Email marketing and newsletters · Comparison
Brevo vs Mailchimp
2 products compared side by side: what you pay for with each one first, then the five access facts, entry prices, recorded plan limits and the bottom line of each review. The evidence note under the table says how each product was checked.
Side by side
| Metric | Brevo | Mailchimp |
|---|---|---|
| What you're paying for | Worth the priceEmail marketing, SMS and automation priced by emails sent rather than contacts stored, with servers in the EU and an ISO 27001 certificate. | Easy to adoptAn all-round email marketing tool with forms, landing pages, automation flows and 300+ integrations, priced by how many contacts you store. |
| Overall score | 7.2Best | 6.9 |
| Free option | Free plan | Free plan |
| Card to start | No card needed | –Not measured |
| Getting access | Self-serve | Self-serve |
| Starter priceCheapest paid plan | $9/mo | $13/mo |
| Pricing model | Tiered | Tiered |
| Pricing page | Public prices | Public prices |
| Billing unit | Monthly email volume tier; contacts up to the plan limit | Contact tier, with a monthly email limit of 10 to 15 times the contacts |
| Free plan | 100,000 contacts, 300 emails a day, automation up to 2,000 contacts | 250 contacts, 500 emails/mo (250 a day), no automation flows |
| Reference scenario (5,000 contacts, monthly) | $79/mo on Standard ($18 + $61 for 20,001 to 30,000 emails) | $100/mo on Standard (60,000 emails) |
| Annual billing | About 10% off ($853 a year for the scenario, computed) | Through sales only (Premium, or Standard with 10,000+ contacts) |
| Automation on the cheapest paid plan | Starter: limited to 2,000 contacts; unlimited from Standard | Essentials: flows of up to 4 steps |
| Users on the scenario plan | 1 user; up to 3 at $12/mo each | 5 seats, 4 roles |
| SMS | Every plan; credits sold separately by destination | Add-on from Essentials in select countries; credits billed separately |
| Paid newsletters | Not offered | Not offered |
| SOC 2 / ISO 27001 | ISO 27001:2022; SOC 2 not stated | SOC 2 reports (type not stated); ISO 27001 |
| Data location | Servers in the EU | United States |
| SSO | Add-on on Professional (price not published); included on Enterprise | Enterprise SSO on Premium |
| Contact export | Export button in the account; Export contacts API endpoint | CSV export of audiences, segments, tags and groups |
| Bottom line | From its public pages, Brevo has the lowest price for our scenario and keeps data in the EU, with unlimited automation from Standard. It includes one user on Standard, and SSO and the Professional total need a conversation with sales. | From its public pages, Mailchimp is a broad, familiar email marketing tool with landing pages on every plan and seats with roles on Standard. Multi-step automations start on Standard, overage prices are shown only in the account, and data stays in the US. |
Evidence: Brevo: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Mailchimp: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.
When to pick each
In the words of each review, with the date its facts were checked.
From our Brevo review
Checked Oct 16, 2026- Pick Brevo when
- You want EU data storage, billing by emails sent and a lower scenario price ($79 versus $100).
- Pick Mailchimp when
- You need several users with roles on the scenario plan and landing pages on every plan.
From our Mailchimp review
Checked Oct 16, 2026- Pick Mailchimp when
- You need several users and roles on the scenario plan without per-seat add-ons.
- Pick Brevo when
- You want data stored in the EU and a lower scenario price ($79 a month on Standard).
Entry price
Baseline: each product's cheapest paid plan, per month. Included usage differs, so read the line under each price.
- BrevoLowest priceStarter$9/mo5,000 emails a month; $39 for 20,001 to 30,000 emails ($9 + $30); about 10% less yearly
- Up to 100,000 emails a month
- Automation limited to 2,000 contacts
- No Brevo logo as a $12/mo add-on
- Single user
- MailchimpEssentials$13/mo500 contacts and 5,000 emails a month; $75 for 5,000 contacts (50,000 emails)
- 3 seats with 2 roles, 3 audiences
- Automation flows of up to 4 steps
- A/B testing, scheduling, no Mailchimp branding
- 24/7 email and chat support
Prices as listed on each pricing page, in USD per month, excluding tax. Observed: Brevo 2026-10-16, Mailchimp 2026-10-16.
Which one fits
- If you need to start today without a sales call
- BrevoSelf-serve sign-up, no card needed; the highest score of the 2 self-serve products here (7.2/10).
- If you want to try it without entering a card
- BrevoFree plan, no card needed; scored 7.2/10.
- Lowest starter price
- Brevo$9/mo for the Starter (5,000 emails a month) plan.
- Highest overall score
- Brevo7.2/10 (Good). The review shows the score breakdown and the run behind it.
Picked by fixed rules from the table above, not by hand. How we score
Full reviews
More in Email marketing and newsletters
Add a product
Search by product name or by what it does, such as “email” or “feature flags”. 2 more fit in this comparison.