report type not stated; ISO 27001 not statedSOC 2 Type 2 and ISO/IEC 27001 listed in the trust center (archived copy)SOC 2 Type II audited annually; ISO 27001:2022SOC 2 Type 2 audit; ISO/IEC 27001:2013
SAML SSONot statedLegacy Enterprise plan onlyEnterprise only (priced by sales)SAML 2.0; set up through Enterprise or a customer success manager
DPAPublished (linked from the legal page)On request by email, with the reasonsPublished, with an electronic signature optionPublished and part of the terms
Bottom lineFrom its public pages, Buffer is a straightforward publisher priced per channel, with unlimited users, approvals and a free plan. It covers comments but not direct messages, and lists no listening, SSO or certifications.From its public pages, Later is the lowest-cost way here to give a small team approvals and an inbox, priced by Social Sets. Its network list leaves out X, Bluesky and Google Business Profile, and listening starts on Scale.From its public pages, Hootsuite is a broad suite: ten networks, an inbox, listening and competitor benchmarks on Standard, and an audited security file. Seats are priced per user, and approvals start on Advanced.From its public pages, Sprout Social is the most complete team workspace here, with the inbox, approvals, competitor reports and audits on Professional. It is also the most expensive per seat, and listening is priced by sales.

Evidence: Buffer: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Later: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Hootsuite: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Sprout Social: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.

Score

Score breakdown
Pricing clarity
6.0 / 10, Good
scenario plan priced; can be bought online; month-to-month price published; billed per user or profile; pricing FAQ calls the yearly discount 20%; the plan cards say "save 2 months" (about 17%); branded reports are Team only on the pricing page and on Essentials too in the help center; pricing FAQ says bank transfers are not accepted; the payment methods article accepts US bank accounts; help center lists Essentials channels above 50 at $1 a month but $20 a year
Free plan and trial
9.0 / 10, Excellent
free plan, 3 profiles, 1 user, 10 scheduled posts per profile, 14-day trial, no card needed
Price for 3 users, 10 profiles
7.0 / 10, Good
$100/mo on Team, annual terms: 10 channels × $120 a year ($10 a month each); unlimited team members included, so 3 users cost nothing extra
Networks and publishing
10.0 / 10, Excellent
10 of 10 networks; approval workflows on the scenario plan; bulk scheduling on the scenario plan
Engagement and reporting
4.0 / 10, Fair
comments-only inbox on the scenario plan; social listening not listed; competitor analytics not listed; custom or branded reports on the scenario plan
Security and team controls
3.5 / 10, Fair
no SOC 2 Type II stated; 2FA; DPA published; SAML SSO not listed; roles or permissions on the scenario plan

Review

Review from public pages

Written from Buffer's public pages (pricing, security or privacy, and docs) as read on Oct 16, 2026. We did not sign up, and no hands-on run is published yet.

What the public pages show

We read Buffer's pricing page and its text copy (buffer.com/pricing.md), the legal page with the terms, privacy policy, GDPR section and DPA link, the press page, the developer docs and help center articles on pricing, the trial, channels, users and permissions, bulk upload, Insights, two-factor authentication, payment methods, refunds and cancellation on Oct 16, 2026; we did not sign up, start a trial or call the API. The pricing FAQ says prices were last updated in November 2025.

The model is simple to read: you pay per channel, $5 or $10 a month billed yearly on Essentials or Team for the first 10 channels, with lower rates above that. Team adds unlimited team members, so the user count does not change the price. The 14-day trial runs on Team and needs no card; without a card, the account moves to Free when it ends.

Some details differ between pages: the size of the yearly discount, which plan has branded reports, which payment methods are accepted, and one yearly price above 50 channels. Buffer states it is SOC 2 compliant only in a blog post, without the report type, and we found no trust or security page with certifications.

Strengths

  • Team size does not change the price

    Team includes unlimited team members, so 3 or 30 people managing 10 channels pay the same $100 a month billed yearly.

    vs Hootsuite: Hootsuite and Sprout Social charge per user seat.

  • Approvals on the cheapest team plan

    Content approval workflows and per-channel access levels come with Team, the first plan with more than one user.

    vs Hootsuite: Hootsuite puts approvals on Advanced ($399 per user, annual).

  • A permanent free plan

    3 channels, 1 user, 10 scheduled posts per channel at a time, the AI Assistant, the community inbox and Insights with 30 days of history.

    vs Hootsuite: Hootsuite, Sprout Social and Sendible offer trials only.

  • Wide network list

    Facebook, Instagram, LinkedIn, X, TikTok, YouTube Shorts, Pinterest, Threads, Bluesky, Google Business Profile and Mastodon.

    vs Later: Later no longer supports X and does not list Bluesky or Google Business Profile.

Things to know

  • The inbox covers comments, not messages

    The community inbox manages and replies to comments; the Bluesky help article says Buffer does not offer direct messaging, and mentions are a beta for X only.

    Workaround: Teams that answer direct messages often may pair Buffer with each network’s own inbox.

  • No listening or competitor benchmarking

    Buffer’s own comparison page with Sprout Social says listening and competitive benchmarking are features Buffer does not have.

  • Security file is thin on its public pages

    No trust or security page lists certifications; a blog post says Buffer is SOC 2 compliant without the report type. SSO and an audit log are not stated.

    Workaround: Two-factor authentication is on every plan, and the DPA is linked from the legal page.

  • YouTube is Shorts only

    The channel is listed as YouTube (Shorts); the help center does not describe publishing long-form videos.

Pricing reality

Buffer bills per connected channel, and Team includes unlimited users. For our scenario, 10 channels on Team cost 10 × $10 = $100 a month billed yearly ($1,200 a year), or $120 month to month (computed), before tax. Essentials would cost $50 a month for 10 channels, but it allows only one user. Channels 11 to 25 cost $4 a month each on Team ($40 a year billed yearly), so 25 channels come to $150 a month billed yearly (pricing.md). Nonprofits get 50% off. The help center offers refunds within 7 days on monthly plans and 30 days on annual plans, while the terms say fees are not refundable.

Exit path

Insights export to CSV, Markdown or PDF on paid plans; Free can only download chart images. Buffer does not export scheduled posts directly (the help center suggests Zapier), but the GraphQL API can read scheduled and sent posts. Personal data can be exported on request under the GDPR section of the legal page.

Compared with

  • Pick Buffer when
    You want unlimited users, approvals and a free plan at $100 a month for 10 channels (Team, annual).
    Pick Hootsuite when
    You need direct messages in one inbox, listening and competitor benchmarks, and audited security documents.
  • Pick Buffer when
    You publish to X, Bluesky or Google Business Profile, or want approvals and bulk upload with any number of users.
    Pick Later when
    You want Instagram and Facebook direct messages in the inbox and a lower scenario price ($41.25 a month on Growth with one extra user, annual).
  • Pick Buffer when
    You want a free plan and approvals on the plan that fits 10 profiles.
    Pick Sendible when
    You want an inbox with direct messages and a lower scenario price ($59.75 a month on Core with one extra workspace, annual).

Choose it if

  • Several people publish and approve, and you do not want to pay per seat.
  • You want to start on a free plan and grow by channel.
  • You publish to Bluesky, Threads, Mastodon or Google Business Profile as well as the big networks.

Look elsewhere if

  • You need direct messages, listening or competitor analytics in the same tool.
  • Your security review needs a SOC 2 Type II report, ISO 27001 or SAML SSO.

Bottom line

From its public pages, Buffer is a straightforward publisher priced per channel, with unlimited users, approvals and a free plan. It covers comments but not direct messages, and lists no listening, SSO or certifications.

Plan limits at a glance

LimitAs recorded
Billing unitPer connected channel per month, lower per channel above 10
Free optionFree plan: 3 channels, 1 user, 10 scheduled posts per channel; 14-day Team trial, no card
Reference scenario (3 users, 10 profiles, annual)$100/mo on Team (10 × $10), computed
Month-to-month price$12 per channel on Team for channels 1–10 ($6 on Essentials)
Networks for publishingFacebook, Instagram, LinkedIn, X, TikTok, YouTube (Shorts), Pinterest, Threads, Bluesky, Google Business Profile, Mastodon
Approval workflowsTeam
Unified inboxCommunity inbox for comments on every plan; no direct messages
Social listeningNot offered
SOC 2 / ISO 27001Blog post says "SOC 2 compliant", report type not stated; ISO 27001 not stated
SAML SSONot stated
DPAPublished (linked from the legal page)

Read from the vendor's public pages on Oct 16, 2026. No hands-on run is published yet. How we check

Buffer lists 3 plans. The cheapest paid plan, Essentials (billed yearly), costs $5/channel/mo.

  • BufferFree
    Free
    $0
    Up to 3 channels, 1 user
    • 10 scheduled posts per channel at a time
    • AI Assistant and community inbox
    • Insights with 30 days of history
    • API: 1 key, 3,000 requests a month
  • BufferLowest price
    Essentials
    $5/channel/mo
    Billed yearly ($60 per channel a year) for channels 1–10; $6 month to month; lower above 10 channels; 1 user
    • Unlimited scheduled posts (fair use: 5,000 per channel)
    • Advanced analytics with CSV, PDF and Markdown export
    • First comment scheduling and hashtag manager
    • API: 3 keys, 7,500 requests a month
  • Buffer
    Team
    $10/channel/mo
    Billed yearly ($120 per channel a year) for channels 1–10; $12 month to month; lower above 10 channels
    • Unlimited team members
    • Access levels per channel
    • Content approval workflows
    • Branded reports

Prices as listed, USD, excluding tax; observed 2026-10-16.

Source: buffer.com pricing page. Prices change; the observed date above is when our agent read them.

Visit site