Business email and office suites · Comparison

Fastmail for Business vs Zoho Workplace

2 products compared side by side: what you pay for with each one first, then the five access facts, entry prices, recorded plan limits and the bottom line of each review. The evidence note under the table says how each product was checked.

Side by side

Fastmail for Business vs Zoho Workplace: value, access facts, plan limits and bottom lines
MetricFastmail for BusinessZoho Workplace
What you're paying forWorth the priceEmail, calendars and contacts on your own domain with 60 GB per user for $5 a month on 12-month terms, with open protocols and a documented API.Worth the priceBusiness mail on your own domain from $1 per user a month, with SSO, audit logs and an online DPA on every paid plan, and a free plan for 5 users.
Overall score5.78.5Best
Free option30-day free trialFree plan
Card to startNo card neededNo card needed
Getting accessSelf-serveSelf-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan$3/user/mo$1/user/mo
Pricing modelPer seatPer seat
Pricing pagePublic pricesPublic prices
Billing unitPer user per month; cheaper on 12-, 24- and 36-month termsPer user; Mail plans yearly only, Workplace plans yearly or monthly
Free optionNo free plan; 30-day trial for 5 active users, no cardMail Free for up to 5 users on one domain; 15-day trial, no card
Reference scenario (5 users, annual)$25/mo on Standard ($5 × 5), computed$6.88/mo on Mail Lite 5 GB + 45 GB add-ons ($1 × 5 + $1.88), computed; $15 on Workplace Standard
Month-to-month price$6 per user on Standard ($4 / $10 for Basic / Professional)None for Mail Lite and Mail Premium; $4 / $7 for Workplace Standard / Professional
Storage per user6 GB (Basic), 60 GB (Standard), 150 GB (Professional), per user5 or 10 GB (Lite), 50 GB (Premium), 30 GB + team drive (Standard), 100 GB + 1 TB team drive (Professional)
Domains, aliases and catch-allFrom Standard: 100 domains plus 1 per user, 600 aliases plus 15 per user, catch-allUp to 30 domains and 30 addresses per mailbox on paid plans; catch-all
Office appsNone; file storage with WebDAVWriter, Sheet and Show in the browser from Workplace Standard
Video meetingsNot offeredZoho Meeting with cloud recording from Workplace Standard
Retention and eDiscoveryRetention archive on Professional ($9); no eDiscoveryMail Premium ($4) and Workplace Professional ($6)
SOC 2 / ISO 27001No SOC 2 certification pursued; ISO 27001 not statedSOC 2 Type 2 and ISO 27001 for all cloud services (report under online NDA)
HIPAA BAANot offered (not HIPAA compliant)BAA template on request from Zoho legal
EU data storageEU or US primary storage on every plan; replica, backups and logs in the USEU data center (Amsterdam, Dublin) chosen by country at sign-up
SAML SSONot offeredEvery paid plan
Mailbox exportZIP per folder for each user (format not stated); no admin export of all usersUsers: EML in ZIP; admins: every mailbox as ZIP or PST on paid plans
Bottom lineFrom its public pages, Fastmail is a focused email, calendar and contacts service with 60 GB per user for $5, open protocols and no lock-in. It has no office suite, meetings, SSO or SOC 2 report, and its help articles disagree on a few limits and deletion periods.From its public pages, Zoho Workplace is the lowest-priced suite here, with SSO, audit logs, shared mailboxes and migration on every paid plan and retention from $4. Mail plans are yearly only, editors and meetings start on Workplace Standard, and a few prices differ between pages.

Evidence: Fastmail for Business: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Zoho Workplace: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.

When to pick each

In the words of each review, with the date its facts were checked.

  • Pick Fastmail for Business when
    You want month-to-month billing on a mail plan, 60 GB per user and a 30-day trial without a card.
    Pick Zoho Workplace when
    You need SAML SSO, required 2FA, eDiscovery or a free plan for up to 5 users.
  • From our Zoho Workplace review

    Checked Oct 16, 2026
    Pick Zoho Workplace when
    You need SAML SSO, required 2FA, SOC 2 and ISO 27001, or document editors and meetings.
    Pick Fastmail for Business when
    You want month-to-month billing on a mail plan with 60 GB per user and a 30-day trial without a card.

Entry price

Baseline: each product's cheapest paid plan, per month. Included usage differs, so read the line under each price.

  • Fastmail for Business
    Basic
    $3/user/mo
    12-month terms; $4 month to month; $2.80 on 36 months
    • 6 GB per user (5 GB of mail, 1 GB of files)
    • Own-domain addresses only with a Standard or Professional admin
    • Web and mobile apps only: no IMAP, POP or API tokens
  • Zoho Workplace
    Mail Lite
    $1/user/mo
    Billed annually only; $1.25 for 10 GB
    • 5 GB or 10 GB of mail per user, shared calendars
    • Up to 30 domains and 30 addresses per mailbox
    • Shared mailboxes, IMAP and SAML SSO
    • Mail storage add-ons at $1 a year per 10 GB

Prices as listed on each pricing page, in USD per month, excluding tax. Observed: Fastmail for Business 2026-10-16, Zoho Workplace 2026-10-16.

Which one fits

If you need to start today without a sales call
Zoho WorkplaceSelf-serve sign-up, no card needed; the highest score of the 2 self-serve products here (8.5/10).
If you want to try it without entering a card
Zoho WorkplaceFree plan, no card needed; scored 8.5/10.
Lowest starter price
Zoho Workplace$1/user/mo for the Mail Lite 5 GB (billed annually) plan.
Highest overall score
Zoho Workplace8.5/10 (Excellent). The review shows the score breakdown and the run behind it.

Picked by fixed rules from the table above, not by hand. How we score

Full reviews

More in Business email and office suites

Add a product

Search by product name or by what it does, such as “email” or “feature flags”. 2 more fit in this comparison.