Workflow automation · Comparison

n8n Cloud vs Zapier

2 products compared side by side: what you pay for with each one first, then the five access facts, entry prices, recorded plan limits and the bottom line of each review. The evidence note under the table says how each product was checked.

Side by side

n8n Cloud vs Zapier: value, access facts, plan limits and bottom lines
Metricn8n CloudZapier
What you're paying forSaves engineering timeWorkflows that mix visual steps with your own code, billed per run rather than per step, with a self-hosted edition as an exit.Built-in reachConnect more than 9,000 apps in multi-step workflows without code, and pay only for actions that succeed.
Overall score6.6Best5.4
Free option14-day free trialFree plan
Card to startNo card needed–Not measured
Getting accessSelf-serveSelf-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan$20/mo$19.99/mo
Pricing modelTieredTiered
Pricing pagePublic pricesPublic prices
Billing unitExecutions: one per run of a whole workflow, whatever its lengthTasks: one per successful action; triggers, polling and built-in tools use none
Free optionNo free cloud plan; 14-day trial (1,000 executions), no card; Community Edition self-hostedFree plan: 100 tasks a month, two-step Zaps, 1 user; 14-day Professional trial, no card
Reference scenario (2,000 runs, annual)$20/mo on Starter, 2,500 executions (2,000 needed), computed$129/mo on Professional, 10K tasks (8,000 tasks needed), computed
Month-to-month price$24 for Starter; $60 for Pro 10,000 executions$193.50 for Professional 10K tasks; from $29.99 for 750 tasks
Usage past the planNot stated for Cloud plansPay-per-task at 1.25× the base rate (annual) or 2.5× (monthly), up to 3× the tier
Code stepsJavaScript and Python code steps on every planCode by Zapier on every plan; 30 seconds of included runtime per step on Professional
SOC 2 / ISO 27001SOC 2 Type 2 and SOC 3; ISO 27001 not statedSOC 2 Type II and SOC 3; ISO 27001 not stated
HIPAA BAANot statedNot offered: Zapier says it cannot sign BAAs
EU data hostingEvery Cloud plan: Frankfurt, Germany (the only stated region)Not offered: data stored on AWS in the United States
SSOSAML and LDAP on Enterprise (Business is self-hosted only)SAML on Team in the plan table; Enterprise in the FAQs
Workflow exportWorkflows download as JSON on every planZaps as JSON on Team and Enterprise
Self-hostingYes: Community Edition free on GitHub; Business and Enterprise licencesNo
Bottom lineFrom its public pages, n8n Cloud has the most predictable per-run price here, with code, AI and webhooks on the $20 Starter plan and a self-hosted edition as an exit. It has no free cloud plan, hosts in Frankfurt only, and keeps SSO and audit logs for Enterprise.From its public pages, Zapier offers the broadest app directory here and a complete builder on Professional, priced per successful action. Costs grow with action volume, data stays in the US, and the audit log and Zap export start on Team.

Evidence: n8n Cloud: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Zapier: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.

When to pick each

In the words of each review, with the date its facts were checked.

  • From our n8n Cloud review

    Checked Oct 16, 2026
    Pick n8n Cloud when
    You want per-run pricing, code steps and unlimited users from $20 a month.
    Pick Zapier when
    You want a permanent free plan and 9,000+ apps without writing code.
  • From our Zapier review

    Checked Oct 16, 2026
    Pick Zapier when
    You want a permanent free plan and 9,000+ apps without writing code.
    Pick n8n Cloud when
    You want to pay per workflow run rather than per action ($20 a month for 2,500 executions on Starter, annual) or self-host later.

Entry price

Baseline: each product's cheapest paid plan, per month. Included usage differs, so read the line under each price.

  • n8n Cloud
    Starter
    $20/mo
    2,500 executions a month, billed annually ($240 a year); $24 month to month; shown as 20€ on the page
    • Unlimited users and workflows, every integration
    • 5 concurrent executions, 1 shared project
    • Code steps, webhook triggers, AI Agent node, n8n API
    • 7 days of execution logs, 1 day of workflow history
  • ZapierLowest price
    Professional
    $19.99/mo
    From 750 tasks a month, billed annually; $29.99 month to month. 10K tasks: $129 annual, $193.50 monthly
    • Multi-step Zaps, Paths, webhooks and premium apps
    • Versions, autoreplay and custom error settings
    • AI by Zapier and code steps with 30 seconds of runtime
    • One user

Prices as listed on each pricing page, in USD per month, excluding tax. Observed: n8n Cloud 2026-10-16, Zapier 2026-10-16.

Which one fits

If you need to start today without a sales call
n8n CloudSelf-serve sign-up, no card needed; the highest score of the 2 self-serve products here (6.6/10).
If you want to try it without entering a card
n8n Cloud14-day free trial, no card needed; scored 6.6/10.
Lowest starter price
Zapier$19.99/mo for the Professional, 750 tasks (billed annually) plan.
Highest overall score
n8n Cloud6.6/10 (Good). The review shows the score breakdown and the run behind it.

Picked by fixed rules from the table above, not by hand. How we score

Full reviews

More in Workflow automation

Add a product

Search by product name or by what it does, such as “email” or “feature flags”. 2 more fit in this comparison.