Hosted n8n: workflows with code steps, AI agents and 2,300+ integrations, billed per execution however many steps it has, from $20 a month on annual terms, with a self-hosted edition.
Workflows that mix visual steps with your own code, billed per run rather than per step, with a self-hosted edition as an exit.
n8n Cloud suits teams that are comfortable with some code: every plan runs JavaScript or Python code steps, custom HTTP requests, webhook triggers and the AI Agent node next to 2,300+ integrations. Because a whole workflow run counts as one execution, long workflows cost the same as short ones; our five-step scenario fits Starter at $20 a month on annual terms. Workflows are JSON files you can download, and the same engine is free to self-host as the Community Edition.
One execution per run, however many stepsThe pricing page counts a single run of the entire workflow as one execution, regardless of steps or data; Starter includes 2,500 a month, Pro 10,000.Evidence: Pricing page FAQ (2026-10-16)
Code and AI on the entry planStarter includes code steps in JavaScript or Python, custom HTTP and GraphQL requests, webhook triggers, the AI Agent node, MCP triggers and the n8n API.Evidence: Pricing page comparison table (2026-10-16)
Self-hosting as an exitA standard self-hosted Community Edition is on GitHub; workflows download as JSON and can be imported there or into any other n8n instance.Evidence: Pricing page and export docs (2026-10-16)
Best for
Technical teams that want code where it helps, a predictable price per run, and the option to self-host later.
Good to know
There is no free cloud plan, hosted data is stored only in Frankfurt, and SSO and audit logging need Enterprise.
How n8n Cloud compares
Against 3 other products we reviewed in Workflow automation: what you pay for with each, the five access facts, the plan limits we recorded and each review's bottom line. The note under the table says how each one was checked.
n8n Cloud compared with Power Automate, Make, Zapier
Saves engineering timeWorkflows that mix visual steps with your own code, billed per run rather than per step, with a self-hosted edition as an exit.
Compliance includedAutomation inside Microsoft 365, with HIPAA, ISO 27001, EU regions and Entra ID sign-in covered by Microsoft, from $15 per user a month.
Worth the priceA visual builder for branching, multi-step scenarios at a low price per action, with an EU data center on every plan.
Built-in reachConnect more than 9,000 apps in multi-step workflows without code, and pay only for actions that succeed.
Overall score
6.6
8.5Best
7.8
5.4
Free option
14-day free trial
Free plan
Free plan
Free plan
Card to start
No card needed
–Not measured
–Not measured
–Not measured
Getting access
Self-serve
Self-serve
Self-serve
Self-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan
$20/mo
$15/user/mo
$9/mo
$19.99/mo
Pricing model
Tiered
Per seat
Tiered
Tiered
Pricing page
Public prices
Public prices
Public prices
Public prices
Billing unit
Executions: one per run of a whole workflow, whatever its length
Per-user licence with a daily request limit; per-flow or per-bot Process licences
Credits: most module actions use one, the trigger included; routers and error handlers none
Tasks: one per successful action; triggers, polling and built-in tools use none
Free option
No free cloud plan; 14-day trial (1,000 executions), no card; Community Edition self-hosted
Free licence: standard connectors, no sharing, 6,000 actions a day; 30-day Premium trial
Free plan: 1,000 credits a month, 2 active scenarios; no trial stated
Free plan: 100 tasks a month, two-step Zaps, 1 user; 14-day Professional trial, no card
Reference scenario (2,000 runs, annual)
$20/mo on Starter, 2,500 executions (2,000 needed), computed
$15/mo for 1 Premium user (10,000 requests a month needed), computed
$9/mo on Core, 10,000 credits (10,000 needed), computed
$129/mo on Professional, 10K tasks (8,000 tasks needed), computed
Month-to-month price
$24 for Starter; $60 for Pro 10,000 executions
Not published (paid yearly)
$10.59 for Core 10,000 credits ($18.82 Pro, $34.12 Teams)
$193.50 for Professional 10K tasks; from $29.99 for 750 tasks
Usage past the plan
Not stated for Cloud plans
Power Platform Requests add-on, $50 a month (licensing FAQ)
Extra credits at the plan rate plus 25%, manual or auto-purchase
Pay-per-task at 1.25× the base rate (annual) or 2.5× (monthly), up to 3× the tier
Code steps
JavaScript and Python code steps on every plan
C# in custom connectors; PowerShell, Python, JavaScript and .NET scripts in desktop flows
Make Code App (JavaScript or Python) from Core, 2 credits per second of code
Code by Zapier on every plan; 30 seconds of included runtime per step on Professional
SOC 2 / ISO 27001
SOC 2 Type 2 and SOC 3; ISO 27001 not stated
In scope of Microsoft’s SOC 2 Type 2 and ISO 27001
SOC 2 Type II and SOC 3; ISO 27001-certified security program
SOC 2 Type II and SOC 3; ISO 27001 not stated
HIPAA BAA
Not stated
Included by default through the Microsoft Online Services DPA
Not stated
Not offered: Zapier says it cannot sign BAAs
EU data hosting
Every Cloud plan: Frankfurt, Germany (the only stated region)
Environments in the Europe region
Every plan: US or EU data center chosen when the organization is created
Not offered: data stored on AWS in the United States
SSO
SAML and LDAP on Enterprise (Business is self-hosted only)
Sign-in through Microsoft Entra ID
Company SSO (OAuth2 or SAML2) on Enterprise
SAML on Team in the plan table; Enterprise in the FAQs
Workflow export
Workflows download as JSON on every plan
Flows as .zip packages or Dataverse solutions
Scenario blueprints as JSON on every plan
Zaps as JSON on Team and Enterprise
Self-hosting
Yes: Community Edition free on GitHub; Business and Enterprise licences
No
No
No
Bottom line
From its public pages, n8n Cloud has the most predictable per-run price here, with code, AI and webhooks on the $20 Starter plan and a self-hosted edition as an exit. It has no free cloud plan, hosts in Frankfurt only, and keeps SSO and audit logs for Enterprise.
From its public pages, Power Automate brings Microsoft’s compliance file, EU regions and high limits to one $15 per-user licence, plus desktop automation. It is licensed per user and paid yearly, and webhooks and premium connectors need that paid licence.
From its public pages, Make is the lowest-cost way to run our scenario, with branching, error handling, code and an EU region from the $9 Core plan. Every module run counts as a credit, and SSO and audit logs are Enterprise features.
From its public pages, Zapier offers the broadest app directory here and a complete builder on Professional, priced per successful action. Costs grow with action volume, data stays in the US, and the audit log and Zap export start on Team.
Evidence: n8n Cloud: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Power Automate: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Make: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Zapier: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.
scenario plan priced; can be bought online; month-to-month price published; price of extra usage not published; Enterprise priced by sales; the Pro plan card lists workflow history as a Pro addition; the comparison table gives Starter 1 day of it
Free plan and trial
3.0 / 10, Fair
no free plan; 14-day trial, no card needed
Price for 2,000 runs
8.2 / 10, Excellent
$20/mo on Starter (2,500 executions), annual terms: 2,000 runs = 2,000 executions (steps are not counted), within the 2,500 on Starter; assumes the US price from the checkout price feed the page loads ($240 a year); the page itself shows 20€
Workflow building blocks
9.5 / 10, Excellent
2,367 apps listed; branching on the scenario plan; code step on the scenario plan; version history on the scenario plan; retries or error routes on the scenario plan; AI steps on the scenario plan
Compliance and data residency
5.5 / 10, Fair
SOC 2 Type II, HIPAA BAA not listed, EU data storage on the scenario plan (hosted plans store data in Frankfurt, Germany; no other region stated)
Admin, team and exit
6.3 / 10, Good
SSO enterprise or through sales only (the self-hosted Business plan also has it); audit log enterprise or through sales only; team roles on a higher self-serve plan; workflow export on the scenario plan (workflows download as JSON); self-hosted edition; management API
Review
Review from public pages
Written from n8n Cloud's public pages (pricing, security or privacy, and docs) as read on Oct 16, 2026. We did not sign up, and no hands-on run is published yet.
What the public pages show
We read n8n's pricing page and plan comparison, the security page and trust center, and the docs on the Cloud trial, exporting workflows, conditional branches and error handling on Oct 16, 2026; we did not start the trial or build a workflow. The pricing page renders prices in euros (20€ and 50€ a month on annual terms) and then loads the visitor's local price from its checkout provider; for a US visitor that price feed returns $24 a month or $240 a year for Starter and $60 or $600 for Pro, the figures we use. An Internet Archive copy from Oct 15, 2026 shows the same euro page.
The execution model is the main difference from the rest of this category: a run counts once whatever it does. The pages leave two points open. The price of executions beyond a Cloud plan's quota is not stated (only the self-hosted Business plan lists an overage price), and the Pro plan card lists workflow history as a Pro addition while the comparison table gives Starter one day of it.
Strengths
Price does not grow with steps
A run of the whole workflow is one execution, so our five-step scenario uses 2,000 executions and fits Starter (2,500) at $20 a month on annual terms.
vs Zapier: Zapier counts each action as a task and Make each module as a credit.
Code and AI on every plan
JavaScript and Python code steps, custom API requests, cURL import, webhook triggers, the AI Agent node and MCP nodes are checked on Starter.
Unlimited users on every plan
All plans include unlimited users and workflows and every integration; Starter has one shared project, Pro three with admin and editor roles.
vs Zapier: Zapier Professional is a single-user plan.
Self-hosted Community Edition
The same engine is on GitHub to self-host, and workflows download as JSON files that import into any n8n instance.
vs Zapier: Zapier, Make and Power Automate cloud flows run only in the vendor’s cloud.
Things to know
No free cloud plan
n8n Cloud starts with a 14-day trial of Pro features limited to 1,000 executions; the workspace is deleted if you do not upgrade, with 90 days to download workflows.
Workaround: The trial needs no card.
Frankfurt only, no HIPAA stated
Hosted data is stored in Frankfurt, Germany; the trust center lists SOC 2 Type 2 and SOC 3 but no ISO 27001 or HIPAA.
SSO and audit logging need Enterprise
On Cloud, SSO, audit logging, log streaming, custom roles and Git version control are Enterprise features; the Business plan that adds SSO is self-hosted only.
Workaround: Pro adds admin and editor roles for $50 a month (annual).
Over-quota price not stated
The pages do not say what a Cloud plan costs when executions go past the monthly quota.
Workaround: Move up a tier: Pro with 10,000 executions is $50 a month on annual terms.
Pricing reality
n8n Cloud bills by executions a month: one run of the whole workflow, whatever its length. For our scenario, 2,000 runs = 2,000 executions, so Starter (2,500) at $20 a month on annual terms ($240 a year) or $24 month to month, from the US price feed; the page shows the same numbers in euros. Pro costs $50 a month on annual terms for 10,000 executions ($60 monthly) or $120 for 50,000 ($144 monthly). Starter allows 5 concurrent executions and keeps execution logs for 7 days; Pro allows up to 50 and keeps 30 days. Assistant credits for the AI builder are included (1,600 a month on Starter) and more can be bought. Enterprise is priced by sales.
Exit path
Workflows are stored as JSON: any workflow can be downloaded from the editor menu, copied and pasted, or exported with the CLI, and imported into another n8n instance, including the self-hosted Community Edition. Exported files include credential names and IDs, which n8n suggests removing before sharing. After a trial ends, workflows can be downloaded for 90 days.
You need a code-friendly platform you can buy today; Pipedream Workflows no longer takes new subscriptions.
Pick Pipedream Workflows when
You already run workflows there; they keep running until the shutdown on March 31, 2027.
Choose it if
Your workflows have many steps and you want a price per run.
Your team writes JavaScript or Python and wants it inside workflows.
You want the option to self-host the same engine later.
Look elsewhere if
You want a permanent free plan in the cloud.
You need hosting outside the EU, a HIPAA BAA, or SSO below Enterprise.
Bottom line
From its public pages, n8n Cloud has the most predictable per-run price here, with code, AI and webhooks on the $20 Starter plan and a self-hosted edition as an exit. It has no free cloud plan, hosts in Frankfurt only, and keeps SSO and audit logs for Enterprise.
Plan limits at a glance
Limit
As recorded
Billing unit
Executions: one per run of a whole workflow, whatever its length
Free option
No free cloud plan; 14-day trial (1,000 executions), no card; Community Edition self-hosted
Reference scenario (2,000 runs, annual)
$20/mo on Starter, 2,500 executions (2,000 needed), computed
Month-to-month price
$24 for Starter; $60 for Pro 10,000 executions
Usage past the plan
Not stated for Cloud plans
Code steps
JavaScript and Python code steps on every plan
SOC 2 / ISO 27001
SOC 2 Type 2 and SOC 3; ISO 27001 not stated
HIPAA BAA
Not stated
EU data hosting
Every Cloud plan: Frankfurt, Germany (the only stated region)
SSO
SAML and LDAP on Enterprise (Business is self-hosted only)
Workflow export
Workflows download as JSON on every plan
Self-hosting
Yes: Community Edition free on GitHub; Business and Enterprise licences
Read from the vendor's public pages on Oct 16, 2026. No hands-on run is published yet. How we check
We have not published a sign-up run for n8n Cloud yet. The access facts above were read from its sign-up and pricing pages on Oct 16, 2026.
We have not published API calls for n8n Cloud yet.
We read the pricing, trust, help center and developer pages of three workflow automation platforms on the same day and scored them on the same six indicators. What 2,000 five-step runs cost in credits, executions and tasks, where code, SSO and EU hosting sit, and who should pick which.