Zoho Workplace review

by Zoho Corporation Pvt. Ltd.Business email and office suites

Zoho Mail on your own domain, free for up to 5 users, with paid mail plans from $1 per user a month and a suite with documents and meetings from $3, billed annually.

Facts checked
  • Free plan
  • No card needed
  • Self-serve
  • Per seat
  • Public prices
Visit site

What you're paying for

  • Worth the price (main value)
  • Compliance included

Business mail on your own domain from $1 per user a month, with SSO, audit logs and an online DPA on every paid plan, and a free plan for 5 users.

Mail Lite gives each user mail and shared calendars on the company domain, up to 30 domains, shared mailboxes, IMAP and SAML single sign-on for $1 a month on annual terms, with mail storage sold in 10 to 200 GB units at $1 a year per 10 GB. Mail Premium ($4) adds retention and eDiscovery; Workplace Standard ($3) adds the Writer, Sheet and Show editors and Zoho Meeting. Zoho states SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 for all its cloud services, and the EU data center is chosen at sign-up.

  • Low per-user pricesMail Lite is $1 per user a month (5 GB), Mail Premium $4 (50 GB) and Workplace Standard $3 on annual terms; extra mail storage is $1 a year per 10 GB.Evidence: Workplace pricing page (US price data) and additional storage help (2026-10-16)
  • A free plan for 5 usersMail Free covers up to 5 users on one custom domain with 5 GB each, mail, calendar and the mobile app, without ads; it is offered in some data centers only.Evidence: Workplace pricing page (2026-10-16)
  • Admin controls on every paid planSAML SSO is on all paid plans, admin audit logs are kept for one year, and admins can require two-factor authentication for the whole organization.Evidence: Plan comparison and help articles on SAML, log reports and two-factor authentication (2026-10-16)
  • Audits and EU hostingThe compliance page lists SOC 2 Type 2 and ISO 27001, 27017, 27018 and 27701 for all cloud services; the data center, EU included, follows the country chosen at sign-up.Evidence: Zoho compliance and data center pages (2026-10-16)
Best for
Small and price-conscious teams that want business mail with admin controls at a low per-user price, and may start on the free plan.
Good to know
Mail Lite and Mail Premium are sold yearly only, the office editors and meetings start on Workplace Standard, and retention and eDiscovery on Mail Premium.

How Zoho Workplace compares

Against 3 other products we reviewed in Business email and office suites: what you pay for with each, the five access facts, the plan limits we recorded and each review's bottom line. The note under the table says how each one was checked.

Zoho Workplace compared with Microsoft 365 Business, Google Workspace, Proton for Business
MetricZoho WorkplaceMicrosoft 365 BusinessGoogle WorkspaceProton for Business
What you're paying forWorth the priceBusiness mail on your own domain from $1 per user a month, with SSO, audit logs and an online DPA on every paid plan, and a free plan for 5 users.Worth the priceA 100 GB Exchange mailbox, 1 TB of OneDrive and Office for the web per user from $5.40 a month, with desktop Office apps one plan up.Easy to adoptGmail on your own domain with Docs, Sheets, Drive and Meet in one per-user plan, with SSO, audit logs and a HIPAA BAA on the entry plan.Compliance includedEnd-to-end encrypted email and calendar on your own domain, with 1 TB per user, Docs, Sheets and recorded meetings on Workspace Standard.
Overall score8.5Best7.66.86.4
Free optionFree plan30-day free trial14-day free trial14-day free trial
Card to startNo card neededCard required–Not measured–Not measured
Getting accessSelf-serveSelf-serveSelf-serveSelf-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan$1/user/mo$5.40/user/mo$7/user/mo$6.99/user/mo
Pricing modelPer seatPer seatPer seatPer seat
Pricing pagePublic pricesPublic pricesPublic pricesPublic prices
Billing unitPer user; Mail plans yearly only, Workplace plans yearly or monthlyPer user per month; up to 300 users across all Business plansPer user per month; storage pooled across the organizationPer user per month; storage pooled across Mail and Drive
Free optionMail Free for up to 5 users on one domain; 15-day trial, no cardNo free plan; one-month trial for up to 25 users, credit card requiredNo free plan with Gmail; 14-day trial for up to 10 users, payment method neededNo free plan on a custom domain; 14-day trial for up to 10 users, payment method needed; 30-day money-back guarantee
Reference scenario (5 users, annual)$6.88/mo on Mail Lite 5 GB + 45 GB add-ons ($1 × 5 + $1.88), computed; $15 on Workplace Standard$27/mo on Business Basic (no Teams) ($5.40 × 5), computed; $35 with Teams$50/mo on Business Starter + 100 GB storage ($7 × 5 + $15), computed$64.95/mo on Workspace Standard ($12.99 × 5), computed
Month-to-month priceNone for Mail Lite and Mail Premium; $4 / $7 for Workplace Standard / Professional$6.48 per user on Business Basic (no Teams); $8.40 with Teams$8.40 per user on Business Starter (Flexible plan; $16.80 / $26.40 for Standard / Plus)$14.99 per user on Workspace Standard ($7.99 / $24.99 for Essentials / Premium)
Storage per user5 or 10 GB (Lite), 50 GB (Premium), 30 GB + team drive (Standard), 100 GB + 1 TB team drive (Professional)100 GB mailbox + 50 GB archive and 1 TB of OneDrive (1.5 TB archive on Premium)30 GB (Starter), 2 TB (Standard), 5 TB (Plus), pooled across Gmail and Drive15 GB (Mail Essentials), 1 TB (Workspace Standard), 3 TB (Premium), pooled
Domains, aliases and catch-allUp to 30 domains and 30 addresses per mailbox on paid plans; catch-allUp to 5,000 domains, 300 to 400 aliases per user; no catch-all statedUp to 600 domains, 30 aliases per user, catch-all on every plan3, 15 or 20 domains (extra $1.40/mo on Workspace); 10 or 20 addresses per user; catch-all
Office appsWriter, Sheet and Show in the browser from Workplace StandardOffice for the web and mobile on Basic; desktop apps from StandardDocs, Sheets and Slides in the browser on every plan; no desktop appsProton Docs and Sheets in the browser on every plan
Video meetingsZoho Meeting with cloud recording from Workplace StandardTeams for 300 with recording in the plans with TeamsMeet for 100 on Starter without recording; recording from StandardProton Meet for 100 for 24 hours with local recording on Workspace Standard
Retention and eDiscoveryMail Premium ($4) and Workplace Professional ($6)Litigation hold and eDiscovery export on Premium ($22); archiving add-on $3Vault on Business Plus ($22)Retention policies on Workspace Premium; no eDiscovery
SOC 2 / ISO 27001SOC 2 Type 2 and ISO 27001 for all cloud services (report under online NDA)Office 365 in SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 scope (Service Trust Portal)SOC 2 Type II reports and ISO 27001 certificates (Compliance Reports Manager)SOC 2 Type II (report on request) and ISO 27001
HIPAA BAABAA template on request from Zoho legalIncluded in the data protection addendum by defaultAccepted electronically in the Admin consoleOffered to all users, signed on request by email
EU data storageEU data center (Amsterdam, Dublin) chosen by country at sign-upEU Data Boundary for EU and EFTA sign-upsData regions on Business Standard and Plus at no extra costSwiss jurisdiction; no region choice stated
SAML SSOEvery paid planSingle sign-on for apps with Entra ID on every planEvery Business planNot supported for Proton Mail yet
Mailbox exportUsers: EML in ZIP; admins: every mailbox as ZIP or PST on paid plansPST from classic Outlook per user; admin eDiscovery export on PremiumAdmin Data Export tool on every edition; Vault exports PST or mbox (Plus)Per user with the Export Tool (EML and JSON); no admin export of all mailboxes
Bottom lineFrom its public pages, Zoho Workplace is the lowest-priced suite here, with SSO, audit logs, shared mailboxes and migration on every paid plan and retention from $4. Mail plans are yearly only, editors and meetings start on Workplace Standard, and a few prices differ between pages.From its public pages, Microsoft 365 gives a large mailbox and 1 TB of OneDrive per user at a low price, with shared mailboxes, an audit log and a BAA on Business Basic. Retention and eDiscovery sit on Premium or add-ons, and refunds and seat cuts are limited to 7 days.From its public pages, Google Workspace is a full collaboration suite with SSO, audit logs, export and a self-serve BAA from Business Starter. Starter storage is small, recording and data regions start on Standard, Vault on Plus, and annual plans cannot be cut mid-term.From its public pages, Proton for Business is the encryption-first option here, with audits, a BAA on request and a 30-day guarantee. The scenario needs Workspace Standard at $64.95 for five, and SSO, admin-wide export and a mail API are not offered.

Evidence: Zoho Workplace: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Microsoft 365 Business: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Google Workspace: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Proton for Business: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.

Score

Score breakdown
Pricing clarity
6.0 / 10, Good
scenario plan priced; can be bought online; no month-to-month price for the scenario plan; no paid AI add-on; the 1 TB WorkDrive add-on is $100 a year on the Workplace pricing page and $29 a month on the WorkDrive pricing page; the trial is of the "highest edition" on the pricing page and of Mail Premium or Workplace Professional for up to 30 users in the help center; the FAQ says "no long-term contracts" while Mail Lite and Mail Premium are sold yearly only; email logs are kept 90 days on the HIPAA page and 6 months on the limits page
Free plan and trial
8.0 / 10, Excellent
free plan on your own domain, up to 5 users, no IMAP, POP or ActiveSync, 15-day trial, no card needed, 45-day money-back guarantee
Price for 5 users
10.0 / 10, Excellent
$6.88/mo: Mail Lite 5 GB at $1 × 5 users, annual terms; plus $1.88/mo for 45 GB of mail storage add-ons per user (sold in 10, 25, 50, 100 and 200 GB units at $1 a year per 10 GB; 25 + 10 + 10 GB is $4.50 a year each) to reach 50 GB; Workplace Standard, with editors and meetings, is $3 ($15 for five) with 30 GB of mail and a 100 GB team drive; assumes the mail storage add-on can be bought on Mail Lite; the add-on pages name no plan limit
Admin and compliance
10.0 / 10, Excellent
SOC 2 Type II on the scenario plan; ISO 27001 on the scenario plan; HIPAA BAA on the scenario plan (BAA template requested from Zoho legal by email; no plan named); GDPR DPA on the scenario plan; EU data storage on the scenario plan (data center follows the country chosen at sign-up); SAML SSO on the scenario plan; admin audit log on the scenario plan; required 2FA on the scenario plan
Small-business mail features
8.0 / 10, Excellent
several domains on the scenario plan; aliases and catch-all on the scenario plan; shared mailbox without a seat on the scenario plan; retention or archive on a higher self-serve plan; eDiscovery on a higher self-serve plan; free migration tool on the scenario plan; browser document editors on a higher self-serve plan; meetings with recording on a higher self-serve plan
Data export and exit
9.0 / 10, Excellent
users export their mailbox in a standard format; admin bulk export on the scenario plan; ICS and vCard or CSV; IMAP; documented API; no export period after cancelling stated; refund or no-penalty cancellation stated; seats reducible mid-term

Review

Review from public pages

Written from Zoho Workplace's public pages (pricing, security or privacy, and docs) as read on Oct 16, 2026. We did not sign up, and no hands-on run is published yet.

What the public pages show

We read Zoho Workplace's US pricing page and plan comparison, the price data file that page loads, Zoho Mail help articles on subscriptions, storage, limits, shared mailboxes, catch-all, migration, eDiscovery, retention, DLP, SAML, logs, two-factor authentication and export, and Zoho's refund policy, terms, compliance, HIPAA, GDPR and data center pages on Oct 16, 2026; we did not sign up or call an API. The pricing page fills in its prices with a script, so we read the US dollar column of the price file it loads; the page's own structured data shows the same prices, and an Internet Archive copy of the file from Apr 2, 2026 has the same plan prices.

The pages are detailed: plan limits, storage add-on prices per currency, export limits (50 users at a time as ZIP, 10 as PST) and the refund rules (a full refund within 45 days on annual plans) are all published. Mail Lite and Mail Premium are sold yearly only.

A few points need a question to Zoho. The 1 TB WorkDrive add-on is $100 a year on the Workplace pricing page and $29 a month on WorkDrive's own pricing page. The pricing page offers a trial of the highest edition, while the help center describes a trial of Mail Premium or Workplace Professional for up to 30 users. Email logs are kept 90 days on the HIPAA page and 6 months on the limits page, and the FAQ's "no long-term contracts" sits next to yearly-only Mail plans. The help center does not say in words whether a shared mailbox takes a licence; the limits page lists shared mailboxes per organization with their own 40 GB.

Strengths

  • Lowest scenario price here

    5 users on Mail Lite with 45 GB of add-on storage each cost $6.88 a month on annual terms; Workplace Standard, with documents and meetings, costs $15 for five (computed).

    vs Microsoft 365 Business: Microsoft 365 Business Basic (no Teams) costs $27 and Google Business Starter with a storage add-on $50 for five.

  • Admin controls on every paid plan

    SAML SSO, up to 30 domains, shared mailboxes, IMAP, a free migration tool and PGP encryption are on Mail Lite, and admins can require two-factor authentication.

    Compared: Proton Mail does not support SSO yet; Fastmail offers no SSO and describes no admin-enforced 2FA.

  • Retention and eDiscovery at $4

    Mail Premium ($4, annual) includes email retention, holds and eDiscovery search and export, S/MIME and 50 GB per user.

    Compared: Google puts Vault on Business Plus ($22); Microsoft puts eDiscovery export on Business Premium ($22).

  • Flexible on refunds and seats

    Annual plans can be refunded in full within 45 days, and seats can be removed mid-term for credit as a subscription extension.

    Compared: Google reduces licences only at renewal; Microsoft allows it within 7 days of buying or renewing.

Things to know

  • Mail plans are yearly only

    Mail Lite and Mail Premium have no monthly price, and moving a monthly Workplace plan down requires switching to yearly billing.

    Workaround: Workplace Standard and Professional have month-to-month prices ($4 and $7).

  • Editors, meetings and retention are split across plans

    Writer, Sheet, Show and Zoho Meeting are not in Mail Lite or Mail Premium, and Workplace Standard has no retention or eDiscovery.

    Workaround: Workplace Professional ($6, annual) has the editors, meetings, retention and eDiscovery together.

  • The free plan has no IMAP or sync

    Mail Free works in the web and Zoho apps only: IMAP, POP, ActiveSync, forwarding and SAML SSO are paid features, and the free plan is offered in some data centers only.

  • Cancellation takes effect at once

    Cancelling moves the organization to the free plan where that plan is offered; otherwise manual cancellation locks the account at once and blocks mail, and after a non-renewal it locks 15 days after expiry. A retention period after cancelling is not stated.

    Workaround: Export with the admin backup tool before cancelling; export files are kept 30 days.

Pricing reality

Zoho bills per user, yearly for the Mail plans and yearly or monthly for Workplace. For our scenario, Mail Lite 5 GB plus 45 GB of mail storage add-ons per user (sold in 10, 25, 50, 100 and 200 GB units at $1 a year per 10 GB, so 25 + 10 + 10 GB is $4.50 a year) costs 5 × $1 + 5 × $4.50 ÷ 12 = $6.88 a month on annual terms (computed), before tax; this assumes the add-on can be bought on Mail Lite, as the add-on pages name no plan limit. Mail Premium (50 GB, retention and eDiscovery) is $20 for five, Workplace Standard (30 GB of mail plus a 100 GB team drive, 50 GB each) $15, and Professional $30 (computed). Zia AI is included in paid plans with usage limits that are not stated. The 1 TB WorkDrive add-on has two different prices on Zoho’s pages.

Exit path

Users can export folders as EML files in ZIP archives, and admins can export every mailbox, 50 users at a time as ZIP or 10 as PST (PST on paid plans); files are kept 30 days. Calendars export as ICS and contacts as CSV or vCard, IMAP and a Mail REST API are on paid plans, and Writer exports DOCX and PDF. Cancelling moves the organization to the free plan where it exists, otherwise it is locked; a later retention period is not stated.

Compared with

Choose it if

  • You want business mail on your domain at a low per-user price, or free for up to 5 users.
  • You need SAML SSO, audit logs and required 2FA without moving to a top plan.
  • You want retention and eDiscovery for $4 per user.

Look elsewhere if

  • You want to pay month to month for a mail-only plan.
  • You need desktop office apps.
  • You need IMAP or phone sync on the free plan.

Bottom line

From its public pages, Zoho Workplace is the lowest-priced suite here, with SSO, audit logs, shared mailboxes and migration on every paid plan and retention from $4. Mail plans are yearly only, editors and meetings start on Workplace Standard, and a few prices differ between pages.

Plan limits at a glance

LimitAs recorded
Billing unitPer user; Mail plans yearly only, Workplace plans yearly or monthly
Free optionMail Free for up to 5 users on one domain; 15-day trial, no card
Reference scenario (5 users, annual)$6.88/mo on Mail Lite 5 GB + 45 GB add-ons ($1 × 5 + $1.88), computed; $15 on Workplace Standard
Month-to-month priceNone for Mail Lite and Mail Premium; $4 / $7 for Workplace Standard / Professional
Storage per user5 or 10 GB (Lite), 50 GB (Premium), 30 GB + team drive (Standard), 100 GB + 1 TB team drive (Professional)
Domains, aliases and catch-allUp to 30 domains and 30 addresses per mailbox on paid plans; catch-all
Office appsWriter, Sheet and Show in the browser from Workplace Standard
Video meetingsZoho Meeting with cloud recording from Workplace Standard
Retention and eDiscoveryMail Premium ($4) and Workplace Professional ($6)
SOC 2 / ISO 27001SOC 2 Type 2 and ISO 27001 for all cloud services (report under online NDA)
HIPAA BAABAA template on request from Zoho legal
EU data storageEU data center (Amsterdam, Dublin) chosen by country at sign-up
SAML SSOEvery paid plan
Mailbox exportUsers: EML in ZIP; admins: every mailbox as ZIP or PST on paid plans

Read from the vendor's public pages on Oct 16, 2026. No hands-on run is published yet. How we check

Zoho Workplace lists 6 plans. The cheapest paid plan, Mail Lite 5 GB (billed annually), costs $1/user/mo.

  • Zoho WorkplaceFree
    Mail Free
    $0
    Up to 5 users, one domain; only in some data centers
    • 5 GB per user
    • Mail, Calendar, ToDo and Cliq (Free)
    • Web and mobile apps; no IMAP, POP or ActiveSync
  • Zoho Workplace
    Mail Lite
    $1/user/mo
    Billed annually only; $1.25 for 10 GB
    • 5 GB or 10 GB of mail per user, shared calendars
    • Up to 30 domains and 30 addresses per mailbox
    • Shared mailboxes, IMAP and SAML SSO
    • Mail storage add-ons at $1 a year per 10 GB
  • Zoho Workplace
    Mail Premium
    $4/user/mo
    Billed annually only
    • 50 GB of mail + 50 GB retention storage per user
    • Email retention and eDiscovery
    • S/MIME and mobile access management
    • Mail data loss prevention (beta)
  • Zoho Workplace
    Workplace Standard
    $3/user/mo
    Billed annually; $4 month to month
    • 30 GB of mail per user
    • 100 GB WorkDrive team storage for 3 to 10 users
    • Writer, Sheet and Show editors
    • Zoho Meeting for 100 with cloud recording
  • Zoho Workplace
    Workplace Professional
    $6/user/mo
    Billed annually; $7 month to month
    • 100 GB of mail + 100 GB retention storage per user
    • 1 TB WorkDrive team storage for 3 to 10 users
    • Retention and eDiscovery
    • Zoho Meeting for 250
  • Zoho Workplace
    Workplace Enterprise
    Contact sales
    • Custom limits
    • Active Directory cloud sync
    • Endpoint control
    • Pooled mail storage above 1,000 users

Prices as listed, USD, excluding tax; observed 2026-10-16.

Source: zoho.com pricing page. Prices change; the observed date above is when our agent read them.

Visit site