Business email and office suites · Comparison
Fastmail for Business vs Google Workspace
2 products compared side by side: what you pay for with each one first, then the five access facts, entry prices, recorded plan limits and the bottom line of each review. The evidence note under the table says how each product was checked.
Side by side
| Metric | Fastmail for Business | Google Workspace |
|---|---|---|
| What you're paying for | Worth the priceEmail, calendars and contacts on your own domain with 60 GB per user for $5 a month on 12-month terms, with open protocols and a documented API. | Easy to adoptGmail on your own domain with Docs, Sheets, Drive and Meet in one per-user plan, with SSO, audit logs and a HIPAA BAA on the entry plan. |
| Overall score | 5.7 | 6.8Best |
| Free option | 30-day free trial | 14-day free trial |
| Card to start | No card needed | –Not measured |
| Getting access | Self-serve | Self-serve |
| Starter priceCheapest paid plan | $3/user/mo | $7/user/mo |
| Pricing model | Per seat | Per seat |
| Pricing page | Public prices | Public prices |
| Billing unit | Per user per month; cheaper on 12-, 24- and 36-month terms | Per user per month; storage pooled across the organization |
| Free option | No free plan; 30-day trial for 5 active users, no card | No free plan with Gmail; 14-day trial for up to 10 users, payment method needed |
| Reference scenario (5 users, annual) | $25/mo on Standard ($5 × 5), computed | $50/mo on Business Starter + 100 GB storage ($7 × 5 + $15), computed |
| Month-to-month price | $6 per user on Standard ($4 / $10 for Basic / Professional) | $8.40 per user on Business Starter (Flexible plan; $16.80 / $26.40 for Standard / Plus) |
| Storage per user | 6 GB (Basic), 60 GB (Standard), 150 GB (Professional), per user | 30 GB (Starter), 2 TB (Standard), 5 TB (Plus), pooled across Gmail and Drive |
| Domains, aliases and catch-all | From Standard: 100 domains plus 1 per user, 600 aliases plus 15 per user, catch-all | Up to 600 domains, 30 aliases per user, catch-all on every plan |
| Office apps | None; file storage with WebDAV | Docs, Sheets and Slides in the browser on every plan; no desktop apps |
| Video meetings | Not offered | Meet for 100 on Starter without recording; recording from Standard |
| Retention and eDiscovery | Retention archive on Professional ($9); no eDiscovery | Vault on Business Plus ($22) |
| SOC 2 / ISO 27001 | No SOC 2 certification pursued; ISO 27001 not stated | SOC 2 Type II reports and ISO 27001 certificates (Compliance Reports Manager) |
| HIPAA BAA | Not offered (not HIPAA compliant) | Accepted electronically in the Admin console |
| EU data storage | EU or US primary storage on every plan; replica, backups and logs in the US | Data regions on Business Standard and Plus at no extra cost |
| SAML SSO | Not offered | Every Business plan |
| Mailbox export | ZIP per folder for each user (format not stated); no admin export of all users | Admin Data Export tool on every edition; Vault exports PST or mbox (Plus) |
| Bottom line | From its public pages, Fastmail is a focused email, calendar and contacts service with 60 GB per user for $5, open protocols and no lock-in. It has no office suite, meetings, SSO or SOC 2 report, and its help articles disagree on a few limits and deletion periods. | From its public pages, Google Workspace is a full collaboration suite with SSO, audit logs, export and a self-serve BAA from Business Starter. Starter storage is small, recording and data regions start on Standard, Vault on Plus, and annual plans cannot be cut mid-term. |
Evidence: Fastmail for Business: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Google Workspace: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.
Entry price
Baseline: each product's cheapest paid plan, per month. Included usage differs, so read the line under each price.
- Fastmail for BusinessBasic$3/user/mo12-month terms; $4 month to month; $2.80 on 36 months
- 6 GB per user (5 GB of mail, 1 GB of files)
- Own-domain addresses only with a Standard or Professional admin
- Web and mobile apps only: no IMAP, POP or API tokens
- Google WorkspaceBusiness Starter$7/user/moAnnual plan; $8.40 on the Flexible plan
- Gmail on your own domain, Calendar, Docs, Sheets and Slides
- 30 GB per user, pooled across Gmail and Drive
- Meet for 100 participants, no recording
- SAML SSO, admin logs and the Data Export tool
Prices as listed on each pricing page, in USD per month, excluding tax. Observed: Fastmail for Business 2026-10-16, Google Workspace 2026-10-16.
Which one fits
- If you need to start today without a sales call
- Google WorkspaceSelf-serve sign-up; the highest score of the 2 self-serve products here (6.8/10).
- If you want to try it without entering a card
- Fastmail for Business30-day free trial, no card needed; scored 5.7/10.
- Lowest starter price
- Fastmail for Business$3/user/mo for the Basic (12-month terms; no own domain) plan.
- Highest overall score
- Google Workspace6.8/10 (Good). The review shows the score breakdown and the run behind it.
Picked by fixed rules from the table above, not by hand. How we score
Full reviews
More in Business email and office suites
Add a product
Search by product name or by what it does, such as “email” or “feature flags”. 2 more fit in this comparison.