Business email and office suites · Comparison

Fastmail for Business vs Proton for Business

2 products compared side by side: what you pay for with each one first, then the five access facts, entry prices, recorded plan limits and the bottom line of each review. The evidence note under the table says how each product was checked.

Side by side

Fastmail for Business vs Proton for Business: value, access facts, plan limits and bottom lines
MetricFastmail for BusinessProton for Business
What you're paying forWorth the priceEmail, calendars and contacts on your own domain with 60 GB per user for $5 a month on 12-month terms, with open protocols and a documented API.Compliance includedEnd-to-end encrypted email and calendar on your own domain, with 1 TB per user, Docs, Sheets and recorded meetings on Workspace Standard.
Overall score5.76.4Best
Free option30-day free trial14-day free trial
Card to startNo card needed–Not measured
Getting accessSelf-serveSelf-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan$3/user/mo$6.99/user/mo
Pricing modelPer seatPer seat
Pricing pagePublic pricesPublic prices
Billing unitPer user per month; cheaper on 12-, 24- and 36-month termsPer user per month; storage pooled across Mail and Drive
Free optionNo free plan; 30-day trial for 5 active users, no cardNo free plan on a custom domain; 14-day trial for up to 10 users, payment method needed; 30-day money-back guarantee
Reference scenario (5 users, annual)$25/mo on Standard ($5 × 5), computed$64.95/mo on Workspace Standard ($12.99 × 5), computed
Month-to-month price$6 per user on Standard ($4 / $10 for Basic / Professional)$14.99 per user on Workspace Standard ($7.99 / $24.99 for Essentials / Premium)
Storage per user6 GB (Basic), 60 GB (Standard), 150 GB (Professional), per user15 GB (Mail Essentials), 1 TB (Workspace Standard), 3 TB (Premium), pooled
Domains, aliases and catch-allFrom Standard: 100 domains plus 1 per user, 600 aliases plus 15 per user, catch-all3, 15 or 20 domains (extra $1.40/mo on Workspace); 10 or 20 addresses per user; catch-all
Office appsNone; file storage with WebDAVProton Docs and Sheets in the browser on every plan
Video meetingsNot offeredProton Meet for 100 for 24 hours with local recording on Workspace Standard
Retention and eDiscoveryRetention archive on Professional ($9); no eDiscoveryRetention policies on Workspace Premium; no eDiscovery
SOC 2 / ISO 27001No SOC 2 certification pursued; ISO 27001 not statedSOC 2 Type II (report on request) and ISO 27001
HIPAA BAANot offered (not HIPAA compliant)Offered to all users, signed on request by email
EU data storageEU or US primary storage on every plan; replica, backups and logs in the USSwiss jurisdiction; no region choice stated
SAML SSONot offeredNot supported for Proton Mail yet
Mailbox exportZIP per folder for each user (format not stated); no admin export of all usersPer user with the Export Tool (EML and JSON); no admin export of all mailboxes
Bottom lineFrom its public pages, Fastmail is a focused email, calendar and contacts service with 60 GB per user for $5, open protocols and no lock-in. It has no office suite, meetings, SSO or SOC 2 report, and its help articles disagree on a few limits and deletion periods.From its public pages, Proton for Business is the encryption-first option here, with audits, a BAA on request and a 30-day guarantee. The scenario needs Workspace Standard at $64.95 for five, and SSO, admin-wide export and a mail API are not offered.

Evidence: Fastmail for Business: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Proton for Business: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.

When to pick each

In the words of each review, with the date its facts were checked.

  • Pick Fastmail for Business when
    You want IMAP without a bridge app, a JMAP API, EU or US data residency and $25 a month for five.
    Pick Proton for Business when
    You need end-to-end encryption, SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, a BAA, or Docs, Sheets and meetings.
  • Pick Proton for Business when
    You need end-to-end encryption, SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001, a BAA, or Docs, Sheets and meetings.
    Pick Fastmail for Business when
    You want IMAP without a bridge app, a JMAP API and a lower price ($25 a month for five on Standard).

Entry price

Baseline: each product's cheapest paid plan, per month. Included usage differs, so read the line under each price.

  • Fastmail for Business
    Basic
    $3/user/mo
    12-month terms; $4 month to month; $2.80 on 36 months
    • 6 GB per user (5 GB of mail, 1 GB of files)
    • Own-domain addresses only with a Standard or Professional admin
    • Web and mobile apps only: no IMAP, POP or API tokens
  • Proton for Business
    Mail Essentials
    $6.99/user/mo
    Billed annually; $7.99 month to month; $6.49 on 24 months
    • 15 GB per user, pooled across Mail and Drive
    • 3 custom domains, 10 addresses per user, catch-all
    • Proton Docs and Sheets
    • Meet for 50 for up to 1 hour

Prices as listed on each pricing page, in USD per month, excluding tax. Observed: Fastmail for Business 2026-10-16, Proton for Business 2026-10-16.

Which one fits

If you need to start today without a sales call
Proton for BusinessSelf-serve sign-up; the highest score of the 2 self-serve products here (6.4/10).
If you want to try it without entering a card
Fastmail for Business30-day free trial, no card needed; scored 5.7/10.
Lowest starter price
Fastmail for Business$3/user/mo for the Basic (12-month terms; no own domain) plan.
Highest overall score
Proton for Business6.4/10 (Good). The review shows the score breakdown and the run behind it.

Picked by fixed rules from the table above, not by hand. How we score

Full reviews

More in Business email and office suites

Add a product

Search by product name or by what it does, such as “email” or “feature flags”. 2 more fit in this comparison.