Email marketing, SMS and automation priced by emails sent rather than contacts stored, with servers in the EU and an ISO 27001 certificate.
Brevo charges for the emails you send each month, so a large list that you email rarely costs less than on contact-based plans: the free plan stores up to 100,000 contacts, and Standard sends 20,001 to 30,000 emails for $79 a month. Standard has unlimited automation, A/B testing, a landing page and no Brevo branding. Its servers are in the EU, it holds ISO 27001:2022, and the DPA is part of the terms, which suits teams with European customers. Transactional email and SMS run from the same account.
Priced by emails, not contactsPlans are priced by monthly email volume; Starter and Standard store up to 500,000 contacts once you send 20,000 or more emails a month, and the free plan stores up to 100,000.Evidence: pricing.md contact limits and pricing API in USD (2026-10-16)
EU servers and ISO 27001:2022The data security page says Brevo’s servers are in the EU and links an ISO 27001:2022 certificate; the DPA is an appendix of the terms of service.Evidence: Data security page and terms of service (2026-10-16)
Full automation from StandardStandard removes the 2,000-contact automation cap and adds A/B testing, send time optimization and a landing page for $18 a month plus the email tier.Evidence: All-features page (2026-10-16)
Best for
Teams with European customers, or with large lists they email a few times a month, who want email, SMS and automation in one account.
Good to know
Standard includes one user; more cost $12 a month each, up to 3. SSO is on Professional as an add-on or on Enterprise.
How Brevo compares
Against 3 other products we reviewed in Email marketing and newsletters: what you pay for with each, the five access facts, the plan limits we recorded and each review's bottom line. The note under the table says how each one was checked.
Worth the priceEmail marketing, SMS and automation priced by emails sent rather than contacts stored, with servers in the EU and an ISO 27001 certificate.
Saves engineering timeEmail marketing on top of a customer data platform: store and order data drive segments and flows, with SOC 2 Type II, SSO and MFA on paid plans.
Easy to adoptAn all-round email marketing tool with forms, landing pages, automation flows and 300+ integrations, priced by how many contacts you store.
Built-in reachA newsletter and email platform for creators: free up to 10,000 subscribers, with paid newsletters, digital products and a recommendation network built in.
Overall score
7.2
7.4Best
6.9
6.8
Free option
Free plan
Free plan
Free plan
Free plan
Card to start
No card needed
–Not measured
–Not measured
–Not measured
Getting access
Self-serve
Self-serve
Self-serve
Self-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan
$9/mo
$20/mo
$13/mo
$39/mo
Pricing model
Tiered
Tiered
Tiered
Tiered
Pricing page
Public prices
Public prices
Public prices
Public prices
Billing unit
Monthly email volume tier; contacts up to the plan limit
Active profile tier, with a monthly email limit
Contact tier, with a monthly email limit of 10 to 15 times the contacts
Confirmed subscriber tier; emails are not counted
Free plan
100,000 contacts, 300 emails a day, automation up to 2,000 contacts
250 active profiles, 500 emails/mo, flows included
250 contacts, 500 emails/mo (250 a day), no automation flows
Up to 10,000 subscribers, unlimited broadcasts, no sequences or automations
Reference scenario (5,000 contacts, monthly)
$79/mo on Standard ($18 + $61 for 20,001 to 30,000 emails)
$100/mo (3,501 to 5,000 active profiles, 50,000 emails)
$100/mo on Standard (60,000 emails)
$89/mo on Creator (3,001 to 5,000 subscribers)
Annual billing
About 10% off ($853 a year for the scenario, computed)
Not stated on the pricing page
Through sales only (Premium, or Standard with 10,000+ contacts)
10 times the monthly price a year (about 17% off)
Automation on the cheapest paid plan
Starter: limited to 2,000 contacts; unlimited from Standard
Flows on every plan
Essentials: flows of up to 4 steps
Creator: unlimited visual automations and sequences
Users on the scenario plan
1 user; up to 3 at $12/mo each
Not stated; custom roles on all plans
5 seats, 4 roles
2 users (Admin or Editor); unlimited on Pro
SMS
Every plan; credits sold separately by destination
Mobile messages billed by credits; $5 a month on the free plan
Add-on from Essentials in select countries; credits billed separately
Listed on Creator; price not stated
Paid newsletters
Not offered
Not offered
Not offered
Every plan; 3.5% + 30¢ per transaction
SOC 2 / ISO 27001
ISO 27001:2022; SOC 2 not stated
SOC 2 Type II; ISO 27001 and ISO 27017
SOC 2 reports (type not stated); ISO 27001
Hosting providers' only (AWS, Cloudflare)
Data location
Servers in the EU
United States; Germany for new accounts (EU Residency)
United States
Not stated; transfers to the US under the DPF or SCCs
SSO
Add-on on Professional (price not published); included on Enterprise
SAML on any paid plan
Enterprise SSO on Premium
Not listed
Contact export
Export button in the account; Export contacts API endpoint
CSV export of lists and segments
CSV export of audiences, segments, tags and groups
CSV export of subscribers
Bottom line
From its public pages, Brevo has the lowest price for our scenario and keeps data in the EU, with unlimited automation from Standard. It includes one user on Standard, and SSO and the Professional total need a conversation with sales.
From its public pages, Klaviyo pairs email and SMS with a customer data platform, with flows on the free plan and SOC 2 Type II, SSO and MFA on paid plans. Its user limit is not stated and its pages disagree on EU storage.
From its public pages, Mailchimp is a broad, familiar email marketing tool with landing pages on every plan and seats with roles on Standard. Multi-step automations start on Standard, overage prices are shown only in the account, and data stays in the US.
From its public pages, Kit is a creator-first platform with the largest free plan in this group and paid newsletters on every plan. Automations start on Creator, and its compliance file relies on its hosting providers.
Evidence: Brevo: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Klaviyo: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Mailchimp: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Kit: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.
price for each list size published; can be bought online; month-to-month price published; no overage charges; SSO is an add-on on Professional with no published price; Professional's total is not stated: the price data lists a $350 base, $149 for the first 150,000 emails and a $109 plan fee
Free plan
7.9 / 10, Good
free plan: 100,000 contacts, 300 emails a day, reaches about 9,000 contacts a month, automations with a cap
Price for 5,000 contacts
4.9 / 10, Fair
$79/mo on Standard: $18 base + $61 for the 20,001 to 30,000 email tier; Starter limits automation to 2,000 contacts
Campaign and growth tools
8.5 / 10, Excellent
A/B testing on the scenario plan; landing pages on the scenario plan; no vendor branding on the scenario plan; SMS on the scenario plan; paid subscriptions not listed
Compliance and data location
7.0 / 10, Good
no SOC 2 stated, ISO 27001, DPA in the terms, data stored in the EU (servers in the EU)
Team access, API and export
6.8 / 10, Good
1 user included, more for a fee; SAML SSO enterprise or through sales only; user roles on the scenario plan; 2FA; API; contact export
Review
Review from public pages
Written from Brevo's public pages (pricing, security or privacy, and docs) as read on Oct 16, 2026. We did not sign up, and no hands-on run is published yet.
What the public pages show
We read Brevo's pricing page, its machine-readable pricing.md and the USD pricing API it links to, the all-features comparison, the data security page, the GDPR page, the terms of service with the DPA, and the developer docs on Oct 16, 2026; we did not sign up or call the API. The help center returned an access error to our requests, so plan facts come from the pricing, features and legal pages.
Brevo's model differs from contact-based tools: you pick a monthly email volume, and the contact limit follows from it. A base price per plan plus a published price per volume tier gives the total: for 25,000 emails, Starter is $9 + $30 = $39 and Standard $18 + $61 = $79 a month. The features page is what decides our scenario: automation on Free and Starter is 'Limited to 2,000 contacts', so a welcome series for a 5,000-contact list needs Standard.
Two prices are not clear from the pages. SSO is an add-on on Professional without a published price, and Professional's own total is not stated: the price data lists a $350 base, $149 for the first 150,000 emails and a $109 plan fee.
Strengths
Data stored in the EU
Brevo states that its servers are in the EU, with backups encrypted, and the DPA is part of its terms.
vs Mailchimp: Mailchimp, Kit and beehiiv store or transfer data to the United States; Klaviyo offers Germany only to new accounts.
Lowest scenario price here
Standard sends 20,001 to 30,000 emails for $79 a month, with unlimited automation and up to 500,000 stored contacts.
vs Mailchimp: Mailchimp Standard and Klaviyo cost $100 for 5,000 contacts; beehiiv Lite $109.
Large free plan for storing contacts
The free plan stores up to 100,000 contacts and sends 300 emails a day, with automation for up to 2,000 contacts.
Many channels in one account
SMS on every plan, plus WhatsApp, push and transactional email through the same API and SMTP relay.
Things to know
One user on Standard
Standard includes one user; up to 3 are possible at $12 a month for each extra user, and Professional includes 10.
Workaround: User permissions are on Standard, so the extra users can have limited access.
Sending stops at the monthly limit
The terms say sending is suspended when you reach the plan’s sending limit, and unused emails do not carry over.
Workaround: Pick a volume tier with room for automated emails, or upgrade before a busy month.
Some prices are not published
The SSO add-on on Professional has no published price, and the Professional total combines a base, email credits and a plan fee without a stated sum.
SOC 2 not stated
The security page lists ISO 27001:2022; we found no SOC 2 report on the pages we read.
Pricing reality
Brevo bills a base price per plan plus a published price per monthly email tier; contacts are not billed. For our scenario, 25,000 emails on Standard cost $18 + $61 = $79 a month, before tax, or $853 a year (computed from the yearly prices). Starter would be $39 but limits automation to 2,000 contacts. Unused emails reset every month and sending stops at the limit. Extra users cost $12 a month each, landing pages beyond the first $24 for 5 more, and SMS and WhatsApp credits are bought separately by destination. Professional starts at a $350 base with email credits and a plan fee listed separately, and Enterprise is priced by sales.
Exit path
The DPA in the terms says you can retrieve your data at any time with the export button in the account, and the API has a documented Export contacts endpoint. After termination Brevo destroys customer data on request within three months; the pricing FAQ says you can cancel at any time.
You want data in the EU for every account and a lower scenario price.
Pick Klaviyo when
You want SSO on any paid plan, a SOC 2 Type II report and automations on the free plan without a contact cap.
Choose it if
Your customers are in Europe and you want data stored in the EU.
You have a large list that you email a few times a month.
You want email, SMS and transactional email from one account.
Look elsewhere if
Several teammates need logins on the scenario plan without per-user add-ons.
Your security review needs SSO without a sales conversation, or a SOC 2 report.
Bottom line
From its public pages, Brevo has the lowest price for our scenario and keeps data in the EU, with unlimited automation from Standard. It includes one user on Standard, and SSO and the Professional total need a conversation with sales.
Plan limits at a glance
Limit
As recorded
Billing unit
Monthly email volume tier; contacts up to the plan limit
Free plan
100,000 contacts, 300 emails a day, automation up to 2,000 contacts
Reference scenario (5,000 contacts, monthly)
$79/mo on Standard ($18 + $61 for 20,001 to 30,000 emails)
Annual billing
About 10% off ($853 a year for the scenario, computed)
Automation on the cheapest paid plan
Starter: limited to 2,000 contacts; unlimited from Standard
Users on the scenario plan
1 user; up to 3 at $12/mo each
SMS
Every plan; credits sold separately by destination
Paid newsletters
Not offered
SOC 2 / ISO 27001
ISO 27001:2022; SOC 2 not stated
Data location
Servers in the EU
SSO
Add-on on Professional (price not published); included on Enterprise
Contact export
Export button in the account; Export contacts API endpoint
Read from the vendor's public pages on Oct 16, 2026. No hands-on run is published yet. How we check
We have not published a sign-up run for Brevo yet. The access facts above were read from its sign-up and pricing pages on Oct 16, 2026.
We have not published API calls for Brevo yet.
Brevo lists 5 plans. The cheapest paid plan, Starter (5,000 emails a month), costs $9/mo.
BRBrevoFree
Free
$0/mo
300 emails a day, up to 100,000 contacts
Automation limited to 2,000 contacts
Forms, segmentation, transactional email API
Brevo branding; 1 user
BRBrevoLowest price
Starter
$9/mo
5,000 emails a month; $39 for 20,001 to 30,000 emails ($9 + $30); about 10% less yearly
Up to 100,000 emails a month
Automation limited to 2,000 contacts
No Brevo logo as a $12/mo add-on
Single user
BRBrevo
Standard
$18/mo
5,000 emails a month; $79 for 20,001 to 30,000 emails ($18 + $61); about 10% less yearly
Unlimited automation, A/B testing, send time optimization
No Brevo branding, 1 landing page
User permissions; up to 3 users at $12/mo each
Click heatmaps, geography and device reports
BRBrevo
Professional
$350/mo
Base price in the price data; email credits (from $149 for 150,000) and a $109 plan fee are listed separately, and the total is not stated
From 150,000 emails a month, 10 users
WhatsApp, popups, web and mobile push
Phone support, 10 landing pages
SSO as an add-on
BRBrevo
Enterprise
Contact sales
SSO and SAML included
Sub-account management and asset sharing
A formal service level agreement
Unlimited contacts
Prices as listed, USD, excluding tax; observed 2026-10-16.
Source: brevo.com pricing page. Prices change; the observed date above is when our agent read them.
We read the pricing, trust, legal, help center and developer pages of three email marketing platforms on the same day and scored them on the same six indicators. What 5,000 contacts with a welcome series cost, where automations, SSO and EU data sit, and who should pick which.