Social media management tools · Comparison

Buffer vs Hootsuite

2 products compared side by side: what you pay for with each one first, then the five access facts, entry prices, recorded plan limits and the bottom line of each review. The evidence note under the table says how each product was checked.

Side by side

Buffer vs Hootsuite: value, access facts, plan limits and bottom lines
MetricBufferHootsuite
What you're paying forWorth the priceScheduling for every major network, priced per channel with unlimited team members on Team, and a free plan to start.Built-in reachPublishing, a shared inbox, listening and competitor benchmarks for every major network in one seat, backed by audited security.
Overall score6.66.6
Free optionFree plan14-day free trial
Card to startNo card neededNo card needed
Getting accessSelf-serveSelf-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan$5/channel/mo$99/user/mo
Pricing modelTieredPer seat
Pricing pagePublic pricesPublic prices
Billing unitPer connected channel per month, lower per channel above 10Per user per month; each plan has a social account allowance
Free optionFree plan: 3 channels, 1 user, 10 scheduled posts per channel; 14-day Team trial, no cardNo free plan; 14-day trial, no card (plans page)
Reference scenario (3 users, 10 profiles, annual)$100/mo on Team (10 × $10), computed$297/mo on Standard (3 × $99), computed
Month-to-month price$12 per channel on Team for channels 1–10 ($6 on Essentials)$149 per user on Standard ($149 / $299 / $499 for the three listed plans)
Networks for publishingFacebook, Instagram, LinkedIn, X, TikTok, YouTube (Shorts), Pinterest, Threads, Bluesky, Google Business Profile, MastodonFacebook, Instagram, LinkedIn, X, TikTok, YouTube, Pinterest, Threads, Bluesky; Google Business Profile through its app
Approval workflowsTeamAdvanced ($399 per user, annual) and Enterprise
Unified inboxCommunity inbox for comments on every plan; no direct messagesComments and messages on every plan
Social listeningNot offeredQuick Search with 7 days of history on Standard; 30 days from Professional
SOC 2 / ISO 27001Blog post says "SOC 2 compliant", report type not stated; ISO 27001 not statedSOC 2 Type II audited annually; ISO 27001:2022
SAML SSONot statedEnterprise only (priced by sales)
DPAPublished (linked from the legal page)Published, with an electronic signature option
Bottom lineFrom its public pages, Buffer is a straightforward publisher priced per channel, with unlimited users, approvals and a free plan. It covers comments but not direct messages, and lists no listening, SSO or certifications.From its public pages, Hootsuite is a broad suite: ten networks, an inbox, listening and competitor benchmarks on Standard, and an audited security file. Seats are priced per user, and approvals start on Advanced.

Evidence: Buffer: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Hootsuite: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.

When to pick each

In the words of each review, with the date its facts were checked.

  • From our Buffer review

    Checked Oct 16, 2026
    Pick Buffer when
    You want unlimited users, approvals and a free plan at $100 a month for 10 channels (Team, annual).
    Pick Hootsuite when
    You need direct messages in one inbox, listening and competitor benchmarks, and audited security documents.
  • From our Hootsuite review

    Checked Oct 16, 2026
    Pick Hootsuite when
    You need direct messages in the inbox, listening and competitor benchmarks.
    Pick Buffer when
    You want unlimited users, approvals and a free plan, with 10 channels on Team at $100 a month (annual).

Entry price

Baseline: each product's cheapest paid plan, per month. Included usage differs, so read the line under each price.

  • BufferLowest price
    Essentials
    $5/channel/mo
    Billed yearly ($60 per channel a year) for channels 1–10; $6 month to month; lower above 10 channels; 1 user
    • Unlimited scheduled posts (fair use: 5,000 per channel)
    • Advanced analytics with CSV, PDF and Markdown export
    • First comment scheduling and hashtag manager
    • API: 3 keys, 7,500 requests a month
  • Hootsuite
    Standard
    $99/user/mo
    Billed annually ($1,188 per user a year); $149 month to month; 10 social accounts
    • Publishing and bulk scheduling (up to 350 posts by CSV)
    • Inbox for comments and messages
    • Listening Quick Search (7 days), 5 competitors
    • 100 AI credits a month

Prices as listed on each pricing page, in USD per month, excluding tax. Observed: Buffer 2026-10-16, Hootsuite 2026-10-16.

Which one fits

If you need to start today without a sales call
Buffer and HootsuiteSelf-serve sign-up, no card needed; tied at 6.6/10 for the highest score of the 2 self-serve products here.
If you want to try it without entering a card
BufferFree plan, no card needed; scored 6.6/10.
Lowest starter price
Buffer$5/channel/mo for the Essentials (billed yearly) plan.
Highest overall score
Buffer and Hootsuite6.6/10 (Good). The review shows the score breakdown and the run behind it.

Picked by fixed rules from the table above, not by hand. How we score

Full reviews

More in Social media management tools

Add a product

Search by product name or by what it does, such as “email” or “feature flags”. 2 more fit in this comparison.