Mailchimp review

by Intuit Mailchimp (The Rocket Science Group LLC)Email marketing and newsletters

Email marketing priced by contact tier, with automation flows, landing pages, A/B testing and 300+ integrations; Standard costs $100 a month for 5,000 contacts.

Facts checked
  • Free plan
  • Self-serve
  • Tiered
  • Public prices
Visit site

What you're paying for

  • Easy to adopt (main value)
  • Built-in reach

An all-round email marketing tool with forms, landing pages, automation flows and 300+ integrations, priced by how many contacts you store.

Mailchimp puts the pieces a small business needs for email marketing in one account: signup forms and landing pages on every plan, a template library, scheduling and A/B testing from Essentials, and automation flows that grow from 4 steps on Essentials to 200 on Standard. It connects to 300+ apps such as Shopify, WooCommerce and Stripe. Each plan is priced by contact tier with a monthly email limit of 10 to 15 times the contacts, and Standard costs $100 a month for 5,000 contacts.

  • Landing pages and forms on every planThe help center says landing pages are free to all Mailchimp users, and the plan table lists popup forms on every plan, Free included.Evidence: Help center: About Landing Pages; pricing page plan table (2026-10-16)
  • 300+ integrations listed on every planThe plan table lists 300+ integrations on Free, Essentials, Standard and Premium, with Shopify, WooCommerce, Canva, Stripe and Salesforce among the most popular.Evidence: Pricing page plan table (2026-10-16)
  • Automation flows that grow with the planEssentials allows 4 steps per flow; Standard allows 200 steps, up to 3 triggers and conditional or percentage splits, with flow templates for email and SMS.Evidence: Help center: Create a Marketing Automation Flow (2026-10-16)
Best for
Small businesses that want forms, landing pages, newsletters and simple automations in one familiar tool, with room to add seats and roles.
Good to know
Automation flows beyond 4 steps start on Standard, and charges for going over a contact or send limit are shown only inside the account.

How Mailchimp compares

Against 3 other products we reviewed in Email marketing and newsletters: what you pay for with each, the five access facts, the plan limits we recorded and each review's bottom line. The note under the table says how each one was checked.

Mailchimp compared with Klaviyo, Brevo, Kit
MetricMailchimpKlaviyoBrevoKit
What you're paying forEasy to adoptAn all-round email marketing tool with forms, landing pages, automation flows and 300+ integrations, priced by how many contacts you store.Saves engineering timeEmail marketing on top of a customer data platform: store and order data drive segments and flows, with SOC 2 Type II, SSO and MFA on paid plans.Worth the priceEmail marketing, SMS and automation priced by emails sent rather than contacts stored, with servers in the EU and an ISO 27001 certificate.Built-in reachA newsletter and email platform for creators: free up to 10,000 subscribers, with paid newsletters, digital products and a recommendation network built in.
Overall score6.97.4Best7.26.8
Free optionFree planFree planFree planFree plan
Card to start–Not measured–Not measuredNo card needed–Not measured
Getting accessSelf-serveSelf-serveSelf-serveSelf-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan$13/mo$20/mo$9/mo$39/mo
Pricing modelTieredTieredTieredTiered
Pricing pagePublic pricesPublic pricesPublic pricesPublic prices
Billing unitContact tier, with a monthly email limit of 10 to 15 times the contactsActive profile tier, with a monthly email limitMonthly email volume tier; contacts up to the plan limitConfirmed subscriber tier; emails are not counted
Free plan250 contacts, 500 emails/mo (250 a day), no automation flows250 active profiles, 500 emails/mo, flows included100,000 contacts, 300 emails a day, automation up to 2,000 contactsUp to 10,000 subscribers, unlimited broadcasts, no sequences or automations
Reference scenario (5,000 contacts, monthly)$100/mo on Standard (60,000 emails)$100/mo (3,501 to 5,000 active profiles, 50,000 emails)$79/mo on Standard ($18 + $61 for 20,001 to 30,000 emails)$89/mo on Creator (3,001 to 5,000 subscribers)
Annual billingThrough sales only (Premium, or Standard with 10,000+ contacts)Not stated on the pricing pageAbout 10% off ($853 a year for the scenario, computed)10 times the monthly price a year (about 17% off)
Automation on the cheapest paid planEssentials: flows of up to 4 stepsFlows on every planStarter: limited to 2,000 contacts; unlimited from StandardCreator: unlimited visual automations and sequences
Users on the scenario plan5 seats, 4 rolesNot stated; custom roles on all plans1 user; up to 3 at $12/mo each2 users (Admin or Editor); unlimited on Pro
SMSAdd-on from Essentials in select countries; credits billed separatelyMobile messages billed by credits; $5 a month on the free planEvery plan; credits sold separately by destinationListed on Creator; price not stated
Paid newslettersNot offeredNot offeredNot offeredEvery plan; 3.5% + 30¢ per transaction
SOC 2 / ISO 27001SOC 2 reports (type not stated); ISO 27001SOC 2 Type II; ISO 27001 and ISO 27017ISO 27001:2022; SOC 2 not statedHosting providers' only (AWS, Cloudflare)
Data locationUnited StatesUnited States; Germany for new accounts (EU Residency)Servers in the EUNot stated; transfers to the US under the DPF or SCCs
SSOEnterprise SSO on PremiumSAML on any paid planAdd-on on Professional (price not published); included on EnterpriseNot listed
Contact exportCSV export of audiences, segments, tags and groupsCSV export of lists and segmentsExport button in the account; Export contacts API endpointCSV export of subscribers
Bottom lineFrom its public pages, Mailchimp is a broad, familiar email marketing tool with landing pages on every plan and seats with roles on Standard. Multi-step automations start on Standard, overage prices are shown only in the account, and data stays in the US.From its public pages, Klaviyo pairs email and SMS with a customer data platform, with flows on the free plan and SOC 2 Type II, SSO and MFA on paid plans. Its user limit is not stated and its pages disagree on EU storage.From its public pages, Brevo has the lowest price for our scenario and keeps data in the EU, with unlimited automation from Standard. It includes one user on Standard, and SSO and the Professional total need a conversation with sales.From its public pages, Kit is a creator-first platform with the largest free plan in this group and paid newsletters on every plan. Automations start on Creator, and its compliance file relies on its hosting providers.

Evidence: Mailchimp: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Klaviyo: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Brevo: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Kit: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.

Score

Score breakdown
Pricing clarity
8.0 / 10, Excellent
price for each list size published; can be bought online; month-to-month price published; overage charged at a rate not shown publicly; the automation-flow help article says SMS needs Standard or higher; the SMS and plan articles say Essentials or higher
Free plan
5.2 / 10, Fair
free plan: 250 contacts, 500 emails a month (250 a day), no automations, 14-day trial of paid plans
Price for 5,000 contacts
4.1 / 10, Fair
$100/mo on Standard: 5,000-contact tier with 60,000 emails a month; Essentials ($75 at this size) allows 4 steps per automation flow, fewer than three emails and two delays need
Campaign and growth tools
8.5 / 10, Excellent
A/B testing on the scenario plan; landing pages on the scenario plan; no vendor branding on the scenario plan; SMS on the scenario plan; paid subscriptions not listed
Compliance and data location
6.5 / 10, Good
SOC 2 report (type not stated), ISO 27001, DPA in the terms, no EU storage option (servers in the United States)
Team access, API and export
9.0 / 10, Excellent
5 users included; SAML SSO on a higher self-serve plan; user roles on the scenario plan; 2FA; API; contact export

Review

Review from public pages

Written from Mailchimp's public pages (pricing, security or privacy, and docs) as read on Oct 16, 2026. We did not sign up, and no hands-on run is published yet.

What the public pages show

We read Mailchimp's marketing pricing page and the USD price data it loads, the help center articles on pricing plans, additional charges, automation flows, SMS marketing, landing pages, API keys and contact export, the security page and the Data Processing Addendum on Oct 16, 2026; we did not sign up, start a trial or call the API. From our location the pricing page showed a regional discount banner, so the prices here come from the page's USD price data, which matches the Internet Archive copy of Oct 12, 2026.

The pricing model is clear once the plan table is open: you pick a contact tier, and the monthly email limit follows from it (10 times on Essentials, 12 on Standard, 15 on Premium). For 5,000 contacts that is $75 on Essentials and $100 on Standard. The detail that decides our scenario is in the automation-flow article: Essentials allows up to 4 steps per flow, and delays count as steps, so a welcome series of three emails with two delays needs Standard.

Two points need a question to Mailchimp. Going over a contact or send limit adds charges for extra contact blocks, but the block prices are shown only to logged-in users. And the help center disagrees with itself on SMS: the flow article says SMS needs Standard or higher, while the SMS and plan articles say Essentials or higher.

Strengths

  • Landing pages free on every plan

    Landing pages are free to all users and popup forms are on every plan, so list building does not need a separate tool.

    vs Brevo: Brevo includes one landing page from Standard and none on Free or Starter.

  • Seats and roles on the scenario plan

    Standard includes 5 seats with Owner, Admin, Author or Viewer permissions, and Premium unlimited seats with 5 roles.

    vs Brevo: Brevo Standard includes one user, with up to 3 at $12 a month each.

  • Wide integration list

    The plan table lists 300+ integrations on every plan, Free included.

  • Own ISO 27001 and SOC 2 reports

    The security page lists Mailchimp's SOC 2 reports and ISO 27001 certification, downloadable from Intuit's compliance portal, and 2FA for accounts.

    vs Kit: Kit's security page names only its hosting providers' certifications.

Things to know

  • Longer automations start on Standard

    Essentials allows 4 steps per automation flow, and delays count as steps, so multi-email sequences generally need Standard ($100 a month for 5,000 contacts versus $75).

    Workaround: Short flows, such as one welcome email after a delay, fit on Essentials.

  • Overage prices are not public

    Going over a contact or send limit adds charges for add-on contact blocks; their price and size are shown only to logged-in users.

    Workaround: Archiving inactive contacts lowers the billable count, and the tier can be raised at any time.

  • Data is stored in the United States

    The security page says Mailchimp's servers are in US data centers; no EU storage option is listed. Transfers rely on the EU-U.S. Data Privacy Framework and the DPA.

  • Annual plans through sales only

    The pricing page offers annual plans only for Premium and for Standard with 10,000+ contacts, through sales; other plans are monthly.

Pricing reality

Mailchimp bills a monthly plan by contact tier; unsubscribed contacts count, archived ones do not, and the monthly email limit is a multiple of the tier. For our scenario, Standard costs $100 a month for 5,000 contacts with 60,000 emails, before tax; Essentials would be $75 but allows only 4 steps per automation flow. The Free plan stops at 250 contacts and 500 emails a month. Costs rise with the contact tier (Standard is $135 at 10,000 contacts), with add-on contact blocks when you go over, SMS credits, and Premium at $350 for 10,000 contacts for SSO and phone support. A 15% discount for the first 12 months applies to 10,000+ contacts. The 14-day trial of Essentials or Standard needs payment details.

Exit path

Audiences, segments, tags and groups can be exported to CSV from the account. The API key article says users with Manager permissions can generate keys, and keys created from June 22, 2026 expire after one year. The DPA commits Mailchimp to provide tools to delete or return customer data when the agreement ends.

Compared with

  • Pick Mailchimp when
    You want 5 seats with roles, landing pages on every plan and annual or Premium options through sales.
    Pick Klaviyo when
    You want automations on the free plan, SAML SSO on any paid plan and a vendor SOC 2 Type II report, at the same $100 for 5,000 contacts.
  • Pick Mailchimp when
    You need several users and roles on the scenario plan without per-seat add-ons.
    Pick Brevo when
    You want data stored in the EU and a lower scenario price ($79 a month on Standard).
  • Pick Mailchimp when
    You want SMS add-ons, several roles and an ISO 27001 certificate in the vendor’s name.
    Pick Kit when
    You run a creator newsletter, want a free plan for up to 10,000 subscribers, or want to sell paid subscriptions.

Choose it if

  • You want forms, landing pages, newsletters and simple automations in one familiar tool.
  • Several people need their own logins with different roles on a mid-priced plan.
  • You rely on integrations such as Shopify, WooCommerce or Stripe.

Look elsewhere if

  • You need longer automation sequences on the cheapest paid plan.
  • Your data must stay in the EU.
  • You want to see the price of going over your limit before you sign up.

Bottom line

From its public pages, Mailchimp is a broad, familiar email marketing tool with landing pages on every plan and seats with roles on Standard. Multi-step automations start on Standard, overage prices are shown only in the account, and data stays in the US.

Plan limits at a glance

LimitAs recorded
Billing unitContact tier, with a monthly email limit of 10 to 15 times the contacts
Free plan250 contacts, 500 emails/mo (250 a day), no automation flows
Reference scenario (5,000 contacts, monthly)$100/mo on Standard (60,000 emails)
Annual billingThrough sales only (Premium, or Standard with 10,000+ contacts)
Automation on the cheapest paid planEssentials: flows of up to 4 steps
Users on the scenario plan5 seats, 4 roles
SMSAdd-on from Essentials in select countries; credits billed separately
Paid newslettersNot offered
SOC 2 / ISO 27001SOC 2 reports (type not stated); ISO 27001
Data locationUnited States
SSOEnterprise SSO on Premium
Contact exportCSV export of audiences, segments, tags and groups

Read from the vendor's public pages on Oct 16, 2026. No hands-on run is published yet. How we check

Mailchimp lists 4 plans. The cheapest paid plan, Essentials (500 contacts), costs $13/mo.

  • MailchimpFree
    Free
    $0/mo
    • 250 contacts, 500 emails a month (250 a day)
    • 1 seat, 1 audience
    • Landing pages and popup forms
    • No automation flows; email support for the first 30 days
  • MailchimpLowest price
    Essentials
    $13/mo
    500 contacts and 5,000 emails a month; $75 for 5,000 contacts (50,000 emails)
    • 3 seats with 2 roles, 3 audiences
    • Automation flows of up to 4 steps
    • A/B testing, scheduling, no Mailchimp branding
    • 24/7 email and chat support
  • Mailchimp
    Standard
    $20/mo
    500 contacts and 6,000 emails a month; $100 for 5,000 contacts (60,000 emails)
    • 5 seats with 4 roles, 5 audiences
    • Automation flows of up to 200 steps, conditional and percentage splits
    • Multivariate testing, custom-coded templates, custom reports
    • SMS add-on with MMS in the US and Canada
  • Mailchimp
    Premium
    $350/mo
    10,000 contacts and 150,000 emails a month; 15% off the first 12 months for 10,000+ contacts on the pricing page
    • Unlimited seats with 5 roles
    • Enterprise SSO
    • Phone and priority support
    • Up to 200,000 contacts; larger lists by sales

Prices as listed, USD, excluding tax; observed 2026-10-16.

Source: mailchimp.com pricing page. Prices change; the observed date above is when our agent read them.

Visit site