Email marketing and newsletters · Comparison

Kit vs Klaviyo

2 products compared side by side: what you pay for with each one first, then the five access facts, entry prices, recorded plan limits and the bottom line of each review. The evidence note under the table says how each product was checked.

Side by side

Kit vs Klaviyo: value, access facts, plan limits and bottom lines
MetricKitKlaviyo
What you're paying forBuilt-in reachA newsletter and email platform for creators: free up to 10,000 subscribers, with paid newsletters, digital products and a recommendation network built in.Saves engineering timeEmail marketing on top of a customer data platform: store and order data drive segments and flows, with SOC 2 Type II, SSO and MFA on paid plans.
Overall score6.87.4Best
Free optionFree planFree plan
Card to start–Not measured–Not measured
Getting accessSelf-serveSelf-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan$39/mo$20/mo
Pricing modelTieredTiered
Pricing pagePublic pricesPublic prices
Billing unitConfirmed subscriber tier; emails are not countedActive profile tier, with a monthly email limit
Free planUp to 10,000 subscribers, unlimited broadcasts, no sequences or automations250 active profiles, 500 emails/mo, flows included
Reference scenario (5,000 contacts, monthly)$89/mo on Creator (3,001 to 5,000 subscribers)$100/mo (3,501 to 5,000 active profiles, 50,000 emails)
Annual billing10 times the monthly price a year (about 17% off)Not stated on the pricing page
Automation on the cheapest paid planCreator: unlimited visual automations and sequencesFlows on every plan
Users on the scenario plan2 users (Admin or Editor); unlimited on ProNot stated; custom roles on all plans
SMSListed on Creator; price not statedMobile messages billed by credits; $5 a month on the free plan
Paid newslettersEvery plan; 3.5% + 30¢ per transactionNot offered
SOC 2 / ISO 27001Hosting providers' only (AWS, Cloudflare)SOC 2 Type II; ISO 27001 and ISO 27017
Data locationNot stated; transfers to the US under the DPF or SCCsUnited States; Germany for new accounts (EU Residency)
SSONot listedSAML on any paid plan
Contact exportCSV export of subscribersCSV export of lists and segments
Bottom lineFrom its public pages, Kit is a creator-first platform with the largest free plan in this group and paid newsletters on every plan. Automations start on Creator, and its compliance file relies on its hosting providers.From its public pages, Klaviyo pairs email and SMS with a customer data platform, with flows on the free plan and SOC 2 Type II, SSO and MFA on paid plans. Its user limit is not stated and its pages disagree on EU storage.

Evidence: Kit: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Klaviyo: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.

Entry price

Baseline: each product's cheapest paid plan, per month. Included usage differs, so read the line under each price.

  • Kit
    Creator
    $39/mo
    1,000 subscribers; $33/mo billed yearly ($390); $89/mo for 3,001 to 5,000 subscribers
    • Unlimited visual automations and email sequences
    • Remove Kit branding, 2 users
    • SMS marketing, RSS campaigns, 100+ apps
    • 24/7 email and chat support
  • KlaviyoLowest price
    Email
    $20/mo
    251 to 500 active profiles, 5,000 emails a month; $100 for 3,501 to 5,000 profiles (50,000 emails)
    • Flows, campaigns, A/B tests and segmentation
    • No Klaviyo branding in emails and forms
    • SAML SSO, custom roles, required MFA
    • Email and chat support

Prices as listed on each pricing page, in USD per month, excluding tax. Observed: Kit 2026-10-16, Klaviyo 2026-10-16.

Which one fits

If you need to start today without a sales call
KlaviyoSelf-serve sign-up; the highest score of the 2 self-serve products here (7.4/10).
Lowest starter price
Klaviyo$20/mo for the Email (251 to 500 active profiles) plan.
Highest overall score
Klaviyo7.4/10 (Good). The review shows the score breakdown and the run behind it.

Picked by fixed rules from the table above, not by hand. How we score

Full reviews

More in Email marketing and newsletters

Add a product

Search by product name or by what it does, such as “email” or “feature flags”. 2 more fit in this comparison.