Klaviyo review

by Klaviyo, Inc.Email marketing and newsletters

Email marketing built on a customer data platform for online stores, priced by active profiles: $100 a month for 5,000 with 50,000 emails.

Facts checked
  • Free plan
  • Self-serve
  • Tiered
  • Public prices
Visit site

What you're paying for

  • Saves engineering time (main value)
  • Compliance included

Email marketing on top of a customer data platform: store and order data drive segments and flows, with SOC 2 Type II, SSO and MFA on paid plans.

Klaviyo keeps every contact's profile, store activity and message history in one place, so segments and automated flows can react to what people buy or browse without a separate data tool. Flows and segmentation are on every plan, the free one included, and SMS and other mobile messages run from the same account. Paid email plans add SAML SSO, custom roles and required multi-factor sign-in, and the trust center offers Klaviyo's SOC 2 Type II report and ISO 27001 certificate. For 5,000 active profiles the email plan costs $100 a month with 50,000 emails.

  • Flows and segmentation on every planThe free plan FAQ says you can build automations, segmentation and reports on the free tier; paid plans keep them with higher profile and email limits.Evidence: Pricing page FAQ (2026-10-16)
  • Own SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001The trust center lists SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, ISO 27017 and PCI DSS, and holds a 'Klaviyo 2025 Type 2 SOC 2' report; the trust page says audit reports can be downloaded there.Evidence: trust.klaviyo.com and klaviyo.com/trust (2026-10-16)
  • SSO and required MFA on paid plansSAML SSO needs a paid plan, any tier; multi-factor authentication is required for paid accounts, and custom user roles are on all plans.Evidence: Help center: single sign-on, MFA and custom roles articles (2026-10-16)
Best for
Online stores that want email and SMS automations driven by order and browsing data, and a security file to show customers or auditors.
Good to know
Pricing follows active profiles and messages, so the bill rises with the list; the public pages do not state how many users a plan includes.

How Klaviyo compares

Against 3 other products we reviewed in Email marketing and newsletters: what you pay for with each, the five access facts, the plan limits we recorded and each review's bottom line. The note under the table says how each one was checked.

Klaviyo compared with Brevo, Mailchimp, Kit
MetricKlaviyoBrevoMailchimpKit
What you're paying forSaves engineering timeEmail marketing on top of a customer data platform: store and order data drive segments and flows, with SOC 2 Type II, SSO and MFA on paid plans.Worth the priceEmail marketing, SMS and automation priced by emails sent rather than contacts stored, with servers in the EU and an ISO 27001 certificate.Easy to adoptAn all-round email marketing tool with forms, landing pages, automation flows and 300+ integrations, priced by how many contacts you store.Built-in reachA newsletter and email platform for creators: free up to 10,000 subscribers, with paid newsletters, digital products and a recommendation network built in.
Overall score7.4Best7.26.96.8
Free optionFree planFree planFree planFree plan
Card to start–Not measuredNo card needed–Not measured–Not measured
Getting accessSelf-serveSelf-serveSelf-serveSelf-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan$20/mo$9/mo$13/mo$39/mo
Pricing modelTieredTieredTieredTiered
Pricing pagePublic pricesPublic pricesPublic pricesPublic prices
Billing unitActive profile tier, with a monthly email limitMonthly email volume tier; contacts up to the plan limitContact tier, with a monthly email limit of 10 to 15 times the contactsConfirmed subscriber tier; emails are not counted
Free plan250 active profiles, 500 emails/mo, flows included100,000 contacts, 300 emails a day, automation up to 2,000 contacts250 contacts, 500 emails/mo (250 a day), no automation flowsUp to 10,000 subscribers, unlimited broadcasts, no sequences or automations
Reference scenario (5,000 contacts, monthly)$100/mo (3,501 to 5,000 active profiles, 50,000 emails)$79/mo on Standard ($18 + $61 for 20,001 to 30,000 emails)$100/mo on Standard (60,000 emails)$89/mo on Creator (3,001 to 5,000 subscribers)
Annual billingNot stated on the pricing pageAbout 10% off ($853 a year for the scenario, computed)Through sales only (Premium, or Standard with 10,000+ contacts)10 times the monthly price a year (about 17% off)
Automation on the cheapest paid planFlows on every planStarter: limited to 2,000 contacts; unlimited from StandardEssentials: flows of up to 4 stepsCreator: unlimited visual automations and sequences
Users on the scenario planNot stated; custom roles on all plans1 user; up to 3 at $12/mo each5 seats, 4 roles2 users (Admin or Editor); unlimited on Pro
SMSMobile messages billed by credits; $5 a month on the free planEvery plan; credits sold separately by destinationAdd-on from Essentials in select countries; credits billed separatelyListed on Creator; price not stated
Paid newslettersNot offeredNot offeredNot offeredEvery plan; 3.5% + 30¢ per transaction
SOC 2 / ISO 27001SOC 2 Type II; ISO 27001 and ISO 27017ISO 27001:2022; SOC 2 not statedSOC 2 reports (type not stated); ISO 27001Hosting providers' only (AWS, Cloudflare)
Data locationUnited States; Germany for new accounts (EU Residency)Servers in the EUUnited StatesNot stated; transfers to the US under the DPF or SCCs
SSOSAML on any paid planAdd-on on Professional (price not published); included on EnterpriseEnterprise SSO on PremiumNot listed
Contact exportCSV export of lists and segmentsExport button in the account; Export contacts API endpointCSV export of audiences, segments, tags and groupsCSV export of subscribers
Bottom lineFrom its public pages, Klaviyo pairs email and SMS with a customer data platform, with flows on the free plan and SOC 2 Type II, SSO and MFA on paid plans. Its user limit is not stated and its pages disagree on EU storage.From its public pages, Brevo has the lowest price for our scenario and keeps data in the EU, with unlimited automation from Standard. It includes one user on Standard, and SSO and the Professional total need a conversation with sales.From its public pages, Mailchimp is a broad, familiar email marketing tool with landing pages on every plan and seats with roles on Standard. Multi-step automations start on Standard, overage prices are shown only in the account, and data stays in the US.From its public pages, Kit is a creator-first platform with the largest free plan in this group and paid newsletters on every plan. Automations start on Creator, and its compliance file relies on its hosting providers.

Evidence: Klaviyo: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Brevo: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Mailchimp: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Kit: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.

Score

Score breakdown
Pricing clarity
9.0 / 10, Excellent
price for each list size published; can be bought online; month-to-month price published; going over moves you to a published tier; the free plan's mobile messages are $5 a month on the page and 150 SMS/MMS credits a month in the page's structured data
Free plan
6.2 / 10, Good
free plan: 250 contacts, 500 emails a month, automations
Price for 5,000 contacts
4.1 / 10, Fair
$100/mo on Email (3,501 to 5,000 active profiles): tier with 50,000 emails a month; flows on every plan
Campaign and growth tools
8.5 / 10, Excellent
A/B testing on the scenario plan; landing pages on the scenario plan; no vendor branding on the scenario plan; SMS on the scenario plan; paid subscriptions not listed
Compliance and data location
8.5 / 10, Excellent
own SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, DPA in the terms, EU storage with conditions (Germany offered to new accounts at creation as EU Residency services, process not stated; the privacy FAQ says US only)
Team access, API and export
8.0 / 10, Excellent
number of users not stated; SAML SSO on the scenario plan; user roles on the scenario plan; 2FA; API; contact export

Review

Review from public pages

Written from Klaviyo's public pages (pricing, security or privacy, and docs) as read on Oct 16, 2026. We did not sign up, and no hands-on run is published yet.

What the public pages show

We read Klaviyo's pricing page with its calculator and the US price table it loads, the trust page and trust center, the Data Processing Agreement, the sub-processor list, the privacy FAQ, and help center articles on upgrade preferences, free and paid plans, SSO, MFA, custom roles, landing pages, A/B tests, exports and migrating off Klaviyo on Oct 16, 2026; we did not sign up or call the API.

The calculator's price table is detailed: email plans move up in tiers (251 to 500, 501 to 1,000 and so on), each with its own email limit, and 3,501 to 5,000 active profiles cost $100 a month with 50,000 emails. The billing article explains what happens at a limit: profile tiers are upgraded when the billing cycle renews, and for messages you choose between auto-upgrade (on by default), a one-time 'flex' purchase at your current unit rate, or stopping sends.

A few points need a question. The page lists $5 of mobile messages a month on the free plan while its structured data says 150 SMS/MMS credits. The sub-processor list (Sep 11, 2026) offers a German data center to new accounts at creation as part of 'EU Residency services', while the privacy FAQ (updated June 16, 2026) says Klaviyo does not store data outside the United States. The pages do not say how many users a plan includes.

Strengths

  • Automations on the free plan

    Flows, segmentation and web forms are available on the free plan for up to 250 active profiles and 500 emails a month.

    vs Mailchimp: Mailchimp lists no automation flows on its Free plan, and Brevo caps free automation at 2,000 contacts.

  • Own SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001

    The trust center lists SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, ISO 27017 and PCI DSS, with reports downloadable from the self-service trust center.

    vs Mailchimp: Mailchimp states SOC 2 reports without the type; Kit names only its hosting providers’ certifications.

  • SSO on any paid plan

    SAML SSO through your identity provider is available on any paid plan, and MFA is required for paid accounts.

    vs Mailchimp: Mailchimp puts SSO on Premium; Brevo and beehiiv on their top plans.

  • Published path for growth

    Going over a tier moves you to the next published tier, or lets you buy one-time extra messages at your current unit rate.

Things to know

  • User limit not stated

    The pricing page and help articles we read describe roles and permissions but do not say how many users a plan includes.

    Workaround: Ask Klaviyo before buying if several people need their own logins.

  • EU storage is unclear

    The sub-processor list offers Germany to new accounts at creation as 'EU Residency services', while the privacy FAQ says data is stored only in the United States; how to get EU storage is not stated.

    Workaround: Existing accounts stay in the US, so decide before creating the account.

  • No free trial of a paid plan

    The pricing page offers the free plan, not a trial of the paid plans.

    Workaround: The free plan has flows and segmentation, so most features can be tried at 250 profiles.

Pricing reality

Klaviyo bills a monthly email plan by active profiles, the contacts who can receive marketing, with an email limit per tier. For our scenario, 3,501 to 5,000 active profiles cost $100 a month with 50,000 emails, before tax. The free plan stops at 250 profiles and 500 emails a month, and going over stops sending until you upgrade or the month resets. Paid accounts are upgraded to the next tier when the profile count passes the limit at renewal, and message overages are auto-upgraded by default. SMS, WhatsApp and RCS are billed per send by destination, and Composer, the AI add-on, is $20 a month. The pricing page does not state an annual price.

Exit path

Lists and segments can be exported to CSV, and the 'How to migrate off of Klaviyo' article walks through exporting contacts, suppression lists, templates and analytics, and porting an SMS number. The API supports private keys and OAuth with scoped permissions.

Compared with

  • Pick Klaviyo when
    You want flows on the free plan, SSO on any paid plan and a SOC 2 Type II report, at the same $100 for 5,000 contacts.
    Pick Mailchimp when
    You want 5 seats with roles stated on the plan and landing pages free on every plan.
  • Pick Klaviyo when
    You want SSO without a sales call and automations on the free plan without a contact cap.
    Pick Brevo when
    You want data stored in the EU for every account and a lower scenario price ($79 on Standard).

Choose it if

  • You run an online store and want flows driven by orders and browsing.
  • Your security review asks for a SOC 2 Type II report, SSO and MFA.
  • You want email and SMS from one account and one customer profile.

Look elsewhere if

  • You need to know the user limit or EU storage terms before signing up.
  • You mainly publish a newsletter and want paid subscriptions.

Bottom line

From its public pages, Klaviyo pairs email and SMS with a customer data platform, with flows on the free plan and SOC 2 Type II, SSO and MFA on paid plans. Its user limit is not stated and its pages disagree on EU storage.

Plan limits at a glance

LimitAs recorded
Billing unitActive profile tier, with a monthly email limit
Free plan250 active profiles, 500 emails/mo, flows included
Reference scenario (5,000 contacts, monthly)$100/mo (3,501 to 5,000 active profiles, 50,000 emails)
Annual billingNot stated on the pricing page
Automation on the cheapest paid planFlows on every plan
Users on the scenario planNot stated; custom roles on all plans
SMSMobile messages billed by credits; $5 a month on the free plan
Paid newslettersNot offered
SOC 2 / ISO 27001SOC 2 Type II; ISO 27001 and ISO 27017
Data locationUnited States; Germany for new accounts (EU Residency)
SSOSAML on any paid plan
Contact exportCSV export of lists and segments

Read from the vendor's public pages on Oct 16, 2026. No hands-on run is published yet. How we check

Klaviyo lists 4 plans. The cheapest paid plan, Email (251 to 500 active profiles), costs $20/mo.

  • KlaviyoFree
    Free
    $0/mo
    • 250 active profiles, 500 emails a month
    • Flows, segmentation and web forms
    • $5 of mobile messages and $5 of Composer usage a month
    • Klaviyo branding in emails; email support for the first 60 days
  • KlaviyoLowest price
    Email
    $20/mo
    251 to 500 active profiles, 5,000 emails a month; $100 for 3,501 to 5,000 profiles (50,000 emails)
    • Flows, campaigns, A/B tests and segmentation
    • No Klaviyo branding in emails and forms
    • SAML SSO, custom roles, required MFA
    • Email and chat support
  • Klaviyo
    Mobile messages
    Usage
    SMS, MMS, WhatsApp and RCS priced per send by destination in the pricing calculator
    • Added to an email plan
    • Credits per message vary by country and channel
  • Klaviyo
    Composer
    $20/mo
    Optional AI add-on; more usage in $10 increments
    • Creates campaigns and flows from a prompt
    • Scheduled and recurring analysis tasks

Prices as listed, USD, excluding tax; observed 2026-10-16.

Source: klaviyo.com pricing page. Prices change; the observed date above is when our agent read them.

Visit site