Pipedream Workflows review
by Pipedream, Inc.Workflow automation
Code-first workflows with Node.js, Python, Go and Bash steps; closed to new sign-ups and subscriptions, and shutting down on March 31, 2027.
- Usage-based
- Prices hidden
What you're paying for
- Saves engineering time (main value)
For existing users only: code-first workflows that keep running until March 31, 2027, with an export tool for the move elsewhere.
Pipedream Workflows let developers mix prebuilt triggers and actions for 3,000+ APIs with code steps in Node.js, Python, Go or Bash, billed by compute time rather than by step. It is no longer sold: Pipedream stopped taking Workflows sign-ups and subscriptions and will shut the product down on March 31, 2027. What existing users still get is a working platform until then, a prorated refund at the shutdown, and an export tool that saves each project’s workflows as JSON for rebuilding elsewhere.
- Code steps in four languagesCode steps run Node.js, Python, Go or Bash inside a workflow, next to prebuilt actions, with If/Else branching (beta), delays, filters and early exits.Evidence: Workflows code and control-flow docs (2026-10-16)
- An export for the migrationProject settings include Export Workflows, which writes a ZIP with a manifest and one JSON file per workflow (triggers, steps, code, props and control flow) to the project’s File Store.Evidence: Export Workflows docs (2026-10-16)
- Best for
- Teams already running Pipedream Workflows that need to plan a migration before March 31, 2027.
- Good to know
- Workflows no longer accepts sign-ups or subscriptions, gets no new features, and shuts down on March 31, 2027.
How Pipedream Workflows compares
Against 3 other products we reviewed in Workflow automation: what you pay for with each, the five access facts, the plan limits we recorded and each review's bottom line. The note under the table says how each one was checked.
| Metric | Pipedream Workflows | Power Automate | Make | n8n Cloud |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| What you're paying for | Saves engineering timeFor existing users only: code-first workflows that keep running until March 31, 2027, with an export tool for the move elsewhere. | Compliance includedAutomation inside Microsoft 365, with HIPAA, ISO 27001, EU regions and Entra ID sign-in covered by Microsoft, from $15 per user a month. | Worth the priceA visual builder for branching, multi-step scenarios at a low price per action, with an EU data center on every plan. | Saves engineering timeWorkflows that mix visual steps with your own code, billed per run rather than per step, with a self-hosted edition as an exit. |
| Overall score | 2.8 | 8.5Best | 7.8 | 6.6 |
| Free option | –Not measured | Free plan | Free plan | 14-day free trial |
| Card to start | –Not measured | –Not measured | –Not measured | No card needed |
| Getting access | –Not measured | Self-serve | Self-serve | Self-serve |
| Starter priceCheapest paid plan | –Not measured | $15/user/mo | $9/mo | $20/mo |
| Pricing model | Usage-based | Per seat | Tiered | Tiered |
| Pricing page | Prices hidden | Public prices | Public prices | Public prices |
| Billing unit | Credits: one per 30 seconds of compute at 256 MB per workflow segment | Per-user licence with a daily request limit; per-flow or per-bot Process licences | Credits: most module actions use one, the trigger included; routers and error handlers none | Executions: one per run of a whole workflow, whatever its length |
| Free option | None: Workflows sign-ups are closed | Free licence: standard connectors, no sharing, 6,000 actions a day; 30-day Premium trial | Free plan: 1,000 credits a month, 2 active scenarios; no trial stated | No free cloud plan; 14-day trial (1,000 executions), no card; Community Edition self-hosted |
| Reference scenario (2,000 runs, annual) | Cannot be priced: no new subscriptions sold | $15/mo for 1 Premium user (10,000 requests a month needed), computed | $9/mo on Core, 10,000 credits (10,000 needed), computed | $20/mo on Starter, 2,500 executions (2,000 needed), computed |
| Month-to-month price | Not published for Workflows | Not published (paid yearly) | $10.59 for Core 10,000 credits ($18.82 Pro, $34.12 Teams) | $24 for Starter; $60 for Pro 10,000 executions |
| Usage past the plan | Not published for Workflows | Power Platform Requests add-on, $50 a month (licensing FAQ) | Extra credits at the plan rate plus 25%, manual or auto-purchase | Not stated for Cloud plans |
| Code steps | Node.js, Python, Go and Bash | C# in custom connectors; PowerShell, Python, JavaScript and .NET scripts in desktop flows | Make Code App (JavaScript or Python) from Core, 2 credits per second of code | JavaScript and Python code steps on every plan |
| SOC 2 / ISO 27001 | SOC 2 Type 2; ISO 27001 only for AWS, not Pipedream | In scope of Microsoft’s SOC 2 Type 2 and ISO 27001 | SOC 2 Type II and SOC 3; ISO 27001-certified security program | SOC 2 Type 2 and SOC 3; ISO 27001 not stated |
| HIPAA BAA | Business customers, on request | Included by default through the Microsoft Online Services DPA | Not stated | Not stated |
| EU data hosting | Not offered: AWS us-east-1 | Environments in the Europe region | Every plan: US or EU data center chosen when the organization is created | Every Cloud plan: Frankfurt, Germany (the only stated region) |
| SSO | SAML or Google on the Business plan | Sign-in through Microsoft Entra ID | Company SSO (OAuth2 or SAML2) on Enterprise | SAML and LDAP on Enterprise (Business is self-hosted only) |
| Workflow export | Export tool: one ZIP of workflow JSON per project, until data deletion | Flows as .zip packages or Dataverse solutions | Scenario blueprints as JSON on every plan | Workflows download as JSON on every plan |
| Self-hosting | No | No | No | Yes: Community Edition free on GitHub; Business and Enterprise licences |
| Bottom line | From its public pages, Pipedream Workflows is closing: no new sign-ups or subscriptions, a shutdown on March 31, 2027 and data deletion by April 30, 2027. Existing users should export each project and plan a move; Pipedream Connect continues. | From its public pages, Power Automate brings Microsoft’s compliance file, EU regions and high limits to one $15 per-user licence, plus desktop automation. It is licensed per user and paid yearly, and webhooks and premium connectors need that paid licence. | From its public pages, Make is the lowest-cost way to run our scenario, with branching, error handling, code and an EU region from the $9 Core plan. Every module run counts as a credit, and SSO and audit logs are Enterprise features. | From its public pages, n8n Cloud has the most predictable per-run price here, with code, AI and webhooks on the $20 Starter plan and a self-hosted edition as an exit. It has no free cloud plan, hosts in Frankfurt only, and keeps SSO and audit logs for Enterprise. |
Evidence: Pipedream Workflows: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Power Automate: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Make: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; n8n Cloud: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.
Score
- Pricing clarity
- 2.0 / 10, Fair
- no longer sold to new customers; scenario plan not priced; not bought online; no month-to-month price published; price of extra usage not published; Workflows plan prices no longer published; the pricing page lists only Connect plans; the auto-retry docs refer to an Advanced plan the pricing page does not list
- Free plan and trial
- 0.0 / 10, Fair
- no longer accepts new sign-ups
- Price for 2,000 runs
- 0.0 / 10, Fair
- cannot be priced: Workflows no longer accepts sign-ups or subscriptions and shuts down on March 31, 2027 (the docs bill one credit per 30 seconds of compute at 256 MB, so about 2,000 credits if each run fits in one)
- Workflow building blocks
- 7.6 / 10, Good
- existing workspaces only: 3,000 apps listed; branching on all plans; code step on all plans; version history on all plans; retries or error routes on higher plans; AI steps not listed
- Compliance and data residency
- 3.8 / 10, Fair
- existing workspaces only: SOC 2 Type II, HIPAA BAA enterprise or through sales only, EU data storage not listed
- Admin, team and exit
- 3.5 / 10, Fair
- existing workspaces only: SSO enterprise or through sales only (Business plan); audit log not listed; team roles on all plans; workflow export on higher plans (needs a plan with File Stores); cloud only; no management API listed
Review
Review from public pages
Written from Pipedream Workflows's public pages (pricing, security or privacy, and docs) as read on Oct 16, 2026. We did not sign up, and no hands-on run is published yet.
What the public pages show
We read Pipedream's pricing page, its Workflows shutdown notice, the plans and pricing docs, and the docs on workflow limits, settings, control flow, code steps, GitHub Sync, export, SSO, workspaces, privacy and security, and HIPAA on Oct 16, 2026; we did not sign up or run a workflow, and Workflows sign-ups are closed.
The notice is direct: Workflows and String shut down on March 31, 2027, Workflows is in maintenance mode, no new sign-ups or subscriptions are accepted, and all Workflows data, including credentials and OAuth tokens, is deleted by April 30, 2027. Subscriptions stay active until the shutdown and then end with a prorated refund; annual subscribers can ask support to cancel early. The pricing page now covers only Pipedream Connect, the developer product for adding integrations to your own app or agent, which the notice says is not affected. We score Workflows as a product a new customer cannot buy, so its free plan and price items are 0.
Strengths
- Code in four languages
Code steps run Node.js 20, Python, Go or Bash, alongside thousands of prebuilt triggers and actions.
vs Make: Make’s Code App and n8n’s code steps run JavaScript or Python.
- Billed by compute, not by step
One credit covers 30 seconds of compute at 256 MB per workflow segment, however many steps run in it; testing in the builder uses no credits.
- Git-backed projects
GitHub Sync serializes workflows to a repository, with development branches, commit history, diffs and merges to production from Pipedream or GitHub.
Things to know
- Shutting down on March 31, 2027
Workflows and String shut down on that date; sign-ups and subscriptions are closed and no new features are planned. Workflows data is deleted by April 30, 2027.
Workaround: Export each project’s workflows as JSON before then; Pipedream Connect is not affected.
- Export needs File Stores
The export tool writes its archive to the project’s File Store, so the plan must include File Stores, and secret props are left out and must be entered again.
- US hosting; SSO and HIPAA on Business
Pipedream runs in AWS us-east-1; SSO and HIPAA BAAs are for Business customers, a plan sold on annual contracts through sales.
Pricing reality
Workflows were billed in credits: one credit per 30 seconds of compute at 256 MB of memory per workflow segment, with more memory multiplying the credits, plus credits for dedicated workers; testing in the builder used none. Prices for Workflows plans are no longer published, so our scenario cannot be priced. Existing subscriptions stay active until March 31, 2027 and then end with a prorated refund; monthly subscribers can cancel themselves, annual subscribers through support. The current pricing page lists only Connect: Free in development, Startup at $99 a month billed annually ($150 monthly) with 10,000 credits and then $0.012 a credit, and Business on an annual contract.
Exit path
Export Workflows in each project’s settings writes a ZIP to the project File Store with a manifest and one JSON file per workflow (triggers, steps, code, configured props and control flow); secret props are omitted. The docs describe the files as a record and a reference for rebuilding on another platform. Projects with GitHub Sync also have their workflows in a repository. All Workflows data, including credentials and OAuth tokens, is deleted by April 30, 2027.
Compared with
- Pick Pipedream Workflows when
- You already run workflows here and need them to keep running until March 31, 2027 while you migrate.
- Pick n8n Cloud when
- You need a code-friendly platform to buy today: JavaScript and Python steps from $20 a month (Starter, annual), with a self-hosted edition.
- Pick Pipedream Workflows when
- Your workflows rely on Go or Bash code steps you cannot replace before the shutdown.
- Pick Make when
- You want a visual builder with routers, error handlers and a Code App from $9 a month (Core, annual), with an EU data center.
Choose it if
- You already run Pipedream Workflows and need time to plan a migration before March 31, 2027.
- You need the export tool’s JSON record of existing workflows to rebuild them elsewhere.
Look elsewhere if
- You are choosing a workflow platform today: Workflows no longer accepts sign-ups or subscriptions.
Bottom line
From its public pages, Pipedream Workflows is closing: no new sign-ups or subscriptions, a shutdown on March 31, 2027 and data deletion by April 30, 2027. Existing users should export each project and plan a move; Pipedream Connect continues.
Plan limits at a glance
| Limit | As recorded |
|---|---|
| Billing unit | Credits: one per 30 seconds of compute at 256 MB per workflow segment |
| Free option | None: Workflows sign-ups are closed |
| Reference scenario (2,000 runs, annual) | Cannot be priced: no new subscriptions sold |
| Month-to-month price | Not published for Workflows |
| Usage past the plan | Not published for Workflows |
| Code steps | Node.js, Python, Go and Bash |
| SOC 2 / ISO 27001 | SOC 2 Type 2; ISO 27001 only for AWS, not Pipedream |
| HIPAA BAA | Business customers, on request |
| EU data hosting | Not offered: AWS us-east-1 |
| SSO | SAML or Google on the Business plan |
| Workflow export | Export tool: one ZIP of workflow JSON per project, until data deletion |
| Self-hosting | No |
Read from the vendor's public pages on Oct 16, 2026. No hands-on run is published yet. How we check
We have not published a sign-up run for Pipedream Workflows yet. The access facts above were read from its sign-up and pricing pages on Oct 16, 2026.
We have not published API calls for Pipedream Workflows yet.
Pipedream Workflows lists 1 plan.
- Pipedream WorkflowsWorkflows (existing subscriptions)No longer soldClosed to new sign-ups and subscriptions; subscriptions end with a prorated refund on March 31, 2027
- Code steps in Node.js, Python, Go and Bash
- 1 credit per 30 seconds of compute at 256 MB per workflow segment
- Export tool: one ZIP of workflow JSON per project
- All Workflows data deleted by April 30, 2027
Prices as listed, USD, excluding tax; observed 2026-10-16.
Source: pipedream.com pricing page. Prices change; the observed date above is when our agent read them.