Email tickets, live chat, a help center, social messaging and voice in one agent seat, with AI agents on every plan and a broad compliance file.
From Suite Team at $55 per agent a month on annual terms, one seat covers email ticketing, messaging and live chat, one help center, WhatsApp, Facebook, Instagram and X, and voice, so a team does not buy a separate chat or knowledge base tool. AI agents come with every plan and a monthly allowance of automated resolutions, with listed prices beyond it. The trust center lists Zendesk’s own SOC 2 Type II report and ISO 27001:2022 certificate, and Suite Professional, bought online, adds a path to a HIPAA BAA and a choice of data region.
Every common channel on Suite TeamThe plan table lists messaging and live chat, one help center, social and business channels (WhatsApp, Facebook, Instagram, X and others) and voice on Suite Team; the add-ons article says the Suite includes five WhatsApp numbers.Evidence: Pricing page and add-ons help article (2026-10-15)
Marketplace and API on every planThe plan table lists 1,000+ prebuilt apps and API access on every plan; the developer docs allow 200 API requests a minute on Team plans and more on higher plans.Evidence: Pricing page and developer rate-limit docs (2026-10-15)
Own audits and certificatesThe trust center lists a SOC 2 Type II report (on request, under NDA), ISO 27001:2022 with a downloadable certificate, ISO 27017, 27018, 27701 and 42001, FedRAMP LI-SaaS and approved Binding Corporate Rules.Evidence: Trust center (2026-10-15)
HIPAA and data region without a sales callSuite Professional ($115 per agent, annual) is bought online and includes Advanced Compliance, under which you can sign a BAA, and the Data Center Location add-on at no charge (US, EEA, UK, Japan or Australia).Evidence: Pricing page, Advanced Compliance and Data Center Location articles (2026-10-15)
Best for
Support teams that want email, chat, a help center, social messaging and phone in one seat, and expect to need HIPAA or EU data hosting later.
Good to know
SLA policies, CSAT surveys, several help centers and a choice of data region start on Suite Professional ($115 per agent on annual terms), not Suite Team.
How Zendesk compares
Against 3 other products we reviewed in Help desk and customer support: what you pay for with each, the five access facts, the plan limits we recorded and each review's bottom line. The note under the table says how each one was checked.
Built-in reachEmail tickets, live chat, a help center, social messaging and voice in one agent seat, with AI agents on every plan and a broad compliance file.
Worth the priceEmail, live chat, WhatsApp, Facebook and Instagram in one inbox, with a knowledge base and SAML SSO, from $29 per agent on annual terms.
Saves engineering timeA help desk and an AI agent in one workspace: Fin answers first, your team takes over in the same inbox, and Fin is billed per outcome.
Easy to adoptOne shared inbox where the whole team works email, chat, SMS and social messages together, with tickets, SLAs and CSAT on top.
Overall score
6.1
6.7Best
6.6
6.3
Free option
14-day free trial
14-day free trial
14-day free trial
14-day free trial
Card to start
No card needed
No card needed
No card needed
No card needed
Getting access
Self-serve
Self-serve
Self-serve
Self-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan
$19/agent/mo
$19/agent/mo
$29/seat/mo
$25/seat/mo
Pricing model
Per seat
Per seat
Seat + usage
Per seat
Pricing page
Public prices
Public prices
Public prices
Public prices
Billing unit
Per agent per month; AI resolutions and voice billed by usage
Per agent per month; AI agent sessions, WhatsApp messages and phone billed separately
Per seat per month; Fin outcomes, phone, SMS and bulk messages billed by usage
Per seat per month; Autopilot AI agent billed per conversation
Free option
No free plan; 14-day trial of Suite Professional, no card
No free plan on the pricing page; 14-day trial, no card; 6-month Free Program for 2 agents in the help center
No free plan; 14-day trial, no card
No free plan; 14-day trial of Professional, no card
Reference scenario (5 agents, annual)
$275/mo on Suite Team ($55 × 5), computed
$145/mo on Freshdesk Omni Growth ($29 × 5), computed
$145/mo on Essential ($29 × 5), computed
$325/mo on Professional ($65 × 5), computed; Starter allows one channel type
Month-to-month price
$69 per agent on Suite Team ($25 / $69 / $149 for the three listed plans)
$35 per agent on Omni Growth ($35 / $95 / $143 Omni; $23 / $66 / $107 Freshdesk)
$39 per seat on Essential ($39 / $99 / $139 for the three plans)
$85 per seat on Professional ($35 on Starter; Enterprise is annual only)
AI agent pricing
5 resolutions per agent/mo included; then $1.50 committed or $2.00 pay-as-you-go
First 500 sessions included once per account; then $49 per 100 sessions
Fin $0.99 per outcome on every plan; qualifications $9.99
Autopilot per conversation: Triage $0.05, Handoff $0.39, Resolution $0.89
Phone
Built in from Suite Team; numbers and minutes billed by usage
Through Freshcaller, a separately billed Freshworks product; own carrier on Omni Pro and up
Built in on every plan; numbers and minutes billed by usage
Through partner integrations such as Aircall and Dialpad, Professional and up
SLA policies and CSAT
Suite Professional ($115); chat conversation rating on Suite Team
Default SLA policies on Growth; multiple SLAs and CSAT surveys from Pro ($79 Omni)
Conversation ratings on every plan; SLAs on Expert ($132)
Professional ($65), the scenario plan
SOC 2 / ISO 27001
SOC 2 Type II (on request, under NDA); ISO 27001:2022
SOC 2 Type 2 (report on request); ISO/IEC 27001:2022
SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 (Trust Center, on request)
SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 (report and certificate on request)
HIPAA BAA
Suite Professional and up (Advanced Compliance)
Mutually executed with Freshworks; the HIPAA guide lists Freshdesk Enterprise ($89), not the current Omni plans
Expert plan only, requested through support
When the annual contract price meets a threshold Front does not state
EU data hosting
Suite Professional and up, activated by Zendesk on request
EEA data center chosen at sign-up, every plan
New workspaces on a contract (Advanced or Expert), through sales
US or EEA, chosen by contacting support; no plan limit stated
SSO
SAML, OIDC or JWT on every plan
SAML on every plan of both editions
SAML on Expert only
SAML SSO and SCIM from Professional; Google and Office 365 sign-in on every plan
Data export
REST API on every plan; file export from Suite Growth, enabled by support
Whole-account export (XML in the app, JSON through the API)
All conversations to Amazon S3 or Google Cloud Storage; REST API
Full export by request to Front Support; Core API on every plan
Bottom line
From its public pages, Zendesk is a broad help desk suite: every main channel on Suite Team, AI agents on every plan and a deep compliance file. SLAs, CSAT and data region start on Suite Professional, and some plan names and AI tiers differ between pages.
From its public pages, Freshdesk Omni offers chat, social messaging, a knowledge base, SAML SSO and EU hosting from $29 per agent, with every plan priced in public. CSAT, multiple SLAs and custom roles start on Pro, and a few pages disagree on payment and plan details.
From its public pages, Intercom is a full help desk with an AI agent built in, priced per seat plus $0.99 per Fin outcome. SSO, SLAs and the HIPAA BAA need Expert, and a few prices differ between its pages.
From its public pages, Front is a team shared inbox with ticketing, SLAs, CSAT and SAML SSO on Professional and an audit log on every plan. Email plus chat starts at $65 per seat, phone runs through partners, and the HIPAA BAA depends on contract size.
Evidence: Zendesk: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Freshdesk: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Intercom: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Front: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.
scenario plan priced; can be bought online; month-to-month price published; AI agent price published; Suite Enterprise price not published (Talk to Sales); AI resolution tiers (since May 18, 2026) have no listed prices; the pricing page still lists $1.50 and $2.00 per resolution; help center lists a Suite Growth plan the pricing page does not show; add-on prices for light agents, extra storage, High Volume API and extra WhatsApp numbers not listed
Free plan and trial
3.0 / 10, Fair
no free plan; 14-day trial, no card needed
Price for 5 agents
4.3 / 10, Fair
$275/mo: Suite Team at $55 × 5 agents, annual terms; no add-on needed: messaging and live chat and one help center are included
Channels and service levels
7.8 / 10, Good
phone on the scenario plan; social messaging on the scenario plan; SLA policies on a higher self-serve plan; CSAT surveys on a higher self-serve plan; several brands or knowledge bases on a higher self-serve plan
Compliance and data residency
8.0 / 10, Excellent
SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, HIPAA BAA on a higher self-serve plan, EU data storage on a higher self-serve plan (Suite Professional and up, activated by contacting Zendesk)
Admin, API and data export
7.2 / 10, Good
SAML SSO on the scenario plan; custom roles enterprise or through sales only; audit log enterprise or through sales only; REST API; ticket export
Review
Review from public pages
Written from Zendesk's public pages (pricing, security or privacy, and docs) as read on Oct 15, 2026. We did not sign up, and no hands-on run is published yet.
What the public pages show
We read Zendesk's US pricing page with its plan comparison table, the free trial page and trial terms, the trust center, the Zendesk Customer Agreement, help center articles on plan types, add-ons, Advanced Compliance, the Data Center Location add-on, SSO, roles, the audit log, SLAs, CSAT, brands, export, automated resolutions and Talk pricing, and the developer rate-limit and export pages on Oct 15, 2026; we did not sign up for the trial or call the API for this review. From our location zendesk.com/pricing redirects to Zendesk's Korean site; the US English page loads when that location redirect is turned off, and an Internet Archive copy of the US page from Oct 12, 2026 shows the same prices.
The pricing page is clear on the main lines: Support Team $19, Suite Team $55 and Suite Professional $115 per agent a month on annual terms, $25, $69 and $149 month to month, and AI agents on every plan with 5 automated resolutions per agent a month (10 on Professional) and extra ones at $1.50 committed or $2.00 pay-as-you-go. Phone numbers and minutes are billed as usage, priced in a help center article.
A few points need a question to Zendesk. The help center describes a Suite Growth plan that the pricing page does not sell, and several feature articles say "Growth and up". Since May 18, 2026 automated resolutions are grouped into tiers with no per-tier prices listed, while the pricing page still shows one flat rate. Suite Enterprise, which holds custom roles and the audit log, has no published price.
Strengths
Every main channel in one Suite Team seat
Email, messaging and live chat, one help center, social channels and voice are all on Suite Team at $55 per agent on annual terms.
vs Help Scout: Help Scout and Front handle phone only through integrations; Freshdesk connects phone through Freshcaller, a separately billed Freshworks product.
Broad compliance file
The trust center lists Zendesk’s own SOC 2 Type II report, ISO 27001:2022 and four more ISO certificates, FedRAMP LI-SaaS, HDS 1.1 and approved Binding Corporate Rules, plus tools for handling card data under PCI-DSS.
vs Help Scout: Help Scout states SOC 2 Type II but does not state ISO 27001, and hosts data in the US only.
HIPAA path on a plan bought online
Suite Professional includes Advanced Compliance for signing a BAA, and data center location in the US, EEA, UK, Japan or Australia.
vs Freshdesk: Freshdesk’s HIPAA guide lists Enterprise plans, not the current Omni plans with live chat; Front ties a BAA to an annual contract price threshold it does not state.
SSO on every plan
SAML, OIDC or JWT single sign-on is listed on every plan, including Support Team at $19 per agent.
vs Intercom: Intercom offers SAML SSO on Expert only.
AI agent price on the pricing page
Every plan includes 5 automated resolutions per agent a month (10 on Professional); extra ones are $1.50 committed or $2.00 pay-as-you-go, and AI agents can be paused at the limit.
Things to know
SLAs, CSAT and several help centers start on Professional
The plan table checks SLA policies, CSAT surveys and up to five help centers on Suite Professional ($115 per agent, annual), not on Suite Team ($55).
Workaround: The 14-day trial runs on Suite Professional, so these features can be tried before choosing a plan.
Phone is usage on top of the seat
Voice comes with Suite Team, but numbers and minutes are billed: in the US $1 per number a month and $0.016 per inbound minute, with recording and transcription extra.
Workaround: The Talk pricing article lists the rates, and credit packages are offered to customers who pay by invoice.
File export needs a higher plan and support
JSON, CSV and XML exports are not on Team plans and, on Growth and up, must be switched on by Zendesk support. AI agent tickets cannot be exported.
Workaround: Every plan can export through the REST API, including the Incremental Exports API.
Annual terms are firm
The Customer Agreement says charges are non-refundable, seats cannot be reduced during a term, and plans renew for an equal term at then-current rates unless you give 30 days’ notice.
Workaround: Month-to-month prices are published for the three listed plans.
Pricing reality
Zendesk bills each full agent seat per month; annual terms are about 20% below month to month. For our scenario, 5 agents on Suite Team cost 5 × $55 = $275 a month on annual terms, or $345 month to month (computed), before tax. That covers email, messaging and live chat, one help center, social channels, voice software and AI agents with 5 automated resolutions per agent a month. Costs rise with Suite Professional ($115, so $575 a month for 5 agents, computed) for SLAs, CSAT and data region; add-ons such as Copilot ($50 per agent); extra AI resolutions at $1.50 committed or $2.00 pay-as-you-go, with overage billed monthly; phone numbers and minutes; and Action credits at $200 per 100K. Custom roles and the audit log are on Suite Enterprise, which is priced by sales.
Exit path
Every plan can pull tickets and users through the REST API, including the Incremental Exports API (10 requests a minute). File export in JSON, CSV or XML is on Suite Growth and up once Zendesk support turns it on, and AI agent tickets cannot be exported. The Customer Agreement allows export during the term and for 30 days after it. Trial data is lost if you neither buy nor export before the trial ends.
You need native phone, ISO 27001 or EU data hosting.
Pick Help Scout when
You want a free plan for up to 5 users, or a lower 5-agent cost ($125 a month on Standard, annual) with SLAs and CSAT included.
Choose it if
You want email, live chat, a help center, social messaging and phone under one agent seat.
Your security review asks for SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 from the vendor itself.
You may need a HIPAA BAA or EU data hosting and want them on a plan bought online.
Look elsewhere if
You need SLA policies or CSAT surveys at the Suite Team price.
You need custom agent roles or an admin audit log without a sales contract.
You want a permanent free plan.
Bottom line
From its public pages, Zendesk is a broad help desk suite: every main channel on Suite Team, AI agents on every plan and a deep compliance file. SLAs, CSAT and data region start on Suite Professional, and some plan names and AI tiers differ between pages.
Plan limits at a glance
Limit
As recorded
Billing unit
Per agent per month; AI resolutions and voice billed by usage
Free option
No free plan; 14-day trial of Suite Professional, no card
Reference scenario (5 agents, annual)
$275/mo on Suite Team ($55 × 5), computed
Month-to-month price
$69 per agent on Suite Team ($25 / $69 / $149 for the three listed plans)
AI agent pricing
5 resolutions per agent/mo included; then $1.50 committed or $2.00 pay-as-you-go
Phone
Built in from Suite Team; numbers and minutes billed by usage
SLA policies and CSAT
Suite Professional ($115); chat conversation rating on Suite Team
SOC 2 / ISO 27001
SOC 2 Type II (on request, under NDA); ISO 27001:2022
HIPAA BAA
Suite Professional and up (Advanced Compliance)
EU data hosting
Suite Professional and up, activated by Zendesk on request
SSO
SAML, OIDC or JWT on every plan
Data export
REST API on every plan; file export from Suite Growth, enabled by support
Read from the vendor's public pages on Oct 15, 2026. No hands-on run is published yet. How we check
We have not published a sign-up run for Zendesk yet. The access facts above were read from its sign-up and pricing pages on Oct 15, 2026.
We have not published API calls for Zendesk yet.
Zendesk lists 4 plans. The cheapest paid plan, Support Team (billed annually), costs $19/agent/mo.
ZDZendesk
Support Team
$19/agent/mo
Billed annually; $25 month to month
Email ticketing, routing, macros and automations
AI agents for email, 5 automated resolutions per agent/mo
API access and single sign-on
No help center, live chat or social channels
ZDZendesk
Suite Team
$55/agent/mo
Billed annually; $69 month to month
Messaging and live chat, one help center
WhatsApp, Facebook, Instagram, X and other channels
Voice; numbers and minutes billed by usage
AI agents, 5 automated resolutions per agent/mo
ZDZendesk
Suite Professional
$115/agent/mo
Billed annually; $149 month to month; the plan used for the 14-day trial
SLA policies and CSAT surveys
Up to 5 help centers, skills-based routing, IVR
HIPAA (Advanced Compliance) and data center location
10 automated resolutions per agent/mo
ZDZendesk
Suite Enterprise + Copilot
Contact sales
Custom agent roles
Audit log
Sandbox and approval workflows
Intelligent triage and auto assist
Prices as listed, USD, excluding tax; observed 2026-10-15.
Source: zendesk.com pricing page. Prices change; the observed date above is when our agent read them.
We read the pricing, trust, legal, help center and developer pages of three help desks on the same day and scored them on the same six indicators. What 5 agents with email, chat and a knowledge base cost, where SLAs, SSO and HIPAA sit, and who should pick which.