Email marketing and newsletters · Comparison

beehiiv vs Kit

2 products compared side by side: what you pay for with each one first, then the five access facts, entry prices, recorded plan limits and the bottom line of each review. The evidence note under the table says how each product was checked.

Side by side

beehiiv vs Kit: value, access facts, plan limits and bottom lines
MetricbeehiivKit
What you're paying forBuilt-in reachA newsletter business in one place: website, ad network, paid subscriptions, referrals and recommendations, with unlimited sends on every plan.Built-in reachA newsletter and email platform for creators: free up to 10,000 subscribers, with paid newsletters, digital products and a recommendation network built in.
Overall score6.26.8Best
Free optionFree planFree plan
Card to startNo card needed–Not measured
Getting accessSelf-serveSelf-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan$59/mo$39/mo
Pricing modelTieredTiered
Pricing pagePublic pricesPublic prices
Billing unitSubscriber tier; unlimited sendsConfirmed subscriber tier; emails are not counted
Free plan2,500 subscribers, unlimited sends, welcome email onlyUp to 10,000 subscribers, unlimited broadcasts, no sequences or automations
Reference scenario (5,000 contacts, monthly)$109/mo on Lite (up to 5,000 subscribers)$89/mo on Creator (3,001 to 5,000 subscribers)
Annual billingUp to 20% off ($95/mo for the scenario on Lite)10 times the monthly price a year (about 17% off)
Automation on the cheapest paid planLite: 10 live custom automationsCreator: unlimited visual automations and sequences
Users on the scenario plan2 seats on Lite; 10 on Pro2 users (Admin or Editor); unlimited on Pro
SMSNot offeredListed on Creator; price not stated
Paid newslettersFrom Lite, 0% take rate (Stripe fees apply)Every plan; 3.5% + 30¢ per transaction
SOC 2 / ISO 27001SOC 2 Type 2 (since Jan 22, 2026); ISO 27001 not statedHosting providers' only (AWS, Cloudflare)
Data locationUnited States (AWS)Not stated; transfers to the US under the DPF or SCCs
SSOEnterprise onlyNot listed
Contact exportData exports on every planCSV export of subscribers
Bottom lineFrom its public pages, beehiiv is a newsletter business platform with unlimited sends and monetization from Lite, backed by a SOC 2 Type 2 report. Branding removal starts on Pro and team controls on Enterprise.From its public pages, Kit is a creator-first platform with the largest free plan in this group and paid newsletters on every plan. Automations start on Creator, and its compliance file relies on its hosting providers.

Evidence: beehiiv: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Kit: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.

When to pick each

In the words of each review, with the date its facts were checked.

  • From our beehiiv review

    Checked Oct 16, 2026
    Pick beehiiv when
    You want an ad network, paid subscriptions with no beehiiv fee, and a SOC 2 Type 2 report from the vendor.
    Pick Kit when
    You want a larger free plan (10,000 subscribers), SMS, and a lower price at 5,000 subscribers ($89 on Creator).
  • From our Kit review

    Checked Oct 16, 2026
    Pick Kit when
    You want a larger free plan (10,000 subscribers), SMS on Creator, and a lower price at 5,000 subscribers ($89 versus $109).
    Pick beehiiv when
    You want a SOC 2 Type 2 report from the vendor, an ad network, and no transaction fee on paid subscriptions.

Entry price

Baseline: each product's cheapest paid plan, per month. Included usage differs, so read the line under each price.

  • beehiiv
    Lite
    $59/mo
    1,000 subscribers; $49/mo billed yearly; $109/mo ($95 yearly) for up to 5,000 subscribers
    • 10 live automations, A/B testing, publish to segments
    • Ad network, paid subscriptions (0% take rate), referral program
    • Custom domains, 5 custom pages, 3 webhooks
    • 2 seats, 3 publications
  • KitLowest price
    Creator
    $39/mo
    1,000 subscribers; $33/mo billed yearly ($390); $89/mo for 3,001 to 5,000 subscribers
    • Unlimited visual automations and email sequences
    • Remove Kit branding, 2 users
    • SMS marketing, RSS campaigns, 100+ apps
    • 24/7 email and chat support

Prices as listed on each pricing page, in USD per month, excluding tax. Observed: beehiiv 2026-10-16, Kit 2026-10-16.

Which one fits

If you need to start today without a sales call
KitSelf-serve sign-up; the highest score of the 2 self-serve products here (6.8/10).
If you want to try it without entering a card
beehiivFree plan, no card needed; scored 6.2/10.
Lowest starter price
Kit$39/mo for the Creator (1,000 subscribers) plan.
Highest overall score
Kit6.8/10 (Good). The review shows the score breakdown and the run behind it.

Picked by fixed rules from the table above, not by hand. How we score

Full reviews

More in Email marketing and newsletters

Add a product

Search by product name or by what it does, such as “email” or “feature flags”. 2 more fit in this comparison.