Sprout Social review

by Sprout Social, Inc.Social media management tools

A per-seat social media suite with the Smart Inbox, approvals, bulk scheduling and competitor reports on Professional at $299 per seat billed annually.

Facts checked
  • 30-day free trial
  • No card needed
  • Self-serve
  • Per seat
  • Public prices
Visit site

What you're paying for

  • Compliance included (main value)
  • Built-in reach

A full social team workspace (inbox, approvals, competitor reports and branded reporting) on one seat, with SOC 2 Type 2 and ISO 27001 behind it.

On Professional, one seat covers unlimited profiles, the Smart Inbox for comments and messages, approval workflows, bulk scheduling, competitor reports for Facebook, X and Instagram and report branding, so a team works from one tool from draft to report. Publishing reaches twelve networks, Reddit and Snapchat included. The trust center states a SOC 2 Type 2 audit and ISO/IEC 27001 certification, and the DPA is part of the terms. You pay per seat, with listening and premium analytics as add-ons priced by sales.

  • Twelve networks for publishingThe help center describes publishing to Facebook, Instagram, Threads, Bluesky, X, LinkedIn, TikTok, YouTube, Pinterest, Google Business Profile, Reddit and Snapchat.Evidence: Help center: what types of posts can I publish (2026-10-16)
  • Team workflow on ProfessionalThe plan table lists the message approval workflow, bulk scheduling, competitor reports, custom report branding and unlimited profiles on Professional.Evidence: Pricing page plan table (2026-10-16)
  • Audits and certificatesThe trust center says Sprout completes a SOC 2 Type 2 audit by a third-party auditor and is certified to ISO/IEC 27001:2013 and 27701:2019; 2FA is on every plan.Evidence: Trust center and pricing page (2026-10-16)
Best for
Social and marketing teams that answer customers on social and report to stakeholders, and need a vendor that passes a security review.
Good to know
Seats are priced per user from $79 to $399 a month on annual terms, and unlimited profiles start on Professional ($299).

How Sprout Social compares

Against 3 other products we reviewed in Social media management tools: what you pay for with each, the five access facts, the plan limits we recorded and each review's bottom line. The note under the table says how each one was checked.

Sprout Social compared with Later, Buffer, Hootsuite
MetricSprout SocialLaterBufferHootsuite
What you're paying forCompliance includedA full social team workspace (inbox, approvals, competitor reports and branded reporting) on one seat, with SOC 2 Type 2 and ISO 27001 behind it.Worth the priceA visual planner for Instagram, TikTok and six more networks, with approvals and an inbox on a flat plan that costs less than one seat elsewhere.Worth the priceScheduling for every major network, priced per channel with unlimited team members on Team, and a free plan to start.Built-in reachPublishing, a shared inbox, listening and competitor benchmarks for every major network in one seat, backed by audited security.
Overall score6.57.4Best6.66.6
Free option30-day free trialFree planFree plan14-day free trial
Card to startNo card neededCard requiredNo card neededNo card needed
Getting accessSelf-serveSelf-serveSelf-serveSelf-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan$79/seat/mo$18.75/mo$5/channel/mo$99/user/mo
Pricing modelPer seatFlat rateTieredPer seat
Pricing pagePublic pricesPublic pricesPublic pricesPublic prices
Billing unitPer seat per month; 5 profiles on Essentials and Standard, unlimited from ProfessionalFlat plan with Social Sets (one profile per network) and users; extra sets and users as add-onsPer connected channel per month, lower per channel above 10Per user per month; each plan has a social account allowance
Free optionNo free plan; 30-day trial, no cardFree plan in the help center (1 Social Set, 1 user, 12 posts per profile a month); 14-day trial, card requiredFree plan: 3 channels, 1 user, 10 scheduled posts per channel; 14-day Team trial, no cardNo free plan; 14-day trial, no card (plans page)
Reference scenario (3 users, 10 profiles, annual)$897/mo on Professional (3 × $299), computed$41.25/mo on Growth ($37.50 + 1 extra user at $3.75), computed$100/mo on Team (10 × $10), computed$297/mo on Standard (3 × $99), computed
Month-to-month price$399 per seat on Professional ($99 / $249 / $399 / $499 for the four listed plans)$50 on Growth ($25 / $50 / $110 for the three listed plans)$12 per channel on Team for channels 1–10 ($6 on Essentials)$149 per user on Standard ($149 / $299 / $499 for the three listed plans)
Networks for publishingFacebook, Instagram, LinkedIn, X, TikTok, YouTube, Pinterest, Threads, Bluesky, Google Business Profile, Reddit, SnapchatInstagram, Facebook, LinkedIn, TikTok, YouTube (Shorts), Pinterest, Threads, Snapchat; not XFacebook, Instagram, LinkedIn, X, TikTok, YouTube (Shorts), Pinterest, Threads, Bluesky, Google Business Profile, MastodonFacebook, Instagram, LinkedIn, X, TikTok, YouTube, Pinterest, Threads, Bluesky; Google Business Profile through its app
Approval workflowsProfessional and up; external approvers on AdvancedGrowth and ScaleTeamAdvanced ($399 per user, annual) and Enterprise
Unified inboxSmart Inbox for comments and messages from Standard (not on Essentials)Social Inbox (beta) on Growth: Instagram and Facebook messages and comments, TikTok commentsCommunity inbox for comments on every plan; no direct messagesComments and messages on every plan
Social listeningKeyword and brand monitoring from Standard; the Listening add-on through salesScale: mentions, brand health and competitor benchmarkingNot offeredQuick Search with 7 days of history on Standard; 30 days from Professional
SOC 2 / ISO 27001SOC 2 Type 2 audit; ISO/IEC 27001:2013SOC 2 Type 2 and ISO/IEC 27001 listed in the trust center (archived copy)Blog post says "SOC 2 compliant", report type not stated; ISO 27001 not statedSOC 2 Type II audited annually; ISO 27001:2022
SAML SSOSAML 2.0; set up through Enterprise or a customer success managerLegacy Enterprise plan onlyNot statedEnterprise only (priced by sales)
DPAPublished and part of the termsOn request by email, with the reasonsPublished (linked from the legal page)Published, with an electronic signature option
Bottom lineFrom its public pages, Sprout Social is the most complete team workspace here, with the inbox, approvals, competitor reports and audits on Professional. It is also the most expensive per seat, and listening is priced by sales.From its public pages, Later is the lowest-cost way here to give a small team approvals and an inbox, priced by Social Sets. Its network list leaves out X, Bluesky and Google Business Profile, and listening starts on Scale.From its public pages, Buffer is a straightforward publisher priced per channel, with unlimited users, approvals and a free plan. It covers comments but not direct messages, and lists no listening, SSO or certifications.From its public pages, Hootsuite is a broad suite: ten networks, an inbox, listening and competitor benchmarks on Standard, and an audited security file. Seats are priced per user, and approvals start on Advanced.

Evidence: Sprout Social: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Later: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Buffer: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Hootsuite: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.

Score

Score breakdown
Pricing clarity
5.0 / 10, Fair
scenario plan priced; can be bought online; month-to-month price published; price of extra users or profiles not published; Listening, Premium Analytics and Employee Advocacy add-on prices not published (Schedule a demo); SSO: the pricing page ties SSO setup to Enterprise, one help article offers self-service SSO to all customers, another requires a customer success manager; trial help article says three plans can be trialled, then lists Essentials as a fourth; account data is deleted 90 days after closure in the help center, within 30 days in the terms
Free plan and trial
3.0 / 10, Fair
no free plan; 30-day trial, no card needed
Price for 3 users, 10 profiles
2.2 / 10, Fair
$897/mo on Professional, annual terms: 3 seats × $299; Professional is the first plan with unlimited profiles (Essentials and Standard include 5, and the price of extra profiles is not published)
Networks and publishing
10.0 / 10, Excellent
10 of 10 networks; approval workflows on the scenario plan; bulk scheduling on the scenario plan
Engagement and reporting
10.0 / 10, Excellent
unified inbox on the scenario plan; social listening on the scenario plan; competitor analytics on the scenario plan; custom or branded reports on the scenario plan
Security and team controls
8.6 / 10, Excellent
SOC 2 Type II; ISO 27001; 2FA; DPA published; SAML SSO enterprise or through sales only; roles or permissions on the scenario plan

Review

Review from public pages

Written from Sprout Social's public pages (pricing, security or privacy, and docs) as read on Oct 16, 2026. We did not sign up, and no hands-on run is published yet.

What the public pages show

We read Sprout Social's pricing page with its plan table and FAQ, the nonprofit pricing page, the trust center, the application security page, the terms, privacy policy, DPA and BAA page, the brand assets page, the API docs, and help center articles on plans, the trial, billing, permissions, SSO, approvals, bulk scheduling, publishing by network, reports, exports and data retention on Oct 16, 2026; we did not sign up, start the trial or call the API. The help center blocks our fetches, so its articles were read through the help center's public article data.

The pricing page lists four seat prices: $79, $199, $299 and $399 a month on annual terms, or $99, $249, $399 and $499 month to month. Essentials, new in 2026, is publishing-focused and leaves out the Smart Inbox and approvals. Unlimited profiles start on Professional; on Essentials and Standard, extra profiles can be bought, but their price is not published.

Some points need a question to Sprout. Listening, Premium Analytics and Employee Advocacy are add-ons with no published price. Pages differ on how SSO is set up, on which plans can be trialled and on how long data is kept after an account closes.

Strengths

  • Approvals, bulk scheduling and competitor reports on one plan

    Professional includes the message approval workflow, bulk scheduling of up to 350 messages, competitor reports for Facebook, X and Instagram, report branding and unlimited profiles.

    vs Hootsuite: Hootsuite puts approvals and branded reports on Advanced; Later keeps competitor benchmarking on Scale.

  • Smart Inbox from Standard

    Comments and messages from connected networks, reviews and keyword monitoring in one inbox, with full conversation history from Professional.

    vs Buffer: Buffer’s community inbox handles comments only.

  • The widest network list here

    Publishing reaches twelve networks, including Reddit, Snapchat, Bluesky and Google Business Profile.

  • Security file in its own name

    A SOC 2 Type 2 audit, ISO/IEC 27001 and 27701, two-step verification enforced by email by default with optional authenticator apps, and a DPA that forms part of the terms.

    vs Buffer: Buffer and Sendible state no SOC 2 Type II report on their own pages.

Things to know

  • Highest per-seat prices in this group

    For 3 users and 10 profiles the first plan that fits is Professional at 3 × $299 = $897 a month on annual terms, paid upfront for the year.

    Workaround: Standard (3 × $199) could cost less if extra profiles are cheap, but their price is not published; ask sales.

  • Full listening is a sales-priced add-on

    Keyword and brand monitoring is in the Smart Inbox from Standard, but the Listening add-on has no published price and is bought through an account manager.

  • API and custom roles on Advanced

    The help center says Advanced users can access the API, and custom user roles are an Advanced feature.

    Workaround: Profile-level access restrictions are on every plan, and advanced publishing permissions on Professional.

  • Firm annual terms

    Annual plans renew automatically and prepaid fees are not refunded; downgrades of a paid plan go through the success team and apply at the next contract cycle.

    Workaround: Month-to-month prices are published for every self-serve plan.

Pricing reality

Sprout Social bills per seat, and each plan sets a profile allowance. For our scenario, 3 users with 10 profiles need Professional, the first plan with unlimited profiles: 3 × $299 = $897 a month on annual terms ($10,764 a year, paid upfront), or $1,197 month to month (computed), before tax. Standard at 3 × $199 = $597 a month includes 5 profiles, and the price of 5 more is not published. Listening, Premium Analytics and Employee Advocacy add on through sales; Trellis Plus AI is $28 per user a month on annual terms. US nonprofits get Professional at $239 per seat with at least 2 seats on annual terms.

Exit path

Reports export to PDF and the post performance report to CSV; Smart Inbox messages export to CSV on every plan, and audit logs and user permissions to CSV. Scheduled posts cannot be exported (the account-merge article says they must be rescheduled by hand). The API is on Advanced. The help center says data is deleted 90 days after an account closes; the terms allow removal within 30 days.

Compared with

  • Pick Sprout Social when
    You want approval workflows, unlimited profiles and branded reports on one plan at $299 per seat on annual terms.
    Pick Hootsuite when
    You want listening and competitor benchmarks at a lower seat price, $99 per user on Standard, and 10 profiles are enough.
  • Pick Sprout Social when
    You need an inbox with direct messages, competitor reports and audited security documents.
    Pick Buffer when
    You mainly publish and approve, and want unlimited users at $100 a month for 10 channels (Team, annual).
  • Pick Sprout Social when
    You publish to X, Bluesky, Reddit or Google Business Profile, or need bulk scheduling, an API and a published DPA.
    Pick Later when
    You focus on Instagram and TikTok and want approvals and an inbox for $41.25 a month (Growth with one extra user, annual).

Choose it if

  • Your team answers customers on social and needs one inbox with history and approvals.
  • Your security review asks for SOC 2 Type 2 and ISO 27001 from the vendor.
  • You publish to many networks, including Reddit or Snapchat.

Look elsewhere if

  • You need many seats on a small budget.
  • You want listening priced on the website.
  • You want a permanent free plan.

Bottom line

From its public pages, Sprout Social is the most complete team workspace here, with the inbox, approvals, competitor reports and audits on Professional. It is also the most expensive per seat, and listening is priced by sales.

Plan limits at a glance

LimitAs recorded
Billing unitPer seat per month; 5 profiles on Essentials and Standard, unlimited from Professional
Free optionNo free plan; 30-day trial, no card
Reference scenario (3 users, 10 profiles, annual)$897/mo on Professional (3 × $299), computed
Month-to-month price$399 per seat on Professional ($99 / $249 / $399 / $499 for the four listed plans)
Networks for publishingFacebook, Instagram, LinkedIn, X, TikTok, YouTube, Pinterest, Threads, Bluesky, Google Business Profile, Reddit, Snapchat
Approval workflowsProfessional and up; external approvers on Advanced
Unified inboxSmart Inbox for comments and messages from Standard (not on Essentials)
Social listeningKeyword and brand monitoring from Standard; the Listening add-on through sales
SOC 2 / ISO 27001SOC 2 Type 2 audit; ISO/IEC 27001:2013
SAML SSOSAML 2.0; set up through Enterprise or a customer success manager
DPAPublished and part of the terms

Read from the vendor's public pages on Oct 16, 2026. No hands-on run is published yet. How we check

Sprout Social lists 5 plans. The cheapest paid plan, Essentials (billed annually), costs $79/seat/mo.

  • Sprout SocialLowest price
    Essentials
    $79/seat/mo
    Billed annually; $99 month to month; 5 social profiles
    • Publishing to every supported network
    • Content calendar and post performance reports
    • No Smart Inbox or approvals
    • 100 AI agent credits per seat a month
  • Sprout Social
    Standard
    $199/seat/mo
    Billed annually; $249 month to month; 5 social profiles
    • Smart Inbox (90 days of conversation history)
    • Keyword and brand monitoring
    • Review management and case management
    • Add-ons (Listening, Premium Analytics) through sales
  • Sprout Social
    Professional
    $299/seat/mo
    Billed annually; $399 month to month; unlimited social profiles
    • Message approval workflow and bulk scheduling
    • Facebook, X and Instagram competitor reports
    • Custom report branding
    • Full conversation history
  • Sprout Social
    Advanced
    $399/seat/mo
    Billed annually; $499 month to month; unlimited social profiles
    • Sprout API
    • Custom user roles and external approvers
    • Scheduled report delivery
    • Helpdesk and CRM integrations
  • Sprout Social
    Enterprise
    Contact sales
    • White-glove onboarding
    • Dedicated service for SSO setup
    • Priority support

Prices as listed, USD, excluding tax; observed 2026-10-16.

Source: sproutsocial.com pricing page. Prices change; the observed date above is when our agent read them.

Visit site