Email marketing and newsletters · Comparison

Kit vs Mailchimp

2 products compared side by side: what you pay for with each one first, then the five access facts, entry prices, recorded plan limits and the bottom line of each review. The evidence note under the table says how each product was checked.

Side by side

Kit vs Mailchimp: value, access facts, plan limits and bottom lines
MetricKitMailchimp
What you're paying forBuilt-in reachA newsletter and email platform for creators: free up to 10,000 subscribers, with paid newsletters, digital products and a recommendation network built in.Easy to adoptAn all-round email marketing tool with forms, landing pages, automation flows and 300+ integrations, priced by how many contacts you store.
Overall score6.86.9Best
Free optionFree planFree plan
Card to start–Not measured–Not measured
Getting accessSelf-serveSelf-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan$39/mo$13/mo
Pricing modelTieredTiered
Pricing pagePublic pricesPublic prices
Billing unitConfirmed subscriber tier; emails are not countedContact tier, with a monthly email limit of 10 to 15 times the contacts
Free planUp to 10,000 subscribers, unlimited broadcasts, no sequences or automations250 contacts, 500 emails/mo (250 a day), no automation flows
Reference scenario (5,000 contacts, monthly)$89/mo on Creator (3,001 to 5,000 subscribers)$100/mo on Standard (60,000 emails)
Annual billing10 times the monthly price a year (about 17% off)Through sales only (Premium, or Standard with 10,000+ contacts)
Automation on the cheapest paid planCreator: unlimited visual automations and sequencesEssentials: flows of up to 4 steps
Users on the scenario plan2 users (Admin or Editor); unlimited on Pro5 seats, 4 roles
SMSListed on Creator; price not statedAdd-on from Essentials in select countries; credits billed separately
Paid newslettersEvery plan; 3.5% + 30¢ per transactionNot offered
SOC 2 / ISO 27001Hosting providers' only (AWS, Cloudflare)SOC 2 reports (type not stated); ISO 27001
Data locationNot stated; transfers to the US under the DPF or SCCsUnited States
SSONot listedEnterprise SSO on Premium
Contact exportCSV export of subscribersCSV export of audiences, segments, tags and groups
Bottom lineFrom its public pages, Kit is a creator-first platform with the largest free plan in this group and paid newsletters on every plan. Automations start on Creator, and its compliance file relies on its hosting providers.From its public pages, Mailchimp is a broad, familiar email marketing tool with landing pages on every plan and seats with roles on Standard. Multi-step automations start on Standard, overage prices are shown only in the account, and data stays in the US.

Evidence: Kit: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Mailchimp: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.

When to pick each

In the words of each review, with the date its facts were checked.

  • From our Kit review

    Checked Oct 16, 2026
    Pick Kit when
    You run a creator newsletter, want paid subscriptions, or want to start free up to 10,000 subscribers.
    Pick Mailchimp when
    You need 5 seats with roles, ISO 27001 in the vendor’s name and integrations for a store.
  • From our Mailchimp review

    Checked Oct 16, 2026
    Pick Mailchimp when
    You want SMS add-ons, several roles and an ISO 27001 certificate in the vendor’s name.
    Pick Kit when
    You run a creator newsletter, want a free plan for up to 10,000 subscribers, or want to sell paid subscriptions.

Entry price

Baseline: each product's cheapest paid plan, per month. Included usage differs, so read the line under each price.

  • Kit
    Creator
    $39/mo
    1,000 subscribers; $33/mo billed yearly ($390); $89/mo for 3,001 to 5,000 subscribers
    • Unlimited visual automations and email sequences
    • Remove Kit branding, 2 users
    • SMS marketing, RSS campaigns, 100+ apps
    • 24/7 email and chat support
  • MailchimpLowest price
    Essentials
    $13/mo
    500 contacts and 5,000 emails a month; $75 for 5,000 contacts (50,000 emails)
    • 3 seats with 2 roles, 3 audiences
    • Automation flows of up to 4 steps
    • A/B testing, scheduling, no Mailchimp branding
    • 24/7 email and chat support

Prices as listed on each pricing page, in USD per month, excluding tax. Observed: Kit 2026-10-16, Mailchimp 2026-10-16.

Which one fits

If you need to start today without a sales call
MailchimpSelf-serve sign-up; the highest score of the 2 self-serve products here (6.9/10).
Lowest starter price
Mailchimp$13/mo for the Essentials (500 contacts) plan.
Highest overall score
Mailchimp6.9/10 (Good). The review shows the score breakdown and the run behind it.

Picked by fixed rules from the table above, not by hand. How we score

Full reviews

More in Email marketing and newsletters

Add a product

Search by product name or by what it does, such as “email” or “feature flags”. 2 more fit in this comparison.