Social media management tools · Comparison

Buffer vs Later

2 products compared side by side: what you pay for with each one first, then the five access facts, entry prices, recorded plan limits and the bottom line of each review. The evidence note under the table says how each product was checked.

Side by side

Buffer vs Later: value, access facts, plan limits and bottom lines
MetricBufferLater
What you're paying forWorth the priceScheduling for every major network, priced per channel with unlimited team members on Team, and a free plan to start.Worth the priceA visual planner for Instagram, TikTok and six more networks, with approvals and an inbox on a flat plan that costs less than one seat elsewhere.
Overall score6.67.4Best
Free optionFree planFree plan
Card to startNo card neededCard required
Getting accessSelf-serveSelf-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan$5/channel/mo$18.75/mo
Pricing modelTieredFlat rate
Pricing pagePublic pricesPublic prices
Billing unitPer connected channel per month, lower per channel above 10Flat plan with Social Sets (one profile per network) and users; extra sets and users as add-ons
Free optionFree plan: 3 channels, 1 user, 10 scheduled posts per channel; 14-day Team trial, no cardFree plan in the help center (1 Social Set, 1 user, 12 posts per profile a month); 14-day trial, card required
Reference scenario (3 users, 10 profiles, annual)$100/mo on Team (10 × $10), computed$41.25/mo on Growth ($37.50 + 1 extra user at $3.75), computed
Month-to-month price$12 per channel on Team for channels 1–10 ($6 on Essentials)$50 on Growth ($25 / $50 / $110 for the three listed plans)
Networks for publishingFacebook, Instagram, LinkedIn, X, TikTok, YouTube (Shorts), Pinterest, Threads, Bluesky, Google Business Profile, MastodonInstagram, Facebook, LinkedIn, TikTok, YouTube (Shorts), Pinterest, Threads, Snapchat; not X
Approval workflowsTeamGrowth and Scale
Unified inboxCommunity inbox for comments on every plan; no direct messagesSocial Inbox (beta) on Growth: Instagram and Facebook messages and comments, TikTok comments
Social listeningNot offeredScale: mentions, brand health and competitor benchmarking
SOC 2 / ISO 27001Blog post says "SOC 2 compliant", report type not stated; ISO 27001 not statedSOC 2 Type 2 and ISO/IEC 27001 listed in the trust center (archived copy)
SAML SSONot statedLegacy Enterprise plan only
DPAPublished (linked from the legal page)On request by email, with the reasons
Bottom lineFrom its public pages, Buffer is a straightforward publisher priced per channel, with unlimited users, approvals and a free plan. It covers comments but not direct messages, and lists no listening, SSO or certifications.From its public pages, Later is the lowest-cost way here to give a small team approvals and an inbox, priced by Social Sets. Its network list leaves out X, Bluesky and Google Business Profile, and listening starts on Scale.

Evidence: Buffer: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Later: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.

When to pick each

In the words of each review, with the date its facts were checked.

  • From our Buffer review

    Checked Oct 16, 2026
    Pick Buffer when
    You publish to X, Bluesky or Google Business Profile, or want approvals and bulk upload with any number of users.
    Pick Later when
    You want Instagram and Facebook direct messages in the inbox and a lower scenario price ($41.25 a month on Growth with one extra user, annual).
  • From our Later review

    Checked Oct 16, 2026
    Pick Later when
    You want Instagram and Facebook direct messages in the inbox and the lowest scenario price ($41.25 a month on Growth, annual).
    Pick Buffer when
    You publish to X, Bluesky or Google Business Profile, or want CSV bulk upload, an API and unlimited users.

Entry price

Baseline: each product's cheapest paid plan, per month. Included usage differs, so read the line under each price.

  • BufferLowest price
    Essentials
    $5/channel/mo
    Billed yearly ($60 per channel a year) for channels 1–10; $6 month to month; lower above 10 channels; 1 user
    • Unlimited scheduled posts (fair use: 5,000 per channel)
    • Advanced analytics with CSV, PDF and Markdown export
    • First comment scheduling and hashtag manager
    • API: 3 keys, 7,500 requests a month
  • Later
    Starter
    $18.75/mo
    Billed yearly; $25 month to month; 1 Social Set (8 profiles), 1 user, no add-ons
    • 30 posts per profile a month
    • 5 AI credits a month
    • Analytics with CSV export
    • Link in Bio

Prices as listed on each pricing page, in USD per month, excluding tax. Observed: Buffer 2026-10-16, Later 2026-10-16.

Which one fits

If you need to start today without a sales call
LaterSelf-serve sign-up, card required; the highest score of the 2 self-serve products here (7.4/10).
If you want to try it without entering a card
BufferFree plan, no card needed; scored 6.6/10.
Lowest starter price
Buffer$5/channel/mo for the Essentials (billed yearly) plan.
Highest overall score
Later7.4/10 (Good). The review shows the score breakdown and the run behind it.

Picked by fixed rules from the table above, not by hand. How we score

Full reviews

More in Social media management tools

Add a product

Search by product name or by what it does, such as “email” or “feature flags”. 2 more fit in this comparison.