Social media management tools · Comparison

Buffer vs Sprout Social

2 products compared side by side: what you pay for with each one first, then the five access facts, entry prices, recorded plan limits and the bottom line of each review. The evidence note under the table says how each product was checked.

Side by side

Buffer vs Sprout Social: value, access facts, plan limits and bottom lines
MetricBufferSprout Social
What you're paying forWorth the priceScheduling for every major network, priced per channel with unlimited team members on Team, and a free plan to start.Compliance includedA full social team workspace (inbox, approvals, competitor reports and branded reporting) on one seat, with SOC 2 Type 2 and ISO 27001 behind it.
Overall score6.6Best6.5
Free optionFree plan30-day free trial
Card to startNo card neededNo card needed
Getting accessSelf-serveSelf-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan$5/channel/mo$79/seat/mo
Pricing modelTieredPer seat
Pricing pagePublic pricesPublic prices
Billing unitPer connected channel per month, lower per channel above 10Per seat per month; 5 profiles on Essentials and Standard, unlimited from Professional
Free optionFree plan: 3 channels, 1 user, 10 scheduled posts per channel; 14-day Team trial, no cardNo free plan; 30-day trial, no card
Reference scenario (3 users, 10 profiles, annual)$100/mo on Team (10 × $10), computed$897/mo on Professional (3 × $299), computed
Month-to-month price$12 per channel on Team for channels 1–10 ($6 on Essentials)$399 per seat on Professional ($99 / $249 / $399 / $499 for the four listed plans)
Networks for publishingFacebook, Instagram, LinkedIn, X, TikTok, YouTube (Shorts), Pinterest, Threads, Bluesky, Google Business Profile, MastodonFacebook, Instagram, LinkedIn, X, TikTok, YouTube, Pinterest, Threads, Bluesky, Google Business Profile, Reddit, Snapchat
Approval workflowsTeamProfessional and up; external approvers on Advanced
Unified inboxCommunity inbox for comments on every plan; no direct messagesSmart Inbox for comments and messages from Standard (not on Essentials)
Social listeningNot offeredKeyword and brand monitoring from Standard; the Listening add-on through sales
SOC 2 / ISO 27001Blog post says "SOC 2 compliant", report type not stated; ISO 27001 not statedSOC 2 Type 2 audit; ISO/IEC 27001:2013
SAML SSONot statedSAML 2.0; set up through Enterprise or a customer success manager
DPAPublished (linked from the legal page)Published and part of the terms
Bottom lineFrom its public pages, Buffer is a straightforward publisher priced per channel, with unlimited users, approvals and a free plan. It covers comments but not direct messages, and lists no listening, SSO or certifications.From its public pages, Sprout Social is the most complete team workspace here, with the inbox, approvals, competitor reports and audits on Professional. It is also the most expensive per seat, and listening is priced by sales.

Evidence: Buffer: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Sprout Social: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.

When to pick each

In the words of each review, with the date its facts were checked.

  • From our Sprout Social review

    Checked Oct 16, 2026
    Pick Sprout Social when
    You need an inbox with direct messages, competitor reports and audited security documents.
    Pick Buffer when
    You mainly publish and approve, and want unlimited users at $100 a month for 10 channels (Team, annual).

Entry price

Baseline: each product's cheapest paid plan, per month. Included usage differs, so read the line under each price.

  • BufferLowest price
    Essentials
    $5/channel/mo
    Billed yearly ($60 per channel a year) for channels 1–10; $6 month to month; lower above 10 channels; 1 user
    • Unlimited scheduled posts (fair use: 5,000 per channel)
    • Advanced analytics with CSV, PDF and Markdown export
    • First comment scheduling and hashtag manager
    • API: 3 keys, 7,500 requests a month
  • Sprout Social
    Essentials
    $79/seat/mo
    Billed annually; $99 month to month; 5 social profiles
    • Publishing to every supported network
    • Content calendar and post performance reports
    • No Smart Inbox or approvals
    • 100 AI agent credits per seat a month

Prices as listed on each pricing page, in USD per month, excluding tax. Observed: Buffer 2026-10-16, Sprout Social 2026-10-16.

Which one fits

If you need to start today without a sales call
BufferSelf-serve sign-up, no card needed; the highest score of the 2 self-serve products here (6.6/10).
If you want to try it without entering a card
BufferFree plan, no card needed; scored 6.6/10.
Lowest starter price
Buffer$5/channel/mo for the Essentials (billed yearly) plan.
Highest overall score
Buffer6.6/10 (Good). The review shows the score breakdown and the run behind it.

Picked by fixed rules from the table above, not by hand. How we score

Full reviews

More in Social media management tools

Add a product

Search by product name or by what it does, such as “email” or “feature flags”. 2 more fit in this comparison.