Email marketing and newsletters · Comparison
beehiiv vs Klaviyo
2 products compared side by side: what you pay for with each one first, then the five access facts, entry prices, recorded plan limits and the bottom line of each review. The evidence note under the table says how each product was checked.
Side by side
| Metric | beehiiv | Klaviyo |
|---|---|---|
| What you're paying for | Built-in reachA newsletter business in one place: website, ad network, paid subscriptions, referrals and recommendations, with unlimited sends on every plan. | Saves engineering timeEmail marketing on top of a customer data platform: store and order data drive segments and flows, with SOC 2 Type II, SSO and MFA on paid plans. |
| Overall score | 6.2 | 7.4Best |
| Free option | Free plan | Free plan |
| Card to start | No card needed | –Not measured |
| Getting access | Self-serve | Self-serve |
| Starter priceCheapest paid plan | $59/mo | $20/mo |
| Pricing model | Tiered | Tiered |
| Pricing page | Public prices | Public prices |
| Billing unit | Subscriber tier; unlimited sends | Active profile tier, with a monthly email limit |
| Free plan | 2,500 subscribers, unlimited sends, welcome email only | 250 active profiles, 500 emails/mo, flows included |
| Reference scenario (5,000 contacts, monthly) | $109/mo on Lite (up to 5,000 subscribers) | $100/mo (3,501 to 5,000 active profiles, 50,000 emails) |
| Annual billing | Up to 20% off ($95/mo for the scenario on Lite) | Not stated on the pricing page |
| Automation on the cheapest paid plan | Lite: 10 live custom automations | Flows on every plan |
| Users on the scenario plan | 2 seats on Lite; 10 on Pro | Not stated; custom roles on all plans |
| SMS | Not offered | Mobile messages billed by credits; $5 a month on the free plan |
| Paid newsletters | From Lite, 0% take rate (Stripe fees apply) | Not offered |
| SOC 2 / ISO 27001 | SOC 2 Type 2 (since Jan 22, 2026); ISO 27001 not stated | SOC 2 Type II; ISO 27001 and ISO 27017 |
| Data location | United States (AWS) | United States; Germany for new accounts (EU Residency) |
| SSO | Enterprise only | SAML on any paid plan |
| Contact export | Data exports on every plan | CSV export of lists and segments |
| Bottom line | From its public pages, beehiiv is a newsletter business platform with unlimited sends and monetization from Lite, backed by a SOC 2 Type 2 report. Branding removal starts on Pro and team controls on Enterprise. | From its public pages, Klaviyo pairs email and SMS with a customer data platform, with flows on the free plan and SOC 2 Type II, SSO and MFA on paid plans. Its user limit is not stated and its pages disagree on EU storage. |
Evidence: beehiiv: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Klaviyo: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.
Entry price
Baseline: each product's cheapest paid plan, per month. Included usage differs, so read the line under each price.
- beehiivLite$59/mo1,000 subscribers; $49/mo billed yearly; $109/mo ($95 yearly) for up to 5,000 subscribers
- 10 live automations, A/B testing, publish to segments
- Ad network, paid subscriptions (0% take rate), referral program
- Custom domains, 5 custom pages, 3 webhooks
- 2 seats, 3 publications
- KlaviyoLowest priceEmail$20/mo251 to 500 active profiles, 5,000 emails a month; $100 for 3,501 to 5,000 profiles (50,000 emails)
- Flows, campaigns, A/B tests and segmentation
- No Klaviyo branding in emails and forms
- SAML SSO, custom roles, required MFA
- Email and chat support
Prices as listed on each pricing page, in USD per month, excluding tax. Observed: beehiiv 2026-10-16, Klaviyo 2026-10-16.
Which one fits
- If you need to start today without a sales call
- KlaviyoSelf-serve sign-up; the highest score of the 2 self-serve products here (7.4/10).
- If you want to try it without entering a card
- beehiivFree plan, no card needed; scored 6.2/10.
- Lowest starter price
- Klaviyo$20/mo for the Email (251 to 500 active profiles) plan.
- Highest overall score
- Klaviyo7.4/10 (Good). The review shows the score breakdown and the run behind it.
Picked by fixed rules from the table above, not by hand. How we score
Full reviews
More in Email marketing and newsletters
Add a product
Search by product name or by what it does, such as “email” or “feature flags”. 2 more fit in this comparison.